Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Terminal
Computers

10 Terminal Commands die Jeder Mac Benutzer Kennen Sollte

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Taming The Terminal.
How to Play Tetris, Pong and Other Hidden Games on Your Mac
Quick Tip: Organize Your Dock With Spacers

German (Deutsch) translation by Florian Fischer (you can also view the original English article)

Terminal auf OS X ist, meiner Meinung nach, ein Teil des Betriebsstems, der häufig übersehen wird. Viele Mac-Neulinge haben Angst davor Terminal zu benutzen, da sie meist durch Code-Bezogenes oder fortgeschrittene Befehle abgeschreckt werden. Der Schlüssel ist, keine Angst vor Terminal zu haben und es als Feature für die technisch versierten Benutzer zu sehen.

Kennt man erst einmal ein paar Grund-Befehle von Terminal, kann das tatsächlich die Benutzung von OS X verbessern. Also alle da draussen, die gerade erst damit anfangen, hier sind meine Top10 Befehle, die jeder Mac Benutzer kennen sollte.

Bevor wir anfangen...

Bevor wir anfangen damit herumzuspielen, ist es hilfreich kurz zu erläutern, was Terminal ist (natürlich ohne zu sehr auf technischer Ebene zu sprechen)

Terminal OS X
Terminal.app unter OS X (Lion)

Terminal (offiziell Terminal.app genannt) ist, genau genommen, ein emulator und arbeitet typische UNIX Befehle (OS X ist ein UNIX-basiertes System, im Gegensatz zu Windows, das NT-basiert ist) ab. Anders als OS X, welches eine grafische Benutzeroberfläche (GUI) besitzt, ist Terminal eine textbasierte Oberfläche, die eben getippte Befehle erfordert - was der Grund sein könnte warum so viele davor zurückschrecken!

Wir wollen hier nicht zu sehr ins Detail gehen wie Terminal funktioniert, aber um dem Tutorial zu folgen, sollte man die folgenden drei Befehle drauf haben.

  • ls - listet die Inhalte eines bestimmten Ordners auf
  • cd - wechselt in ein anderes Verzeichnis (wie bei DOS)
  • sudo - als superuser anmelden um spezielle (sicherheitskritische) Benutzerrechte zu erhalten

Tipp: Extrem vorsichtig sein beim Benutzen von sudo. Üblicherweise muss man sein OS X Passwort eingeben und jeder Fehler kann dazu führen, das System komplett vor die Wand zu fahren. Im Zweifel lieber nicht verwenden.

1. Lion/Mountain Lions Sonderzeichen Pop-up Fenster

Für Menschen wie mich, die häufig ausländische Akzente benutzen, ist das Fenster, das erscheint, wenn man einen Buchstaben für eine längere Zeit gedrückt hält extrem hilfreich. Aber, für die von Euch, die einfach nur häufig denselben Buchstaben schreiben wollen, kann das ziemlich nervig werden. Dieser einfache Trick schaltet die Funktion ab.

Drücke Enter und log dich aus und wieder ein um die Änderung zu sehen. Wenn Du wieder zurück zum Standard-Verhalten möchtest ersetze false durch true in der o.a. Zeile.

2. Die Standard-Zeiträume in Time Machine ändern

Standardmäßig legt Time Machine jede Stunde ein Backup an, wenn es aktiv ist. Das kann über Terminal verändert werden. Dazu tippt man folgendes ein:

Damit legt Time Machine alle 30 Minuten ein Backup an. Um das auf den gewünschten Wert zu ändern, muss man einfach 1800 mit dem Interval in Sekunden (15 Minuten wären dann 900 Sekunden, also 900 eingeben) abändern. Denk daran, dass du einen sudo Befehl benutzt, also vergewissere Dich, dass der Befehl korrekt ist, bevor Du Enter drückst (und Du wirst aufgefordert Dein OS X Passwort einzugeben).

3. Dashboard Widgets auf den Desktop ziehen

Ich vergesse immmer, dass es auf meinem Mac ein Dashboard gibt. Tatsächlich sehe ich kaum einen Nutzen darin. Ich denke das hängt damit zusammen, dass Widgets vom Betriebssystem versteckt werden. Um die Dashboard Widgets auf den Desktop ziehen zu können, gibt man folgenden Befehl ein:

Nun muss man sich aus- und wieder einloggen. Um das Widget auf den Desktop zu bekommen muss man es anklicken und die Maustaste gedrückt halten, dann F12 drücken, dadurch wird es vom Dashboard entfernt und man kann es auf den Desktop fallen lassen. Die Widgets schweben nun über den Anwendungen. Ähnlich wie die Gadgets unter Windows 7.

Um dieses Feature zu deaktivieren, einfach YES mit NO in der o.a. Zeile. Nervigerweise muss man sich dann nochmal ab- und anmelden.

4. Deaktivieren von Lion/Mountain Lion's Auto-restore Feature

Das hat mich echt genervt, als ich auf Lion geupdated habe - wenn man eine Anwendung wie z.B. Vorschau öffnet, poppen alle zuletzt verwendeten Dokumente auf. Selbst dann wenn man sie ordentlich beendet hat. Leider gibt es keinen Befehl um dieses Verhalten generell in OS X abzustellen. Man muss diesen Schritt für jede Anwendung wiederholen. Um es für Vorschau abzustellen, tippt man Folgendes ein:

QuickTime ist in meinen Augen genauso ein Übeltäter, also folgenden Befehl eingeben:

Achte darauf, dass die Anwendungen geschlossen und neu gestartet müssen um die Änderungen zu sehen. Will man das Ganze wieder zurückdrehen, einfach false durch true ersetzen (Das Prinzip sollte nun bekannt sein).

5. Versteckte Dateien in Finder anzeigen

Finder versteckt standardmäßig manche Dateien (für die meisten Benutzer sind die ohnehin irrelevant). Will man aber alle Dateien auf dem Computer sehen, tippt man Folgendes ein:

Auch hier gilt: true durch false ersetzen um sie wieder zu verstecken.

6. Dateiformat für Screenshots ändern

Screenshots mit dem eingebauten Shortcut von OS X zu machen ist absolut nützlich, werden aber standardmäßig als PNG Dateien abgespeichert. Will man das ändern, tippt man Folgendes ein:

Man ersetzt Datei-Endung mit den drei Buchstaben für das gewünschte Dateiformat. Für das JPEG-Format zum Beispiel JPG und für das PDF-Format PDF. Terminal ist gar nicht so kompliziert, oder?

7. Komplettes Dashboard entfernen

Weiter oben steht der Befehl um Dashboard Widgets auf den Desktop zu ziehen. Will man aber das komplette Dashboard loswerden (z.B. auf einem alten Mac mit wenig Speicher), dann kann man das mit diesem Terminal Befehl erreichen:

Anschließend das Dock mit dem folgenden Befehl neustarten:

Et, voilà! Kein Dashboard mehr. Will man wieder alles so wie früher haben, ersetzt man YES durch NO in o.a. Befehl und startet das Dock neu.

8. Speicherplatz richtig frei machen

Wenn man auf dem Mac Dateien löscht, dann lässt OS X immer noch Teile der Dateien auf der Festplatte, bis diese von neuen Dateien überschrieben werden. Will man auf Nummer sicher gehen und alle Dateifragmente auf der Festplatte löschen (z.B. bevor man seinen Mac verkaufen möchte), dann führt man folgenden Befehl aus:

Einfach /name-of-drive mit dem Laufwerksnamen ersetzen, welches man löschen möchte. Dieser Befehl benutzt einen speziellen Algorithmus, der 35 mal jede freie Stelle auf der Platte überschreibt. Das ist weit mehr als der Standard vom US-Verteidigungsministerium, welcher nur 7 mal Überschreiben vorsieht.

Übrigens ist der Befehl diskutil ein sehr nützlicher, der es ermöglicht lokale Festplatten und Laufwerke vom Terminal aus zu verwalten. Es ist jedoch darauf zu achten, dass die meisten dieser Befehle root-Rechte benötigen.

9. Den Mac aus der Ferne bedienen

Den Mac aus der Ferne via SSH zu bedienen ist weitaus vorteilhafter als die Fernwartung mittels Screen-Sharing, da es weniger System-Ressourcen und weniger Bandbreite erfordert. Zunächst muss man die Entfernte Anmeldung auf dem Mac ermöglichen. Dazu geht man in die Systemeinstellungen dann auf Freigaben und zuletzt auf Entfernte Anmeldung.

SSH Mac
Als Erstes das Entfernte Anmelden auf dem Mac einschalten

Ein kleines grünes Licht wird zusammen mit einer IP-Adresse angezeigt, welche man für das Anmelden via Terminal verwenden kann. Die Verbindung zwischen lokalem Mac und dem Entfernten ist gesichert und verschlüsselt, was bedeutet, dass ausgetauschte Daten der beiden Macs nicht abgefangen werden können.

Um sich vom Mac auf einem anderen Mac anzumelden, folgenden Befehl ausführen:

Einfach username mit dem Benutzernamen ersetzen mit dem man sich bei OS X anmelden würde und remote-address mit der IP-Adresse aus dem Freigabe-Einstellungs-Fenster. Nun kann man den Mac fernsteuern und aus der Ferne Terminal Befehle ausführen.

10. Der sprechende Mac!

Zu guter Letzt: Will man, dass der Mac zu einem spricht, dann benutzt man dazu den say Befehl:

Die Worte werden vom Mac mit der Standard-Stimme ausgesprochen. Will man das ändern, geht man in die Systemeinstellungen dann entweder nach Diktat und Sprache (Mountain Lion) oder Sprache (Lion). Hier kann man verschiedene Stimmen auswählen oder Neue von den Apple Servern herunterladen. Ein anderes "hilfreiches" Feature ist die Fähigkeit ein komplettes Textdokument in Sprache umzuwandeln. Einfach folgendes eingeben:

Ersetze DATEINAME.txt mit der eigenen Datei. Das erzeugt eine vorgelesene Version der Datei als AIFF-Datei audio.aiff im aktuellen Verzeichnis.

Tipp:Schon mal darüber nachgedacht, ob der Name des Betriebssystems "OS ten" oder "OS ex" ausgesprochen wird? Der Mac weiss die Antwort. Einfach mal ausprobieren und "say OS X" in Terminal eingeben. Das Ergebnis könnte überraschen.

Zusammenfassung

Ich hoffe dieses kleine Tutorial hat geholfen das Terminal zu entmystifizieren und gezeigt, dass Terminal nicht schwer zu benutzen ist. Man kann noch sehr viel mehr damit erreichen. Wenn man in OS X individuelle Einstellungen machen möchte, die über das Ändern des Hintergrundbildes hinausgehen, dann ist Terminal die erste Anlaufstelle.

Ich hoffe die Befehle oben haben euch Spass gemacht. Fühlt Euch frei, Eure Lieblings-Befehle hier über die Kommentar-Funktion mitzuteilen. Da haben dann alle Mactuts+ Leser was davon!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

10 Terminal Commands That Every Mac User Should Know

by
Student iconAre you a student? Get a yearly Tuts+ subscription for $45 →
This post is part of a series called Taming The Terminal.
How to Play Tetris, Pong and Other Hidden Games on Your Mac
Quick Tip: Organize Your Dock With Spacers

The Terminal in OS X is often, in my opinion anyway, an overlooked area of the operating system. Most newcomers to Macs look at it with fear, as the sight of anything code-related or advanced is enough to put them off for life. Fortunately, you don't have to be scared of Terminal and think of it as a feature just for the tech-minded. Knowing some basic Terminal commands can really enhance your experience of OS X. So, for all the beginners out there, here is my pick of the top 10 Terminal commands that every Mac user should know.

Before We Start...

Before we start tinkering around with it, it is probably worth taking a couple of minutes to tell you exactly what Terminal is (all in a non-technical sense, of course!).

Terminal OS X
Terminal.app running under OS X (Lion)

Terminal (officially called Terminal.app) is, strictly speaking, an emulator and works off most typical UNIX commands (OS X is a UNIX-based system, as opposed to Windows, which is NT-based). Unlike OS X, which has a graphical user interface (shortened to GUI), Terminal works off a text-based interface and all commands have to be typed in - this may be the reason why some people are scared off by it!

We won't go into massive detail on how Terminal works but it's best to learn the following three commands before we start this tutorial:

  • ls - list the contents of a particular directory
  • cd - change to another directory (as in DOS)
  • sudo - authenticate yourself a superuser to gain extra security privileges

Tip: Be extra careful when using the sudo command. You will usually have to enter your OS X system password and any mistakes can permanently mess up your system for good. When in doubt, leave it out!

1. Disable Lion/Mountain Lion's Pop-up Accent Window

For people like me who write a lot of foreign accents then the pop-up accent window that came up when you hold down a letter for a longer period is extremely useful. But for those of you who want to write lots of repeat letters, it can be quite annoying. Use this simple trick to disable it:

defaults write -g ApplePressAndHoldEnabled -bool false

Hit Return then log out then back in again to see the changes. If you want to change back to the norm, then simply substitute false for true in the above.

2. Change the Default Backup Periods in Time Machine

By default, Time Machine backs up every hour when it's connected but this can be changed through Terminal. To do so, simply enter the following command:

sudo defaults write /System/Library/Launch Daemons/com.apple.backupd-auto StartInterval -int 1800

This makes Time Machine backup now every 30 minutes. To change it to what you want, simply replace the 1800 with the interval time in seconds (so 15 minutes would be 900 seconds, therefore enter 900). Also be aware that you are using a sudo command, so make sure that you've typed the command exactly right before you hit Enter (and you'll also be prompted to enter your system password).

3. Drag Dashboard Widgets onto the Desktop

I always forget that the Dashboard exists on my Mac. In fact, I hardly ever see a need for it. But I think that's mostly down to the fact that the widgets are hidden away inside the operating system. To be able to drag your Dashboard widgets onto your desktop, then enter the following command:

defaults write com.apple.dashboard devmode YES

You must log out then back in again and to drag a widget onto your desktop click and hold down on it then press F12, which dismisses it from the Dashboard and allows you to drop it onto the desktop. Your widgets now float above open applications, similar to the Gadgets on Windows 7.

To disable this feature, simply replace YES with NO in the above command. Again, you'll have to log out then back in again, unfortunately.

4. Disable Lion/Mountain Lion's Auto-restore Feature

This really bugged me when I first upgraded to Lion - the fact that when you open up something like Preview, all your recently accessed PDFs coming popping up in your face, even if you closed them down properly. Unfortunately there's no universal command to disable it across the entire OS so you'll have to do it for each individual program. If you want to disable it for Preview, then enter the following command:

defaults write com.apple.Preview NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

QuickTime is another culprit in my eyes, again just enter:

defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

Make sure you quit and restart the apps to see the changes and if you want to reverse anything, simply substitute false for true (I'm sure you're getting the hang of this by now!).

5. Show Hidden Files in Finder

By default, the Finder in OS X hides some files away from view (mostly irrelevant ones) but if you want to see everything on your computer, then enter in the following command:

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles TRUE

Again, substitute false for true to hide them again.

6. Change the File Format for Screenshots

Screenshots using the built-in shortcut for OS X are really useful but by default they are saved as PNG files. If you want to change this, then type in the following command:

defaults write com.apple.screencapture type file-extension

Replace file-extension with the three letter abbreviation of your desired file format, so for JPEG format simply enter JPG and for Acrobat PDF format, PDF. Terminal doesn't have to be difficult, does it?

7. Kill the Dashboard Altogether

Above, we went over the command to drop Dashboard widgets onto the desktop, but if you want to get rid of the Dashboard altogether (for example, if you're running an older Mac and have memory issues) then you can do via this simple Terminal command:

defaults write com.apple.dashboard mcx-disabled -boolean YES

Then, restart the Dock using the following command:

killall Dock

Et, voilà! No more Dashboard. If you find yourself afterwards lamenting after the good old days, replace YES with NO in the top command and repeat the process.

8. Securely Erase Free Space

When you delete files on your Mac, OS X still leaves fragments of the file all over the free space on your hard disk drive, until these are written over by new files. If you want to securely delete all the remaining fragments on a hard disk drive (for example if you're going to sell your Mac), then execute the following command:

diskutil secureErase freespace 3 /Volumes/name-of-drive

Replace /name-of-drive with the drive you want to erase. This command uses a special algorithm to wipe over each free area of space 35 times, far above the US Department of Defense's standard, which only requires 7 passes. Be aware though that this process can take days on larger drives.

On a side note, the command diskutil is a really useful one and allows you to manage local disks and volumes directly from the Terminal (a list of sample commands is given). Be aware, though, that most commands require root access.

9. Control Your Mac Remotely

Being able to control your Mac remotely via SSH, or secure shell, is far more advantageous than screen sharing as it uses less system resources and less bandwidth. The first thing you will have to do is enable Remote Login on your Mac, which you can do by heading over to System Preferences then Sharing then click on Remote Login.

SSH Mac
Be sure to enable Remote Login on your Mac before you start anything

A little green light should come up, along with an IP address that you can use to log in via Terminal. The connection between the local Mac you're using and the remote one (i.e. your own one) is secure and encrypted, meaning that any data being transferred between the two cannot be intercepted.

To log into your Mac on another Mac, execute the command:

ssh -l username remote-address

Replace username with the username you'd use to log into OS X and remote-address with the IP address given to you in the Sharing pane. You can now control your Mac and execute Terminal commands remotely, a real plus.

10. Talking Mac!

And last but not least, if you want your Mac to speak to you, then simply use the say command, as in:

say Hello World!

The words will be spoken in your Mac's default voice but if you want to change this, then simply head over to System Preferences then either Dictation and Speech (on Mountain Lion) or simply Speech (on Lion). Here you can select different voices and download new ones from Apple's servers if you fancy. Another "useful" feature is the ability to convert an entire text file into speech, if you so fancy. Simply enter:

say -o audio.aiff -f FILENAME.txt

Replace FILENAME.txt with your own file. This will create a reading of your file as an AIFF file audio.aiff in Terminal's default directory.

Tip: Ever wondered if the Mac operating system is pronounced "OS ten" or "OS ex?" Your Mac knows the answer! Try typing "say OS X" into Terminal. The result may surprise you.

Conclusion

I hope that this little tutorial has helped you demystify the Terminal and realize that it's really not that bad to use – you can achieve a lot more using it and if you want to customize OS X beyond simply changing the wallpaper, then it really is your first port of call.

I hope you have plenty of fun with the commands mentioned above, please feel free to share your own favourites in the comments section below for the benefit of all Mactuts+ readers!

Advertisement