Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Terminal
Computers

10 commandes de Terminal que tous les utilisateurs de Mac devraient connaître

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Taming The Terminal.
How to Play Tetris, Pong and Other Hidden Games on Your Mac
Quick Tip: Organize Your Dock With Spacers

French (Français) translation by Syméon Smith (you can also view the original English article)

Le Terminal d'OS X est souvent, à mon sens en tout cas, une partie délaissée du système d'exploitation. La plupart des nouveaux utilisateurs de Macs le regardent avec effroi, car la vue de n'importe quoi qui ait une relation avec du code est assez pour les empêcher de continuer. Heureusement, vous n'avez pas à avoir peur du Terminal, et voyez le comme une fonctionnalité pour les esprits techniques. Connaître quelques commandes basiques du Terminal peut véritablement améliorer votre expérience d'OS X. Donc, pour tous les débutants, voici mon choix des 10 meilleures commandes de Terminal que tous les utilisateurs de Mac devraient connaître.

Avant de commencer…

Saviez-vous que nous avons quelques applications Mac disponibles sur Envato Market ? Par exemple, Awesome Live Chat Desk OS X vous permet de chatter avec vos clients en live via de simples notifications Mac.

Live chat support for Mac

Aussi, avant de commencer à y toucher, il serait probablement utile de prendre quelques minutes pour vous dire exactement ce qu'est le Terminal (avec des termes non-techniques, bien sûr !).

Terminal OS X
Exécution de Terminal.app sous OS X (Lion)

Terminal (officiellement appelé Terminal.app) est, strictement parlant, un émulateur, et exécute les commandes UNIX les plus courantes (OS X est un système basé sur UNIX, contrairement à Windows qui est basé sur NT). À la différence d'OS X, qui possède une interface utilisateur graphique (en anglais graphical user interface, aussi appelée GUI, ndt), Terminal exécute une interface basée sur du texte, et toutes les commandes doivent être écrites - ce qui est probablement la raison de la frayeur de certaines personnes.

On ne rentrera pas dans des détails massifs sur la façon dont le Terminal marche, mais c'est mieux d'apprendre les 3 commandes suivantes avant de passer à la suite du tutoriel :

  • ls - liste le contenu d'un dossier particulier
  • cd - changer de dossier
  • sudo - s'authentifier en tant que superutilisateur pour gagner des privilèges de sécurité.

Astuce : Soyez très prudent lorsque vous utilisez la commande sudo. Vous devriez normalement avoir à rentrer le mot de passe de votre système OS X et une erreur pourrait abîmer votre système pour de bon. Si vous avez un doute, ne continuez pas !

1. Désactiver la fenêtre pop-up d'accentuation sur Lion/Mountain Lion

Pour les personnes qui, comme moi, écrivent beaucoup d'accents étrangers, alors la fenêtre d'accentuation qui apparaît lorsque vous gardez une lettre enfoncée doit être utile. Mais pour ceux qui n'en ont pas l'utilité, cela peut rapidement devenir embêtant. Utilisez cette simple commande pour le désactiver :

Tapez Retour, puis déconnectez-vous et reconnectez-vous pour voir les changements. Si vous voulez retourner en arrière, alors changez simplement false par true dans la commande ci-dessus.

2. Changez les périodes de sauvegardes par défaut dans Time Machine

Par défaut, Time Machine effectue une sauvegarde toutes les heures quand il est connecté, mais cela peut être changé grâce au Terminal. Pour ce faire, entrez simplement la commande suivante :

Maintenant, Time Machine effectue un sauvegarde toutes les 30 minutes. Pour changer la durée comme vous le souhaitez, remplacez simplement 1800 avec la durée choisie en secondes (15 minutes devient ainsi 900 secondes, donc vous devrez entrer 900). Remarquez aussi que vous utilisez une commande sudo, donc assurez-vous que vous avez bien entré la commande avant de valider (on vous demandera aussi d'entrer le mot de passe système).

3. Déplacer les widgets du dashboard sur le bureau

J'oublie continuellement que le Dashboard existe sur mon Mac. En fait, je n'y vois presque aucune utilité. Mais je pense que cela est dû au fait que les widgets sont cachés profondément dans le système d'exploitation. Pour pouvoir déplacer des widgets du Dashboard sur votre bureau, entrez cette commande :

Vous devrez ensuite vous déconnecter puis reconnecter, et pour déplacer un widget vous devez désormais le garder cliqué, presser F12 ce qui le détache du Dashboard et vous permet alors de le déposer sur le bureau. Vos widgets flottent maintenant avec les autres applications, d'une manière similaire aux gadgets sur Windows 7.

Pour désactiver cette fonctionnalité, remplacez simplement YES par NO dans la commande ci-dessus. Là encore, vous allez devoir vous déconnecter et vous reconnecter, malheureusement.

4. Désactiver la fonctionnalité de restauration automatique de Lion/Mountain Lion

C'est quelque chose qui m'a vraiment fait tiquer lorsque j'ai mis à jour pour Lion - le fait que lorsque vous ouvrez quelque chose comme Preview, tous les PDFs que vous avez récemment ouvert s'ouvrent, et cela même si vous les avez bien fermés. Malheureusement il n'y a aucune manière de désactiver cela dans tout l'OS, donc vous aurez à le faire pour chaque programme. Si vous voulez le désactiver pour Preview, entrez cette commande :

QuickTime est aussi embêtant pour moi, entrez simplement :

Assurez-vous de bien quitter et redémarrer chaque application pour voir les changements, et si vous souhaitez revenir en arrière changez false pour true (je pense que vous commencez à comprendre maintenant !).

5. Afficher les fichiers cachés dans le Finder

Par défaut, le Finder dans OS X cache certains fichiers (la plupart étant inutiles), mais si vous voulez afficher tout ce que contient votre ordinateur, alors utilisez cette commande :

Encore une fois, substituez false à true pour les cacher à nouveau.

6. Changer le format des captures d'écran

Les captures d'écran utilisant le raccourci intégré à OS X sont vraiment pratiques, mais par défaut ils sont sauvegardés en tant que fichiers PNG. Si vous voulez changer cela, entrez la commande suivante :

Remplacez file-extension par les trois lettres de l’abréviation de votre format désiré, donc pour JPEG entrez JPG, et pour le format Acrobat PDF, PDF. Le Terminal n'est pas si compliqué, n'est-ce pas ?

7. Supprimer complètement le Dashboard

Plus haut, on a vu la commande qui permettait de mettre des widgets du Dashboard sur le bureau, mais si vous voulez tout simplement enlever le Dashboard (si vous avez par exemple un ancien Mac avec des problèmes de mémoire) vous pouvez le faire grâce à cette simple commande :

Ensuite, redémarrez le Dock en utilisant cette commande :

Et voilà ! Plus de Dashboard. Si vous regrettez par la suite le bon vieux temps, remplacez YES par NO dans la première commande et répétez le processus.

8. Supprimer avec sécurité de l'espace libre

Lorsque vous supprimez des fichiers de votre Mac, OS X laisse des fragments du fichier un peu partout dans l'espace libre, jusqu'à ce que cet espace soit réécrit par des nouveaux fichiers. Si vous voulez supprimer tous les fragments d'un disque dur avec sécurité (si vous voulez vendre votre Mac par exemple), alors exécutez cette commande :

Remplacez /name-of-drive par le nom du disque que vous voulez nettoyer. Cette commande utilise un algorithme qui passe 35 fois dans l'espace libre, bien au-dessus du standard du Département de la Défense Américain qui ne requiert que 7 passages. Faites tout de même attention : ce processus peut prendre plusieurs jours sur des disques plus grands.

D'un autre côté, la commande diskutil est vraiment très utile et vous permet de gérer des disques locaux et des volumes directement depuis le Terminal (une liste de commandes est donnée). Remarquez tout de même que la plupart des commandes nécessitent l'accès root.

9. Contrôler votre Mac à distance

Être capable de contrôler votre Mac à distance via SSH, ou secure shell, est bien plus avantageux que le partage d'écran, car cela utilise moins de ressources et moins de bande passante. La première chose que vous avez à faire est d'activer la connexion à distance (Remote Login) sur votre Mac, ce que vous pouvez faire dans les Préférences Système, puis Partage puis Connexion à Distance.

SSH Mac
Assurez vous d'activer la Connexion à distance sur votre Mac avant de faire quoi que ce soit.

Une petite lumière verte devrait apparaître, ainsi qu'une adresse IP que vous pourrez utiliser pour vous connectez via le Terminal. La connexion entre le Mac local que vous utilisez et celui à distance (ex: le vôtre) est sécurisée et encryptée, ce qui signifie que les données transférées ne peuvent pas être interceptées.

Pour vous connecter depuis un Mac sur un autre Mac, entrez la commande :

Remplacez username par le nom d'utilisateur que vous utilisez pour vous connecter sur OS X et remote-address par l'adresse IP qui vous a été donnée dans le panneau de Partage. Vous pouvez maintenant contrôler votre Mac est exécuter des commandes de Terminal à distance, un vrai plus.

10. Mac parlant !

Et pour finir pas avec le pire, si vous voulez que votre Mac parle pour vous, utilisez la commande say :

Les mots seront dits par la voix par défaut de votre Mac, mais si vous voulez la changer, rendez vous dans les Préférences Système, puis soit Diction et Parole (Dictation and Speech) sur Mountain Lion, soit Parole (Speech) sur Lion.  D'ici vous pouvez sélectionner différentes voix et en télécharger de nouvelles depuis les serveurs d'Apple si vous le souhaitez. Une autre fonction "utile" est la possibilité de convertir un fichier de texte entier en parole. Entrez simplement :

Remplacez FILENAME.txt avec votre propre fichier. Cela va créer une lecture de votre fichier sous la forme d'un fichier AIFF audio.aiff dans le dossier par défaut de votre Terminal.

Astuce : Vous êtes vous déjà demandé si le système d'exploitation du Mac est prononcé "OS dix" ou "OS ix" ? Votre Mac connaît la réponse ! Essayez en tapant "say OS X" dans le Terminal. Le résultat pourrait vous surprendre.

Conclusion

J'espère que ce petit tutoriel vous aura aidé à démystifier le Terminal et à réaliser qu'il n'est vraiment pas difficile à utiliser - vous pouvez accomplir beaucoup plus en l'utilisant, et si vous voulez customiser OS X plus qu'en changeant juste de fond d'écran, alors c'est vraiment la première chose à utiliser.

J'espère que vous vous amuserez bien avec les commandes que je vous ai donné plus haut, et assurez vous de partager vos préférées dans la section commentaire en dessous, au bénéfice de tous les lecteurs de Tuts+ !

Et n'oubliez pas d'aller faire un tour dans les apps pour Mac sur Envato Market.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Terminal

10 Terminal Commands That Every Mac User Should Know

by

The Terminal in OS X is often, in my opinion anyway, an overlooked area of the operating system. Most newcomers to Macs look at it with fear, as the sight of anything code-related or advanced is enough to put them off for life. Fortunately, you don't have to be scared of Terminal and think of it as a feature just for the tech-minded. Knowing some basic Terminal commands can really enhance your experience of OS X. So, for all the beginners out there, here is my pick of the top 10 Terminal commands that every Mac user should know.


Before We Start...

Before we start tinkering around with it, it is probably worth taking a couple of minutes to tell you exactly what Terminal is (all in a non-technical sense, of course!).

Terminal OS X

Terminal.app running under OS X (Lion).

Terminal (officially called Terminal.app) is, strictly speaking, an emulator and works off most typical UNIX commands (OS X is a UNIX-based system, as opposed to Windows, which is NT-based). Unlike OS X, which has a graphical user interface (shortened to GUI), Terminal works off a text-based interface and all commands have to be typed in - this may be the reason why some people are scared off by it!

We won't go into massive detail on how Terminal works but it's best to learn the following three commands before we start this tutorial:

  • ls - list the contents of a particular directory
  • cd - change to another directory (as in DOS)
  • sudo - authenticate yourself a superuser to gain extra security privileges

Tip: >Be extra careful when using the sudo command. You will usually have to enter your OS X system password and any mistakes can permanently mess up your system for good. When in doubt, leave it out!

1. Disable Lion/Mountain Lion's Pop-up Accent Window

For people like me who write a lot of foreign accents then the pop-up accent window that came up when you hold down a letter for a longer period is extremely useful. But for those of you who want to write lots of repeat letters, it can be quite annoying. Use this simple trick to disable it:

defaults write -g ApplePressAndHoldEnabled -bool false

Hit Return then log out then back in again to see the changes. If you want to change back to the norm, then simply substitute false for true in the above.

2. Change the Default Backup Periods in Time Machine

By default, Time Machine backs up every hour when it's connected but this can be changed through Terminal. To do so, simply enter the following command:

sudo defaults write /System/Library/Launch Daemons/com.apple.backupd-auto StartInterval -int 1800

This makes Time Machine backup now every 30 minutes. To change it to what you want, simply replace the 1800 with the interval time in seconds (so 15 minutes would be 900 seconds, therefore enter 900). Also be aware that you are using a sudo command, so make sure that you've typed the command exactly right before you hit Enter (and you'll also be prompted to enter your system password).

3. Drag Dashboard Widgets onto the Desktop

I always forget that the Dashboard exists on my Mac. In fact, I hardly ever see a need for it. But I think that's mostly down to the fact that the widgets are hidden away inside the operating system. To be able to drag your Dashboard widgets onto your desktop, then enter the following command:

defaults write com.apple.dashboard devmode YES

You must log out then back in again and to drag a widget onto your desktop click and hold down on it then press F12, which dismisses it from the Dashboard and allows you to drop it onto the desktop. Your widgets now float above open applications, similar to the Gadgets on Windows 7.

To disable this feature, simply replace YES with NO in the above command. Again, you'll have to log out then back in again, unfortunately.

4. Disable Lion/Mountain Lion's Auto-restore Feature

This really bugged me when I first upgraded to Lion - the fact that when you open up something like Preview, all your recently accessed PDFs coming popping up in your face, even if you closed them down properly. Unfortunately there's no universal command to disable it across the entire OS so you'll have to do it for each individual program. If you want to disable it for Preview, then enter the following command:

defaults write com.apple.Preview NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

QuickTime is another culprit in my eyes, again just enter:

defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

Make sure you quit and restart the apps to see the changes and if you want to reverse anything, simply substitute false for true (I'm sure you're getting the hang of this by now!).

5. Show Hidden Files in Finder

By default, the Finder in OS X hides some files away from view (mostly irrelevant ones) but if you want to see everything on your computer, then enter in the following command:

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles TRUE

Again, substitute false for true to hide them again.

6. Change the File Format for Screenshots

Screenshots using the built-in shortcut for OS X are really useful but by default they are saved as PNG files. If you want to change this, then type in the following command:

defaults write com.apple.screencapture type file-extension

Replace file-extension with the three letter abbreviation of your desired file format, so for JPEG format simply enter JPG and for Acrobat PDF format, PDF. Terminal doesn't have to be difficult, does it?

7. Kill the Dashboard Altogether

Above, we went over the command to drop Dashboard widgets onto the desktop, but if you want to get rid of the Dashboard altogether (for example, if you're running an older Mac and have memory issues) then you can do via this simple Terminal command:

defaults write com.apple.dashboard mcx-disabled -boolean YES

Then, restart the Dock using the following command:

killall Dock

Et, voilà! No more Dashboard. If you find yourself afterwards lamenting after the good old days, replace YES with NO in the top command and repeat the process.

8. Securely Erase Free Space

When you delete files on your Mac, OS X still leaves fragments of the file all over the free space on your hard disk drive, until these are written over by new files. If you want to securely delete all the remaining fragments on a hard disk drive (for example if you're going to sell your Mac), then execute the following command:

diskutil secureErase freespace 3 /Volumes/name-of-drive

Replace /name-of-drive with the drive you want to erase. This command uses a special algorithm to wipe over each free area of space 35 times, far above the US Department of Defense's standard, which only requires 7 passes. Be aware though that this process can take days on larger drives.

On a side note, the command diskutil is a really useful one and allows you to manage local disks and volumes directly from the Terminal (a list of sample commands is given). Be aware, though, that most commands require root access.

9. Control Your Mac Remotely

Being able to control your Mac remotely via SSH, or secure shell, is far more advantageous than screen sharing as it uses less system resources and less bandwidth. The first thing you will have to do is enable Remote Login on your Mac, which you can do by heading over to System Preferences then Sharing then click on Remote Login.

SSH Mac
Be sure to enable Remote Login on your Mac before you start anything.

A little green light should come up, along with an IP address that you can use to log in via Terminal. The connection between the local Mac you're using and the remote one (i.e. your own one) is secure and encrypted, meaning that any data being transferred between the two cannot be intercepted.

To log into your Mac on another Mac, execute the command:

ssh -l username remote-address

Replace username with the username you'd use to log into OS X and remote-address with the IP address given to you in the Sharing pane. You can now control your Mac and execute Terminal commands remotely, a real plus.

10. Talking Mac!

And last but not least, if you want your Mac to speak to you, then simply use the say command, as in:

say Hello World!

The words will be spoken in your Mac's default voice but if you want to change this, then simply head over to System Preferences then either Dictation and Speech (on Mountain Lion) or simply Speech (on Lion). Here you can select different voices and download new ones from Apple's servers if you fancy. Another "useful" feature is the ability to convert an entire text file into speech, if you so fancy. Simply enter:

<strong>say -o audio.aiff -f FILENAME.txt</strong>

Replace FILENAME.txt with your own file. This will create a reading of your file as an AIFF file audio.aiff in Terminal's default directory.

Tip: Ever wondered if the Mac operating system is pronounced "OS ten" or "OS ex?" Your Mac knows the answer! Try typing "say OS X" into Terminal. The result may surprise you.

Conclusion

I hope that this little tutorial has helped you demystify the Terminal and realize that it's really not that bad to use – you can achieve a lot more using it and if you want to customize OS X beyond simply changing the wallpaper, then it really is your first port of call.

I hope you have plenty of fun with the commands mentioned above, please feel free to share your own favourites in the comments section below for the benefit of all Mactuts+ readers!

Related Posts
  • Computer Skills
    Tips & Shortcuts
    Quick Tip: Bulk Add Words to Your Mac's Spell Check DictionarySpelling
    The OS X built-in spell check is great, but it is not complete. It often does not include technical terms or brand names. If you routinely use words that your Mac’s dictionary doesn’t contain, and don't want the hassle of adding them one at a time, it might be worth your while bulk adding a list of words. In this tutorial I’ll show you how to do just that.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Hardware
    How to Check and Enable TRIM on a Mac SSDTrim preview retina
    You probably know that solid state drives (SSD) differ from Hard Disk Drives (HDD) in how they store information, and you may have heard that something called TRIM can maintain their performance. In this tutorial, I’ll not only show you how you can enable TRIM support for your SSDs, but also understand what the term means and how it fits into the functionality of solid state storage.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    OS X
    Knowing Your Startup Key Combinations for Intel MacsStartupkeys400 1
    Whilst the idea of the computer mouse (essentially an inverted trackball) has been around since the 1960s, many people were still using keyboards as the sole input method some twenty years on. Even after the mouse became a standard computer accessory in the mid-1980s, many programs relied on keyboard shortcuts to perform particular functions. Even with new input devices, in addition to mice and trackpads, there is still a place for keyboard shortcuts. In this tutorial, I will show you the various keyboard key combinations that perform particular tasks when starting up your Mac.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    OS X
    Two More Ways to Create an OS X 10.9 Mavericks USB DriveMavericksusb400
    OS X Mavericks 10.9 is the latest iteration of Apple’s desktop computer operating system, released to great fanfare at Apple’s Special Event on 22nd October 2013. Mavericks is distrubuted through Apple’s Mac App Store and is a digital download of 5.29GB. If you have a superfast fibre connection then this may be of little concern. Even a fast ADSL connection and the upgrade can be downloaded reasonably quickly. If you are on a slower internet connection, then this distribution model is not suiting you. In this tutorial, I will show you two ways to install OS X Mavericks onto a bootable USB drive. This is particularly useful if you have two or more Macs to upgrade as it means you only have to download the software once.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    OS X
    How to Format Your Mac's Hard DriveHdd400
    Unlike personal computers that run Microsoft Windows, it should not be necessary to completely reformat the hard drive, once a year, to reinstall the operating system. You will find that OS X is very stable in comparison, it defragments its hard drive on an ongoing basis and it does not get bogged down with additional software in the way that a Windows machine does. There may be occasions, however, when you want to reformat your Mac's hard drive. In this tutorial, I will show you how to reformat the hard drive in your Mac and reinstall OS X for that factory fresh finish.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Terminal
    40 Terminal Tips and Tricks You Never Thought You NeededIcon terminal 2x
    The Terminal is an exceptionally powerful tool, providing a command line interface to the underpinnings of OS X. It’s a topic we’ve covered at length before with our popular series Taming the Terminal. There’s a great deal that Terminal can do, from moving large numbers of files to changing preferences that we didn’t even know exist. To demonstrate just how versatile the Terminal is, I’ve rounded up 40 truly excellent Terminal tips and tricks that can come in very handy. Read More…