Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Terminal
Computers

10個所有的Mac用戶都應該知道的Terminal終端命令

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:
This post is part of a series called Taming The Terminal.
How to Play Tetris, Pong and Other Hidden Games on Your Mac
Quick Tip: Organize Your Dock With Spacers

Chinese (Traditional) (中文(繁體)) translation by Stypstive (you can also view the original English article)

從我的觀點來說,終端在OS X裡面經常是被忽視掉的一個區域。 大部分新入手Mac的人都會不自覺的有一種懼怕感,感覺看到任何跟代碼相關或者高級的設定都會讓他們手足無措。 幸運的是,你不需要感到懼怕使用終端,並且你可以把它想像成只是一些比較有技術含量的東西。 當你了解了一些基本的終端命令以後可以確實的提高你對OS X的體驗。 所以,對於所有的初學者們,在這裡我選出了10佳Mac用戶應該都知道的終端命令。

在我們開始之前…

你是否知道我們有一些有用的Mac程序在Envato Market上面有售? 舉個例子,絕好的在線聊天服務台OS X 這個程序允許你使用一個簡單的Mac通知提供給你的顧客一個在線聊天的支持。

Live chat support for Mac

同時,在我們開始搗鼓這些功能之前,我覺得花幾分鐘來跟你解釋一下到底什麼是終端-Terminal是值得的。 (當然啦,這些解釋都是非常的簡單易懂的!)

Terminal OS X
Terminal.app在OS X(Lion獅子)下運行

終端Terminal(官方的正式叫法應該是Terminal.app),嚴格意義上來說是一個模擬器混合著大部分典型的UNIX指令(OS X是一個以UNIX為基礎的系統,與Windows正好相反,Windows是以NT為基礎的。 不像OS X,它有一個視覺化的用戶界面(簡稱GUI-graphical user interface),終端的操作界面是一個以文字為基礎的界面以及所有的命令都需要手動的輸入-這可能就是為什麼有些人感覺到懼怕它的原因吧!

我們並不會深入的介紹大量的關於終端如何工作的細節,但是我們最好在開始本篇教程之前學習以下三個命令:

  • ls - 列出指定路徑下的所有內容
  • cd - 改變到另外一個路徑(和DOS命令一樣)
  • sudo - 認證你自己是超級用戶並用以獲取額外的安全權限。

小貼士:當你使用sudo命令的時候你需要非常非常的小心。 通常的,你需要輸入你的OS X系統密碼並且任何你操作上的失誤都會永久的搞亂你的系統。 如果你有任何不確定,就別碰它就好了!

1. 禁用獅子Lion/山貓Mountain Lion的按鍵提示彈出窗口

對於那些像我一樣需要書寫很多外語的人,當你按住一個鍵很久的時間,而你又需要按鍵提示窗口會一直顯示在窗口上,這樣就顯得這個功能非常的有用了。 但是對於那些你會要寫很多重複的字母的人來說,這個功能可以變得很煩。 使用下面這個簡單的技巧來禁用它:

完成後按回車(Return)然後登出再登錄進入就可以看到變化了。 如果你希望把它變回標準狀態,你只需要簡單的改變上面的代碼,用false代替true即可。

2. 改變默認的時光機(Time Machine)自動備份週期

Mac默認的狀況下,當設備連接的情況下,時光機的備份是每個小時進行一次的,但是這個你可以在終端中進行修改。 要完成這個修改,你只需要簡單的輸入下面的命令就好:

這個命令可以讓時光機變成現在每30分鐘備份一次。 要改變它到你需要的任何數值,你只需要替換1800到用秒計算的間隔時間就可以了(所以15分鐘就是900秒,就輸入900即可)。 同時,你要意識到你使用的是sudo命令,所以確保在按回車之前你輸入的命令是完全正確的(而且你會被提示要求輸入你的系統密碼)

3. 拖動Dashboard裡面的小工具到桌面上

我經常會忘記其實我的Mac還有一個Dashboard的存在。 事實上,我真的很難承認我需要它。 但是我覺得大多數情況下那些小工具都因為這個被隱藏在操作系統之外了, 為了要啟用拖動你的Dashboard小工具到桌面的功能,你需要輸入以下的命令:

你必須要登出然後再次登錄,然後拖動一個小工具到桌面上並點擊按住F12,這樣會將該小工具從Dashboard去除並允許你將其放置到桌面上。 你的小工具現在會懸浮在打開的程序頂部,其效果類似於Windows 7裡面的小配件。

要禁用這個功能,你只需要在上面的命令裡簡單的替換YESNO即可。 同樣的,你必須要登出再登錄回賬號才能生效,很不幸,就是這麼麻煩。

4. 禁用Lion/Mountain Lion的自動恢復功能

當我最早升級到Lion的時候這個功能真的煩了我很久- 事實就是,當你打開一個程序像是Preview,所有你最近打開過的PDF文件都會自動彈出到你臉上,即便你已經把它們正常的關閉了還是會這樣。 很不幸的是,並沒有一個通用的命令來讓你禁用所有的OS程序,所以這就意味著你必須要挨個程序依次來進行禁用操作。 如果你希望禁用Preview的這個功能,那麼就輸入下面的命令:

QuickTime是我眼裡的另一個搗亂的,同樣的,輸入以下代碼:

確保你完全退出並重啟程序來看到它們的變化,如果你希望將它們改變回去,簡單的使用true代替false即可(我很確定你已經牢記這一條了!)

5. 在Finder裡面顯示隱藏文件

默認的,OS X的Finder會隱藏顯示一些文件(大部分是不相干的)但是如果你希望看到所有電腦上的文件,你就需要輸入下面的命令:

同樣的,使用true替換false就會將它們重新隱藏。

6. 改變屏幕截圖的文件格式

使用內置快捷鍵的OS X屏幕截圖功能,是一個非常有用的功能,但是默認的它們會被保存為PNG文件。 如果你希望改變這個,輸入以下的命令:

替換文件擴展名到你希望的文件類型的3個字母縮寫形式,所以JPEG文件就輸入JPG,對於Acrobat PDF格式就是PDF。 終端不需要是非常困難,是不是?

7. 完全的干掉Dashboard

上面,我們已經學瞭如何使用命令來將Dashboard裡面的小工具放到桌面上,但是如果你希望完全整個的把Dashboard幹掉(舉個例子,如果你是在使用舊一點的Mac並且它有一些內存問題的話)那麼你只需要使用以下簡單的終端命令即可:

然後我們需要使用下面的命令重啟Dock:

成了, Dashboard消失了, 如果你發現自己事後經常哀嘆以前的好日子,還是一樣,在上面的命令裡面替換YESNO然後重複整個過程即可。

8. 安全的清理空白磁盤空間

當你從你的Mac上面刪除文件的時候,OS X依然會在空白的硬盤空間裡面留下一些文件的碎片,直到這些區域被重新寫入的新文件覆蓋為止。 如果你希望安全的刪除所有硬盤上剩下的碎片(舉個例子,你想要把你的Mac賣掉),那麼執行以下的命令:

替換/name-of-drive到你希望刪除的盤符。 這個命令使用了一個特殊的算法來清楚每一塊空白區域35次,遠遠地超出了美國防禦機構所規定的7次標準。 你要意識到,這個過程對於那些很大的硬盤來說可能需要幾天或者更長的時間。

另註:diskutil這個命令是非常有用的,它允許你在終端中直接管理本地硬盤和分區(我將給出一個簡單的命令列表)。 你要同時意識到,大部分的命令都需要根目錄的權限。

9. 遠程操控你的Mac

通過SSH或者安全的位置來遠程操控你的Mac,是一件遠比簡單的共享屏幕要更為有優勢的操作,因為它使用了更少的系統資源以及更多的帶寬。 你需要做的第一件事情就是開啟遠程登錄你Mac的功能,你可以去到系統設置裡面的共享部分,然後點擊遠程登錄

SSH Mac
確保在你開始其他任何事情之前先在Mac上開啟遠程登錄

有一個小小的綠燈應該會亮起來,然後在右邊會顯示出一個IP地址允許你在終端裡面來進行登錄。 連接在你正在使用的本地Mac和遠程操控的Mac(例如你自己的)是用一個加密的方式安全連接的,這意味著任何在這兩者之間傳遞的數據都無法被攔截。

要想在另外一台Mac上登錄你的Mac,執行以下命令:

username替換為你使用在自己Mac上的的用戶名,然後將remote-address替換為剛才在共享裡面給出的IP地址。 現在你就可以遠程的控制你的Mac以及執行終端命令了,一個大寫的加號!

10. 會說話的Mac!

最後一條,如果你希望你的Mac可以跟你說話,那麼簡單的使用以下這個say命令,像這樣:

這些字將會使用默認的語音被你的Mac讀出,但是如果你希望改變不同的讀音,你需要簡單的到系統設置裡面找到語音和閱讀選項(山貓版本OS)或者就簡單的是語音選項(獅子版本OS) 。 在那裡你可以選擇不同的聲音,甚至如果你願意的話,可以從蘋果的服務器下載新的聲音。 另外一個“有用”的特性就是你可以轉換整個的文本文件到閱讀模式,如果你特別喜歡這樣的話。 你只需要輸入:

FILENAME.txt替換成你自己的文件, 這樣會創建一個你文件的閱讀版本到一個AIFF文件,名為audio.aiff,它會保存在你終端的默認目錄下。

小貼士:你是否會問Mac操作系統到底應該念“OS 十”還是“OS X”呢? 你的Mac知道這個問題的答案! 嘗試寫入“say OS X”到你的終端, 它的結果可能會驚到你。

結語

我希望本篇小教程能啟發你對於終端的認識,並且讓你意識到其實它並不是那麼難用- 使用它你可以完成更多的工作,並且如果你希望自定義你的OS X遠不止只是改變壁紙什麼的,那麼終端絕對是你的第一目標。

我希望你在我上面提到的命令中找到了很多樂趣,請隨時隨意的在下面留言區和我們分享你自己最喜愛的命令,這樣你可以幫助我們啟發更多的Mactuts+讀者們!

而且別忘了去看看我們在Envato Market上面的Mac程序

Envato qr branded
关注我们的公众号
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Terminal

10 Terminal Commands That Every Mac User Should Know

by

The Terminal in OS X is often, in my opinion anyway, an overlooked area of the operating system. Most newcomers to Macs look at it with fear, as the sight of anything code-related or advanced is enough to put them off for life. Fortunately, you don't have to be scared of Terminal and think of it as a feature just for the tech-minded. Knowing some basic Terminal commands can really enhance your experience of OS X. So, for all the beginners out there, here is my pick of the top 10 Terminal commands that every Mac user should know.


Before We Start...

Before we start tinkering around with it, it is probably worth taking a couple of minutes to tell you exactly what Terminal is (all in a non-technical sense, of course!).

Terminal OS X

Terminal.app running under OS X (Lion).

Terminal (officially called Terminal.app) is, strictly speaking, an emulator and works off most typical UNIX commands (OS X is a UNIX-based system, as opposed to Windows, which is NT-based). Unlike OS X, which has a graphical user interface (shortened to GUI), Terminal works off a text-based interface and all commands have to be typed in - this may be the reason why some people are scared off by it!

We won't go into massive detail on how Terminal works but it's best to learn the following three commands before we start this tutorial:

  • ls - list the contents of a particular directory
  • cd - change to another directory (as in DOS)
  • sudo - authenticate yourself a superuser to gain extra security privileges

Tip: >Be extra careful when using the sudo command. You will usually have to enter your OS X system password and any mistakes can permanently mess up your system for good. When in doubt, leave it out!

1. Disable Lion/Mountain Lion's Pop-up Accent Window

For people like me who write a lot of foreign accents then the pop-up accent window that came up when you hold down a letter for a longer period is extremely useful. But for those of you who want to write lots of repeat letters, it can be quite annoying. Use this simple trick to disable it:

defaults write -g ApplePressAndHoldEnabled -bool false

Hit Return then log out then back in again to see the changes. If you want to change back to the norm, then simply substitute false for true in the above.

2. Change the Default Backup Periods in Time Machine

By default, Time Machine backs up every hour when it's connected but this can be changed through Terminal. To do so, simply enter the following command:

sudo defaults write /System/Library/Launch Daemons/com.apple.backupd-auto StartInterval -int 1800

This makes Time Machine backup now every 30 minutes. To change it to what you want, simply replace the 1800 with the interval time in seconds (so 15 minutes would be 900 seconds, therefore enter 900). Also be aware that you are using a sudo command, so make sure that you've typed the command exactly right before you hit Enter (and you'll also be prompted to enter your system password).

3. Drag Dashboard Widgets onto the Desktop

I always forget that the Dashboard exists on my Mac. In fact, I hardly ever see a need for it. But I think that's mostly down to the fact that the widgets are hidden away inside the operating system. To be able to drag your Dashboard widgets onto your desktop, then enter the following command:

defaults write com.apple.dashboard devmode YES

You must log out then back in again and to drag a widget onto your desktop click and hold down on it then press F12, which dismisses it from the Dashboard and allows you to drop it onto the desktop. Your widgets now float above open applications, similar to the Gadgets on Windows 7.

To disable this feature, simply replace YES with NO in the above command. Again, you'll have to log out then back in again, unfortunately.

4. Disable Lion/Mountain Lion's Auto-restore Feature

This really bugged me when I first upgraded to Lion - the fact that when you open up something like Preview, all your recently accessed PDFs coming popping up in your face, even if you closed them down properly. Unfortunately there's no universal command to disable it across the entire OS so you'll have to do it for each individual program. If you want to disable it for Preview, then enter the following command:

defaults write com.apple.Preview NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

QuickTime is another culprit in my eyes, again just enter:

defaults write com.apple.QuickTimePlayerX NSQuitAlwaysKeepsWindows -bool false

Make sure you quit and restart the apps to see the changes and if you want to reverse anything, simply substitute false for true (I'm sure you're getting the hang of this by now!).

5. Show Hidden Files in Finder

By default, the Finder in OS X hides some files away from view (mostly irrelevant ones) but if you want to see everything on your computer, then enter in the following command:

defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles TRUE

Again, substitute false for true to hide them again.

6. Change the File Format for Screenshots

Screenshots using the built-in shortcut for OS X are really useful but by default they are saved as PNG files. If you want to change this, then type in the following command:

defaults write com.apple.screencapture type file-extension

Replace file-extension with the three letter abbreviation of your desired file format, so for JPEG format simply enter JPG and for Acrobat PDF format, PDF. Terminal doesn't have to be difficult, does it?

7. Kill the Dashboard Altogether

Above, we went over the command to drop Dashboard widgets onto the desktop, but if you want to get rid of the Dashboard altogether (for example, if you're running an older Mac and have memory issues) then you can do via this simple Terminal command:

defaults write com.apple.dashboard mcx-disabled -boolean YES

Then, restart the Dock using the following command:

killall Dock

Et, voilà! No more Dashboard. If you find yourself afterwards lamenting after the good old days, replace YES with NO in the top command and repeat the process.

8. Securely Erase Free Space

When you delete files on your Mac, OS X still leaves fragments of the file all over the free space on your hard disk drive, until these are written over by new files. If you want to securely delete all the remaining fragments on a hard disk drive (for example if you're going to sell your Mac), then execute the following command:

diskutil secureErase freespace 3 /Volumes/name-of-drive

Replace /name-of-drive with the drive you want to erase. This command uses a special algorithm to wipe over each free area of space 35 times, far above the US Department of Defense's standard, which only requires 7 passes. Be aware though that this process can take days on larger drives.

On a side note, the command diskutil is a really useful one and allows you to manage local disks and volumes directly from the Terminal (a list of sample commands is given). Be aware, though, that most commands require root access.

9. Control Your Mac Remotely

Being able to control your Mac remotely via SSH, or secure shell, is far more advantageous than screen sharing as it uses less system resources and less bandwidth. The first thing you will have to do is enable Remote Login on your Mac, which you can do by heading over to System Preferences then Sharing then click on Remote Login.

SSH Mac
Be sure to enable Remote Login on your Mac before you start anything.

A little green light should come up, along with an IP address that you can use to log in via Terminal. The connection between the local Mac you're using and the remote one (i.e. your own one) is secure and encrypted, meaning that any data being transferred between the two cannot be intercepted.

To log into your Mac on another Mac, execute the command:

ssh -l username remote-address

Replace username with the username you'd use to log into OS X and remote-address with the IP address given to you in the Sharing pane. You can now control your Mac and execute Terminal commands remotely, a real plus.

10. Talking Mac!

And last but not least, if you want your Mac to speak to you, then simply use the say command, as in:

say Hello World!

The words will be spoken in your Mac's default voice but if you want to change this, then simply head over to System Preferences then either Dictation and Speech (on Mountain Lion) or simply Speech (on Lion). Here you can select different voices and download new ones from Apple's servers if you fancy. Another "useful" feature is the ability to convert an entire text file into speech, if you so fancy. Simply enter:

<strong>say -o audio.aiff -f FILENAME.txt</strong>

Replace FILENAME.txt with your own file. This will create a reading of your file as an AIFF file audio.aiff in Terminal's default directory.

Tip: Ever wondered if the Mac operating system is pronounced "OS ten" or "OS ex?" Your Mac knows the answer! Try typing "say OS X" into Terminal. The result may surprise you.

Conclusion

I hope that this little tutorial has helped you demystify the Terminal and realize that it's really not that bad to use – you can achieve a lot more using it and if you want to customize OS X beyond simply changing the wallpaper, then it really is your first port of call.

I hope you have plenty of fun with the commands mentioned above, please feel free to share your own favourites in the comments section below for the benefit of all Mactuts+ readers!

Related Posts
  • Computer Skills
    Tips & Shortcuts
    Quick Tip: Bulk Add Words to Your Mac's Spell Check DictionarySpelling
    The OS X built-in spell check is great, but it is not complete. It often does not include technical terms or brand names. If you routinely use words that your Mac’s dictionary doesn’t contain, and don't want the hassle of adding them one at a time, it might be worth your while bulk adding a list of words. In this tutorial I’ll show you how to do just that.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Hardware
    How to Check and Enable TRIM on a Mac SSDTrim preview retina
    You probably know that solid state drives (SSD) differ from Hard Disk Drives (HDD) in how they store information, and you may have heard that something called TRIM can maintain their performance. In this tutorial, I’ll not only show you how you can enable TRIM support for your SSDs, but also understand what the term means and how it fits into the functionality of solid state storage.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    OS X
    Knowing Your Startup Key Combinations for Intel MacsStartupkeys400 1
    Whilst the idea of the computer mouse (essentially an inverted trackball) has been around since the 1960s, many people were still using keyboards as the sole input method some twenty years on. Even after the mouse became a standard computer accessory in the mid-1980s, many programs relied on keyboard shortcuts to perform particular functions. Even with new input devices, in addition to mice and trackpads, there is still a place for keyboard shortcuts. In this tutorial, I will show you the various keyboard key combinations that perform particular tasks when starting up your Mac.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    OS X
    Two More Ways to Create an OS X 10.9 Mavericks USB DriveMavericksusb400
    OS X Mavericks 10.9 is the latest iteration of Apple’s desktop computer operating system, released to great fanfare at Apple’s Special Event on 22nd October 2013. Mavericks is distrubuted through Apple’s Mac App Store and is a digital download of 5.29GB. If you have a superfast fibre connection then this may be of little concern. Even a fast ADSL connection and the upgrade can be downloaded reasonably quickly. If you are on a slower internet connection, then this distribution model is not suiting you. In this tutorial, I will show you two ways to install OS X Mavericks onto a bootable USB drive. This is particularly useful if you have two or more Macs to upgrade as it means you only have to download the software once.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    OS X
    How to Format Your Mac's Hard DriveHdd400
    Unlike personal computers that run Microsoft Windows, it should not be necessary to completely reformat the hard drive, once a year, to reinstall the operating system. You will find that OS X is very stable in comparison, it defragments its hard drive on an ongoing basis and it does not get bogged down with additional software in the way that a Windows machine does. There may be occasions, however, when you want to reformat your Mac's hard drive. In this tutorial, I will show you how to reformat the hard drive in your Mac and reinstall OS X for that factory fresh finish.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Terminal
    40 Terminal Tips and Tricks You Never Thought You NeededIcon terminal 2x
    The Terminal is an exceptionally powerful tool, providing a command line interface to the underpinnings of OS X. It’s a topic we’ve covered at length before with our popular series Taming the Terminal. There’s a great deal that Terminal can do, from moving large numbers of files to changing preferences that we didn’t even know exist. To demonstrate just how versatile the Terminal is, I’ve rounded up 40 truly excellent Terminal tips and tricks that can come in very handy. Read More…