Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. OS X

3 Wege zum Zurückbringen des Web-Sharing in OS X Mountain Lion

by
Read Time:11 minsLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Władysław Łucyszyn (you can also view the original English article)

Mit der Einführung von OS X Mountain Lion war Web Sharing eine Funktion, die den Schnitt nicht geschafft hat. Es ist vielleicht nicht weit verbreitet, aber für Entwickler diente es als schnelle Möglichkeit, eine Website zu hosten. Schauen wir uns drei verschiedene Möglichkeiten an, um diese Funktion wiederherzustellen.


Erforderliche Definitionen

Während das, was wir uns ansehen werden, für Anfänger bis Fortgeschrittene geeignet ist, kennen einige möglicherweise bestimmte Bedeutungen oder Software nicht.

  • Apache - Eine Open-Source-HTTP-Serversoftware, die der am häufigsten verwendete verfügbare HTTP-Server ist und auf zig Millionen Servern auf der ganzen Welt verwendet wird.
  • Localhost - Ein Netzwerkbegriff, der sich auf den lokalen Host bezieht (den Computer, auf dem Sie arbeiten). Wenn Sie einen Webserver ausführen, greifen Sie normalerweise über https://localhost auf Websites zu. Ihr Mac kann nur mit localhost auf Websites zugreifen, auf denen er ausgeführt wird. Wenn Sie also versuchen, diese Adresse an einer anderen Stelle zu verwenden, funktioniert dies nicht. Sie können jedoch localhost durch die IP-Adresse Ihres Mac ersetzen. Wenn Sie eine Site von einem anderen Mac aus anzeigen möchten, ersetzen Sie einfach localhost durch seine IP-Adresse.
  • MySQL - Die beliebteste Open-Source-Datenbank.
  • PHP - Eine serverseitige Open-Source-Skriptsprache. Software wie Wordpress, Joomla und Drupal verwenden sowohl PHP als auch MySQL.
  • Ports - Sowohl Apache als auch MySQL verwenden einen sogenannten Port. Der Zweck von Ports besteht darin, verschiedene Anwendungen oder Prozesse, die auf einem einzelnen Computer ausgeführt werden, eindeutig zu identifizieren. Wenn Sie eine Website über Ihren Browser besuchen, verwenden Sie normalerweise Port 80, den Standardport für Apache. Wenn Sie eine Website wie http://mac.tutsplus.com besuchen, wird tatsächlich http://mac.tutsplus.com:80 geladen. Probieren Sie es aus, gehen Sie zu einer beliebigen Adresse und :80 bis zum Ende, und es wird wie gewohnt geladen. Versuchen Sie es mit einer anderen Zufallszahl und es wird wahrscheinlich nicht funktionieren. Für die Zwecke dieses Tutorials werden wir uns nicht wirklich ausführlich damit befassen, aber es lohnt sich, es kennenzulernen!
  • Stack - Eine Sammlung von Tools, die zusammenarbeiten, um eine gemeinsame Umgebung zu schaffen. Ein üblicher Stack ist LAMP - Linux, Apache, MySQL und PHP. Alle diese Tools bilden die Grundlage für einen voll funktionsfähigen Webserver.

Anvil

Kostenlos

Anvil ist eine Menüleistenanwendung, mit der Sie schnell Testumgebungen für statische HTML- und Rack-Apps einrichten können. Wenn Sie ein Projekt hinzufügen, geben Sie den Adressnamen an, der mit .dev versehen wird. Sie können auf Ihrem Mac viel schneller darauf zugreifen als auf eine Adresse, die alle möglichen Schrägstriche und Zeichen enthält.

Anvil ist eigentlich eine grafische Oberfläche für eine Befehlszeilenanwendung namens Pow. Pow ist das, was Anvil antreibt und die Möglichkeit bietet, Websites auf Ihrem Mac zu erstellen, auf die Sie lokal mit einem .dev-Domainnamen zugreifen können. Da Pow ein wirklich nützliches Werkzeug für Leute ist, die im Terminal nicht allzu versiert sind, macht Anvil das Einrichten zum Kinderspiel.

Da es für die Einrichtung mehrerer Umgebungen konzipiert ist, ist es nicht nur eine großartige Möglichkeit, eine einfache Webfreigabe schnell einzurichten, sondern Sie können auch so viele Websites ausführen, wie Sie möchten.

Installation

  1. Laden Sie Anvil von der Anvil for Mac-Website herunter.
  2. Ziehen Sie die App in Ihren Anwendungsordner und öffnen Sie sie.

Das ist Anvil installiert!

Installieren

Da Anvil Pow benötigt, wird beim ersten Laden die Option angezeigt, Pow zu installieren, bevor Sie es verwenden. Wenn Sie auf "Installieren" klicken, wird das Terminal geöffnet und es passiert etwas Magisches.

Anvil requires a tool called Pow to runAnvil requires a tool called Pow to runAnvil requires a tool called Pow to run

Amboss benötigt ein Werkzeug namens Pow, um ausgeführt zu werden

Keine Sorge, Anvil kümmert sich für Sie darum. Sie müssen Ihr Passwort im Terminalfenster eingeben, wenn Sie dazu aufgefordert werden, und dann die Eingabetaste drücken. Sobald es installiert ist, beenden Sie Terminal und Sie können loslegen!

Pow installs via Terminal but don’t worry, it’s painless!Pow installs via Terminal but don’t worry, it’s painless!Pow installs via Terminal but don’t worry, it’s painless!

Pow wird über das Terminal installiert, aber keine Sorge, es ist schmerzlos!

When Pow is installed, Anvil will report it’s ready to go.When Pow is installed, Anvil will report it’s ready to go.When Pow is installed, Anvil will report it’s ready to go.

Wenn Pow installiert ist, meldet Anvil, dass es betriebsbereit ist.

Verwendung

Um eine neue Site hinzuzufügen, klicken Sie einfach auf die Schaltfläche "Site hinzufügen" und wählen Sie einen Ordner aus, in dem sich Ihre HTML-Dateien befinden. Wenn Sie einen leeren Ordner auswählen, erstellt Anvil eine Beispiel-index.html für Sie.

Sites are listed under the Anvil menu barSites are listed under the Anvil menu barSites are listed under the Anvil menu bar

Websites werden in der Amboss-Menüleiste aufgelistet

Anvil fordert Sie dann auf, einen Namen für die Site zu bestätigen, gefolgt von .dev. Gehen Sie in Ihrem Browser zu dieser URL und fertig! Sie können diese Schritte dann wiederholen, um so viele Websites hinzuzufügen, wie Sie benötigen.

Once a site has been created within Anvil, you’ll be able to open it in your browserOnce a site has been created within Anvil, you’ll be able to open it in your browserOnce a site has been created within Anvil, you’ll be able to open it in your browser
Sobald eine Website in Anvil erstellt wurde, können Sie sie in Ihrem Browser öffnen

MAMP

Kostenlos (Pro-Version verfügbar)

Wenn Sie Zeit mit der Webentwicklung oder der Verwaltung eines Webservers verbracht haben, sind Sie wahrscheinlich auf etwas gestoßen, das als LAMP bezeichnet wird. MAMP ist nur das Mac-Äquivalent - Mac, Apache, MySQL und PHP. Während argumentiert werden kann, dass PHP und sogar MySQL möglicherweise nicht einmal erforderlich sind, damit ein Webserver funktioniert (und für statische HTML-Inhalte mit ein wenig Javascript sind sie es nicht), sind Apache, MySQL und PHP die Eckpfeiler des modernen Web Entwicklung. PHP ist die häufigste Webentwicklungssprache und MySQL die am häufigsten verwendete Datenbank.

Klingt kompliziert? Keine Sorge, ein Softwareunternehmen namens appsolute hat eine Mac-App namens MAMP erstellt, die keine Terminalbeteiligung erfordert und vollständig in sich geschlossen ist.

MAMP bietet eine vollständige Webserverplattform für Ihren Mac, mit der Sie Funktionen wie Apache-Module, PHP-Version und sogar die Ports, die Sie verwenden möchten, anpassen können (Sie könnten also http://localhost:8888 anstelle des üblichen http://localhost verwenden).

Installation

  1. Laden Sie MAMP von der MAMP-Site herunter.
  2. Ziehen Sie den MAMP-Ordner in Ihren Anwendungsordner und öffnen Sie ihn.

Auch hier ist die Installation ein Kinderspiel und das ist alles.

Verwendung

MAMP enthält alle erforderlichen Dateien im MAMP-Ordner. Standardmäßig verwendet MAMP die Ordner-htdocs, die sich im MAMP-Ordner befinden. Anschließend greifen Sie auf Websites zu, die Sie in htdocs mit der Adresse http://localhost erstellen.

Sobald Sie MAMP geöffnet haben, ist es wirklich einfach zu sehen, was was ist. Auf der linken Seite befindet sich eine Ampel, die Sie darüber informiert, ob Apache und MySQL ausgeführt werden (derzeit nicht). Es gibt eine einfache Start/Stopp-Taste und eine Option für Einstellungen.

MAMP Control PanelMAMP Control PanelMAMP Control Panel

MAMP-Systemsteuerung

MAMP is ready to go!MAMP is ready to go!MAMP is ready to go!

MAMP ist einsatzbereit! 

Wenn Sie auf Start Server klicken, wird MAMP gestartet, die Anzeigen wechseln von rot zu grün und Ihr Browser öffnet sich unter der Adresse http://localhost:8888/MAMP/?language=English.

MAMP’s start page.MAMP’s start page.MAMP’s start page.

Startseite von MAMP.

Jetzt verwendet MAMP eine eindeutige Portnummer für Apache und MySQL. Wenn Sie sich im ersten Teil dieses Tutorials erinnern, wissen Sie, dass Apache standardmäßig Port 80 verwendet. MAMP beginnt tatsächlich mit Port 8888. Dies bedeutet lediglich, dass Sie am Ende von http://localhost nur :8888 hinzufügen.

Entfernen Sie /MAMP/?language=English aus der URL und drücken Sie die Eingabetaste. Sie erhalten eine Standardseite, auf der angegeben ist, dass alles ausgeführt wird und funktioniert. http://localhost:8888 ist der Ordner htdocs. Fügen Sie dort Dateien und Ordner hinzu und greifen Sie über Ihren Browser darauf zu.

MAMP’s default page in htdocs.MAMP’s default page in htdocs.MAMP’s default page in htdocs.

Die Standardseite von MAMP in htdocs.

Tipp: Wenn Sie Wordpress installieren möchten, können Sie es herunterladen und in den Ordner /htdocs/wordpress legen und dann über http://localhost:8888/wordpress darauf zugreifen.

Einstellungen

Start/Stop

Die erste Option zeigt grundlegende Funktionen an. Wir können wählen, ob MAMP beim Öffnen der App automatisch gestartet werden soll und ob sie beim Schließen heruntergefahren werden soll. Dies ist praktisch, da wir sicherstellen können, dass wir den Webserver kennen, solange die MAMP-Anwendung ausgeführt wird.

MAMP PreferencesMAMP PreferencesMAMP Preferences
MAMP-Einstellungen

Ports 

MAMP verwendet eigene Ports, die für die Entwicklung nützlich sein können. Wenn Sie die Standardports bevorzugen, können Sie dazu auf die Schaltfläche klicken. Behalte es so wie es ist.

Der Zweck von Ports besteht darin, verschiedene Anwendungen oder Prozesse, die auf einem einzelnen Computer ausgeführt werden, eindeutig zu identifizieren. Wenn Sie eine Website über Ihren Browser besuchen, verwenden Sie normalerweise Port 80, den Standardport für Apache. Wenn Sie eine Website wie http://mac.tutsplus.com besuchen, wird tatsächlich http://mac.tutsplus.com:80 geladen.

MAMP PreferencesMAMP PreferencesMAMP Preferences

MAMP-Einstellungen

PHP

Sie können angeben, welche PHP-Version Sie verwenden möchten, entweder PHP 5.2.x oder 5.4.x. Warum willst du das tun? Für Entwickler haben sie möglicherweise eine PHP-Anwendung in 5.2 geschrieben, die in 5.4 nicht funktioniert. Alternativ ist PHP 5.2 weit verbreitet und stabil, PHP 5.4 ist noch ziemlich neu (wie Sie anhand der Anzahl der Versionen im 3. Teil der Versionsnummer sehen werden).

MAMP PreferencesMAMP PreferencesMAMP Preferences

Apache

Hier können Sie angeben, welcher Ordner als Standardordner zum Hosten aller Ihrer Dateien verwendet werden soll. Standardmäßig ist dies der Ordner htdocs. Sie können an einer anderen Stelle angeben, wenn Sie dies wünschen.

MAMP PreferencesMAMP PreferencesMAMP Preferences

MAMP-Einstellungen

Zusätzliche Extras

In MAMP sind einige großartige Tools integriert, auf die über die MAMP-Startseite zugegriffen werden kann, die Sie beim Starten von MAMP sehen. Sie können sie jederzeit anzeigen, indem Sie in der MAMP-App auf Startseite öffnen klicken.

PHP Info

Gibt Ihnen Informationen zu Ihrer PHP-Version und den verfügbaren Funktionen.

XCache

Verwaltet Ihr PHP-Setup, um einige nützliche Caching-Tools bereitzustellen, mit denen Sie die PHP-Geschwindigkeit erhöhen und die CPU-Auslastung reduzieren können.

PHPMyAdmin

Eine sehr beliebte webbasierte Oberfläche zum Verwalten von MySQL-Datenbanken.

SQLite Manager

Wenn Sie lieber SQLite als MySQL verwenden möchten, ist dieses Tool ebenfalls enthalten.

MAMP PRO

Es gibt eine kostenpflichtige professionelle Version von MAMP namens MAMP PRO. Es bietet zusätzliche Funktionen, z. B. die Möglichkeit, Hostnamen für jede Site auf Ihrem Mac anzugeben, sodass Sie anstelle von http://localhost/wordpress http://wordpress.dev oder alles andere verwenden können, was Sie möchten. Es gibt auch eine bessere Kontrolle über die Module, die Apache verwenden wird, und mehr Kontrolle über PHP. MAMP ist mehr als genug, um eine Website zum Laufen zu bringen. Sie können eine kostenlose Testversion von MAMP PRO herunterladen, die ohnehin auch MAMP enthält.

MAMP PRO provides more features than MAMP at a small cost.MAMP PRO provides more features than MAMP at a small cost.MAMP PRO provides more features than MAMP at a small cost.
MAMP PRO bietet mehr Funktionen als MAMP zu geringen Kosten.

Dropbox

Kostenlos

"Warten Sie, was? Ist Dropbox nicht ein Dienstprogramm zur Dateisynchronisierung? " Nun ja, das ist es! Dropbox enthält jedoch eine sehr nützliche Funktion, wenn Sie selten auf eine einfache HTML-Site zugreifen müssen. Wenn Sie an einer kleinen Site ohne große Dateien arbeiten, kann dies hilfreich sein, wenn Sie sich in einer Essiggurke befinden. Dazu nutzen wir den Public Dropbox-Ordner.

Dropbox contains a Public folder which we’re going to take advantage of.Dropbox contains a Public folder which we’re going to take advantage of.Dropbox contains a Public folder which we’re going to take advantage of.
Dropbox enthält einen praktischen öffentlichen Ordner, auf den jeder von überall mit der richtigen URL zugreifen kann.

Auf Dateien in diesem Ordner kann über das Internet zugegriffen werden, sofern Sie die von Ihnen angegebene spezielle URL kennen, die auf http://dl.dropbox.com/u/0000000/filename.html basiert (wobei 0000000 tatsächlich Ihr eindeutiger Dropbox-Benutzer ist ICH WÜRDE). Im Gegensatz zur Freigabe einer Datei, die nur einen eindeutigen und zufällig kreativen Link zu dieser Datei enthält, können Sie mit Ihrem öffentlichen Ordner eine kleine und einfache Website ausführen, da alle Dateien in Ihrem Public Ordner mit http://dl.dropbox.com/u/0000000 beginnen.

Installieren

Für die Einrichtung ist ein Dropbox-Konto erforderlich. Wenn Sie noch keine haben, können Sie sich hier anmelden und die Dropbox-App herunterladen.

Dropbox-Konten, die nach dem 4. Oktober 2012 erstellt wurden, haben keinen Public Ordner. Alle vor diesem Datum erstellten Konten enthalten einen Public Ordner. Machen Sie sich keine Sorgen, wenn Sie gerade erst Ihr Konto erstellt haben. Über diesen speziellen Link können Sie den Public Ordner aktivieren. Während Dropbox Personen aus dem Public Ordner entfernt, seit sie neue Freigabefunktionen eingeführt haben, können Sie auf Wunsch dennoch eine erstellen.

Verwendung

Schritt 1: Erstellen Sie in Ihrem öffentlichen Ordner einen Ordner mit dem Namen "mactutsrules" oder was auch immer Sie bevorzugen.

Step 1: Create a folder in your Public folder called mactutsrules.Step 1: Create a folder in your Public folder called mactutsrules.Step 1: Create a folder in your Public folder called mactutsrules.

Schritt 2: Erstellen Sie ein neues Dokument in TextEdit und geben Sie Folgendes ein (stellen Sie sicher, dass das Dokument im Menü Format in TextEdit nur Text ist).

Step 2: Create a new document in TextEdit and enter the above (Ensure that under the Format menu in TextEdit, the document is plain text).Step 2: Create a new document in TextEdit and enter the above (Ensure that under the Format menu in TextEdit, the document is plain text).Step 2: Create a new document in TextEdit and enter the above (Ensure that under the Format menu in TextEdit, the document is plain text).

Schritt 3: Speichern Sie das Dokument in Ihrem Ordner "mactutsrules" als index.html (wählen Sie bei Aufforderung ".html verwenden" als Dateierweiterung aus).

Step 3: Save the document in your mactutsrules folder as index.html (when prompted, select “use .html” as the file extension)Step 3: Save the document in your mactutsrules folder as index.html (when prompted, select “use .html” as the file extension)Step 3: Save the document in your mactutsrules folder as index.html (when prompted, select “use .html” as the file extension)

Schritt 4: Besuchen Sie Dropbox und melden Sie sich an. Gehen Sie zu Ihrem "Öffentlichen Ordner" und dann in Ihren "mactutsrules"-Ordner, und klicken Sie dann mit der rechten Maustaste auf die Datei index.html.

Step 4: Visit Dropbox and log-in. Go to your Public folder and then into your mactutsrules folder, followed by right-clicking on the index.html file.Step 4: Visit Dropbox and log-in. Go to your Public folder and then into your mactutsrules folder, followed by right-clicking on the index.html file.Step 4: Visit Dropbox and log-in. Go to your Public folder and then into your mactutsrules folder, followed by right-clicking on the index.html file.

Schritt 5: Kopieren Sie diesen Link und fügen Sie ihn in eine neue Browser-Registerkarte/ein neues Browser-Fenster ein. Wenn alles gut gegangen ist, sollten Sie "Mactuts Rules!" in deinem Browser!

Step 5: Copy that link and paste it into a new browser tab/window. If all has gone well, you should see “Mactuts Rules!” in your browser!Step 5: Copy that link and paste it into a new browser tab/window. If all has gone well, you should see “Mactuts Rules!” in your browser!Step 5: Copy that link and paste it into a new browser tab/window. If all has gone well, you should see “Mactuts Rules!” in your browser!

 

Nun gibt es einige Einschränkungen beim Dropbox-Webhosting...

  1. Sie können nicht einfach den ersten Teil Ihres öffentlichen Links eingeben und erwarten, dass dieser automatisch auf eine index.html-Datei verweist - Sie müssen ihn angeben.
  2. Kein serverseitiges Scripting. Dies bedeutet kein PHP oder MySQL. Wenn Sie MobileMe jemals für Webhosting verwendet haben, gelten dieselben Einschränkungen.
  3. Sie müssen mit dem Internet verbunden sein, damit Ihre Dropbox-Dateien mit der Cloud synchronisiert werden.

Es ist großartig, eine Website schnell zu erstellen.


Zusammenfassung

Es gibt noch einige andere Methoden, die wir nicht untersucht haben. Zum Beispiel wird Mountain Lion immer noch mit integriertem Apache ausgeliefert, sodass Sie mithilfe einiger Terminal-Tricks eine Lösung finden können. Ich wollte mich davon fernhalten, damit diejenigen, die mit der Verwendung von Terminal nicht vertraut sind, immer noch sehen können, welche Optionen verfügbar sind. Obwohl Apache möglicherweise installiert ist, würden Dienste wie PHP und MySQL zusätzliche Arbeit erfordern, um installiert zu werden. Daher ist die Verwendung von MAMP eine viel einfachere (und meiner Meinung nach bessere) Lösung als die integrierten Optionen von OS X.

Kennen Sie andere Möglichkeiten, um Web-Sharing in Mountain Lion auszuführen? Waren Sie beim Aktualisieren von der Entfernung der Funktion betroffen? Lassen Sie es uns in den Kommentaren wissen!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

3 Ways to Bring Back Web Sharing in OS X Mountain Lion

by

With the introduction of OS X Mountain Lion, a feature that didn’t make the cut was Web Sharing. It may not have been widely used but for developers it served as a quick way to host a website. Let’s take a look at three different ways to bring this feature back.


Requisite Definitions

While what we are going to look at will be suitable for beginners to advanced users, some may not know some particular meanings or software.

  • Apache - An open-source HTTP server software that is the most widely used HTTP server available and is used on tens of millions of servers around the world.
  • Localhost - A network term referring to the local host (the computer that you’re operating on). When running a web server, you’ll usually access sites via http://localhost. Your Mac can only access sites it is running using localhost, so if you try to use this address anywhere else, it won’t work. However, you can substitute your Mac’s IP address for localhost. If you want to view a site from another Mac, simply substitute localhost with its IP address.
  • MySQL - The most popular open-source database.
  • PHP - An open-source server-side scripting language. Software such as Wordpress, Joomla and Drupal use both PHP and MySQL.
  • Ports - Both Apache and MySQL use something called a port. The purpose of ports is to uniquely identify different applications or processes running on a single computer. When you visit a website through your browser, you’ll usually be using port 80 which is the standard port for Apache. When you visit a site such as http://mac.tutsplus.com - what actually loads is http://mac.tutsplus.com:80. Give it a try, go to any address and :80 to the end of it and it’ll load as normal. Try another random number and it’ll probably not work. For the purposes of this tutorial we aren’t really going to be delving into this in great detail, but it’s worth getting to know!
  • Stack - A collection of tools designed to work together to create a common environment. A common stack is LAMP - Linux, Apache, MySQL and PHP. All of these tools provide the foundation for a fully operational web server.

Anvil

Cost: Free

Anvil is a menubar application that allows you to quickly set up test environments for static HTML and Rack apps. Whenever you add a project, you specify the address name, which will be suffixed with .dev. You can access this on your Mac a lot quicker than an address containing all sorts of slashes and characters.

Anvil is actually a graphical interface for a command-line application called Pow. Pow is what powers Anvil and provides the ability to create websites on your Mac that you can access locally using a .dev domain name. Since Pow is a really useful tool for folks that might not be too savvy in Terminal, Anvil makes setting it up a breeze.

Since it’s designed to set up multiple environments, not only is it a great way to quickly set up simple web sharing, but you can have as many sites as you want running.

Installation

  1. Download Anvil from the Anvil for Mac site.
  2. Drag the app to your Applications folder and open it.

That’s Anvil installed!

Setup

As Anvil requires Pow, when you first load it, you’ll see the option to install Pow before you start using it. When you click install, you’ll see Terminal open and some magic happen.

Anvil requires a tool called Pow to run

Anvil requires a tool called Pow to run

Don’t worry, Anvil is taking care of this for you. You’ll need to enter your password within the Terminal window when prompted and then press enter. Once it’s installed, quit Terminal and you’re ready to go!

Pow installs via Terminal but don’t worry, it’s painless!

Pow installs via Terminal but don’t worry, it’s painless!
When Pow is installed, Anvil will report it’s ready to go.

When Pow is installed, Anvil will report that it’s ready to go.

Usage

To add a new site, simply click the “Add a site” button and select a folder where your HTML files are located. If you choose a blank folder, Anvil will create a sample index.html for you.

Sites are listed under the Anvil menu bar

Sites are listed under the Anvil menu bar

Anvil will then ask you to confirm a name for the site, followed by .dev. Go to this URL in your browser and that’s it! You can then repeat these steps to add as many sites as you need to.

Once a site has been created within Anvil, you’ll be able to open it in your browser
Once a site has been created within Anvil, you’ll be able to open it in your browser

MAMP

Cost: Free (Pro version available)

If you’ve spent any time in web development or managing a web server, then chances are you’ve come across something called LAMP. MAMP is just the Mac equivalent - Mac, Apache, MySQL and PHP. While it can be argued that PHP and even MySQL may not even be required for a web server to work (and indeed for static HTML content with a little Javascript, they aren’t), Apache, MySQL and PHP are the cornerstones of modern web development. PHP is the most common web development language and MySQL the most common database.

Sound complicated? Don’t worry, a software company called appsolute have created a Mac app called MAMP that requires no Terminal involvement and is completely self contained.

MAMP provides a full web server platform for your Mac that gives you customization over features such as Apache modules, PHP version and even which ports you want to use (so you could have http://localhost:8888 instead of the usual http://localhost).

Installation

  1. Download MAMP from the MAMP site.
  2. Drag the MAMP folder to your Applications folder and open it.

Again, installation is a breeze and that’s all there is to it.

Usage

MAMP contains all the necessary files within the MAMP folder. By default, MAMP uses the folder htdocs that’s in the MAMP folder. You then access web sites you create in htdocs with the address http://localhost.

Once you open MAMP, it’s really easy to see what’s what. There’s a traffic light on the left to tell you if Apache and MySQL are running (they aren’t at the moment). There’s a simple start/stop button and an option for preferences.

MAMP Control Panel

MAMP Control Panel
MAMP is ready to go!

MAMP is ready to go!

Hit Start Servers and MAMP will start running, the lights will change from red to green and your browser will open to the address http://localhost:8888/MAMP/?language=English.

MAMP’s start page.

MAMP’s start page.

Now, MAMP uses a unique port number for it’s included Apache and MySQL. If you remember in the first part of this tutorial, you'll know that Apache uses port 80 by default. MAMP actually starts with port 8888. All this means is that you just add :8888 to the end of http://localhost.

Remove the /MAMP/?language=Englishfrom the URL and press enter. You’ll get a default page saying everything is running and working. http://localhost:8888 is the htdocs folder. Add files and folders in there and access them through your browser.

MAMP’s default page in htdocs.

MAMP’s default page in htdocs.

Tip:If you wanted to install Wordpress, you could download it and put it into the folder /htdocs/wordpress and would then access it using http://localhost:8888/wordpress.

Preferences

Start/Stop

The first option displays basic features. We can choose whether we want MAMP to start automatically when we open the app as well as if it should shut down when we close it. This is handy as we can make sure that as long as the MAMP application is running, we know the web server is.

MAMP Preferences
MAMP Preferences

Ports

MAMP uses it’s own ports which can be useful for development. If you’d prefer to use the default ports, then you can click the button to do that. Keep it as it is for now.

The purpose of ports is to uniquely identify different applications or processes running on a single computer. When you visit a website through your browser, you’ll usually be using port 80 which is the standard port for Apache. When you visit a site such as http://mac.tutsplus.com - what actually loads is http://mac.tutsplus.com:80.

MAMP Preferences

MAMP Preferences

PHP

You can specify which version of PHP you wish to use, either PHP 5.2.x or 5.4.x. Why would you want to do that? For developers, they may have written a PHP application in 5.2 that doesn’t work in 5.4. Alternatively, PHP 5.2 is more widely used and stable, PHP 5.4 is still fairly new (as you’ll see from the number of versions in the 3rd part of the version number).

MAMP Preferences

Apache

Here you can specify which folder to use as the default folder to host all your files. By default this is the htdocs folder. You can specify somewhere else if you wish.

MAMP Preferences

MAMP Preferences

Additonal Extras

MAMP comes with some great tools built-in that’s accessible by the MAMP start page you see when you start MAMP or you can view at any time by clicking Open start page in the MAMP app.

PHP Info

Gives you information on your PHP version and what features are available.

XCache

Manages your PHP setup to provide some useful caching tools to increase PHP speed and reduce CPU load.

PHPMyAdmin

A very popular web-based interface for managing MySQL databases.

SQLite Manager

If you prefer to use SQLite instead of MySQL then this tool is also included.

MAMP PRO

There’s a paid-for professional version of MAMP called MAMP PRO. It provides additional features such as being able to specify hostnames for each site on your Mac so instead of using http://localhost/wordpress you could use http://wordpress.dev or anything else you wanted. There’s also greater control on the modules Apache will use and more control over PHP. For just getting a site up and running, MAMP is more than enough. You can download a free trial of MAMP PRO which also includes MAMP anyway.

MAMP PRO provides more features than MAMP at a small cost.
MAMP PRO provides more features than MAMP at a small cost.

Dropbox

Cost: Free

“Wait, what? Isn’t Dropbox a file syncing utility?” Well, yes it is! However, Dropbox includes a very useful feature if you need to infrequently have a simple HTML site accessible. If you’re working on a small site with no large files, then it can prove handy when you’re in a pickle. To do this, we are going to take advantage of the Dropbox Public folder.

Dropbox contains a Public folder which we’re going to take advantage of.
Dropbox contains a handy Public folder that anyone can access from anywhere with the right URL.

Files in this folder are accessible over the web provided you know the special URL you’re provided, which is based upon http://dl.dropbox.com/u/0000000/filename.html (where 0000000 is actually your unique Dropbox User ID). Unlike sharing a file which provides a unique and randomly creative link to that file only, using your Public folder allows you to run a small and simple website as any files within your Public folder will start with http://dl.dropbox.com/u/0000000.

Setup

Setup requires a Dropbox account. If you don’t have one, you can sign up here and download the Dropbox app.

Dropbox accounts created after October 4, 2012 will not have a Public folder. All accounts created before that date will contain a Public folder. Don’t worry if you only just created your account, you can use this special link to enable the Public folder. While Dropbox is moving people away from the Public folder since they introduced new sharing features, you can still create one if you wish.

Usage

Step 1: Create a folder in your Public folder called "mactutsrules", or whatever you prefer.

Step 1: Create a folder in your Public folder called mactutsrules.

Step 2: Create a new document in TextEdit and enter the above (ensure that under the Format menu in TextEdit, the document is plain text).

Step 2: Create a new document in TextEdit and enter the above (Ensure that under the Format menu in TextEdit, the document is plain text).

Step 3: Save the document in your "mactutsrules" folder as index.html (when prompted, select “use .html” as the file extension).

Step 3: Save the document in your mactutsrules folder as index.html (when prompted, select “use .html” as the file extension)

Step 4: Visit Dropbox and log-in. Go to your "Public folder" and then into your "mactutsrules" folder, followed by right-clicking on the index.html file.

Step 4: Visit Dropbox and log-in. Go to your Public folder and then into your mactutsrules folder, followed by right-clicking on the index.html file.

Step 5: Copy that link and paste it into a new browser tab/window. If all has gone well, you should see “Mactuts Rules!” in your browser!

Step 5: Copy that link and paste it into a new browser tab/window. If all has gone well, you should see “Mactuts Rules!” in your browser!

Now, there are some caveats with Dropbox web hosting...

  1. You can’t just enter the first part of your public link and expect it to automatically point to an index.html file - you have to specify it.
  2. No server-side scripting. This means no PHP or MySQL. If you ever used MobileMe for web hosting, it’s the same restrictions.
  3. You need to be connected to the Internet so your Dropbox files sync to the cloud.

For a quick way to get a site up, it’s great.


Wrapping Up

There are still a few other methods we didn’t take examine. For example, Mountain Lion does still ship with Apache built-in so using some Terminal trickery, you could work up a solution. I wanted to steer clear of this so those uncomfortable with using Terminal can still see what options are available. Although Apache may be installed, services like PHP and MySQL would require additional work to install so using something like MAMP is a much easier (and in my opinion, better) solution than the built-in options of OS X.

Do you know of any other ways to run web sharing within Mountain Lion? Were you affected by the removal of the feature when upgrading? Let us know in the comments!

Advertisement