Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. OS X
Computers

5 حلول سريعة للمشاكل الشائعة في لجنة الهدنة العسكرية

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Kaso Toluppa (you can also view the original English article)

كمستخدمي ماك اعتدنا على عدم الحاجة إلى استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها كثيرا ما لدينا من مشاكل الكمبيوتر. ومع ذلك، هذا لا يعني أن لدينا أجهزة ماكينتوش لا يسيئون التصرف من وقت لآخر. في هذا الجزء الأول من البرنامج التعليمي المكوّن من جزئين ، سنتطرق إلى خمسة حلول سريعة لمشاكلك الأكثر شيوعًا في Mac.

ما هو حل سريع؟

إنه بالضبط ما يبدو عليه - إنه شيء بسيط للغاية (عادة ما يكون توليفة رئيسية أو أمر سريع) هو أول محاولة من قبل الفنيين لإصلاح المشكلة بسرعة وببساطة. n tech support, time is a crucial factor for both technician and user. The user has to experience downtime and the technician is usually performance-measured on time to fix. منذ القضايا الأكثر شيوعاً بسيطة معقولة لحل (على الرغم من الأعراض) ثم محاولة إصلاح الثانية عشرة منطقية أكثر بكثير من قضاء ساعات في عملية استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها معقدة.

"الأمور الأخرى متساوية، تفسيراً أبسط أفضل من أكثر معقدة"-Ockham's الشفرة

دعنا نلقي نظرة على مثال لحل سريع ونفترض أن لدينا MacBook Pro غير قادر على فتح أي صفحات ويب. يمكن أن نقضي الكثير من الوقت في إعادة تثبيت البرنامج ، والتمهيد في الوضع الآمن ، ومحاولة استخدام أدوات الاسترداد ، وما إلى ذلك الإصلاح السريع؟ تحقق في وأي فأي. الكثير من وقت لقد كان قلق المستخدمين على الهاتف تقرير ماك بهم لا تتصل بالإنترنت، واتضح أن فقط قد أغلق وأي فأي.

قائمة الإصلاح

قبل أن نبدأ ، تكون جميع الإصلاحات التي نعرضها آمنة تمامًا طالما قمت بإدخالها (أو تنفيذها) تمامًا كما هو موضح. فهي ليست مجتاحة بأي شكل من الأشكال. ومع ذلك ، تأكد دائمًا من الاحتفاظ بنسخة احتياطية من جهاز الكمبيوتر ، ليس فقط في حالة تسبب الإصلاح الذي تم إجراؤه في عدم استجابة جهاز Mac ، ولكنها فكرة جيدة بشكل عام!

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، سوف يكون بينها روابط إلى وثائق دعم أبل عندما تكون متاحة لمزيد من القراءة.

دورة الطاقة

لقد استمعت بلا شك إلى الخط الشائن "هل حاولت إيقاف تشغيله وإعادة تشغيله مرة أخرى؟" إنه في الواقع له ميزة ، وهو أول شيء يجب على أي مستخدم فعله في أول علامات المشاكل. إعادة تشغيل جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بك بالتمهيد نظام التشغيل مرة أخرى. إذا كان شيء قد تحطمت وهي تباطؤ الماك أو وظيفة معينة هو وجود مشكلة في العمل، معظم الأحيان إعادة تشغيل سيتم إصلاحه.

الإصلاح

من الناحية المثالية ، يجب أن تتم إعادة تشغيل جهاز Mac على نحو رائع - وأنا لا أقصد ذلك باستخدام دورق! هذا يعني إيقاف تشغيل نظيف أو إعادة التشغيل حيث طلب منك نظام التشغيل Mac إعادة التشغيل من خلال القائمة الصحيحة. وينبغي استخدام إيقاف تشغيل قسري بالضغط على مفتاح الطاقة فقط من أي وقت مضى إذا فشل كل شيء آخر--على أجهزة ماكينتوش الحديثة من غير المرجح أن تسبب المزيد من القضايا ولكن يمكن أن يكون كافياً لدفع قضية موجودة على الحافة وجعلها أسوأ.

Pressing the power button to turn it off should only be done when all else fails
يجب أن يتم الضغط على زر الطاقة لإيقاف تشغيله فقط عند فشل كل شيء آخر.

ما سيتم إصلاح ذلك؟

تقريبا كل شيء! إذا كنت تشك في أن جهاز Mac لديك يسيء التصرف ، فقم بإعادة تشغيله. في العصر الذي يستخدم فيه معظمنا جهاز كمبيوتر محمول ، من السهل أن ننسى أن كل شيء ثم إعادة تشغيله هو خطوة تحرّي الخلل وإصلاحه. ونحن ببساطة إغلاق الغطاء أو السماح لها بالذهاب إلى النوم، ويستأنف هذا العد doen't كإيقاف تشغيل كما هو بالضبط حيث أنه ترك إيقاف.

نصيحة: إذا كنت غير متأكد من آخر مرة قمت فيها بإعادة تشغيل جهاز Mac ، فافتح Terminal وأدخل وقت التشغيل متبوعًا بالضغط على Enter. وهذا سوف أقول لكم مقدار الوقت ماك الخاص بك قد تم تشغيل دورته الحالية من OS X ل. إعادة تشغيل Mac الخاص بك إعادة تعيين هذه. يتم عرض الوقت أيام وساعات ودقائق.

إزالة التطبيقات غير المستخدمة

حل النوع: البرمجيات

في بعض الأحيان ، تنشأ مشكلة في البرنامج عن تطبيق آخر غير متوافق. في حين أن معظم تطبيقات Mac هي مجرد تطبيق في مجلد التطبيقات ، فلا يزال بإمكانهم وضع ملفات إضافية في مكان آخر. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد التطبيقات مثل Adobe Creative Suite التركيب كاملة بدلاً من الأكثر تستخدم على نطاق واسع السحب والإفلات أو تثبيت من المتجر.

الإصلاح

لن تؤدي إزالة البرامج غير المستخدمة إلى التأكد من تجنب حالات عدم التوافق المحتملة فحسب ، بل ستوفر أيضًا مساحة خالية على القرص.

يمكن ببساطة تنزيل التطبيقات المثبتة من Mac App Store (بالإضافة إلى معظم التطبيقات التي تم تنزيلها) في سلة المهملات. تعني الطريقة التي يتبعها المطورون اتباع الإرشادات لتتوافق مع تطبيقاتهم أن جميع الملفات المطلوبة يجب أن تكون ضمن التطبيق. بالتأكيد، سوف يكون هناك بعض الملفات التفضيل والملفات المؤقتة ذاكرة التخزين المؤقت، ولكنها لن تكون المستخدمة من قبل أي الأخرى التطبيق وسوف تظل نائمة.

Removing apps can be done traditionally through the Applications folder or even through Launchpad
يمكن إزالة التطبيقات بشكل تقليدي من خلال مجلد التطبيقات أو حتى من خلال Launchpad

وهناك إلغاء تثبيت مخصص الأدوات المتاحة التي تفحص القرص الصلب للملفات ذات الصلة. لاستخدام هذه الأنواع من تطبيقات، يمكنك سحب عادة التطبيق الذي تريد إزالته على ذلك. بالإضافة إلى إزالة التطبيق، فإنه سوف ننظر للملفات ذات الصلة.

مثال على مكان هذا مفيد هو Spotify. إذا كنت قد استخدمت Spotify قبل ذلك ، فأنت تعلم أنه يمكنك تخزين الموسيقى للاستخدام في وضع عدم الاتصال. يتيح القول كنت قد فعلت هذا غيل أغاني حوالي 200 ثم قم بإزالة سبوتيفي. أن ملف ذاكرة التخزين المؤقت ليس في التطبيق، أنها في المجلد الرئيسي الخاص بك في مكان ما. إزالة التطبيق لا بأس بها ، ولكن يتبقى لك مساحة فارغة تبلغ 4 غيغابايت. هذا هو المكان الذي تظهر فيه أدوات إزالة التثبيت بنفسها حيث إنها ستتعرف على هذه الملفات والمجلدات الإضافية وتجميعها معًا.

تلميح: نصيحة: معظم هذه الأدوات تستخدم المتعلمين التخمينات ومعظمهم الحصول على حق مع إضافية الملفات والمجلدات وجدوا. بيد أنهم ابدأ 100%، والتحقق من ذلك دائماً قبل أن يضرب فقط زر تأكيد ذلك!

ستحتوي التطبيقات التي تحتوي على مثبت مثل Adobe Creative Suite على طريقة الإزالة الموصى بها الخاصة بها. هذه التطبيقات أكثر بكثير الغازية، وسوف يكون الملفات ذات الصلة وبرامج أخرى مثبتة في أماكن خلاف مجلد التطبيقات. استخدام بهم أداة الإزالة المطلوبة أولاً بساطة التحطيم التطبيق يمكن أن تؤدي إلى مزيد من المشاكل.

ما سيتم إصلاح ذلك؟

كما ذكرنا سابقًا ، ستوفر مساحة على القرص الصلب كما تمنع أي تطبيقات أخرى من مواجهة مشكلة. لا يقوم Microsoft Office 2011 تلقائيًا بإزالة Microsoft Office 2008 من جهاز Mac الخاص بك. إذا قمت بإنشاء ثم فتح ملف في Office 2011 بطريق الخطأ Office 2008، فإنه قد تقرير مشكلة أثناء فتح الملف. بعد ذلك ، قد يضع Office 2008 نفسه ليكون التطبيق الافتراضي لفتح جميع مستندات Word الخاصة بك ، مما يعطي الانطباع بأن Word لا يعمل بعد الآن.

إعادة تعيين NVRAM

نوع الإصلاح: اختصار لوحة المفاتيح

يعد NVRAM Reset عبارة عن مجموعة مفاتيح بسيطة يتم تنفيذها عند بدء التشغيل. يعتبر NVRAM جزءًا خاصًا من ذاكرة النظام التي يستخدمها جهاز Mac لتخزين إعدادات أجهزة معينة. قد تسمع أحياناً يشار إلى هذا إعادة تعيين PRAM (لا سيما من المدرسة القديمة ماك فنيين) على الرغم من أنهم في الواقع نفس الشيء. الفرق ببساطة هو أنه على أجهزة Mac المستندة إلى Intel ، تتم الإشارة إلى الذاكرة الخاصة باسم NVRAM وعلى أجهزة PowerPC القديمة (G3 و G4 و G5) التي يطلق عليها PRAM.

لذا ما يقوم NVRAM تخزين؟

  • حجم صوت مكبر الصوت
  • دقة شاشة
  • اختيار قرص بدء التشغيل
  • معلومات ذعر النواة الأخيرة ، (إن وجدت)

تلميح: معلومات أكثر تفصيلاً عن NVRAM متاح أكثر في "دعم أبل".

الإصلاح

قم بإيقاف تشغيل جهاز Mac الخاص بك. أعد تشغيلها مرة أخرى أثناء الضغط على مجموعة المفاتيح Command + Option + P + R.

الصوت الخاص بك ماك مثل تمهيد هو (مع الرنين) وبعد ذلك قد تومض الشاشة. لجنة الهدنة العسكرية ثم إعادة تمهيد والدقات مرة ثانية. في الرنين الثاني، ترك مفاتيح.

Holding down these four keys will reset the NVRAM
سيؤدي الضغط باستمرار على هذه المفاتيح الأربعة إلى إعادة ضبط NVRAM

ما سيتم إصلاح ذلك؟

إعادة تعيين NVRAM عادةً حل المشكلات التالية:

  • لا يوجد صوت من خلال مكبرات الصوت
  • دقة الشاشة لا تتغير بشكل صحيح
  • المسائل باستخدام شاشة خارجية
  • يستغرق Mac وقتًا طويلاً للتمهيد (قد يكون البحث عن قرص بدء تشغيل مختلف ، مما يؤدي إلى تأخير التشغيل)

حتى إذا لم يتم سرد مشكلتك أعلاه، إعادة تعيين PRAM في الواقع نقطة انطلاق جيدة. أنها بسيطة جداً القيام به وأنه لا يضر ماك الخاص بك بأي شكل من الأشكال.

أذونات القرص

نوع الإصلاح: البرمجيات

تستخدم أذونات إصلاح القرص تطبيق Disk Utility الموجود في مجلد التطبيقات> الأدوات المساعدة. إنها عملية غالبًا ما تؤدي إلى إصلاح مجموعة متنوعة من المشكلات.

لأذونات هي مجموعة من حقوق الوصول على كل ملف ومجلد. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كان لديك أكثر من حساب مستخدم واحد على جهاز Mac ، فلن يتمكن كل مستخدم من عرض ملفات المستخدم الآخر. أنهم لا يملكون إذن. يمكن تغيير الأذونات في أي وقت قبل مالك الملف (ملف قمت بإنشائه) أو بواسطة النظام، تبعاً للحالة.

والآن، "الأداة المساعدة للقرص" لا إصلاح كافة أذونات الملف. إصلاح القرص المرافق المتصلة بالتفاح الأذونات على الملفات والمجلدات. يعالج بفعالية، نظام التشغيل الملفات ذات الصلة. لذا كيف تغيير الأذونات؟

إذا سبق لك تثبيت أحد برامج التشغيل أو بعض البرامج وطلب منك إدخال كلمة مرور المشرف ، فقد تحتاج إلى إجراء تغيير مؤقت على إذن الملف حتى يمكنه العمل. وهذا ينطبق بشكل خاص من برامج تشغيل الطابعة. الآن، العديد من المنشآت لا تغيير الأذونات مرة أخرى (أو لا أعرف كيف). هذا يعني أنه لم يتم تغيير الأذونات التي تم تغييرها من قبل. إنها ليست صفقة كبيرة جدًا ، ولكن في بعض الأحيان يمكنك العثور على جهاز Mac لا يعمل بشكل صحيح تمامًا.

تلميح: معلومات أكثر تفصيلاً عن إصلاح "القرص الأذونات" متاح أكثر في "دعم أبل".

الإصلاح

لإصلاح أذونات القرص ، قم بإجراء ما يلي ببساطة:

  1. فتح "الأداة المساعدة للقرص" (الموجود في تطبيقات > أدوات مساعدة أو أضواء كاشفة "الأداة المساعدة القرص")
  2. حدد قرص بدء التشغيل (إذا كنت في شك ، فهو عادةً ما يكون الأول في القائمة)
  3. انقر فوق أذونات إصلاح

نصيحة: يمكنك أيضًا تشغيل Verify Disk للتحقق من القرص الفعلي ومعرفة ما إذا كانت هناك أية مشكلات. إذا كان هناك ، فلقد قمنا بتغطيتك لاحقًا!

Disk Utilitys permissions repair is straightforward to use
إصلاح الأذونات القرص فائدة مباشرة لاستخدام

ماذا ستصلح؟

هذا سؤال صعب نظرًا لوجود أشياء كثيرة يمكن إصلاحها. من بين المشاكل (العديدة والكثيرة) التي يمكن حلها ، من المعروف أن الإصلاح:

  • مشاكل الطابعة
  • مشاكل في تشغيل البرامج
  • قضايا التثبيت من البرامج والسائقين
  • أوقات التشغيل البطيء
  • تجميد وتحطمها

تمامًا مثل تثبيت NVRAM ، أوصي بشدة بإجراء هذا كخطوة أولى أو ثانية. حتى إذا لم يتم حل المشكلة مع إصلاح الأذونات ، فلا يزال يستحق الأمر تشغيله على أي حال!

تحديثات البرامج

حل النوع: البرمجيات

في كثير من الأحيان يمكن حل المشكلة ببساطة عن طريق تحديث البرنامج. قد لا يكون ذلك بالضرورة هو الخيار الأكثر وضوحًا ، ولكن فعل تحديث البرنامج هو جزء أساسي من عملية استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها

أبل قد شملت ميزات "تحديث البرنامج" لفترة طويلة في نظام OS X ومع أسد الجبل، لقد انتقلت إلى داخل المتجر ماك حيث لا يتم تحديث تطبيقات الطرف الثالث التي تم شراؤها من خلال تخزين في نفس الوقت.

Software Updates are now found in the App Store since the introduction of Mountain Lion
تم الآن العثور على تحديثات البرامج في App Store منذ إدخال Mountain Lion

وعلى الرغم من تحديثات البرامج الهامة جداً، لقد التقيت الكثير من المستخدمين الذين يخافون فعلا من تحديث أجهزة الكمبيوتر الخاصة بهم خوفاً من الأمر الذي أدى إلى التوقف عن العمل. في حين أنه من الصحيح أنه في نظامي OS X و Windows ، يتم إصدار تحديث في بعض الأحيان لا يعمل بشكل صحيح ، إلا أنه أمر نادر الحدوث أن يحدث شيئًا لا يدعو إلى القلق. هناك قاعدة جيدة من التجربة الانتظار عن أسبوعين قبل تثبيت التحديثات على الفور. في بعض الأحيان لا تستطيع-ربما هناك حاجة إلى تحديث أي تيونز لأنك تريد استخدام iDevice الخاص بك أحدث التي يحتاج إليها.

نصيحة: للتأكد من أن نظام التشغيل Mac لن يواجه أية مشكلات في التحديثات ، تأكد دائمًا من توافق أي برنامج تستخدمه من يوم لآخر. غالبًا ما تُعرف حزم مثل Adobe Creative Suite أو Microsoft Office عن وجود مشكلة في تحديثات OS X.

تحديثات البرامج لا تقتصر فقط على البرامج OS X والتفاح. وقد برامج مثل Microsoft Office و Adobe Creative Suite المحدثات الخاصة بهم. سيؤدي استخدام هذه العناصر بشكل متكرر (أو على الأقل تعيينها للتحقق من التحديثات مرة واحدة في الأسبوع) إلى ضمان عدم وجود مشاكل معها.

تلميح: معلومات أكثر تفصيلاً عن "أبل تحديث البرنامج" متاح أكثر في "دعم أبل".

الإصلاح

OS X أسد الجبل

لتحديث برنامجك ، قم ببساطة بفتح تطبيق Mac App Store باستخدام قائمة Apple في أعلى اليمين ، ثم حدد التحديثات. ستعرض أي تحديثات وتطبيقات لنظام يتم شراؤها من خلال App Store تحديثًا إذا كان متوفرًا.

OS X Lion وأدناه

ستظل تستخدم Mac App Store لتحديث تطبيقات الطرف الثالث التي اشتريتها ولكن تحديثات النظام متاحة من خلال تحديث البرنامج. هذا أيضًا في قائمة Apple في الجزء العلوي الأيسر من الشاشة

استخدام المحطة الطرفية

أوه نعم، يمكنك استخدام المحطة الطرفية لتحديث الخاص بك لجنة الهدنة العسكرية. وهذا مفيد جداً إذا كنت تجد بعض تطبيقات لن تعمل بشكل صحيح أو أواجه مشكلة في فتح المتجر أو تحديث البرمجيات.

If you have remote access to a Mac or cannot run updates traditionally Terminal is a good alternative
إذا كان لديك وصول عن بعد إلى جهاز Mac أو تعذر تشغيل التحديثات تقليديًا ، فإن Terminal هو بديل جيد

في المحطة الطرفية، يمكنك سرد كافة التحديثات المتوفرة لنظام التشغيل Mac الخاص بك باستخدام الأمر سودو سوفتواريوبداتي-l.

لتثبيت كافة التحديثات المتوفرة (مستحسن)، استخدم softwareupdate سودو الأمر-ia.

استخدام Terminal له مميزاته ، ولكن ما لم تكن مرتاحًا في بيئة سطر الأوامر ، فإنني أوصي بالالتزام بالتطبيقات الافتراضية

تحرير وسرد التحديثات

في كل مرة يتم فيها إصدار تحديث إلى OS X (على سبيل المثال ، 10.8.2) ، تقوم Apple بإصدار تحديث يشيع الإشارة إليه على أنه تحديث مشترك ، والذي يشير إليه الفنيون على أنه Combo. هذه كلها تحديثات تم إصدارها من Apple لهذا الإصدار من OS X منذ الإطلاق. لذا، 10.8.2 السرد وسيشمل كل الأمن وتحديث منذ 10.8. لا يعني هذا التحديث هائلة من حيث حجم الملف، الكثير من الملفات الكتابة فوق تحديثات وقت تحديثه مسبقاً، حيث أنها عادة ما تكون شنق حول علامة 1.5 غيغا بايت GB – 2.

تعمل التحديثات المجمعة أيضًا بشكل جيد إذا كان نظام التشغيل Mac محدثًا ولكنك تشك في أنه برنامج. يمكنك إعادة تثبيت تحديثات البرامج عن طريق تنزيل تحديث كومبو وتثبيته في أي وقت. 

تلميح: تتوفر تحديثات السرد من دعم تحميل الصفحة أبل.

ما سيتم إصلاح ذلك؟

قد يواجه نظام التشغيل Mac مشكلة في قيام Apple بالتحديد بتحديث برنامج من أجله. قد يواجه نظام التشغيل Mac مشكلة لا تتشابه تمامًا كما يصفها التحديث ، ولكن لا يزال بإمكانه إصلاحها على أية حال. وفي كلتا الحالتين، ليس فقط ماك حتى الآن حل سريع جيدة لكن أنه يزيل أيضا البرامج القديمة من خطوات استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها الخاصة بك.

لقد واجهت مؤخرًا بعض الانهيارات الثقيلة في نظام التشغيل OS X 10.7.4 Mac. لسبب ما ، في أي وقت كنت أحاول استخدام Quick Look ، سوف يتعطل Finder. معظم التطبيقات ستتعطل عند الإطلاق - لقد كانت محبطة بشكل لا يصدق! فعلت إعادة تعيين NVRAM أولاً وثم إصلاح الأذونات ولكن المشكلة لا تزال قائمة. عند هذه النقطة، جريت "تحديث البرامج"، ولكن من شأنه أن تحطم جداً! كنت قادرا على تحديث ماك من خلال المحطة الطرفية على الرغم من. كان هناك اثنين من التحديثات بما في ذلك 10.7.5 ، لذلك قمت بتثبيت التحديثات وفويلا ، لا أكثر تحطمها!

وقد واجهت وضعا مماثلاً لما فعلته. إذا كنت تجد ماك الخاص بك لا تتصرف بنفسها، أنها تتصرف غريبة، تحديث البرامج الخاصة بك بعد آخر إصلاح سريع.

تغليف

هذا أول برنامج تعليمي يتكون من جزئين، لقد نظرنا في الإصلاحات الخمسة الأكثر شيوعاً للمشاكل التي قد يكون لديك. سوف تساعد معرفة عن هذه المحاولات لحل المسائل إذا ماك الخاص بك يجب أن يكون أي. استمر في التحقق من تطبيق Mactuts + للجزء الثاني من البرنامج التعليمي ، حيث سنلقي نظرة على خمسة إصلاحات سريعة أخرى. ما هي الإصلاحات المفضلة لديك؟ هل عمل أي من هؤلاء في الماضي بالنسبة لك؟ اسمحوا لنا أن نعرف في التعليقات!

وإذا كنت تريد أن تفعل أكثر مع ماك الخاص بك، تحقق من تطبيقات مجموعة ماك Envato السوق.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Tips & Shortcuts

5 Quick Fixes to Common Mac Problems

by

As Mac users we’re used to not having to frequently troubleshoot our computer problems. However, that doesn’t mean that our Macs don’t misbehave from time to time. In this first of a two-part tutorial, we’ll detail five quick fixes to your Mac’s most common problems.

What’s a quick fix?

It’s exactly what it sounds like - it’s something that is very simple (usually a key combination or quick command) that is the first attempt by technicians to repair a problem quickly and simply. In tech support, time is a crucial factor for both technician and user. The user has to experience downtime and the technician is usually performance-measured on time to fix. Since most common issues are reasonably simple to resolve (despite the symptoms) then trying a ten-second fix makes much more sense than spending hours on a convoluted troubleshooting process.

“Other things being equal, a simpler explanation is better than a more complex one” - Ockham’s Razor

Let’s take a look at an example of a quick fix and assume we have a MacBook Pro that isn’t able to open any web pages. We could spend a lot of time reinstalling software, booting into safe mode, trying to use recovery tools, etc. The quick fix? Check the Wi-Fi. Many a time I’ve had worried users on the phone to report their Mac doesn’t connect to the Internet and it turned out that the Wi-Fi had just been switched off.

The Fix List

Before we begin, all the fixes we’re showing you are perfectly safe as long as you enter them (or perform them) exactly as described. They aren’t invasive in any way. However, always make sure you have a backup of your computer, not only in case a fix that’s performed causes your Mac to become unresponsive, but it’s just a good idea in general!

In addition, I’ll be including links to Apple support documents when available for further reading.

Power Cycle

You’ve no doubt heard the infamous line “have you tried turning it off and on again?” It actually has merit and is the first thing any user should do at the first signs of trouble. Restarting your computer boots the operating system again. If something had crashed and is slowing the Mac down or a particular function is having trouble working, most times a restart will fix it.

The Fix

Ideally, restarting your Mac should always be done gracefully - and I don’t mean with a pirouette! This means a clean shutdown or restart where your Mac was told to restart through the correct menu. A forced shutdown by holding the power key should only ever be used if all else fails - on modern Macs it’s unlikely to cause further issues but it could be enough to push an existing issue over the edge and make it worse.

Pressing the power button to turn it off should only be done when all else fails
Pressing the power button to turn it off should only be done when all else fails.

What Will it Fix?

Almost everything! If you suspect your Mac of misbehaving, give it a restart. In the age where most of us are using a portable computer, it’s all to easy to forget that every now and then restarting it is a troubleshooting step. We simply close the lid or let it go to sleep, this doen’t count as a shutdown as it resumes exactly where it left off.

Tip: If you’re not sure when the last time you restarted your Mac was, open Terminal and enter uptime followed by pressing enter. This will tell you the amount of time your Mac has been running its current session of OS X for. Restarting your Mac resets this. The time is displayed as days, hours, minutes.

Remove Unused Apps

Fix Type: Software

Sometimes a software problem is actually caused by another app that’s incompatible. While most Mac applications are just an app in the Applications folder, they can still place additional files elsewhere. In addition, applications such as Adobe Creative Suite have full installers rather than the more widely used drag and drop or installing from the App Store.

The Fix

Removing unused software will not only make sure potential incompatibilities are avoided but it’ll free up disk space as well.

Apps installed from the Mac App Store (as well as most downloaded apps) can simply be trashed. The way developers have to follow guidelines to have their apps approved mean that all their required files have to be within the app. Sure, there’ll be some preference files and temporary cache files, but they won’t be used by any other app and will remain dormant.

Removing apps can be done traditionally through the Applications folder or even through Launchpad
Removing apps can be done traditionally through the Applications folder or even through Launchpad.

There are dedicated uninstall tools available that scan your hard drive for related files. An example is an app called CleanMyMac. As well as offering other methods of file deletion, it includes a dedicated uninstaller.

Learn more about CleanMyMac Software.

To use these types of apps, you usually drag the app you want to remove onto it. In addition to removing the app, it’ll look for related files. An example of where this is useful is Spotify. If you’ve used Spotify before then you know you can cache music for offline use. Lets say you have done this for a playlist of about 200 songs and then remove Spotify. That cache file isn’t in the app, it’s in your home folder somewhere. Removing the app is ok but you’re left with about 4GB of wasted space. This is where uninstall tools such as CleanMyMac come into their own as they’ll sniff out these extra files and folders and group them all together.

Tip: Tip: Most of these tools use educated guesses and mostly get it right with the extra files and folders they find. However, they’re never 100%, so always check before just hitting that Confirm button!

Apps that have an installer such as Adobe Creative Suite will have their own recommended method of removal. These apps are a lot more invasive and will have other related files and software installed in places other than the Applications folder. Use their required removal tool first as simply trashing the app could lead to more problems.

What Will it Fix?

As mentioned earlier, it’ll free up hard drive space and also prevent other applications from having trouble. Microsoft Office 2011 doesn’t automatically remove Microsoft Office 2008 from your Mac. If you created a file in Office 2011 then accidentally opened Office 2008, it might report a problem opening the file. Office 2008 then might set itself to be the default app to open all your Word documents, thus giving the impression that Word doesn’t work anymore.

NVRAM Reset

Fix Type: Keyboard Shortcut

The NVRAM Reset is a simple key combination that’s performed at startup. The NVRAM is a special part of the system memory that your Mac uses to store particular hardware settings. You may sometimes hear this referred to as a PRAM Reset (especially from old-school Mac technicians) though they are actually the same thing. The difference is simply that on Intel-based Macs, the special memory is referred to as NVRAM and on older PowerPC (G3, G4, G5) Macs it’s called PRAM.

So what does the NVRAM store?

  • Speaker volume
  • Screen resolution
  • Startup disk selection
  • Recent kernel panic information, (if any)

Tip: More detailed information on the NVRAM is available over at Apple Support.

The Fix

Power off your Mac. Power it back on again while holding the key combination Command+Option+P+R.

Your Mac will sound like it’s booting (with the chime) and then your screen may flicker. Your Mac then reboots and chimes a second time. On the second chime, let go of the keys.

Holding down these four keys will reset the NVRAM
Holding down these four keys will reset the NVRAM

What Will it Fix?

Resetting the NVRAM will usually resolve the following issues:

  • No sound through speakers
  • Screen resolution not changing correctly
  • Issues using an external display
  • Mac takes a long time to boot (it might be looking for a different startup disk, delaying booting)

Even if your problem isn't be listed above, resetting the PRAM is actually a good starting point. It’s so simple to do and it doesn’t harm your Mac in any way.

Disk Permissions

Fix Type: Software

Repairing disk permissions uses the application Disk Utility that’s located in your Applications > Utilities folder. It’s an often illusive process that seems to fix a wide variety of issues.

Permissions are a set of access rights on each file and folder. For example, if you have more than one user account on your Mac, each user can’t view the files of the other user. They don’t have permission to. Permissions can be changed at any time by the owner of the file (a file you created) or by the system, depending on the situation.

Now, Disk Utility doesn’t repair all file permissions. Disk Utility repairs Apple-related permissions on files and folders. Effectively, it addresses operating system related files. So how do permissions change?

If you’ve ever installed a driver or some software and it prompted you to enter your administrator password, it may need to make a temporary change to a file’s permission so it can work. This is especially true of printer drivers. Now, many installations don’t change the permissions back (or don’t know how to). This means that permissions that an installation changed didn’t get changed back. It’s not a very big deal, but sometimes you can find your Mac just isn’t working quite right.

Tip: More detailed information on repairing Disk Permissions is available over at Apple Support.

The Fix

To repair disk permissions, simply perform the following:

  1. Open Disk Utility (located in Applications > Utilities or Spotlight “Disk Utility”)
  2. Select your startup disk (if in doubt, it’s usually the first one in the list)
  3. Click Repair Permissions

Tip: You can also run Verify Disk to check the physical disk and see if there are any problems. If there are, we’ve got you covered later on!

Disk Utility’s permissions repair is straightforward to use
Disk Utility’s permissions repair is straightforward to use

What will it fix?

This is a tough question since there’s so many things it can fix. Among the (many, many) problems it can fix, it’s been known to fix:

  • Printer issues
  • Problems running software
  • Installation issues of software and drivers
  • Slow boot times
  • Freezing and crashing

Just like the NVRAM installation, I’d highly recommend performing this as a first or second step. Even if the problem wasn’t resolved with permissions repair, it’s still worth running it anyway!

Software Updates

Fix Type: Software

A lot of the time a problem can be resolved simply by updating software. It may not necessarily be the most obvious choice, but the act of updating your software is a crucial part of the troubleshooting process.

Apple has included Software Update features for a long time in OS X and with Mountain Lion, they’ve moved it to within the Mac App Store so that 3rd party apps purchased through the store are updated at the same time.

Software Updates are now found in the App Store since the introduction of Mountain Lion
Software Updates are now found in the App Store since the introduction of Mountain Lion

Although software updates are very important, I’ve met a lot of users who are actually afraid of updating their computer for fear of causing it to stop working. While it’s true that on both OS X and Windows, occasionally an update is released that didn’t work quite right, it’s so rare for it to happen that it’s something to not really worry about. A good rule of thumb is to wait about a fortnight before installing updates straight away. Sometimes you can’t - maybe an update to iTunes is needed because you want to use your latest iDevice that needs it.

Tip: To make sure your Mac will have no problems with updates, always make sure any software you use from day to day is compatible. Packages such as Adobe Creative Suite or Microsoft Office are often known for having trouble with OS X updates.

Software updates are not just limited to OS X and Apple software. Software such as Microsoft Office and Adobe Creative Suite have their own updaters. Utilising these frequently (or at least setting them to check for updates once a week) will ensure you won’t have problems with them either.

Tip: More detailed information on Apple Software Update is available over at Apple Support.

The Fix

OS X Mountain Lion

To update your software, simply open the Mac App Store using the Apple menu on the top left and then select updates. Any system updates and applications purchased through the App Store will display an update if available.

OS X Lion and Below

You will still use the Mac App Store to update 3rd party apps you’ve purchased but system updates are available through Software Update. This is also in the Apple menu on the top left of the screen.

Using Terminal

Oh yes, you can use Terminal to update your Mac. This is very useful if you’re finding some apps won’t run properly or have a problem opening Software Update or the App Store.

If you have remote access to a Mac or cannot run updates traditionally, Terminal is a good alternative
If you have remote access to a Mac or cannot run updates traditionally, Terminal is a good alternative

In Terminal, you can list all available updates for your Mac using the command sudo softwareupdate -l.

To install all available updates (recommended), use the command sudo softwareupdate -ia.

Using Terminal has its advantages, but unless you're comfortable in a command line environment, I recommend sticking to the default apps.

Combo Updates

Every time an update is released to OS X (for example, 10.8.2), Apple releases an update commonly referred to as a Combined Update, which technicians refer to as a Combo. These are all updates Apple has released for that version of OS X since launch. So, the 10.8.2 Combo would include every security and update since 10.8. This doesn’t mean the update is massive in terms of file size, a lot of the time updates overwrite files it already updated, so they usually hang around the 1.5GB–2GB mark.

Combo updates also work well if your Mac is up to date but you suspect it’s software. You can reinstall your software updates by downloading and installing a Combo update at any time.

Tip: Combo updates are available from Apple’s support download page.

What Will it Fix?

Your Mac may be experiencing a problem that Apple specifically releases a software update for. Your Mac may even be experiencing a problem not quite the same as the update describes but it can still fix it anyway. Either way, an up to date Mac not only is a good quick fix but it also eliminates old software from your troubleshooting steps.

I was recently experiencing some heavy crashing on an OS X 10.7.4 Mac. For some reason, any time I would try to use Quick Look, the Finder would crash. Most apps would crash on launch - it was incredibly frustrating! I first did an NVRAM reset and then repaired permissions but the problem still persisted. At that point, I ran Software Update, but it would crash too! I was able to update the Mac through Terminal though. There were a couple of updates including 10.7.5, so I installed the updates and voila, no more crashing!

You may experience a similar situation to what I did. If you find your Mac isn’t behaving itself, it’s acting odd, updating your software is yet another quick fix.

Wrapping Up

In this first of a two-part tutorial, we’ve looked at the five most most common fixes to problems you might have. Knowing about these will aid your attempts to resolve issues if your Mac should have any. Keep checking Mactuts+ for the second part of our tutorial, in which we’ll look at five more quick fixes. What are your preferred fixes? Have any of these worked for you in the past? Let us know in the comments!

Related Posts
  • Computer Skills
    OS X
    Finding Hardware Faults: Exploring AHT & Apple DiagnosticsAht preview retina
    Alongside the tools provided for identifying software issues with your Mac, Apple also makes sure that you can examine your hardware for possible faults. These hardware diagnostic tools have evolved over the years, so in this tutorial I will cover the two incarnations that exist: the venerable Apple Hardware Test (AHT), and the newer Apple Diagnostics tool that replaced it. In this tutorial I'll show you how you can use these helpful utilities to keep an eye on the components that make your Mac tick.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    OS X
    OS X System Recovery: Explored and ExplainedOsxrecovery retinathumb
    There may be a time, in the life of your Mac, where you need to restore or recovery your machine, either to try and solve problems you've encountered or simply clean house and start from fresh. In this tutorial, I'll show you through the various options for restoring or recovering your Mac and the process of bringing your Mac back to a clean, healthy state.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    OS X
    Understanding Safe ModeSafemode preview retina
    Apple is very careful about making sure that your Mac is rock solid from day one until day one hundred and one. Unfortunately, while their diligence ensures that it’s nearly impossible to crash or upset a new Mac, things may start to get cloudy once you introduce third-party software and peripherals. Sometimes things break. Compatibility issues arise. Software misbehaves. To help you circumvent and resolve these issues, OS X is equipped with a special operating option called Safe Mode. In this tutorial I’ll help you understand this crucial troubleshooting tool.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    OS X
    Knowing Your Startup Key Combinations for Intel MacsStartupkeys400 1
    Whilst the idea of the computer mouse (essentially an inverted trackball) has been around since the 1960s, many people were still using keyboards as the sole input method some twenty years on. Even after the mouse became a standard computer accessory in the mid-1980s, many programs relied on keyboard shortcuts to perform particular functions. Even with new input devices, in addition to mice and trackpads, there is still a place for keyboard shortcuts. In this tutorial, I will show you the various keyboard key combinations that perform particular tasks when starting up your Mac.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Tips & Shortcuts
    5 More Quick Fixes to Common Mac ProblemsQuick icon
    In the first of our two-part tutorial we looked at five quick fixes to your Mac’s most common problems. In this second part, we’ll continue by looking at five more quick fixes that will help you resolve many of your Mac’s common problems. Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Hardware
    Help! My Mac Won't Turn On!Power
    The unthinkable has happened. Your $2,000 investment has decided to kick the bucket and not turn on. What do you do? Throw it out? Sell it as “slightly-used” online? Go and buy a new computer? No, because we have some great ways that can help bring your computer back from the dead.Read More…