Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Media
Computers

5 Möglichkeiten, AirPlay von Ihrem Mac zu Ihrem Fernseher durchzuführen

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Władysław Łucyszyn (you can also view the original English article)

AirPlay ist bei weitem eine der beliebtesten Funktionen von Apple TV.  Auf iOS-Geräten können Audio- und Videodateien problemlos auf ein Apple TV-Gerät gestreamt werden, sodass Sie einen Film mit Freunden und Familie auf Ihrem Fernseher genießen können.  Auf dem Mac ist es jedoch nicht so einfach.  In diesem Lernprogramm zeigen wir Ihnen, wie Sie nahezu alle Audio- und Videoinhalte von Ihrem Mac auf Ihr Apple TV übertragen.


1. iTunes

Wenn Sie Filme oder Fernsehsendungen in Ihrer iTunes-Mediathek ansehen möchten, ist das Streamen über AirPlay unglaublich einfach.

Schritt 1: Starten Sie die Wiedergabe Ihres Videos

Öffnen Sie iTunes und wählen Sie den Film oder die Fernsehsendung aus, den Sie anzeigen möchten, und drücken Sie dann die Wiedergabetaste.

iTunes provides native AirPlay support for any video files you may have within your library
iTunes bietet native AirPlay-Unterstützung für alle Videodateien, die Sie möglicherweise in Ihrer Bibliothek haben.

Schritt 2: Legen Sie das AirPlay-Ziel fest

Wenn der Film gestartet ist, wählen Sie oben in der Symbolleiste das Menü AirPlay aus und wählen Sie Ihr Apple TV aus.  Nach kurzer Zeit sollte das Video auf Ihrem Fernsehgerät erscheinen, und iTunes zeigt das Gerät an, mit dem Sie gerade verbunden sind.

The AirPlay menu displays any AirPlay-enabled devices you will have on your network
Das AirPlay-Menü zeigt alle AirPlay-fähigen Geräte an, die Sie in Ihrem Netzwerk haben.

Alternativ können Sie auch das AirPlay-Menü aus der Wiedergabesymbolleiste auswählen, das angezeigt wird, wenn Sie mit der Maus über die Videowiedergabe fahren.

You can toggle AirPlay from the playback toolbar
Sie können AirPlay von der Wiedergabesymbolleiste aus umschalten.

Wie Sie sehen, ist die Wiedergabe von Videos über iTunes unglaublich einfach.  Während iTunes nur eine bestimmte Anzahl von Videoformaten unterstützt, ist es möglicherweise die beste Option, wenn Sie nicht kompatible Videodateien mit einer App wie Handbrake konvertieren und anschließend in Ihre iTunes-Mediathek importieren.


2. AirPlay-Spiegelung

OS X wurde in Mountain Lion eingeführt und wird auf Macs unterstützt, die ab Mitte 2011 eingeführt wurden. Jetzt kann OS X das, was wir auf dem Mac-Bildschirm sehen, auf unser Apple TV spiegeln, einschließlich Audio.  Nicht zuletzt können wir damit Videos aller Art über unser Apple TV ansehen.

AirPlay Mirroring lets you mirror your Macs display on your TV
Mit AirPlay Mirroring können Sie die Anzeige Ihres Mac auf Ihrem Fernsehgerät spiegeln.

Schritt 1: Aktivieren Sie die AirPlay-Spiegelung

AirPlay Mirroring kann entweder über das Symbol der Menüleiste oder über die Anzeigeeinstellungen in den Systemeinstellungen aktiviert werden.

AirPlay Mirroring can be activated via the menu bar
AirPlay Mirroring kann über die Menüleiste aktiviert werden.

Wenn diese Option aktiviert ist, können Sie auswählen, ob Sie die Bildschirmauflösung von Apple TV an Ihre aktuelle Mac-Umgebung anpassen möchten oder ob Sie die Anzeige Ihres Mac-Bildschirms an Ihr Apple TV anpassen möchten.

AirPlay Mirroring can also be managed via System Preferences
AirPlay Mirroring kann auch über die Systemeinstellungen verwaltet werden.

Wenn Sie die erste Option auswählen, stimmt Ihr Apple TV nicht mit der Auflösung überein, sondern emuliert sie einfach, da Ihr Mac viel höhere Auflösungen als die meisten Fernsehgeräte bietet.

Wenn Sie die zweite Option auswählen, wird der Bildschirm Ihres Macs auf die gleiche Auflösung reduziert, wie Ihr Apple TV derzeit ausgibt, wodurch alles größer erscheint.

Schritt 2: Spielen Sie Ihr Video ab

Jetzt, da wir die Anzeige unseres Macs spiegeln, wird alles, was Sie auf Ihrem Mac tun, auch auf Ihrem Apple TV angezeigt, einschließlich der Videowiedergabe.  Audio wird auch an Ihr Apple TV gesendet. Wenn Sie also ein Video ansehen, hören Sie das Audio über Ihr Fernsehgerät und nicht über Ihren Mac, der sich in einem anderen Raum befindet.

AirPlay Mirroring ist die beste Allround-Lösung, da jedes Video, das Ihr Mac abspielen kann, auch direkt auf Ihrem Apple TV zu sehen ist.  Der Nachteil ist, dass Ihr Mac nicht verwendet werden kann. Wenn Sie also gerne im Internet surfen, während Sie ein Video ansehen, ist dies möglicherweise nicht die ideale Lösung.


3. AirParrot

Wenn Sie keinen Mac besitzen, der die AirPlay-Spiegelung unterstützt, machen Sie sich keine Sorgen.  Es gibt eine weitaus vielseitigere App, die dieselbe Erfahrung bietet, die auf den meisten Core 2 Duo Macs mit Snow Leopard und darüber, AirParrot, ausgeführt wird.

AirParrot can not only mirror your Macs display but can extend it and even mirror individual apps
AirParrot kann nicht nur die Anzeige Ihres Mac spiegeln, sondern auch erweitern und sogar einzelne Apps spiegeln.

Im Gegensatz zu AirPlay Mirroring kann AirParrot Ihre Anzeige nicht nur spiegeln, sondern auch erweitern und einzelne Apps selektiv spiegeln.

AirParrot kostet 9,99 US-Dollar und eine Testversion ist verfügbar.

Schritt 1: Laden Sie AirParrot herunter und installieren Sie es

Besuchen Sie die AirParrot-Website und laden Sie die kostenlose Testversion herunter, die jeweils auf 20 Minuten begrenzt ist.

Bei der Installation wird die App einfach in den Ordner Applications gezogen.

Schritt 2: Konfigurieren Sie für die Wiedergabe

Wenn Sie die App starten, wird in Ihrer Menüleiste ein Menü angezeigt, in dem Sie die AirParrot-Einstellungen konfigurieren können.  Dazu gehören das Apple TV, das Sie verwenden möchten (falls Sie mehrere haben), die Anzeigeoptionen, die Sie verwenden möchten (unabhängig davon, ob Sie die Anzeige Ihres Mac spiegeln oder erweitern möchten) und ob Sie dies wünschen Audio.

AirParrot is managed by a menu bar icon including any settings you may want to change
AirParrot wird über ein Symbol in der Menüleiste verwaltet, einschließlich aller Einstellungen, die Sie möglicherweise ändern möchten.

Wählen Sie Ihr Apple TV aus dem Menü aus, und Ihr Display beginnt mit der Spiegelung darauf.  Wenn Sie auch Audio streamen möchten, wählen Sie die Option aus dem Menü.

Schritt 3: App Mirroring

Was AirParrot von Airplay Mirroring unterscheidet, ist die Möglichkeit, einzelne Apps anstelle der gesamten Anzeige zu spiegeln.  Wie bereits erwähnt, bedeutet AirPlay Mirroring, dass Sie Ihren Mac nicht wirklich verwenden können, wenn Sie versuchen, einen Film anzusehen, da alles, was Sie auf dem Mac tun, auf Apple TV gespiegelt wird.  Mit AirParrot können Sie nur eine einzelne App auswählen, z. B. QuickTime Player, um auf Ihr Apple TV zu streamen. So können Sie auf Ihrem Mac weiterarbeiten.

Um eine einzelne App zu spiegeln, wählen Sie die App, die Sie spiegeln möchten, im Menü „Spezifische Apps“ von AirParrot aus.

Eine Sache, die Sie sich merken sollten, ist, dass es genau spiegelt, einschließlich der Fenstergröße.  Wenn Sie ein Video in einem kleinen Fenster abspielen, sehen Sie dies auf Ihrem Apple TV, allerdings mit schwarzem Hintergrund.  Um optimale Ergebnisse zu erzielen, sollten Sie Ihr Fenster als Vollbild anzeigen und in einem anderen Bereich ausführen.


4. Beamer

Für Videos, die sich nicht in Ihrer iTunes-Bibliothek befinden, kann Ihr Mac sie nicht über AirPlay streamen. Zum Glück gibt es eine großartige Drittanbieter-App namens Beamer, die diese Funktionalität auf unseren Mac bringen kann.

Beamer provides a simple solution to streaming a variety of video files to your Apple TV even if theyre formats that arent normally supported
Beamer bietet eine einfache Lösung zum Streamen verschiedener Videodateien an Apple TV, auch wenn diese normalerweise nicht unterstützt werden.

Beamer kostet £ 12 und bietet eine einfache Lösung zum Streamen fast aller Videoformate von Ihrem Mac auf Ihr Apple TV, nicht nur Inhalte, die offiziell unterstützt werden.

Schritt 1: Beamer herunterladen und installieren

Sie können Beamer herunterladen, indem Sie die Beamer-Website besuchen und die Testversion herunterladen.  Ohne Lizenz ist Beamer auf eine Wiedergabezeit von 15 Minuten beschränkt. Sie können es also kostenlos ausprobieren. Wenn Sie es weiter verwenden möchten, besuchen Sie einfach die Website und erwerben eine Lizenz.

Die Installation von Beamer ist so einfach wie das Ziehen in den Anwendungsordner.

Schritt 2: Streamen Sie Ihren Videoinhalt

Wenn Sie Beamer starten, wird ein einfaches Fenster angezeigt, in dem Sie aufgefordert werden, eine Filmdatei darauf zu ziehen.

Simply drag a video file on to Beamer and it will be streamed via AirPlay to your Apple TV
Ziehen Sie einfach eine Videodatei auf Beamer und es wird per AirPlay auf Ihr Apple TV gestreamt.

Wenn Sie ein Apple TV-Gerät im selben Netzwerk verwenden, stellt Beamer automatisch eine Verbindung mit ihm her, ohne dass eine Interaktion erfolgt.  Wenn Sie mehr als ein Apple TV haben, können Sie über das Menü Steuerung > Senden an auswählen, zu welchem Gerät Sie streamen möchten.

Suchen Sie eine Videodatei, die Sie abspielen möchten, und ziehen Sie sie einfach in das Fenster.  Die Wiedergabe beginnt, sobald sie fertig ist.

Das Apple TV unterstützt nur eine kleine Anzahl von Videodateien und Codecs, hauptsächlich H.264 und MPEG-4.  Beamer transcodiert alle inkompatiblen Videodateien in eine Datei, die von Apple TV unterstützt wird.  Wenn Beamer ein Video transcodieren muss, erfordert dies eine enorme Prozessorleistung, da Ihr Mac ein Video im Grunde von einem Format in ein anderes konvertiert und alles gleichzeitig streamen kann.  Wenn Sie einen tragbaren Mac verwenden, vergewissern Sie sich, dass er an das Stromnetz angeschlossen ist, da sonst der Akku schnell entladen wird.


5. HUDTube

Bisher konnten wir so ziemlich jedes Videoformat, das wir auf unserem Mac gespeichert haben, an unser Apple TV streamen.  Eine Funktion von iOS-Geräten ist die Möglichkeit, kompatible Videodateien von Websites wie Vimeo und YouTube direkt über AirPlay abzuspielen.

HUDTube provides a way of streaming internet video from Vimeo and YouTube to your Apple TV
Mit HUDTube können Sie Internetvideos von Vimeo und YouTube auf Ihr Apple TV streamen.

HUDTube kostet € 2,99 im Mac App Store und bietet eine Möglichkeit, Vimeo- und YouTube-Clips auf Ihr Apple TV zu streamen.

Obwohl das Apple TV über integrierte Apps verfügt, die dies ermöglichen, ist es auf die Suche angewiesen, und ich finde, dass die Suchfunktion zu wünschen übrig lässt.  Außerdem neigen wir dazu, die Clips, die wir sehen möchten, ohnehin auf unserem Mac zu finden.

Die App kann auch QuickTime-kompatible Dateien streamen, die auf Ihrem Mac gespeichert sind, sich aber möglicherweise nicht in iTunes befinden.  Wenn Sie alternative AirPlay-Videoformate wie MKV- oder AVI-Dateien verwenden möchten, sollten Sie Beamer verwenden.

Schritt 1: Laden Sie HUDTube herunter und installieren Sie es

HUDTube ist nur für den Kauf des Mac App Store erhältlich. Sie können daher vor dem Einsatz keine kostenlose Testversion verwenden.

HudTube is available only through the Mac App Store so there isnt a free trial to try before you buy
HudTube ist nur über den Mac App Store erhältlich. Es gibt also keine kostenlose Testversion, die Sie vor dem Kauf testen können.

Schritt 2: Finden Sie einen YouTube-Clip

Starten Sie HUDTube und Sie sehen eine App, die an QuickTime Player erinnert.  Suchen Sie einen YouTube-Clip, den Sie auf Ihrem Apple TV abspielen möchten, und ziehen Sie die Adresse entweder von Safari auf den Player oder kopieren Sie die Adresse oder fügen Sie sie mit der Option Bearbeiten > Einfügen und Wiedergeben in die App ein.

The HUDTube player is very similar to QuickTime Player
Der HUDTube-Player ist dem QuickTime Player sehr ähnlich.

Der YouTube-Clip wird nach wenigen Augenblicken in der App abgespielt.  Klicken Sie nach dem Starten der Wiedergabe mit der rechten Maustaste und wählen Sie die Option zum Streamen an Ihr Apple TV.

Once a video starts playing right-click to select the option to AirPlay it to your Apple TV
Sobald ein Video abgespielt wird, klicken Sie mit der rechten Maustaste, um die Option für AirPlay auf Ihrem Apple TV auszuwählen.

Im Gegensatz zu unseren bisherigen Erfahrungen mit AirPlay stoppt HUDTube die Wiedergabe von Videos auf dem Mac nicht und wir haben keine Kontrolle über die Videowiedergabe auf dem Apple TV über den Mac.  Sie können sogar das Videofenster schließen und die Wiedergabe auf Ihrem Apple TV wird fortgesetzt, bis Sie die App beenden.

Schritt 3: Browsererweiterungen

HUDTube enthält einige praktische Browsererweiterungen für Safari und Google Chrome, die eine One-Click-Lösung für das Öffnen von Vimeo- und YouTube-Clips direkt in HUDTube bieten und für das Streaming an unser Apple TV bereit sind.

Um die Erweiterungen zu installieren, verwenden Sie einfach das Menü HUDTube> Browsererweiterung installieren und wählen die gewünschte Browsererweiterung aus.

Nach der Installation können Sie auf die Symbolleistenschaltfläche klicken, die immer dann angezeigt wird, wenn Sie sich auf einem YouTube-Clip befinden. 

The HUDTube extension provides a one-click way of opening any Vimeo or YouTube clip with the player ready to stream to an Apple TV
Dieser wird automatisch in HUDTube geöffnet und kann dann an Ihr Apple TV gestreamt werden.

Fazit

Es gibt keine einzige Lösung für AirPlay auf dem Mac, da dies wirklich davon abhängt, was Sie auf Ihrem Fernseher sehen möchten.  Für die meisten Benutzer würde ich empfehlen, alle Videoinhalte in iTunes aufzubewahren, da dies die einfachste Lösung für AirPlaying-Videoinhalte darstellt. Sie müssen jedoch zunächst sicherstellen, dass Sie nicht kompatible Videoformate konvertieren.

Für alle, die iTunes nicht für die Videowiedergabe nutzen möchten oder die Mehrheit der Videos in alternativen Formaten haben, ist Beamer die beste Wahl.

HUDTube bietet eine großartige Möglichkeit, Vimeo- und YouTube-Dateien auf Ihrem Mac freizugeben. Wenn Sie über ein iOS-Gerät verfügen, können Sie auch die iCloud-Tabs in Safari nutzen und stattdessen das iOS-Gerät verwenden, um das Video zu streamen.  Wenn Sie sich für die Verwendung von iCloud-Registerkarten interessieren, lesen Sie unser Tutorial zur Verwendung.

Insgesamt bietet AirParrot die größte Vielseitigkeit, ist aber möglicherweise nicht für jedermann geeignet.  Ich möchte jeden, der jede dieser Apps erkunden möchte, dazu anregen, seine kostenlosen Testversionen zu verwenden und herauszufinden, welche die beste Option ist, da für jeden Benutzer etwas andere Anforderungen gelten.

Was auch immer Ihre Anforderungen sind, Sie werden wahrscheinlich feststellen, dass eine dieser Apps sicherlich die richtige Lösung für Sie ist und Ihnen eine großartige AirPlay-Erfahrung von Ihrem Mac bietet.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Hostingheaderbarlogoj
Join InMotion Hosting for $3.49/mo & get a year on Tuts+ FREE (worth $180). Start today.
Advertisement

5 Ways to AirPlay From Your Mac to Your Television

by
Gift

Want a free year on Tuts+ (worth $180)? Start an InMotion Hosting plan for $3.49/mo.

AirPlay is by far one of the most popular features of the Apple TV. On iOS devices, it allows the easy streaming of audio and video to an Apple TV so that you can enjoy watching a movie on your television with friends and family. On the Mac, however, it's not as simple. In this tutorial, we'll show you how to AirPlay almost any audio and video content from your Mac to your Apple TV.


1. iTunes

If you're wanting to watch any movies or TV shows that you have in your iTunes library, streaming them via AirPlay is incredibly easy to do.

Step 1: Start Playing Your Video

Open iTunes and select the movie or TV show that you'd like to watch and then hit Play.

iTunes provides native AirPlay support for any video files you may have within your library
iTunes provides native AirPlay support for any video files you may have within your library.

Step 2: Set AirPlay Destination

Once the movie has started, select the AirPlay menu from the toolbar at the top and select your Apple TV. After a few moments, you should see the video appear on your TV and iTunes will display the device you're currently connected to.

The AirPlay menu displays any AirPlay-enabled devices you will have on your network
The AirPlay menu displays any AirPlay-enabled devices you will have on your network.

Alternatively, you can also select the AirPlay menu from the playback toolbar that displays when you hover your mouse over the video playback.

You can toggle AirPlay from the playback toolbar
You can toggle AirPlay from the playback toolbar.

As you can see, playback of video from iTunes is incredibly easy. Whilst iTunes only supports a certain number of video formats, you may find it the best option if you're happy to convert any incompatible video files using an app such as Handbrake and then importing it into your iTunes library.


2. AirPlay Mirroring

Introduced in Mountain Lion and supported on Macs that were introduced in mid-2011 onwards, OS X is now able to mirror what we see on our Mac's display to our Apple TV, including audio. If nothing else, we can use it to watch any type of video content we want via our Apple TV.

AirPlay Mirroring lets you mirror your Macs display on your TV
AirPlay Mirroring lets you mirror your Mac's display on your TV.

Step 1: Activate AirPlay Mirroring

AirPlay Mirroring can be turned on using either the menu bar icon or via the Display preferences in System Preferences.

AirPlay Mirroring can be activated via the menu bar
AirPlay Mirroring can be activated via the menu bar.

When activated, you can select if you want to match the Apple TV's display resolution to what your Mac currently has or if you'd prefer to match your Mac's display to your Apple TV.

AirPlay Mirroring can also be managed via System Preferences
AirPlay Mirroring can also be managed via System Preferences.

If you select the first option, your Apple TV won't actually match the resolution, instead it will simply emulate it as your Mac is capable of much higher resolutions than most televisions.

Selecting the second option will reduce your Mac's display to the same resolution as your Apple TV currently outputs, making everything seem bigger.

Step 2: Play Your Video

Now that we're mirroring our Mac's display, anything you do on your Mac is also shown on your Apple TV, including video playback. Audio is also sent to your Apple TV so if you start watching a video, you'll hear the audio through your TV and not your Mac, which may be in another room.

AirPlay Mirroring is the best all-round solution as any video your Mac can play will be seen directly on your Apple TV, too. The downside is that your Mac can't be used so if you're someone who likes to browse the web whilst watching a video, this may not be the ideal solution.


3. AirParrot

For those without a Mac that supports AirPlay mirroring, don't fret. There's a far more versatile app that provides the same experience available which works on most Core 2 Duo Macs running Snow Leopard and above called AirParrot.

AirParrot can not only mirror your Macs display but can extend it and even mirror individual apps
AirParrot can not only mirror your Mac's display, but can extend it and even mirror individual apps.

Unlike AirPlay Mirroring, AirParrot can not only mirror your display but it can extend it as well as selectively mirroring single apps.

AirParrot costs $9.99 and a trial version is available.

Step 1: Download and Install AirParrot

Visit the AirParrot site and download the free trial which is limited to 20 minutes of usage at a time.

Installation is simply dragging the app to the Applications folder.

Step 2: Configure for Playback

Once you launch the app, you'll have a menu displayed in your menu bar where you can configure AirParrot's settings. This includes the Apple TV you wish to use (if you have more than one), the display options you'd like to use (whether you'd like to simply mirror or extend your Mac display) and if you'd like to include audio.

AirParrot is managed by a menu bar icon including any settings you may want to change
AirParrot is managed by a menu bar icon, including any settings you may want to change.

Select your Apple TV from the menu and your display will begin mirroring to it. If you'd like to stream audio as well, make sure to select the option from the menu.

Step 3: App Mirroring

What sets AirParrot apart from Airplay Mirroring is its ability to mirror individual apps rather than your whole display. As I mentioned previously, AirPlay Mirroring means that you can't really use your Mac if you're trying to watch a movie since everything you're doing on the Mac is mirrored to the Apple TV. With AirParrot, you can select just a single app, such as QuickTime Player, to stream to your Apple TV, leaving you able to continue working on your Mac.

To mirror an individual app, select the app you'd like to mirror from the Specific Apps menu of AirParrot.

One thing to remember is that it mirrors it exactly, including window size. If you've playing a video in a small window, that's what you'll see on your Apple TV, albeit with a black background. For best results, take your window full screen and leave it running in another space.


4. Beamer

For video that isn't in your iTunes Library, your Mac doesn't have any ability to stream it via AirPlay. Thankfully, there's a great 3rd party app called Beamer that can add this functionality to our Mac.

Beamer provides a simple solution to streaming a variety of video files to your Apple TV even if theyre formats that arent normally supported
Beamer provides a simple solution to streaming a variety of video files to your Apple TV, even if they're formats that aren't normally supported.

Beamer is £12 and provides a simple solution to streaming almost any video format from your Mac to your Apple TV, not just content that is officially supported.

Step 1: Download and Install Beamer

You can download Beamer by visiting the Beamer site and downloading the trial. Without a license, Beamer is limited to 15 minutes of playback so you are free to try it out and if it's something you want to continue using, simple head back to the site and purchase a license.

Installing Beamer is as simple as dragging it to the Applications folder.

Step 2: Stream Your Video Content

Once you launch Beamer, you'll be presented with a simple window that will prompt you to drag a movie file onto it.

Simply drag a video file on to Beamer and it will be streamed via AirPlay to your Apple TV
Simply drag a video file on to Beamer and it will be streamed via AirPlay to your Apple TV.

If you have one Apple TV on the same network, Beamer will automatically connect to it without any interaction. Should you have more than one Apple TV, you can select which one you'd like to stream to by using the Control > Send To menu.

Find a video file you'd like to play and simply drag it on to the window. Playback will begin as soon as it's ready.

The Apple TV only supports a small number of video files and codecs, mainly Apple's preferred choice of H.264 and MPEG-4. Beamer works by transcoding any incompatible video file to one that the Apple TV supports. If Beamer does need to transcode a video, this requires a huge amount of processor power since your Mac is basically converting a video from one format to another and streaming it all at the same time. If you're on a portable Mac, make sure it's plugged in to the mains as it will drain your battery pretty quickly.


5. HUDTube

So far, we've been able to stream pretty much any video format that we might have stored on our Mac to our Apple TV. One feature that iOS devices have is being able to play any compatible video file from sites such as Vimeo and YouTube directly via AirPlay.

HUDTube provides a way of streaming internet video from Vimeo and YouTube to your Apple TV
HUDTube provides a way of streaming internet video from Vimeo and YouTube to your Apple TV.

HUDTube is £2.99 in the Mac App Store and provides a way of streaming Vimeo and YouTube clips to your Apple TV.

Although the Apple TV has built-in apps that can do this, it relies upon searching and I find that the search functionality has a lot to be desired. Additionally, we tend to find the clips we want to watch using our Mac, anyway.

The app is also able to stream any QuickTime-compatible files that are stored on your Mac but may not be in iTunes. If you're wanting to AirPlay alternative video formats such as MKV or AVI files, you're best off using Beamer.

Step 1: Download and Install HUDTube

HUDTube is only available to purchase the Mac App Store so you won't be able to use any free trial before using it.

HudTube is available only through the Mac App Store so there isnt a free trial to try before you buy
HudTube is available only through the Mac App Store so there isn't a free trial to try before you buy.

Step 2: Find a YouTube Clip

Launch HUDTube and you'll see an app reminiscent of QuickTime Player. Find a YouTube clip you want to play on your Apple TV and either drag the address from Safari to the player or, alternatively, copy the address and then paste it into the app by using the Edit > Paste and Play option.

The HUDTube player is very similar to QuickTime Player
The HUDTube player is very similar to QuickTime Player.

The YouTube clip will start playing within the app after a few moments. Once it has started playing, right-click and select the option to stream it to your Apple TV.

Once a video starts playing right-click to select the option to AirPlay it to your Apple TV
Once a video starts playing, right-click to select the option to AirPlay it to your Apple TV.

Unlike our previous experience with AirPlay, HUDTube doesn't stop the video playing on the Mac and we have no control over the video playback on the Apple TV via the Mac. You can even close the video window and it will resume playing on your Apple TV until you quit the app.

Step 3: Browser Extensions

HUDTube includes some handy browser extensions for both Safari and Google Chrome, providing a one-click solution for opening Vimeo and YouTube clips directly within HUDTube, ready for us to stream to our Apple TV.

To install the extensions, simply use the HUDTube > Install Browser Extension menu and select the required browser extension.

Once installed, you can press the toolbar button that appears whenever you're on a YouTube clip and it will automatically open in HUDTube for you to then stream to your Apple TV.

The HUDTube extension provides a one-click way of opening any Vimeo or YouTube clip with the player ready to stream to an Apple TV
The HUDTube extension provides a one-click way of opening any Vimeo or YouTube clip with the player, ready to stream to an Apple TV.

Conclusion

There isn't any single solution to AirPlay on the Mac as it really depends on what you're wanting to watch on your television. For most users, I would recommend keeping all your video content within iTunes as it provides the simplest solution to AirPlaying video content, though you will need to make sure that you convert any incompatible video formats first.

For anyone not wanting to use iTunes for video playback or has the majority of videos in alternative formats, then Beamer would be your best choice.

Whilst HUDTube provides a great way of sharing Vimeo and YouTube files on your Mac, if you have an iOS device then you may as well take advantage of iCloud Tabs in Safari and simply use your iOS device to stream the video instead. If you're interested in using iCloud Tabs, check out our tutorial on how to use them.

Overall, AirParrot provides the most versatility but it may not be for everyone. I encourage anyone wanting to explore each of these apps further to use their free trials and see which provides the best option, as everyone will have slightly different usage requirements.

Whatever your requirements are, you'll likely find one of these apps will certainly fit the bill and provide you with a great AirPlay experience from your Mac.

Advertisement