Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Networking

AirPort 101: Grundlagen der Basisstation

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Federicco Ancie (you can also view the original English article)

Apple ist seit Jahren auf dem Router-Markt. Das Unternehmen bietet derzeit drei WLAN Basisstationen für Ihr Zuhause oder Ihr Büro an. Ich benutze den Prime Router von Apple seit gut acht Monaten und es hat mir gut getan. Die Ersteinrichtung war nicht nur einfach, die Wartung des Geräts war auch schmerzlos und ich hatte im Laufe der Monate nur ein paar kleinere Probleme damit. In diesem Artikel werde ich Ihnen alles erzählen, was Sie für den grundlegenden Betrieb der AirPort-Basisstation wissen müssen. Es geht sogar um ein bisschen Geschichte, also komm nach der Pause zu mir.


Die Auswahl der Basisstation - Eine kurze Geschichte

Apple's current selection of AirPort base stations.
Apples aktuelle Auswahl an AirPort-Basisstationen.

Bevor ich mich mit den Softwarekonfigurationen von AirPort-Routern befasse, gehe ich auf die Hardware ein, die Ihnen als Verbraucher zur Verfügung steht.

Airport Express

Apple hat den AirPort Express ursprünglich am 7. Juni 2004 eingeführt. Er enthielt analoge und digitale Audioausgänge, zwei Ethernet-Anschlüsse und einen USB-Anschluss zum Aufladen von iPods oder zur drahtlosen Freigabe von Druckern. Der Router nutzte AirTunes, den Vorgänger von AirPlay, der nur Audio-Streaming erlaubte, und spielte Musik überall im Haus ab, wo Sie wollten. Apple hat diesen neuen kompakten Router, der im Juli 2004 einen ähnlichen Stil wie das MacBook-Ladegerät hatte, für 129 USD herausgebracht.

It's a bit Extreme.
Es ist ein bisschen extrem.

Die Dinge haben sich seit dem ursprünglichen AirPort Express sehr verändert, besonders in letzter Zeit. Im Juni dieses Jahres hat Apple seine AirPort Express-Basisstation leise aktualisiert, um ihrem Vorgesetzten, dem AirPort Extreme, besser zu ähneln. Dieser neue Router hat eine ähnliche Größe wie Apple TV und erweitert das Gerät um simultanes Dualband-802.11n-WLAN. Dies macht ihn zu einer noch begehrteren Alternative zu Routern von Drittanbietern, da der Preis jetzt nur noch 99 US-Dollar betrug. Es ist jetzt so ziemlich eine kleine Alternative zum AirPort Extreme.

AirPort Extreme

Build for speed.
Bauen Sie auf Geschwindigkeit.

Nach dem Erfolg seines kleineren AirPort Express hielt Apple es für an der Zeit, einen leistungsstärkeren Router für kleine Unternehmen und größere Haushalte einzuführen. Auf der Macworld im Januar 2007 hat das in Cupertino ansässige Unternehmen genau das getan. AirPort Extreme wurde mit 802.11n- und 2,4-GHz- oder 5-GHz-Technologie geboren und ist damit ein kleiner Vorteil gegenüber der Konkurrenz von Drittanbietern. Das Gerät enthielt drei 10/100-Ethernet-LAN-Ports, einen 10/100-Ethernet-WAN-Port, einen USB-Port für die Druckerfreigabe und eine integrierte NAT-Firewall zu Ihrem Schutz.

Die neueste Generation von AirPort Extreme umfasst Gigabit-Ethernet-Ports (1/100/1000), eine einfachere Einrichtung als zuvor und die gemeinsame Nutzung von Festplatten.

Zeitkapsel

Sadly, it looks nothing like those legendary time capsules that were buried under the ground for years.
Leider sieht es nicht nach diesen legendären Zeitkapseln aus, die jahrelang unter der Erde vergraben waren.

Die Time Capsule von Apple ähnelt stark dem oben genannten AirPort Extreme und soll Ihre neue Möglichkeit sein, alles drahtlos zu sichern - es handelt sich um eine AirPort Time Machine mit einer integrierten 2-TB- oder 3-TB-Festplatte. Time Capsule gibt es seit dem 15. Januar 2008, als das Unternehmen es auf der Macworld bekannt gab. Abgesehen davon besteht der einzige Unterschied zwischen dem AirPort Extreme und diesem Remote-Backup-Gerät darin, dass es für ein 2-TB-Modell 299 US-Dollar und für ein 3-TB-Modell 499 US-Dollar kostet. Dies ist eine teure Alternative zum Kauf eines kostengünstigen Multi-Terabyte-Backup-Laufwerks der Sorte Western Digital, wie ich es letztes Jahr am Black Friday getan habe.


Erste Dinge: Einrichten Ihres AirPorts

This is the main screen of AirPort Utility, which you will be seeing often.
Dies ist der Hauptbildschirm von AirPort Utility, den Sie häufig sehen werden.

Wenn Sie zum ersten Mal eine AirPort-Basisstation erhalten, egal ob Express oder Extreme, müssen Sie einen schnellen Einrichtungsprozess durchlaufen, um die Dinge zum Laufen zu bringen. Nachdem Sie die hübsche weiße Box aus Polycarbonat entpackt haben, führen Sie die folgenden Schritte aus, um alles zu konfigurieren.

  1. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie die neueste Version des AirPort-Dienstprogramms auf Ihrem Computer haben, indem Sie das Software-Update ausführen. Sie können die neueste Version hier herunterladen. Ich werde sie für dieses Tutorial verwenden.
  2. Schließen Sie das Ethernet-Kabel Ihres Modems an den WAN-Anschluss (ganz links Ethernet) von AirPort Extreme an.
  3. Wenn Sie keinen Computer mit einer WLAN-Karte haben, empfehle ich, das alte Ethernet-Kabel zu suchen, da Sie es für den Einrichtungsvorgang benötigen. Wenn Sie ein Ethernet-Kabel verwenden, müssen Sie es an den Anschluss rechts vom WAN-Eingang von AirPort Extreme anschließen.
  4. Schließen Sie das Gerät an, aber machen Sie sich keine Sorgen, dass es eingeschaltet wird - das geschieht automatisch.
  5. Klicken Sie nach dem Start des Geräts in der Menüleiste Ihres Mac auf das AirPort-Symbol und suchen Sie in der Kategorie "Neue AirPort-Basisstation" nach Ihrem Gerät. Klicken Sie darauf, um fortzufahren. Wenn Sie eine Ethernet-Verbindung verwenden, rufen Sie das AirPort-Dienstprogramm auf Ihrem Mac auf und suchen Sie im Hauptbildschirm nach dem Gerät.
  6. Wenn Sie die drahtlose Route gewählt haben, befinden Sie sich im Bildschirm "Dieser AirPort [Express/Extreme] erstellt ein neues Netzwerk" des AirPort-Dienstprogramms. Geben Sie Ihrem Netzwerk und Ihrer Basisstation einen Namen und erstellen Sie ein Kennwort, das das Gerät schützt. Ich habe diese Wörter kursiv geschrieben, da es wichtig ist, dass Sie wissen, dass das hier eingegebene Passwort die Sicherheit Ihrer Internetverbindung nicht beeinträchtigt und keine Verschlüsselung darstellt. Es verhindert lediglich, dass andere Benutzer die Einstellungen im AirPort-Dienstprogramm ändern.
  7. Klicken Sie auf "Fertig" und Sie sind mit der Grundeinstellung fertig. Es müssen jedoch noch weitere Einstellungen vorgenommen werden, wenn Ihr Netzwerk sicher sein soll.

Sichern Sie Ihr Netzwerk

One of the most important parts of networking.
Einer der wichtigsten Teile der Vernetzung.

Wenn Sie mitten im Nirgendwo leben - ich meine wörtlich, nicht theoretisch - dann haben Sie wahrscheinlich keine Router-Wilderer, über die Sie sich Sorgen machen müssen. Andernfalls müssen Sie Ihrem Netzwerk etwas Sicherheit hinzufügen, und ich werde Ihnen dabei helfen, da Apple dies bei der Grundeinstellung versäumt hat.

  1. Klicken Sie im AirPort-Dienstprogramm auf Ihre Basisstation und dann auf Bearbeiten.
  2. Klicken Sie auf die Registerkarte "Wireless" und wählen Sie eine der vier Sicherheitszertifizierungen im Dropdown-Menü des Abschnitts "Wireless Security" aus. Ich schlage vor, einfach mit WPA2 Personal zu arbeiten, da es schwer zu knacken ist und keine eigenwilligen Charaktere benötigt. WPA/WPA2 ist gut zu verwenden, wenn Sie ältere Geräte haben, da diese manchmal keine neue Verschlüsselung unterstützen. Davon abgesehen gibt es Zertifizierungen auf Unternehmensebene, für die jedoch RADIUS-Protokolle erforderlich sind, und das ist eine ganz andere Welt.
  3. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie etwas Einzigartiges und schwer zu erratendes für Ihr Passwort verwenden. Meins stammt von Strong Password Generator, der großartige Arbeit leistet, um zufällige Kombinationen zu finden, die die Leute nie verstehen werden. Ich habe nur ein 10-stelliges Passwort ohne Symbole erstellt, damit ich mich tatsächlich daran erinnern kann. Alles über 15 hinaus, wasanscheinend als Standard empfohlen wird, ist für die meisten Heimnetzwerke übertrieben. Ein sicheres Passwort wäre etwas in der Art von "e6YvxiS1bt". Sie möchten die richtige Mischung aus Groß- und Kleinbuchstaben mit mindestens einigen Zahlen.
  4. Wenn Sie mit der gesamten Kennworterstellung fertig sind, aktivieren Sie das Kontrollkästchen "Dieses Kennwort in meinem Schlüsselbund speichern" und klicken Sie dann auf "Aktualisieren". Ihre Basisstation wird neu gestartet und Ihr neuer Schutz wird aktiviert, sobald er abgeschlossen ist.

"Was bedeuten diese bunten Lichter?"

You might see some blinking and red lights of what you assume to be death, but what do they really mean?
Sie sehen vielleicht einige blinkende und rote Lichter von dem, was Sie für den Tod halten, aber was bedeuten sie wirklich?

Sie wundern sich wahrscheinlich darüber, dass eine leichte AirPort-Basisstation normalerweise grün ist. Kein Licht bedeutet, dass das Gerät ausgeschaltet ist. Ein grünes Blinken bedeutet, dass es ausgelöst wird. Ein durchgehendes Grün bedeutet, dass es einwandfrei funktioniert (es gibt eine Einstellung im AirPort-Dienstprogramm, die das Blinken von Grün zur Einstellung „Alles ist in Ordnung“ macht) bedeutet, dass das Gerät keine Verbindung zum Netzwerk oder Internet herstellen kann, durchgehend gelb bedeutet, dass die Initiierung des Geräts fast abgeschlossen ist, und gelb und grün blinkend bedeutet, dass das Gerät möglicherweise Probleme beim Starten hat.


Gehen Sie bei 5 GHz extrem

Interference is not an option.
Interferenz ist keine Option.

In sehr überlasteten Teilen einer Stadt kann es schwierig sein, das Signal von Ihrem drahtlosen Netzwerk zu erhalten, da es so viele Störungen gibt. Und das ist nicht das einzige Problem. Das Netzwerk kann häufig unterbrochen werden, wodurch der von Ihnen getätigte Skype-Anruf sehr unproduktiv wird. Dies ist kein Problem, wo ich wohne, aber ich verstehe das Problem der Störung, da meine Heimtelefone drahtlose Mobilteile mit 2,4 GHz haben.

Wenn Sie das 5-GHz-Band einrichten, hat Ihre Basisstation bessere Chancen, korrekt mit Geräten zu kommunizieren, da diese Frequenz weniger genutzt wird. Außerdem hat 5 GHz 23 nicht überlappende Kanäle, während 2,4 GHz nur drei hat. Derzeit (da weniger Router im Band vorhanden sind) bleibt 5 GHz eine klarere und bessere Übertragungsfrequenz, wenn Sie so fehlerfrei wie möglich senden möchten. Wenn Sie also eine akribische Person sind, könnte dies Ihnen gut tun. Ich zeige Ihnen, wie Sie das 5-GHz-Band auf einem AirPort Extreme schnell einrichten können.

  1. Klicken Sie im AirPort-Dienstprogramm auf Ihren Router, klicken Sie auf Bearbeiten, wechseln Sie zur Registerkarte Drahtlos und klicken Sie auf "Drahtlosoptionen...".
  2. Aktivieren Sie das Kontrollkästchen neben "5-GHz-Netzwerkname:", um dieses Band zu aktivieren.
  3. Sie müssen Ihr Netzwerk für das andere Band umbenennen, damit Sie beim Herstellen einer Verbindung nicht verwirrt werden. Das AirPort-Dienstprogramm fügt der aktuellen SSID automatisch „5 GHz“ hinzu, und Sie können sie bei Bedarf ändern.
  4. Optional können Sie manuell einen 5-GHz-Kanal einstellen, den die Basisstation verwenden soll, indem Sie einen aus dem Menü "5-GHz-Kanal:" auswählen.
  5. Wenn Sie mit dem Optimieren fertig sind, klicken Sie auf "Speichern" und dann auf "Aktualisieren", um diesen neuen Plan in die Tat umzusetzen.

Tipp: Sie haben wahrscheinlich bemerkt, dass im Bereich "Drahtlose Optionen" die Option "Verstecktes Netzwerk erstellen" angezeigt wird. Wenn Sie Ihre Netzwerkbewegungen verbergen möchten, müssen Sie dies aktivieren. Beachten Sie jedoch, dass Sie sich den Netzwerknamen merken müssen, um ihn manuell zu verbinden, da er beim Scannen nicht angezeigt wird.


Teilen Sie Ihre Festplatte mit AirPort Disk

Why not turn your base station into a home server?
Warum verwandeln Sie Ihre Basisstation nicht in einen Heimserver?

Warnung: Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie einen AirPort Extreme benötigen, um diese Funktion nutzen zu können.

Eine der coolsten versteckten Funktionen von AirPort Extreme-Geräten ist die Möglichkeit, Festplatten drahtlos oder über Ethernet über das Netzwerk gemeinsam zu nutzen. Sie müssen lediglich das Gerät anschließen, das Sie netzwerkweit freigeben möchten, den Finder auf Ihrem Mac öffnen, auf die Basisstation in der Seitenleiste klicken und auf das Laufwerk doppelklicken. (Wenn in der Seitenleiste nichts angezeigt wird, gehen Sie zu Finders Einstellungen [CMD + ,], klicken Sie auf die Registerkarte Seitenleiste und aktivieren Sie das Kontrollkästchen neben "Connected Servers".) Von dort aus können Sie überraschend schnell auf die Dateien zugreifen sogar mit WLAN. Jetzt brauchen wir nur noch USB 3.0-Unterstützung und Little Deer läuft swift und sicher durch den Wald.

Tipp: Sie können sogar ein USB Flash Laufwerk mit Ihrem AirPort Extreme freigeben. Schließen Sie es einfach wie eine Festplatte an.

Ah, aber die Festplattenfreigabe bietet mehr als nur den Zugriff darauf. Sie können die freigegebenen Datenträger mit einem Kennwort sichern, wenn Sie möchten. Dadurch wird sichergestellt, dass Ihre persönlichen Dateien keine unnötigen Eindringlinge enthalten. Wenn Sie ein Kennwort für Ihre Festplatten festlegen möchten, rufen Sie den Bearbeitungsbildschirm von AirPort Utilities auf und klicken Sie auf das Menü Festplatten. Sie können entweder das Kennwort der Basisstation (irreführend „mit Gerätekennwort“ genannt), ein Kennwort, das Sie für die Festplatte festgelegt haben, oder Konten verwenden, die Sie konfigurieren können. Sie geben einen Benutzernamen, ein Kennwort und die üblichen Informationen ein für diese Methode. Denken Sie daran, auf Update zu klicken, wenn Sie fertig sind, um die Einstellungen zu übernehmen.


Verwenden Sie die Zugriffskontrolle, um die Nutzung Ihrer Kinder einzuschränken

Is that Teenager on Facebook too much? Let's have some fun with his access.
Ist das Teenager auf Facebook zu viel? Lass uns ein bisschen Spaß mit seinem Zugang haben.

Tipp: Das funktioniert nur im drahtlosen Netzwerk und hat keine Auswirkungen auf Ethernet Verbindungen.

Wenn Sie im Bearbeitungsfenster des AirPort-Dienstprogramms zur Registerkarte Netzwerk wechseln, wird angezeigt, dass eine Zugriffssteuerungseinstellung verfügbar ist. Dadurch wird die Verwendung bestimmter Geräte auf Ihre Auswahl beschränkt. Warum nicht alternativ die Kindersicherung auf Ihrem Mac verwenden? Sobald Sie die MAC-Adresse eines Geräts mit dem + eingeben und einige Male eingeben, dass dieses Gerät auf das Netzwerk zugreifen soll, ist es auf genau diese Verbindungen beschränkt. Es funktioniert auch für iOS-Geräte oder andere Geräte, die auf das drahtlose Netzwerk zugreifen.


Erfahren Sie noch mehr über AirPort

Read up.
Lesen Sie durch

Bild von AlphaONE666.

Es gibt noch mehr über die drahtlose Technologie von Apple zu wissen. Ich habe einige bemerkenswerte Dokumente und Artikel zusammengestellt, die Sie über AirPort und Networking im Allgemeinen lesen sollten, wenn Sie Ihr Wissen über das Theme erweitern möchten. Nachfolgend finden Sie eine kurze Liste.

Ich hoffe, Ihnen hat dieser Artikel gefallen und Sie haben einiges über Ihr lokales Netzwerk gelernt. Wenn Sie eigene Vorschläge oder Tipps für das AirPort-Networking haben, teilen Sie uns dies in den Kommentaren mit.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Networking

AirPort 101: Base Station Basics

by

Apple has been in the router market for years now. The corporation currently offers three WiFi base stations for your home or office. I’ve used Apple’s prime router for a good eight months now and it’s been good to me. Not only was the initial setup easy, but maintaining the device has been painless and I’ve only had a few minor issues with it over the months. In this article, I’m going to tell you everything you need to know for basic AirPort base station operation. There’s even a bit of history involved, so come join me after the break.


The Base Station Selection — A Brief History

Apple's current selection of AirPort base stations.
Apple's current selection of AirPort base stations.

Before I get into the software configurations of AirPort routers, I’m going to go over the hardware that’s available to you, the consumer.

AirPort Express

Apple originally introduced the AirPort Express on June 7th, 2004. It included analog and digital audio outputs, two Ethernet ports, and a USB port for charging iPods or sharing printers wirelessly. The router took advantage of AirTunes, AirPlay’s predecessor that only allowed audio streaming, and played music anywhere you wanted in the house. Apple released this new compact router that had a similar style to the MacBook charger in July of 2004 for $129.

It's a bit Extreme.
It's a bit Extreme.

Things have changed a lot since the original AirPort Express, especially recently. In June of this year, Apple quietly refreshed its AirPort Express base station to better resemble its superior, the AirPort Extreme. This new router is similar in size to the Apple TV and adds simultaneous dual-band 802.11n WiFi to the device’s capabilities making it an even more desired alternative to third-party routers since the price was now only $99. It’s now pretty much a small home alternative to the AirPort Extreme.

AirPort Extreme

Build for speed.
Build for speed.

After the success of its smaller AirPort Express, Apple thought it was time to bring in a more powerful router for small businesses and larger homes. At Macworld in January of 2007, the Cupertino-based corporation did just that. AirPort Extreme was born with 802.11n and 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz technology, giving it a bit of an edge on the third-party competition. The device included three 10/100 Ethernet LAN ports, one 10/100 Ethernet WAN port, a USB port for printer sharing, and a built-in NAT firewall for your protection.

The latest generation of AirPort Extreme includes Gigabit (1/100/1000) Ethernet ports, easier setup than before, and hard drive sharing.

Time Capsule

Sadly, it looks nothing like those legendary time capsules that were buried under the ground for years.
Sadly, it looks nothing like those legendary time capsules that were buried under the ground for years.

Closely resembling the aforementioned AirPort Extreme, Apple’s Time Capsule hopes to be your new way of backing up everything wirelessly — it’s an AirPort Time Machine with a built-in 2 TB or 3 TB hard drive. Time Capsule has been around since January 15th of 2008 when the corporation announced it at Macworld. Other than that, the only difference between the AirPort Extreme and this remote backup device is that it costs $299 for a 2 TB model and $499 for a 3 TB one. It’s a pricey alternative to purchasing a economical multi-terabyte backup drive of the Western Digital variety as I did on Black Friday last year.


First Things: Setting Up Your AirPort

This is the main screen of AirPort Utility, which you will be seeing often.
This is the main screen of AirPort Utility, which you will be seeing often.

When you first get an AirPort base station, whether it’s Express or Extreme, you’ll have to go through a quick setup process to get things up and running. After you’re finished unboxing the pretty polycarbonate white box, follow the steps below to configure everything.

  1. Make sure you have the latest version of AirPort Utility on your computer by running Software Update. You can download the latest version here — I’ll be using it for this tutorial.
  2. Connect your modem’s Ethernet cable to the WAN port (leftmost Ethernet) on AirPort Extreme.
  3. If you don’t have a computer with a wireless card, then I suggest finding that old Ethernet cable because you’ll need it for the setup process. If you’re using an Ethernet cable, be sure to connect it to the port to the right of the WAN input on AirPort Extreme.
  4. Plug in the device, but don’t worry about turning it on — it automatically does that.
  5. Once the device has started up, click the AirPort icon in your Mac’s menubar and look for your device under the New AirPort Base Station category. Click it to proceed. If you’re using an Ethernet connection, go to AirPort Utility on your Mac and look for the device in the main screen.
  6. If you took the wireless route, you’ll be in the “This AirPort [Express/Extreme] will create a new network” screen of AirPort Utility. Give your network and base station a name and devise a password that’ll protect the device. I italicized those words because it’s important that you know the password you enter here will not affect the security of your Internet connection and is not an encryption. All it does is prevent others from modifying settings in AirPort Utility.
  7. Click Done and you’re finished with the basic setup, but there’s still more to configure if you want your network to be secure.

Secure Your Network

One of the most important parts of networking.
One of the most important parts of networking.

If you live in the middle of nowhere — I mean literally, not theoretically — then you likely have no router-poachers to worry about. Otherwise, you’re going to need to add some security to your network and I’m going to help you with it, since Apple neglected to do so during the basic setup.

  1. In AirPort Utility, click your base station and click Edit.
  2. Click the Wireless tab and select one of the four security certifications under the Wireless Security section’s drop-down menu. I suggest simply going with WPA2 personal since it’s hard to crack and doesn’t require a bunch of idiosyncratic characters. WPA/WPA2 is good to use if you have older devices because sometimes they don’t support new encryption. Other than that, there are enterprise-level certifications, but they require RADIUS protocols and that’s a whole other world.
  3. Make sure you use something unique and hard to guess for your password. Mine came from Strong Password Generator which does a great job of finding random combinations that people won’t ever understand. I only did a 10-character password without symbols so I can actually remember it. Anything beyond 15, which is apparently recommended as a standard, is overkill for most home networks. A strong password would be something along the lines of “e6YvxiS1bt”. You want the correct mixture of upper and lowercase letters with at least a few numbers.
  4. When you’re done with all of this password creation, make sure to check the “Remember this password in my keychain” box and then click Update. Your base station will restart and your new protection will be enabled once it’s finished.

"What Do Those Colorful Lights Mean?"

You might see some blinking and red lights of what you assume to be death, but what do they really mean?
You might see some blinking and red lights of what you assume to be death, but what do they really mean?

You’re probably wondering about that one light AirPort base stations have that’s usually green. Well, no light at all means the device is off, flashing green means it’s initiating, solid green means that it’s running perfectly fine (there’s a setting in AirPort Utility that’ll make flashing green the “everything is fine” setting), flashing amber means that the device can’t connect to the network or Internet, solid amber means that the device is nearly finished initiating, and flashing amber and green means the device could be having a problem starting up.


Go Extreme at 5 GHz

Interference is not an option.
Interference is not an option.

In very congested parts of a city, getting the signal from your wireless network might be hard because there’s so much interference. And that’s not the only problem; the network can oftentimes cut out, rendering that Skype call you made very unproductive. This isn’t a problem where I live, but I do understand the issue of disruption since my home phones have wireless handsets on 2.4 GHz.

If you set up the 5 GHz band, your base station will have better odds of correctly communicating with devices since it’s a less-used frequency. Also, 5 GHz has 23 non-overlapping channels, while 2.4 GHz has only three. For the time being (since there are fewer routers on the band), 5 GHz remains a clearer, better transmission frequency if you wish to transmit the closest to flawless you can. So if you’re a meticulous kind of person, this might do you well. I’ll show you how to quickly set up the 5 GHz band on an AirPort Extreme.

  1. In AirPort Utility, click your router, click Edit, go to the Wireless tab, and click “Wireless Options…”
  2. Check the box beside “5GHz network name:” to enable this band.
  3. You’ll need to rename your network for the different band so you don’t get confused when connecting. AirPort Utility will automatically add “5GHz” to the current SSID and you can modify it if you wish.
  4. Optionally, you can manually set a 5 GHz channel that you’d like the base station to use by selecting one from the “5GHz Channel:” menu.
  5. Once you’re finished tweaking stuff, click Save and then click Update to put this new plan into action.

Tip: You probably noticed that there’s a “Create hidden network” option in the Wireless Options pane. If you wish to make your network movements concealed, be sure to enable this, but be warned that you’ll need to remember the network name to manually join it since it won’t show up when scanning.


Share Your Hard Drive with AirPort Disk

Why not turn your base station into a home server?
Why not turn your base station into a home server?

Warning: Please be aware that you must have an AirPort Extreme to use this function.

One of the coolest hidden features that AirPort Extreme devices have is the ability to share hard drives over the network wirelessly or via Ethernet. It’s as simple as plugging in the device you want to share network-wide and then opening Finder on your Mac, clicking the base station in the sidebar, and double clicking the drive. (If you’re not seeing anything in the sidebar, go to Finder’s Preferences [CMD + ,], click the Sidebar tab, and check the box beside “Connected servers”.) From there you can access the files at a surprisingly quick speed even using WiFi. Now all we need is USB 3.0 support and Little Deer will run swift and sure through forest.

Tip: You can even share a USB flash drive using your AirPort Extreme. Just plug it in like you would any hard drive.

Ah, but there’s more to the disk sharing than just accessing it. You can secure the shared disks with a password if you’d like and that’ll ensure that you don’t get any unnecessary intruders in your personal files. If you want to set a password for your disks, go to AirPort Utilities’ Edit screen and click the Disks menu. You select either to use the base station’s password (misleadingly named “with device password”), a password that you set for the disk, or using accounts that you can configure — you’ll be inserting a username, password, and the usual information for this method. Remember to click Update when you’re done to apply the settings.


Use Access Control to Limit Your Kids’ Usage

Is that Teenager on Facebook too much? Let's have some fun with his access.
Is that Teenager on Facebook too much? Let's have some fun with his access.

Tip:This only works on the wireless network and won’t affect Ethernet connections.

If you head over to the Network tab of AirPort Utility’s Edit window, you’ll see that there is an Access Control setting available. This will limit the usage of certain devices to whatever you choose. Instead of using parental controls on your Mac, why not have this as an alternative? Once you insert the MAC address of a device using the + and put in some times you’d like that device to access the network, it’ll be restricted to exactly those junctures. It’ll also work for iOS devices or anything else that accesses the wireless network.


Learn Even More About AirPort

Read up.
Read up.

Image by AlphaONE666.

Surprisingly, there’s even more to know about Apple’s wireless technology. I’ve gathered a few notable documents and articles that you should read on AirPort and networking in general if you wish to further your knowledge of the subject. Below’s a short list of them.

I hope you enjoyed this article and that it taught you quite a bit about your local network. If you have some of your own suggestions or tips for AirPort networking, let us know in the comments.

Related Posts
  • Computer Skills
    Networking
    AirPort Utility ExplainedAirport utility
    In this tutorial, I'll show you the basics of AirPort Utility, setting up an AirPort base station from scratch and how to configure or restrict access.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Networking
    How to Keep Your Information Safe on Public Wi-FiCoffee shop
    So there you are, browsing the vast Internet in a coffee shop on your travels abroad. You log in to Facebook, as usual, and continue to peruse the postings of the day. Unbeknownst to you, there might be someone stealing your login info right as you press the return key. After all, it’s an open network at a coffee shop—anyone has access to your information. The same goes for airport WiFi, and the library down the street. Luckily, there’s a way to protect yourself. In this tutorial, I’ll explain how people obtain your sensitive information on an unsecured network and how to prevent them from doing so.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Networking
    How to Change Your DNS for Safer, Faster BrowsingIntro to dns 400 v2
    When you open your web browser and type in hub.tutsplus.com to find something interesting to learn, your computer is able to find a server with the IP address 190.93.242.181. Among other technologies, a protocol called DNS helps your computer find that server. In this tutorial, I’ll show you what DNS is and some tips you can use to be safer on the web.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Networking
    How to Share Your Mac's Internet ConnectionNetwork icon
    It seems that you need the Internet to do anything productive these days. Sadly, many modern desktop computers don’t come with WiFi. Manufacturers expect you to either buy a wireless card after you find this out or share your wireless connection from another computer. The second method works well the other way, too: take a wired Internet connection and broadcast it with your integrated WiFi card. So how do you set up all these fancy features? In this tutorial, I’ll show you how to share an Internet connection from your Mac to any wired or wireless device, whether it be an Xbox or PC.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Networking
    Set Up a Guest Network and Timed Access Control on an AirPort Base StationTac icon 2x
    Apple’s AirPort and Time Capsule base stations have always been easy to use and offer fantastic reliability. Even though they may not necessarily include some more advanced features, they have an impressive feature set that is pretty well hidden. Two such options that I’ll demonstrate in this tutorial are Guest Networks, for keeping your personal network private, and Timed Access Control to manage when your wireless networks are accessible. Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Networking
    How to Share a Hotel Room's Internet Connection Over Wi-FiWifisharing icon 2x
    For years, many hotels around the world have offered high-speed internet access to guests in their rooms by way of a wired connection, whether it be a standard network port in the wall or a cable popping out of the desk. Nowadays, wireless network is the default option but we're often charged to use it. Since many hotels still provide the wired connection option as for free, in this guide I'll explain two methods of sharing this wired connection, allowing you to avoid any expensive Wi-Fi costs.Read More…