Students Save 30%! Learn & create with unlimited courses & creative assets Students Save 30%! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Mac
Computers

Äpfel und Birnen: Ein Leitfaden für alternative Apple-Accessoires  

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Valentina (you can also view the original English article)

Apple stellt zwar einige der besten Accessoires für den Mac her, ist aber nicht die einzige Firma, die das tut.  In der Tat gibt es viele andere Unternehmen, die großartiges Zubehör für Ihren Mac herstellen, von Tastaturen und Mäusen bis hin zu Kabeln und Adaptern. Einige davon sind nicht nur billiger, sie sind viel vielseitiger und voller Funktionen als Apples Angebote.

In diesem Handbuch zeige ich Ihnen einige Alternativen zu Apples eigenem Zubehör für Ihren Mac. Dadurch sparen Sie Geld und steigern Ihre Produktivität mit Zubehör, das Sie zuvor nie in Betracht gezogen haben.


Tastaturen

Apples Tastaturen haben im Laufe der Jahre zu polarisierenden Meinungen geführt und die Benutzer gleichmäßig zwischen den Behauptungen aufgeteilt, dass sie die besten - und die schlechtesten - Tastaturen sind, die Sie kaufen können.

Apple bietet derzeit zwei Tastaturen an, eine kompakte drahtlose Bluetooth-Tastatur oder eine größere kabelgebundene Tastatur. Dies sind nicht die einzigen Tastaturen, die Sie für Ihren Mac verwenden können.  Tatsächlich funktioniert jede Bluetooth- oder USB-Tastatur, obwohl eine Mac-orientierte Tastatur am besten geeignet ist.  Es gibt eine Reihe von Unternehmen, die Tastaturen speziell für den Mac herstellen, und jede von ihnen hat ihre eigenen Vorteile und Funktionen, die sie zu einer besseren Wahl als eine Apple-Tastatur machen.

Apple offers two keyboards a wired keyboard with numeric keyboard or the more common wireless Bluetooth compact keyboard
Apple bietet zwei Tastaturen an, eine kabelgebundene Tastatur mit einer numerischen Tastatur oder die üblichere drahtlose (Bluetooth) Kompakttastatur.

Apple Wireless-Tastatur

Die kabellose Tastatur von Apple funktioniert über Bluetooth, und das kleine Design wird durch den Wegfall des numerischen Tastenfelds ermöglicht. Je nach Ihrer Arbeit kann ein Ziffernblock unerlässlich sein. Es gibt bestimmte Geräte, die erworben werden können, die diese Funktion über ein zusätzliches Gerät hinzufügen, z. B. das YourType Bluetooth Wireless Keypad von Belkin. Diese Geräte sind sehr kostspielig und es kann kostengünstiger sein, die Apple-Tastatur einfach vollständig zu ersetzen.

Obwohl die kabellose Tastatur von Apple sparsam ist, müssen gelegentlich AA-Batterien verwendet werden.

Logitech stellt seit einiger Zeit Tastaturen für den Mac her, und die entsprechende Tastatur, die K811, verwendet auch die integrierte Bluetooth-Funktion Ihres Mac. Es kann sogar mit bis zu drei verschiedenen Geräten gekoppelt werden. Das Wechseln zwischen diesen Geräten erfolgt per Knopfdruck. Anders als bei der Apple-Tastatur muss jedes Mal, wenn Sie das Gerät wechseln, ein einheitliches Pairing durchgeführt werden.  Wenn Sie ein iPad- und Mac-Benutzer sind, kann der K811 Ihnen viel Ärger ersparen.

Logitechs K811 keyboard is a suitable alternative to Apples own wireless offering providing Bluetooth connectivity but with some additional features not found on the Apple model
Die K811-Tastatur von Logitech ist eine geeignete Alternative zum kabellosen Angebot von Apple. Sie bietet Bluetooth-Konnektivität, bietet jedoch einige zusätzliche Funktionen, die beim Apple-Modell nicht vorhanden sind.

Darüber hinaus ist der K811 von hinten beleuchtet, ähnlich wie die MacBook-Serie tragbarer Macs. Er eignet sich daher hervorragend für den Einsatz bei schwachem Licht und etwas, das die Apple-Tastatur nicht bietet. Darüber hinaus verfügt der K811 über einen USB-Anschluss und einen eingebauten Akku, sodass Sie ihn unbegrenzt laufen lassen können, ohne dass Sie AA-Batterien zur Hand haben müssen.  Wenn der Akku nachlässt, schließen Sie ihn einfach über USB an, und es wird (vorübergehend) zu einer kabelgebundenen Tastatur.

Verdrahtete Apple-Tastatur mit dem Ziffernblock

Diejenigen, die eine Tastatur suchen, die sich nicht auf das Aufladen verlassen muss oder über ein integriertes numerisches Tastenfeld verfügt, können eine andere Logitech-Tastatur, die K750, verwenden.

The Logitech K750 may still be wireless but its solar panel provides almost unlimited charging
Das Logitech K750 ist zwar immer noch kabellos, aber das Solarpanel bietet nahezu unbegrenztes Aufladen.

Das Gerät ist zwar drahtlos, benötigt also Strom, verfügt jedoch über ein eingebautes Solarpanel und erfordert keinen Batteriewechsel oder eine Kabelverbindung zum Aufladen.  Solange Ihr Zimmer gut beleuchtet ist, bleiben sie ständig aufgeladen. Das bietet alle Vorteile einer kabelgebundenen Tastatur mit dem Vorteil, vollständig kabellos zu sein.

Ähnlich wie bei der kabelgebundenen Apple-Tastatur ist ein einzelner USB-Anschluss erforderlich, da ein USB-Empfänger benötigt wird. Diese Adapter sind unauffällig und obwohl sie die Verwendung eines USB-Anschlusses erfordern, bieten sie eine größere Zuverlässigkeit und Reichweite als Bluetooth.

Windows PC-Tastaturen

Einige der besten Tastaturen auf dem Markt sind leider nicht unbedingt für den Mac konzipiert. Sie werden auch keine Mac-Version haben. Insbesondere Gaming-Keyboards bieten oft keine Mac-Version an, was jedoch nicht bedeutet, dass Sie sie nicht verwenden können.

Microsofts ergonomic keyboards are highly praised but arent available in Mac configurations but that doesnt mean we cant use them
Die ergonomischen Tastaturen von Microsoft werden hoch gelobt, sind jedoch in Mac-Konfigurationen nicht verfügbar. Das bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass wir sie nicht verwenden können.

Bei aktuellen Windows-zu-Mac-Umschaltern, die möglicherweise ihre vorhandenen Tastaturen verwenden, können Sie eine PC-Tastatur ohne spezielle Software leicht an den Mac anpassen.  Auf einer PC-Tastatur werden die Alt-Taste (Option) und die Command/Windows-Taste vertauscht. Wir können dies leicht in den Systemeinstellungen korrigieren, da Mac OS X die Option zum Ändern der Modifizierungstasten enthält, z. B. Command und Alt.

Diese Funktion ist seit einiger Zeit in Mac OS X enthalten, um Umschaltern zu helfen, die über großartige Tastaturen verfügen, diese jedoch nicht einfach wegwerfen möchten, nur weil sie von Windows zu Mac gewechselt sind.

Mac OS X has always been able to allow the Modifier keys to be customised so that they can be tailored to each user if required
Mac OS X konnte immer zulassen, dass die Modifizierertasten angepasst werden, sodass sie bei Bedarf an jeden Benutzer angepasst werden können.

Mäuse und Trackpad

Apples eigene Mäuse-Serie wurde nicht so sehr gelobt wie ihre Tastaturen, und Benutzer beklagen oft die schlechte Ergonomie oder relativ wenige Funktionen für ein so teures Gerät. Für alle, die eine Maus längere Zeit benutzen müssen, ist dies ein zu vermeidendes Gerät.

Im Gegensatz zu Tastaturen, die mit ihren einzigartigen Tasten "wie-Mac" sein können, haben Mäuse keine derartigen Anforderungen, was bedeutet, dass Sie in einer viel besseren Position sind, um aus fast jedem Bereich zu wählen, der Ihrer Meinung nach am besten ist.

Apple offers its own trackpad and mouse though these may not be your best choice
Apple bietet ein eigenes Trackpad und eine eigene Maus an. Diese sind jedoch möglicherweise nicht die beste Wahl.

Neben einer Maus bietet Apple auch ein Desktop-Äquivalent zum tragbaren Mac-Trackpad namens Magic Trackpad an. Das ist ein hervorragendes Gerät, wenn Sie das Trackpad verwenden möchten, da es die gleichen Multi-Touch-Funktionen und Touch-Funktionen in einem größeren Trackpad für Desktop-Benutzer bietet.

Ähnlich wie Tastaturen unterstützt der Mac sowohl Bluetooth- als auch USB-Mäuse. Es gibt nicht viele Hersteller, die Bluetooth-Mäuse anbieten, die ihre eigenen USB-Empfänger bevorzugen, obwohl Unternehmen wie Belkin und Microsoft Bluetooth-Geräte anbieten, die Sie verwenden können.

Some popular mice include many additional function buttons that can be customised beyond what Mac OS X can do
Einige beliebte Mäuse enthalten viele zusätzliche Funktionstasten, die über das, was Mac OS X hinaus kann, angepasst werden können.

Ich habe bereits erwähnt, dass Logitech USB-Empfänger für einige seiner Tastaturen für Mac verwendet. Diese Empfänger, die als Unity bezeichnet werden, können mehrere Geräte gleichzeitig anschließen.  Wenn Sie eine Logitech-Tastatur und -Maus zusammen verwenden, können Sie nur einen Empfänger für beide Geräte verwenden.

Wenn Sie nach alternativen Eingabegeräten suchen, versuchen Sie, die Marke nach Möglichkeit miteinander zu vergleichen, damit Sie diese Funktion nutzen können, damit Ihre USB-Anschlüsse nicht unnötig für den Einsatz eines USB-Empfängers verschwendet werden.

Formen und Größen

Durch das Wissen um die Alternativen zu Apples eigenem Zubehör können Sie mehr ergonomische Mäuse finden, die an die Konturen Ihrer Hand angepasst sind, um die Möglichkeit einer RSI (Repetitive Strain Injury) so gering wie möglich zu halten. Ich glaube nicht, dass einige Mäuse von Apple besonders ergonomisch waren und insbesondere die Magic Mouse für mich schmerzhaft ist, wenn ich sie länger als ein paar Minuten verwenden kann.

Ich habe noch nie eine Maus genossen und ich verwende täglich einen Trackball, den Apple nicht herstellt. Zum Glück tun dies andere Firmen, was bedeutet, dass ich mit meinem Mac keinen Trackball habe.

Ive been a trackball user for years and Ive never had any problems using one with the Mac
Ich bin seit Jahren ein Trackball-Benutzer und hatte noch nie Probleme mit einem Mac.

Während Trackpads für den Mac nicht besonders häufig sind, hat sich Logitech mit seinem Logitech Rechargeable Trackpad für Mac, einem wiederaufladbaren Trackpad, das Optionen für den Mac bietet, ein aufladbares Trackpad, das auf die gleiche Weise arbeitet wie das eigene Gerät von Apple.

Erweiterte Software

Nur weil Sie eine Nicht-Apple-Maus verwenden, verlieren Sie nicht die Funktionalität, die sie bietet.  Im Gegenteil, Sie werden wahrscheinlich mehr Funktionen erhalten. Die meisten Mäuse und Trackballs verfügen über weitere Tasten, die Sie mit der gerätespezifischen Software programmieren können.

Bestimmte Multi-Taste-Geräte erfordern möglicherweise zusätzliche Software, wie z. B. Logitech oder Microsoft-Mäuse, um das Beste aus ihnen zu machen und einige der zusätzlichen Funktionen zu nutzen, die sie bereitstellen. Das ist jedoch nicht immer erforderlich. Sie werden feststellen, dass Mac OS X alle Tasten erkennen kann, die eine Maus oder ein Trackball enthält, und dass Sie ihnen im Voreinstellungsfenster von Mission Control Funktionen zuweisen können.

Mission Control lets you assign additional mouse buttons to common shortcuts such as show or hide the Dashboard Useful though limited
In Mission Control können Sie gängigen Verknüpfungen zusätzliche Maustasten zuweisen, z. B. der Befehls-Navigator anzeigen oder ausblenden. 

Nützlich, wenn auch begrenzt.Wenn Sie eine Maus verwenden möchten, die nicht speziell von Mac unterstützt wird, der Hersteller eine schreckliche Software erstellt oder mehr als nur Befehls-Navigator öffnen möchte, gibt es Apps wie USB Overdrive, ein Werkzeug von Drittanbietern, das sich verwalten und konfigurieren lässt fast jedes USB- und Bluetooth-Eingabegerät besser als die meisten Treiber.

USB Overdrive has allowed OS X users to customize their pointing devices for years
USB Overdrive ermöglicht OS X-Benutzern seit Jahren die Anpassung ihrer Zeigegeräte.

Über die integrierte Unterstützung von Mac OS X hinaus können Sie Funktionen zuweisen, mit denen diese zusätzlichen Tasten Apps öffnen, Doppelklicks ausführen oder sogar die Lautstärke anpassen können.

Tipp: Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserem Tutorial Verwenden von Tastaturen und Mäusen von Drittanbietern.


Displays

Apple stellt nur ein Display her, das 27-Zoll-Thunderbolt-LED-Display. Dieses gigantische Display verfügt über eine Reihe von Funktionen wie integrierte USB-Anschlüsse, Lautsprecher und FaceTime-Kamera in einem Design, das dem iMac sehr ähnlich ist. Sie sind die besten Displays auf dem Markt, aber Sie zahlen auf jeden Fall das Privileg des Apple-Logos. Mit 999 US-Dollar liegt es außerhalb der Preisklasse vieler Menschen.  Nur weil Sie einen Mac mini kaufen, bedeutet dies nicht, dass Sie kaufen müssen Apples teure Anzeige ebenfalls.

Apples Thunderbolt Display is beautiful but pricey
Das Thunderbolt-Display von Apple ist schön, aber teuer.

Vermeiden Sie Form Over-Funktion

Wenn Sie nach einem alternativen Display suchen, werden Sie nichts so Schönes finden wie das Angebot von Apple. Wenn Sie bereit sind, etwas konventionelleres zu wählen, können Sie sich jedoch viel Geld sparen und trotzdem eine Anzeige von gleicher Qualität erhalten.

Zum Beispiel passen Displays von Unternehmen wie Dell und Samsung mit ihrem mehr Kunststoffgehäuse nicht zu dem eleganten Aluminium-Styling von Apple, aber ein Display mit entsprechender Auflösung und Funktionen kann über ein Drittel weniger kosten. Das Dell U2713HM ist ein 27-Zoll-Display, das die gleiche Auflösung wie das Thunderbolt-Display bietet, jedoch eine schnellere Reaktionszeit bietet.  Tatsächlich bietet das Thunderbolt-Display von Apple immer noch nur USB 2.0-Anschlüsse. Dies hat den Vorteil, dass Dell einen vollständigen USB-Anschluss bietet 3.0 Unterstützung.

The Dell U2713HM may not be the most attractive display in the world nor the best named but its a great alternative to the Thunderbolt Display and is considerably cheaper
Das Dell U2713HM ist zwar nicht das attraktivste Display der Welt oder das am besten genannte, aber es ist eine großartige Alternative zum Thunderbolt-Display und ist erheblich günstiger.

Es sind jedoch nicht alle Funktionen vorhanden. Es gibt kein Thunderbolt-Passthrough. Wenn Sie also beabsichtigen, dieses Gerät mit anderen Thunderbolt-Geräten zu verwenden, vergewissern Sie sich, dass es sich am Ende Ihrer Thunderbolt-Kette befindet.  Es gibt auch keine integrierte Kamera, kein Ethernet oder Audio, aber bei über 300 US-Dollar weniger ist dies eine erhebliche Einsparung.

Monoprice ist bekannt für seine billigen Kabel und Zubehör sowie für das 27 "Glass Panel Pro, obwohl viele der zusätzlichen Anschlüsse des Thunderbolt-Displays von Apple fehlen, weniger als die Hälfte des Preises.

It might look even worse than the Dell but its a heck of a lot cheaper with a display panel that is just as good
Es sieht vielleicht noch schlimmer aus als das Dell, aber es ist viel billiger mit einem ebenso guten Display.

Alle Displays sind gleich, Apple ist nur gleich viel besser als andere, mit Funktionen, die auf Mac-Benutzer abgestimmt sind.

Verbindungen

Da der gesamte Mac-Bereich (mit Ausnahme des ausgehenden Mac Pro) über Thunderbolt verfügt, gibt es eine Reihe von Anzeigen, die über einen Anzeigeadapter mit ihnen verwendet werden können. VGA-, DVI- und HDMI-Displays sind dank der separat zu erwerbenden Displayadapter möglich, da der Thunderbolt-Anschluss auch als A-Duplex dient

Der Mac mini verfügt standardmäßig auch über einen HDMI-Anschluss. Dadurch kann sogar ein Adapter entfallen, wenn Ihr neu gewähltes Display einen HDMI-Anschluss bietet.

Display-Adapter

Apropos Adapter: Apple ist dafür bekannt, ziemlich teure Display-Adapter herzustellen. Unternehmen wie Amazon und Monoprice werden eigene Kabel und Adapter anbieten, die für viel weniger zu finden sind.

Apples Mini DisplayPort-zu-DVI-Adapter kostet derzeit 29 US-Dollar im Apple Store. Der gleiche Adaptertyp bei Monoprice kostet nur 7 US-Dollar. Wieder lohnt es sich sicher, herumzuschauen.

Monoprices Mini DisplayPort to DVI adapter is almost 13 of the cost of Apples
Der Mini DisplayPort-zu-DVI-Adapter von Monoprice kostet fast 1/3 der Kosten von Apple.

Wenn man bei Apple bleibt, zählt

Trotz meines Ratschlags zum Auffinden alternativer Optionen für Eingabegeräte und Displays sollten Sie sich immer an das Zubehör von Apple halten - Stromadapter und Akkus.

Im Gegensatz zu Thunderbolt, USB und Bluetooth ist die MagSafe-Verbindung von Apple zu 100% urheberrechtlich geschützt und für andere Unternehmen nicht lizenziert. Gleiches gilt für Batterien für ältere tragbare Macs, die Wechselakkus anbieten.  Bei diesen Adaptern und Akkus handelt es sich um Kopien, bei denen versucht wurde, das zurückzubauen, was Apple bisher produzieren konnte.

Das Ergebnis kann nicht garantiert werden und kann nicht nur Ihren Mac beschädigen, sondern auch Verletzungen verursachen.


Schlussfolgerung

Wenn Sie ein wenig Zeit damit verbringen, nach Alternativen zu einigen Zubehörteilen von Apple zu suchen, werden Sie wahrscheinlich Zubehör finden, das besser zu dem Zweck passt, für den Sie es benötigen, und zu erheblichen Einsparungen führt.  Während ich ein Mac-Benutzer bin, verwende ich eine Logitech-Tastatur und einen Trackball sowie ein AOC-Display. Ich verwende sogar ein Monoprice Mini DisplayPort-Kabel, um die Kosten weiter zu senken.

Während Apple sicherlich einige großartige Accessoires für den Mac herstellt, müssen Sie sich nicht unbedingt für diese entscheiden, und insbesondere bei der Magic Mouse gibt es viel bessere (und billigere) Alternativen

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Hostingheaderbarlogoj
Join InMotion Hosting for $3.49/mo & get a year on Tuts+ FREE (worth $180). Start today.
Advertisement

Apples and Pears: A Guide to Alternative Apple Accessories

by
Gift

Want a free year on Tuts+ (worth $180)? Start an InMotion Hosting plan for $3.49/mo.

While Apple manufactures some of the best accessories for the Mac, they aren't the only company that does so. In fact, there are many other companies that manufacture some great accessories for your Mac, from keyboards and mice to cables and adapters. Some of these are not only cheaper, they're far more versatile and feature-packed than Apple's offerings.

In this guide, I'll show you some alternatives to Apple's own accessories for your Mac, saving you money as well as increasing your productivity using accessories that you may never have considered before.


Keyboards

Apple's keyboards have generated polarising opinions over the years, evenly splitting users between claims that they're the best - and worst - keyboards you can buy.

Apple currently offers two keyboards, a compact Bluetooth wireless keyboard or a larger wired keyboard. These aren't the only keyboards you can use for your Mac. In fact, any Bluetooth or USB keyboard will work though, for the best experience, a Mac-orientated keyboard is best. There are a number of companies that manufacturer keyboards specifically for the Mac and each of them have their own advantages and features that may make them a better choice than an Apple keyboard.

Apple offers two keyboards a wired keyboard with numeric keyboard or the more common wireless Bluetooth compact keyboard
Apple offers two keyboards, a wired keyboard with numeric keyboard or the more common wireless (Bluetooth) compact keyboard.

Apple Wireless Keyboard

Apple's wireless keyboard operates via Bluetooth and its small design is made possible by the omission of the numeric keypad. Depending on the work you do, a numeric keypad can be indispensable. There are certain devices that can be purchased that add this functionality by way of an additional device, such as the Belkin YourType Bluetooth Wireless Keypad, these are very costly and it can be more cost effective to simply replace the Apple keyboard completely.

While Apple's wireless keyboard is frugal on power, it does require a set of AA batteries to be occasionally changed.

Logitech have been making keyboards for the Mac for some time and their equivalent keyboard, the K811, will also use the built-in Bluetooth function of your Mac. It can even be paired with up to three different devices and switching between them is a touch of a button, unlike the Apple keyboard which would require consistently pairing every time you wanted to change device. If you're an iPad and Mac user, the K811 can save you a lot of hassle.

Logitechs K811 keyboard is a suitable alternative to Apples own wireless offering providing Bluetooth connectivity but with some additional features not found on the Apple model
Logitech's K811 keyboard is a suitable alternative to Apple's own wireless offering, providing Bluetooth connectivity but with some additional features not found on the Apple model.

Additionally, the K811 is backlit, similar to the MacBook range of portable Macs, making it great for using in dim light and something that the Apple keyboard doesn't do. Furthermore, the K811 includes a USB port and built-in rechargeable battery so you can keep it running indefinitely, no need to keep a supply of AA batteries handy. If the battery starts to run down, simply connect it via USB and it (temporarily) becomes a wired keyboard.

Apple Wired Keyboard with Keypad

Those looking for a keyboard that doesn't need to rely on charging up or need to have a built-in numeric keypad can make use of another logitech keyboard, the K750.

The Logitech K750 may still be wireless but its solar panel provides almost unlimited charging
The Logitech K750 may still be wireless but its solar panel provides almost unlimited charging.

It is actually wireless, so it needs power, but it features a built-in solar panel for this and requires no change of batteries or wired connection to charge. As long as your room is well lit, they'll keep themselves charged at all times. This provides all the benefits of a wired keyboard with the advantage of being completely wireless.

Similar to the Apple wired keyboard, it does require a single USB port as it relies upon the use of a USB receiver. These adapters are low-profile and, although they require the use of a USB port, they offer a great amount of reliability and range than Bluetooth does.

Windows PC Keyboards

Some of the best keyboards on the market are, alas, not necessarily designed for the Mac. Neither will they have a Mac-branded version. Gaming keyboards, in particular, will often not offer a Mac version, but that doesn't mean you can't use them.

Microsofts ergonomic keyboards are highly praised but arent available in Mac configurations but that doesnt mean we cant use them
Microsoft's ergonomic keyboards are highly praised but aren't available in Mac configurations, but that doesn't mean we can't use them.

For recent Windows-to-Mac switchers, who may prefer to use their existing keyboards, you can easily adapt a PC keyboard for the Mac with no special software. On a PC keyboard, the Alt (Option) and Command / Windows key are swapped around. We can easily correct this in System Preferences as Mac OS X includes the option to alter the Modifier Keys, such as Command and Alt.

This feature has been included Mac OS X for some time specifically to aid switchers who have great keyboards but don't want to throw them out simply because they switched from Windows to Mac.

Mac OS X has always been able to allow the Modifier keys to be customised so that they can be tailored to each user if required
Mac OS X has always been able to allow the Modifier keys to be customised so that they can be tailored to each user, if required.

Mice and Trackpad

Apple's own mice range hasn't been as highly praised as their keyboards and users often lament the poor ergonomics or relatively few features for such an expensive device. For anyone who needs to use a mouse for long durations then it's really a device to avoid.

Unlike keyboards, which can be more "Mac-like" with their unique keys, mice have no such requirements which means you're in a much better position to pick from almost any range that you feel would be best.

Apple offers its own trackpad and mouse though these may not be your best choice
Apple offers its own trackpad and mouse, though these may not be your best choice.

In addition to a mouse, Apple also offers a desktop equivalent of their portable Mac's trackpad called Magic Trackpad. It's a great device if you're someone who likes using the trackpad as it provides all the same multi-touch functions and touch capabilities in a larger trackpad for desktop users.

Similar to keyboards, the Mac supports both Bluetooth and USB mice. There aren't that many manufacturers who offer Bluetooth mice, preferring their own USB receivers, though companies such as Belkin and Microsoft do offer Bluetooth devices that you can use.

Some popular mice include many additional function buttons that can be customised beyond what Mac OS X can do
Some popular mice include many additional function buttons that can be customised beyond what Mac OS X can do.

I've mentioned before about Logitech using USB receivers for some of their Keyboard for Mac range. These receivers, dubbed Unity, can connect multiple devices at the same time. If you were to use a Logitech keyboard and mouse together, you can just use one receiver for both devices.

When looking at alternative input devices, try and match up the brand where possible so that you can take advantage of this feature so your USB ports aren't being needlessly wasted on just to use a USB receiver.

Shapes and Sizes

By knowing about the alternatives to Apple's own accessories, you can find more ergonomic mice that are designed to the contours of your hand to can reduce the possibility of Repetitive Strain Injury (RSI) as much as possible. I don't think that any of Apple's mice have been particularly ergonomic and the Magic Mouse, in particular, becomes painful for me to use for longer than a few minutes.

I've never enjoyed using a mouse and I actually use a trackball day to day, something Apple doesn't manufacture. Thankfully, other companies do, meaning I have no problems using a trackball with my Mac.

Ive been a trackball user for years and Ive never had any problems using one with the Mac
I've been a trackball user for years and I've never had any problems using one with the Mac.

While trackpads for the Mac aren't particularly common, Logitech has since joined Apple in options for the Mac with their Logitech Rechargeable Trackpad for Mac, a rechargeable trackpad that works in the same way as Apple's own device.

Enhanced Software

Just because you're using a non-Apple mouse doesn't mean you lose some of the functionality it offers. On the contrary, you're more than likely going to gain more features. Most mice and trackballs have more buttons that you can program using the device-specific software.

Certain multi-button devices may require additional software, such as Logitech or Microsoft mice, in order to get the most from them and use some of the additional features they provide, but it isn't always required. You'll find that Mac OS X can detect all of the buttons that a mouse or trackball contains and lets you assign them functions through the Mission Control preference pane.

Mission Control lets you assign additional mouse buttons to common shortcuts such as show or hide the Dashboard Useful though limited
Mission Control lets you assign additional mouse buttons to common shortcuts, such as show or hide the Dashboard. Useful, though limited.

Should you want to use a mouse that isn't specifically Mac-supported, the manufacturer makes terrible software or you want to do more than just open Dashboard, there are apps such as USB Overdrive, a 3rd-party tool that can manage and configure almost any USB and Bluetooth input device better than most drivers.

USB Overdrive has allowed OS X users to customize their pointing devices for years
USB Overdrive has allowed OS X users to customize their pointing devices for years.

Going further than Mac OS X's built-in support, you can assign functions that will let those extra buttons open apps, perform double-clicks or even adjust the volume.

Tip: Check out our tutorial Using Third Party Keyboards and Mice with Your Mac for further information.


Displays

Apple only manufactures one display, the 27" Thunderbolt LED Display. This behemoth of a display boasts a range of features, such as built-in USB ports, speakers and FaceTime camera, in a design that closely resembles the iMac. It's one of the best displays on the market, but you certainly pay for the privilege of the Apple logo and, at $999, it's going to be out of many people's price range. Just because you're buying a Mac mini doesn't mean you need to buy Apple's expensive display as well.

Apples Thunderbolt Display is beautiful but pricey
Apple's Thunderbolt Display is beautiful but pricey.

Avoid Form Over Function

When it comes to looking for an alternative display, you'll not find anything quite as beautiful as Apple's offering. If you're willing to go for something a little more conventional, however, you can save yourself a lot of money and still end up with a display of equal quality.

Displays from companies like Dell and Samsung, for example, may not match the sleek aluminium styling from Apple with their more plastic casing, but a display of equivalent resolution and features can cost over 1/3 less. The Dell U2713HM is a 27" display that offers the same resolution as the Thunderbolt Display but with a faster response time. In fact, Apple's Thunderbolt Display still only offers USB 2.0 ports, something that the Dell has the advantage with as it offers full USB 3.0 support.

The Dell U2713HM may not be the most attractive display in the world nor the best named but its a great alternative to the Thunderbolt Display and is considerably cheaper
The Dell U2713HM may not be the most attractive display in the world, nor the best named, but it's a great alternative to the Thunderbolt Display and is considerably cheaper.

Not all the features are there, however. There is no Thunderbolt passthrough so if you're planning to use this with other Thunderbolt devices, make sure this is at the end of your Thunderbolt chain. There's also no built-in camera, ethernet or audio, but at over $300 less, it's a considerable saving.

Monoprice is well-known for its cheap cables and accessories, and their display, the 27" Glass Panel Pro, although lacking many of the additional connections of Apple's Thunderbolt display, is less than half the price.

It might look even worse than the Dell but its a heck of a lot cheaper with a display panel that is just as good
It might look even worse than the Dell, but it's a heck of a lot cheaper with a display panel that is just as good.

All displays are made equal, Apple's are just made more equal than others with features that are more attuned to Mac users.

Connections

As the entire Mac range (with the exception of the outgoing Mac Pro) features Thunderbolt, there are a number of displays that can be used with them via the use of a display adapter. VGA, DVI and HDMI displays are all possible thanks to display adapters that can be purchased separately and as the Thunderbolt port also doubles as a

The Mac mini also includes a HDMI port as standard so this can even eliminate the need for an adapter if your newly-chosen display offers a HDMI connection.

Display Adapters

Speaking of adapters, Apple is known for making rather pricey display adapters. Companies such as Amazon and Monoprice will offer their own branded cables and adapters that can be found for much less.

Apple's Mini DisplayPort to DVI adapter is currently $29 at the Apple Store. The same type of adapter at Monoprice is just $7. Again, it certainly pays to shop around.

Monoprices Mini DisplayPort to DVI adapter is almost 13 of the cost of Apples
Monoprice's Mini DisplayPort to DVI adapter is almost 1/3 of the cost of Apple's.

When Sticking With Apple Counts

Despite my advice regarding looking at alternative options when it comes to input devices and displays, there is one area where you should always stick with Apple's accessories - power adapters and batteries.

Unlike Thunderbolt, USB and Bluetooth, Apple's MagSafe connection is 100% proprietary and isn't licensed for other companies to use. The same goes for batteries for older portable Macs that offered removable batteries. These types of adapters and batteries are copies where an attempt has been made to reverse-engineer what Apple has been able to produce.

The result is something that won't be guaranteed and has the potential to not only damage your Mac but cause injury.


Conclusion

By spending a little time researching alternatives to some of Apple's accessories, you'll likely find accessories that are a better fit for the purpose you require them for and at a substantial saving. While I'm very much a Mac user, I use a Logitech keyboard and trackball, as well as an AOC display. I even use a Monoprice Mini DisplayPort cable that kept the costs down further.

While Apple certainly makes some great accessories for the Mac, you don't necessarily have to opt for them and, in the case of the Magic Mouse especially, there are much better (and cheaper) alternatives out there.

Advertisement