Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Microsoft Word
Computers

صمم بطاقة عيد أمٍ جميلة في Microsoft Word

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mohammad Al Tahan (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

يمكنك شراء بطاقة مطبوعة معدة مسبقاً، اختيار بطاقة إلكترونية متحركة، تحميل قالب بطاقة مصمم مسبقاً لـ Word، أو تصميم بطاقتك الخاصة. في كل عيد، تتراءى لك الخيارات نفسها، والخيار الأخير دائماً ما يبدو الأفضل ولكنه يكون أقل الخيارات جاذبيةً حالما تحاول تصميم شيءٍ جميل باستخدام أداوت Word المجهزة مسبقاً. ومع ذلك،ليس من المفروض أن يكون تصميم عمل فني جميل في Word بهذه الصعوبة.

في هذا الدرس، سأريك كيف تصمم بطاقة عيد أمٍ جميلة في Microsoft Word من الصفر. سنستعمل فقط الأشكال المحددة مسبقاً، الألوان الافتراضية والأدوات القياسية. خلفية البطاقة قد تبدو معقدة، ولكن بعد أن أريك خدعة خاصة لتعديل شكل الزهرة، فإنك ستجد أن تصميمها سهلُ إلى حدٍ كبير.

في الدقائق القليلة التالية، ستنتقل من صفحة فارغة في Word إلى نسختك الخاصة من البطاقة المعروضة في الأعلى، ويمكنك أن تغير قليلاً في الألوان والأمور الأخرى التي ترغب بها لكي تجعل بطاقتك مختلفة. هل أنت جاهز؟

ما الذي ستحتاجه:

ستحتاج نسخةً حديثة من Word على حاسوبك الشخصي؛ في هذا الدرس سنستخدم Word 2013 للحاسب الشخصي، ولكن من المفترض أن تكون قادراً على المتابعة معنا باستخدام Word 2007 للحاسب الشخصي أو Word 2008 لحواسيب Mac مع وجود بعض الفروقات البسيطة فقط. بعد ذلك، ستحتاج أيضاً إلى خط Hero، والذي يمكنك تحميله من موقع Fontfabric ,مع ذلك، إذا لم ترغب بتنصيب هذا الخط، فإن بإمكانك استعمال أي خط آخر موجودٍ على حاسوبك أو مضمنٍ في Word.

في هذا الدرس توجد جميع الخطوات التي ستحتاجها لكي تحول الملف الفارغ إلى هذه البطاقة المكتملة، لكن إذا أردت تحميل القالب وتعديله بنفسك، فإنك ستجد رابط تحميل ملف Word المكتمل في الشريط الجانبي على اليمين في زر تحميل الملفات المرفقة (Download Attachment).  يمكنك أن تعاين وتطبع البطاقة باستخدام Word Online، لكن انتبه إلى أن Word Online لا يمتلك الميزات الكافية لتصميم أوتعديل هذه البطاقة في متصفح الإنترنت خاصتك.

إعداد الوثيقة

الآن نحن جاهزون للبدء بتصميم بطاقة عيد الأم. ابدأ بمستندٍ فارغ (Blank Document) عن طريق اختصار (Ctrl-N)، وانتقل إلى شريط تخطيط الصفحة (Page Layout). هناك، غيرالحجم (ٍSize) إلى A5، لأن حجم A4 أو Letter سيبدو كبيراً بشكل زائد.

Setting a page Size
إعداد حجم الصفحة

وأثناء تواجدك في هذا الشريط، قم بتغيير الاتجاه (Orientation) إلى أفقي (Landscape).

Setting a page Orientation
إعداد اتجاه الصفحة

شكل الزهرة

وطالما أن الزهرة لم يتم استعمالها فقط فوق حرف "O"، بل أيضاً من أجلالخلفية، فدعنا نبدأ بهذا العنصر. انتقل إلى شريط إدراج (Insert) ثم أشكال (Shapes) ثم مستطيل مستدير الزوايا (Rounded Rectangle)...

Adding new Rounded Rectangle shape
إضافة شكل مستطيل مستدير الزوايا جديد

...وارسم المستطيل مستدير الزوايا في مكانٍ ما داخل المستند. الحجم ليس مهماً كثيراً الآن، لكن قم بسحب المقبض الأصفر إلى أقصى اليمين لكي تجعل الزوايا مستديرة قدر الإمكان. نريد أن يكون الشكل مشابهاً لقرص الدواء.

Tweaking the rounded rectangle shape for a pill-like look
تعديل شكل المستطيل لكي يصبح مشابهاً لقرص الدواء

حافظ على تحديدك للكائن، وانتقل إلى شريط تنسيق (Format)، وغير المخطط التفصيلي للشكل (Shape Outline) إلى بلا مخطط تفصيلي (No Outline). اختر تعبئة الشكل (Shape Fill) وبعد ذلك مزيد من ألوان التعبئة (More Colors)، وفي مربع الألوان (Colors)، اختر لوناً برتقالياً فاتحاً من عينات الألوان القياسية (Standard).

Setting a new fill color for the rounded rectangle
إعداد لون تعبئة جديد للمستطيل المستدير

شكل واحد لا يكفي لتشكيل زهرة. قم بتكرار الشكل مرتين إضافيتين عن طريق سحبه مع الضغط على زر Ctrl، أو استعمل  الاختصارين المعروفين Ctrl-C وCtrl-V. نرغب بأن يكون لدينا زهرة بستة بتلات، أي 360°/6 = 60° لكل بتلة. لهذا السبب، الشكل الثاني يجب أن يكون مدوراً بمقدار 60°، والشكل الثالث بمقدار 120°. عند تدوير الشكل، ابق ضاغطاً على زر Shift، لكي يقفز تلقائياً بقفزات مقدارها 15°. الأشكال الثلاثة كلها يجب أن تبدو هكذا.

Duplicating and rotating rounded rectangles
تكرار وتدوير المستطيلات المستديرة

محاذاة هذه الكائنات الثلاثة باستخدام النظر فقط ممكن، لكن استعمال أداة محاذاةٍ مخصصة سيكون أسرع بكثير. اختر الأشكال الثلاثة مع الضغط على زر Shift، انتقل إلى شريط تنسيق (Format) واختر محاذاة (Align) ثم محاذاة إلى الوسط (Align Center)،وبعد ذلك اختر محاذاة ثم محاذاة إلى المنتصف (Align Middle).

Aligning all three rounded rectangles
محاذاة المستطيلات المستديرة الثلاثة

بالاعتماد على حجم المستطيل المستدير الزوايا، فإن زهرتك قد تبدو مختلفة قليلاً. قد تكون رفيعةً جداً، أو ربما ثخينةً جداً. هنالك طريقة لتعديل الشكل، فقط لا تقم بسحب مقابض تغيير الحجم. كما تظهر لقطة الشاشة في الأسفل، استخدام هذه المقابض سيخرب الشكل كلياً.

Resizing rounded rectangles with handles brakes the alignment
تغيير حجم المستطيل المستدير باستخدام المقابض سيخرب المحاذاة

بدلاً من ذلك، لكي تغير الشكل بسرعة، استعمل اختصارات لوحة المفاتيح. الضغط على زر Shift مع أزرار الأسهم سيغير من حجم الكائن. مفاتيح سهمي الأعلى والأسفل سيغيران الطول، أما مفاتيح سهمي اليسار واليمين سيغيران العرض. بسبب كون الكائنات الثلاثة غير موجودةٍ في المجموعة، وبسبب تحديدنا لكلٍ منها على انفراد، فإن اختصارات لوحة المفاتيح هذه ستغير من حجم كل كائن بشكلٍ منفصل، مع الحفاظ على المحاذاة الصحيحة.

يمكنك أن تجرب الأمر بنفسك — اختر الكائنات الثلاثة مع الضغط على زر Shift، واضغط مثلاً على أزرار Shift والسهم الأيسر عدة مرات. بتلات زهرتنا يجب أن تصبح أكثر رقة كما تظهر في لقطة الشاشة أدناه.

Resizing the rounded rectangles using keyboard Shift arrow keys shortcuts
تغيير حجم المستطيل المستدير باستخدام Shift + أزرار الأسهم

إضافة كلمة MOM مع زهرة

قبل إضافة نص، يمكننا أن نضيف بقعة لونية إلى هذه الخلفية البيضاء المملة. انتقل إلى شريط تصميم (Design)، واختر لون الصفحة (Page Color) ثم ألوان إضافية (More Colors). في مربع الألوان (Colors)، اختر لوناً زهرياً فاتحاً من  العينات القياسية.

Setting a page background color
إعداد لون خلفية الصفحة

انتقل إلى شريط إدراج (Insert) ثم أشكال (Shapes) ثم مربع نص (Text Box)...

Inserting a new Text Box
إدراج مربع نص جديد

...وارسم مربع نص جديد، تقريباً بعرض الصفحة. غير الخط إلى Hero Light، حجم الخط إلى 200 pt، واكتب في داخله كلمة "MOM" (أمي). اجعل محاذاة النص منتصف (Center) (بالنقر على Ctrl-E)، واستعمل قائمة لون الخط (Font Color) لاختيار خيار المزيد من الألوان، واختر لوناً أصفر فاتحاً جداً للنص. من المستحيل تقريباً أن يبدو النص وهو بهذا اللون أمام مربع النص ذي لون الخلفية الأبيض، ولكن لن يبقى الأمر كذلك لفترةٍ طويلة.

Setting a font font size alignment and font color for a newly created text box
إعداد الخط، حجم الخط، المحاذاة ولون الخط لمربع النص المنشئ حديثاً

انتقل إلى شريط تنسيق (Format)، وغير  المخطط التفصيلي للشكل (Shape Outline) إلى بلا مخطط تفصيلي (No Outline) وتعبئة الشكل (Shape Fill) إلى بلا تعبئة (No Fill). بهذه الطريقة، مربع النص سيصبح شفافاً والشيء المرئي الوحيد سيصبح المحتوى الخاص به -- كلمة MOM. كما ترى، الزهرة موضوعةٌ تقريباً في البقعة الصحيحة، لكن الأمر مجرد صدفة.

Setting a No Outline and No Fill for the text box
اختيار بلا مخطط تفصيلي وبلا تعبئة لمربع النص

اضغط بالزر الأيمن للفأرة على حرف مربع النص واختر إرسال إلى الخلف (Send to Back) لإرسال مربع النص هذا إلى وراء الزهرة المرسومة سابقاً.

Sending a text box to the back below the flower
إرسال مربع النص إلى الخلف، تحت الزهرة

قد يكون من الجيد أيضاً أن تختار أشكال الزهرة، وأن تنقلهم بعيداً في الوقت الراهن. بعد ذلك، انتقل إلى شريط إدراج (Insert) ثم أشكال (Shapes) ثم شكل بيضوي (Oval)، وارسم شكلاً بيضوياً فوق حرف "O". لا داع أن يكون شكلاً مثالياً، وفي الواقع، يمكن للشكل أن يكون أكبر حتى من حرف "O". إذا رغبت أن تكون دقيقاً أكثر، فلا تنسى أن تزيد من التكبير قبل رسم الشكل.

Drawing an oval over the O letter
رسم شكلٍ بيضوي فوق حرف "O"

حافظ على تحديدك للشكل البيضوي وضمن شريط تنسيق، غير المخطط التفصيلي للشكل (Shape Outline) إلى بلا مخطط تفصيلي (No Outline) وتعبئة الشكل (Shape Fill) إلى لون النص. عينة اللون هذه يجب أن تكون موجودةً في الألوان المستخدمة مؤخراً (Recent Colors)، ومن الأفضل أن تختار اللون من هناك لكي تتأكد من تماثل الألوان في البطاقة كلها.

Setting a fill color for the new oval
إعداد لون تعبئة للشكل البيضوي الجديد

اختر أشكال الزهرة الثلاث وانقلهم لكي يصبحوا فوق هذا الشكل البيضوي. بسبب كون الشكل البيضوي هو آخر شكلٍ مرسوم، فإنه سيظهر فوق الزهرة. يجب عليك أن تنقر بالزر الأيمن على أشكال الزهرة وأن تختار إحضار الى المقدمة (Bring to Front) لكي يكون لديك الترتيب الصحيح على المحور z ولعرض الزهرة في المقدمة.

Arranging the flower over the oval
ترتيب موقع الزهرة فوق الشكل البيضوي

حال انتهاءك من هذه الخطوة، يجب أن يبدو المستند عندك بهذا الشكل:

The result with a text MOM filled circle and flower shape
النتيجة مع كلمة MOM، دائرةٍ معبئة وشكل الزهرة

لإضافة الجزء الأوسط إلى الزهرة، ارسم شكلاً بيضوياً جديداً عن طريق إدراج ثم قائمة الأشكال المنسدلة. ابق ضاغطاً على زر Shift خلال عملية الرسم لكي ترسم دائرة. كالعادة، غير المخطط التفصيلي للشكل (Shape Outline) إلى بلا مخطط تفصيلي (No Outline)، وبالنسبة لتعبئة الشكل، اختر لوناً برتقالياً غامقاً.

Adding an inner circle over the flower
إضافة دائرةٍ داخلية فوق الزهرة

إضافة سطرٍ ثانٍ من النص

سنحتاج مربع نصٍ آخر لكي يكون لدينا نص في سطرٍ ثانٍ. قم بإدراجهعن طريق إدراج ثم أشكال ثم مربع نص وارسمه في مكانٍ ما تحت السطر الأول، ومن ثم اكتب "عيد أمٍ سعيد!" (Happy Mother's Day!). غير الخط إلى Hero,الحجم إلى 45 pt، المحاذاة إلى منتصف، وغير اللون إلى لونٍ برتقاليٍ فاتح باستعمال قائمة لون الخط.

Inserting a new text box for a second line of text tweaking a font font size alignment and a font color
إدراج مربع نصٍ جديد لكتابة سطر ثانٍ، تعديل الخط، حجم الخط، المحاذاة ولون الخط

حافظ على تحديدك لمربع النص وضمن شريط تنسيق، غير المخطط التفصيلي للشكل (Shape Outline) إلى بلا مخطط تفصيلي (No Outline) وتعبئة الشكل (Shape Fill) إلى بلا تعبئة (No Fill). بهذه الطريقة، فقطالنص سيكون مرئياً، أما حدود أو خلفية مربع النص فلن يظهرا. إذاً أردت، غير موقع مربع النص باستخدام الفأرة أو  أزرار الأسهم للتأكد من أن الحرفين الأول والأخير محاذيان بصرياً لحرفي M.

Setting a no outline and no fill for a text box
اختيار بلا مخطط تفصيلي وبلا تعبئة لمربع النص

يمكن أن تبدو نتيجتك الحالية هكذا. إذا رغبت، يمكنك أن تتوقف الآن وأن تعتبر نفسك انتهيت من تصميم البطاقةحتى في هذه المرحلة ستبدو بطاقتنا أجمل من قالب البطاقة المعد مسبقاً. لكن إذا كنت تملك الطاقة، فلك حرية المتابعة إلى القسم الثاني من الدرس حيث سنزين الخلفية بالمزيد من الأزهار، سنضيف إطاراً، والمزيد غير ذلك.

A result with a text and a flower
النتيجة مع نص وزهرة

الخلفية

لأننا ننوي العمل على الكثير من الكائنات في هذا القسم، فإنه من الجيد أن نظهر جزء التحديد (Selection Pane) -- افتحه من شريط الصفحة الرئيسية (Home) عن طريق النقر على تحديد ثم أمر جزء التحديد.

Displaying a Selection Pane
عرض جزء التحديد

كما تظهر لقطة الشاشة، لدينا مربعا نص، الشكل البيضوي فوق حرف M، مستطيلات مستديرة (الزهرة)، والشكل البيضوي فوق الزهرة. حدد المستطيلات المستديرة الثلاث في الوثيقة عن طريق النقر أو من خلال جزء التحديد، وكررهم باستخدام اختصارات Ctrl-C وCtrl-V. لن تعود المحاذاة صحيحة بعد لصقك لهذه الكائنات.

Duplicating the flower shapes
تكرار أشكال الزهرة

استعمل قائمة محاذاة الموجودة في شريط تنسيق لمحاذاتها بالشكل الصحيح. لكي تركز فقط على الخلفية بدلاً من العناصر الموجود في المقدمة، اضغط على أيقونات العين في جزء التحديد، لكي تخفي كل شيءٍ عدا هذه المستطيلات الثلاث التي لصقتها حديثاً.

Aligning the flower shapes properly and hiding all the other objects
محاذاة أشكال الزهرة بشكلٍ مناسب وإخفاء كل الكائنات الأخرى

الأشكال في الخلفية لا يجب أن تكون بارزةً، لذا استعمل شريط تنسيق ثم تعبئة الشكل ثم المزيد من الألوان لكي تختار لوناًشبيهاً جداً بلون الخلفية.

Setting a fill color for the background flower shapes
إعداد لون تعبئة لأشكال الزهرة الموجودة في الخلفية

انسخ وألصق هذه الأشكال الثلاثة عدة مرات، وقم بمحاذاتها بالشكل الصحيح باستعمال قائمة محاذاة واستعمل اختصارات Shift + مفاتيح الأسهم لكي تغير أشكال الزهرة. ولأنه سيكون لدينا نصٌ في المنتصف، حاول أن تبقي الأزهار بشكلٍ رئيسي حول حواف الوثيقة.

Duplicating and tweaking the shape of the background flowers
نسخ وتعديل شكل الأزهار في الخلفية

إذاً أردت، يمكنك أيضاً أن تضيف سيقاناً لبعضٍ منها. ارسم خطاً (Line) عن طريق الانتقال إلى شريط إدراج ثم قائمة الأشكال المنسدلة. ابق ضاغطاً على زر Shift خلال الرسم لكي ترسم خطاً مستقيماً.

Adding a stem to some flowers
إضافة ساق إلى بعض الأزهار

استعمل قائمة المخطط التفصيلي للشكل لتحديد وزن (Weight) الخط...

Tweaking the line Weight of the stem
تعديل وزن الخط الخاص بالساق

...ولكي تعين لوناً وإذا أردت شُرَطاً (Dashes) له. لا تحتاج كل زهرةٍ إلى ساق، لذا التقليل هو أمرٌ جيد في حالتنا.

Tweaking the color and the Dashes options of the stems
تعديل اللون والشُرَط الخاصة بالسيقان

حرفٌ حول الصفحة

الجزء الأخير من الخلفية هو حدٌ رقيق حول الصفحة. ارسم مستطيلاً عريضاً عن طريق الانتقال إلى شريط إدراج ثم قائمة الأشكال المنسدلة، وارسمه أعرض من الصفحة.

Adding a top border around the page
إضافة حدٍ علوي حول الصفحة

انتقل إلى شريط تنسيق ثم إختر محاذاة إلى صفحة (Align to Page)، افتح هذه القائمة مجدداً واختر محاذاة إلى أعلى (Align Top) ثم محاذاة إلى الوسط.

Aligning the top border
محاذاة الحد العلوي

قم بتكرار المستطيل، قم بمحاذاته إلى أسفل الصفحة، وم ثمقم بتكراره مجدداً ودور بمقدار 90° عن طريق سحب مقابض التدوير مع المحافظة على ضغط زر Shift.

Duplicating and rotating the borders
تكرار وتدوير الحدود.

قم بمحاذاة المستطيل إلى اليسار، كرره مجدداً وقم بمحاذاته إلى اليمين.

Adding the last border
إضافة الحد الأخير

أخيراً اختر كل المستطيلات الأربعة مع الاستمرار في الضغط على زر Shift وقم بجعل المخطط التفصيلي للشكل (Shape Outline) بلا مخطط تفصيلي (No Outline) واجعل تعبئة الشكل لوناً زهرياً فاتحاً مثل الذي استعملته في أشكال الأزهار، مجدداً عن طريق الاختيار من قائمة الألوان المستخدمة مؤخراً.

Changing the color of the borders
تغيير لون الحدود

إنهاء البطاقة

انتهينا من الخلفية الآن، ويمكننا إعادة كشف ما كان مخفياً سابقاً، باستخدام جزء التحديد، اضغط على الكائنات المخفية، مما سيجعلهم مرئيين مجدداً. لا داع أن تنقر على أيقونة العين حتى. اختر كل العناصر الموجودة في المقدمة مع الضغط على زر Shift، واسحبهم داخل جزء التحديد إلى أعلى القائمة.

Selecting all the foreground shapes in the Selection Pane
اختيار الأشكال الموجودة في المقدمة ضمن جزء التحديد

بهذه الطريقة ستجعلهم فوق الخلفية.

Moving the foreground shapes to the top
نقل الأشكال الموجودة في المقدمة إلى الأعلى

قد تلاحظ أن بعض أشكال الخلفية تتقاطع كثيراً مع النص، وقد يكون من الأفضل أن تنقلها بعيداً قليلاً. استعمل جزء التحديد لتحديد هذه الأشكال واضغط على مفاتيح الأسهمعدة مرات لنقلها بعيداً.

Tweaking the position of some of the flowers in the background
تعديل موقع بعض الأزهار في الخلفية

اللمسة الأخيرة

اللمسة الأخيرة ستكون إضافة ساق لزهرة حرف O الأساسية. افتح قائمة الأشكال في شريط إدراج ومن ثم اختر القوس (Arc).

Adding an Arc over the main flower
إضافة قوس إلى الزهرة الرئيسية

اسحب المقابض الصفراء لكي تغير حجم القوس ولكي تدوره بشكلٍلا يعود متقاطعاً مع السطر الثاني من النص. من أجل تحكمٍ دقيق بموقع هذا الشكل، قم بزيادة مستوى التكبير.

Tweaking the size and shape of the arc object
تعديل حجم وشكل كائن القوس

أخيراً عين اللون الصحيح لمخططه التفصيلي، وها قد انتهينا! البطاقة الآن مكتملة، جاهزة للطباعة أو التصدير كصورة لإرساله كبطاقة إلكترونية.

Finished card
البطاقة المنتهية

خاتمة

تصميم بطاقة جميلة ومميزة في Word كان أسهل مما يبدو عليه الأمر. مع القليل من التعديلات على الأشكال وأدوات الكتابة المعدة مسبقاً، فإن بإمكانك تصميم بطاقة جميلةٍ جداً، ستظن لوهلة أن تصميمها يتطلب مهارة عالية في Photoshop أو Illustrator.

يمكنك استعمال هذه الأفكار بالإضافة إلى ما تم ذكره في درسنا حول تصميم أعمال رسومية جميلة في Word لكي تصمم بطاقاتك المخصصة لأي حدث معين في المستقبل. تأكد من مشاركة التصاميم التي تبتكرها معنا، أو اترك أي أسئلة تبادرت إليك أثناء عملك، في التعليقات في الأسفل!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Hostingheaderbarlogoj
Join InMotion Hosting for $3.49/mo & get a year on Tuts+ FREE (worth $180). Start today.
Advertisement

Design a Beautiful Mother's Day Card in Microsoft Word

by
Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

You could buy a pre-made print card, pick out an animated eCard, download a built-in card template in Word, or make your own card. Every holiday, the same choices present themselves, and the latter option always sounds the best but looks the most unattractive once you try to make something actually look nice with Word's pre-made text art. Yet, it doesn't have to be that hard to make beautiful word art in Word.

In this tutorial, I will show you how to design a beautiful Mother's Day card in Microsoft Word from scratch. We will only use predefined shapes, default colors and standard tools. The background of the card may look complicated, but after I will show you a special trick to tweak the flower shape, you will find out that it is actually pretty easy.

In the next few minutes, you'll go from a blank page in Word to your own copy of the card above, and you can tweak that with the colors and more that you want to make it your own. Ready?

What You'll Need:

You'll need a recent copy of Microsoft Word on your computer; this tutorial uses Word 2013 for PC, but you should be able to follow along with minor differences in any Word 2007 for PC or Word 2008 for Mac or newer. Then, you'll also need the Hero font, which you can download for free from Fontfabric. However, if you do not want to install this font, you can use any other font you have installed on your computer or a built-in Word font instead.

This tutorial has all the steps you need to turn a blank document into this fully complete card, but if you'd like to download the template and just tweak it yourself, you'll find a download link with the completed Word file from the Download Attachment button in the sidebar on the right. You could then preview and print the card from Word Online, but do note that Word Online doesn't have enough features to make or edit this card in your browser.

Setting Up a Document

Now we're ready to start making a Mother's Day card. Start with a blank document (Ctrl-N), and jump to the Page Layout ribbon. There, change the Size to A5, as an A4 or Letter sized card would look over-sized.

Setting a page Size
Setting a page Size

While you are on this ribbon, also change the Orientation to Landscape.

Setting a page Orientation
Setting a page Orientation

The Flower Shape

Since the flower is used not only over the “O” letter, but also for the background, let´s start with this element. Select the ribbon Insert > Shapes > Rounded Rectangle

Adding new Rounded Rectangle shape
Adding new Rounded Rectangle shape

…and draw the rounded rectangle somewhere in the document. The size is not very important right now, but drag the yellow handle all the way to the right to make the corners as rounded as possible. We want it to have a pill-like shape.

Tweaking the rounded rectangle shape for a pill-like look
Tweaking the rounded rectangle shape for a pill-like look

Keep the object selected, open the Format ribbon, and change the Shape Outline to No Outline. Select Shape Fill > More Colors, and in the Colors dialog, select a light orange color from the Standard swatches.

Setting a new fill color for the rounded rectangle
Setting a new fill color for the rounded rectangle

One shape alone is not enough to form a flower. Duplicate it two more times by either dragging it with a Ctrl key pressed, or use the well-known shortcuts Ctrl-C and Ctrl-V. We want to have a flower with six petals, that is 360° / 6 = 60° for each petal. For this reason, the second shape should be rotated by 60°, and the third one by 120°. When rotating the shape, keep the Shift key pressed, it will automatically snap to 15° increments. All the three shapes could look like this.

Duplicating and rotating rounded rectangles
Duplicating and rotating rounded rectangles

Aligning those three objects by eye is possible, but using a specialized align function is much faster. Select all three shapes with a Shift key pressed, open the Format ribbon and select Align > Align Center, and again Align > Align Middle.

Aligning all three rounded rectangles
Aligning all three rounded rectangles

Depending on the rounded rectangle shape size, your flower may look a little bit different. Maybe it is too thin, or maybe it is too bold. There is a way to adjust the shape, but don't just drag the resize handles. As the screenshot below shows, this ruins the shape.

Resizing rounded rectangles with handles brakes the alignment
Resizing rounded rectangles with handles brakes the alignment

Instead, to quickly change the shape, use the keyboard shortcuts. A Shift key together with the arrow keys changes the object size. Up and down arrow keys adjusts the height, left and right arrow keys adjusts the width. Because our three objects are not inside the group, but are selected individually, those keyboard shortcuts will change the size of each object separately, while keeping the right alignment.

You can try it on your own—select all three object with a Shift key pressed, and press for example Shift + Left arrow key several times. The petals of our flower should become much thinner as shown on the screenshot below.

Resizing the rounded rectangles using keyboard Shift  arrow keys shortcuts
Resizing the rounded rectangles using keyboard Shift + arrow keys shortcuts

Adding MOM Text With Flower

Before adding a text, we can add a splash of a color to the boring white background. Jump to the Design ribbon, and select Page Color > More Colors. In the Colors dialog, select a light pink color from the Standard swatches.

Setting a page background color
Setting a page background color

Select ribbon Insert > Shapes > Text Box

Inserting a new Text Box
Inserting a new Text Box

…and draw a new text box, almost as wide as a page. Change the font to Hero Light, font size to 200 pt, and type in “MOM”. Set the text alignment to Center (Ctrl-E), and use the Font Color drop-down menu to select More Colors, and set a very light yellow text color. It is almost invisible over the white text box background color, but not for long.

Setting a font font size alignment and font color for a newly created text box
Setting a font, font size, alignment and font color for a newly created text box

Select the Format ribbon, and change the Shape Outline to No Outline and Shape Fill to No Fill. That way, the text box becomes transparent and the only visible thing is the content—the word MOM. As you can see, the flower is placed almost in the right spot, but that is just an accident.

Setting a No Outline and No Fill for the text box
Setting a No Outline and No Fill for the text box

Right click over the text box border and select Send to Back to send this text box below the previously drawn flower.

Sending a text box to the back below the flower
Sending a text box to the back, below the flower

It may also be a good idea to select the flower shapes, and move them away for now. After that, select ribbon Insert > Shapes > Oval, and draw an oval over the “O” letter. It does not have to be perfect, and in fact, the shape could be even bigger than the “O” letter. If you want better precision, do not forget to zoom-in before drawing the shape.

Drawing an oval over the O letter
Drawing an oval over the O letter

Keep the oval selected and in the Format ribbon, change the Shape Outline to No Outline and Shape Fill to the color of the text. This swatch should be in the Recent Colors, and it's best to select it from there to make sure your colors are consistent throughout the card.

Setting a fill color for the new oval
Setting a fill color for the new oval

Select the three flower shapes and move them over this oval. Because the oval was drawn as a last shape, it is over the flower. You have to right click the flower shapes and select Bring to Front to have the correct z-order and display the flower on top.

Arranging the flower over the oval
Arranging the flower over the oval

Once you've done that, this is how it should look:

The result with a text MOM filled circle and flower shape
The result with a text MOM, filled circle and flower shape

To add a center part to the flower, draw a new Oval from the Insert > Shapes dropdown. Keep the Shift key pressed during the drawing to draw a circle. As usual, change the Shape Outline to No Outline, and for the Shape Fill, select a darker orange color.

Adding an inner circle over the flower
Adding an inner circle over the flower

Adding a Second Line Of Text

We need another text box for a second line of text. Insert it via Insert > Shapes > Text Box and draw it somewhere below the first line, then type in “Happy Mother's Day!”. Change the font to Hero, size 45 pt, Center aligned, and change the color to some light orange color using the Font Color drop-down menu.

Inserting a new text box for a second line of text tweaking a font font size alignment and a font color
Inserting a new text box for a second line of text, tweaking a font, font size, alignment and a font color

Keep the text box selected and in the Format ribbon, change the Shape Outline to No Outline and Shape Fill to No Fill. That way, only the text will be visible, not the borders or background of the text box. Optionally, tweak the text box position with the mouse or with the arrow keys to make sure the first and the last characters are optically aligned with the “M” letters.

Setting a no outline and no fill for a text box
Setting a no outline and no fill for a text box

And this is how it could look. If you want, you can stop right now and call it quits—even this will look nicer than the average built-in card template. If you still have energy, though, feel free to continue to the second part of the tutorial where we'll decorate the background with more flowers, add a border, and more.

A result with a text and a flower
A result with a text and a flower

A Flower Background

Because we will be working with a lot of objects in this section, it is a good idea to show a Selection Pane—open this from the Home ribbon by clicking the Select > Selection Pane command.

Displaying a Selection Pane
Displaying a Selection Pane

As the screenshot shows, we have two text boxes, the oval over the M letter, rounded rectangles (flower), and the oval over the flower. Select those three rounded rectangles in the document space or in the Selection Pane, and duplicate them with the Ctrl-C and Ctrl-V shortcuts. The alignment will be broken after you paste those objects.

Duplicating the flower shapes
Duplicating the flower shapes

Use the Format > Align drop-down menu to align them properly. To focus only on the background and not on the foreground elements, click over the eye icons in the Selection Pane to hide everything except those three last-pasted rounded rectangles.

Aligning the flower shapes properly and hiding all the other objects
Aligning the flower shapes properly and hiding all the other objects

The flowers on the background should be really subtle, so use the Format ribbon > Shape Fill > More Colors to set the fill color very similar to the background.

Setting a fill color for the background flower shapes
Setting a fill color for the background flower shapes

Copy and paste those three shapes several times, align them properly using the Align dropdown menu and use the Shift + arrow keys shortcuts to change the flower shapes. Because there will be the text in the middle, try to keep the flowers mostly around the edges of the document.

Duplicating and tweaking the shape of the background flowers
Duplicating and tweaking the shape of the background flowers

Optionally, we can also add stems to some of them. Draw a Line from the Insert > Shapes dropdown menu. Keep the Shift key pressed during the drawing to draw a straight line.

Adding a stem to some flowers
Adding a stem to some flowers

Use the Shape Outline dropdown menu to not only set the line Weight

Tweaking the line Weight of the stem
Tweaking the line Weight of the stem

…but also the color and optionally the Dashes. Not every flower needs a stem, so less is more in this case.

Tweaking the color and the Dashes options of the stems
Tweaking the color and the Dashes options of the stems

A Border Around The Page

The last part of the background is the light border around the page. Draw a wide Rectangle from the Insert > Shapes dropdown menu, and draw it wider than the page.

Adding a top border around the page
Adding a top border around the page

Select ribbon Format > Align to Page, open this dropdown again and select Align Top and Align Center.

Aligning the top border
Aligning the top border

Duplicate this rectangle, align it to the bottom of the page, than duplicate it again and rotate it by 90° by dragging the rotation handle together with the Shift key pressed.

Duplicating and rotating the borders
Duplicating and rotating the borders

Align this rectangle to the Left, duplicate it again and align it to the Right.

Adding the last border
Adding the last border

Finally select all four rectangles with a Shift key pressed and set the Shape Outline to No Outline and Shape Fill to the same light pink color as is used for the flower shapes, again by picking it from the Recent Colors list.

Changing the color of the borders
Changing the color of the borders

Putting It All Together

The background is finished, and we can unhide the previously hidden objects. In the Selection Pane, click over the hidden objects, which will make them visible again. You do not even have to click over the eye icon. Select all the foreground elements with a Shift key pressed, and drag them inside the Selection Pane all the way to the top.

Selecting all the foreground shapes in the Selection Pane
Selecting all the foreground shapes in the Selection Pane

That will move them over the background.

Moving the foreground shapes to the top
Moving the foreground shapes to the top

You may notice that some of the background shapes are overlapping the text too much, and it may be better to move them a little bit off. Use the Selection Pane to select those shapes and press the arrow keys several times to move them away.

Tweaking the position of some of the flowers in the background
Tweaking the position of some of the flowers in the background

The Last Touch

The very last touch is a stem for the main “O” flower. Open the Insert > Shapes dropdown menu and select Arc.

Adding an Arc over the main flower
Adding an Arc over the main flower

Drag the yellow handles to change the arc size and rotate it in a way that it does not overlap the second line of text. For a precise control of the shape, work in a zoomed-in view.

Tweaking the size and shape of the arc object
Tweaking the size and shape of the arc object

Finally set the right outline color, and that's it! Your card is now finished, ready to be printed or exported as an image to send as an eCard.

Finished card
Finished card

Conclusion

Making a beautifully unique card in Word is actually easier than it looks. With a few tweaks to the built-in shape and typography tools, you can make a card that looks so nice, you'd assume it'd require Photoshop or Illustrator skills.

You can use these ideas combined with our tutorial on making beautiful Word art to make your own customized cards for any special event in the future. Be sure to share the designs you come up with, or leave any questions you may have while working, in the comments below!

Advertisement