Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Mac

كل ما تحتاج معرفته حول القرص الصلب الموجود في جهاز Mac الخاص بك

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mohammad Al Tahan (you can also view the original English article)

الأقراص الصلبة (Hard drives): واحدة من أكثر القطع الصلبة أهمية في حاسوبك، كما أنها مصدر معظم المشاكل التي ستواجهها عند التعامل مع الحواسيب. القرص الصلب هو المكان الذي يتم فيه تخزين كل البيانات الخاصة بحاسوبك، لذا فكرة توقفه عن العمل قد تبدو مخيفةً بعض الشيء. في هذا الدرس، سأناقش كيفية عمل القرص الصلب، كيف تحل المشاكل الشائعة الخاصة بالأقراص الصلبة، وسأختم الدراسة بمناقشة لأنظمة الملفات وكيفية استعمال كل واحدٍ منها.


ما هو القرص الصلب؟

القرص الصلب هو قطعة داخل حاسوبك تقوم بتخزين كل بياناتك. ويشمل ذلك كل وثائقك، صورك، أفلامك، ملفاتك الموسيقية، تطبيقاتك، وحتى OS X نفسه. إنها واحدةٌ من أهم قطع الحاسوب وبدونها لن تتمكن فعلياً من القيام بأي شيء. هنالك نوعان من الأقراص الصلبة: الأقراص الصلبة (Hard Disk Drive أو HDD) ووسطاء التخزين ذات الحالة الثابتة (Solid State Drive أو SSD) لكل واحدٍ منها نفس الاستعمال، لكنهما يعملان بطرقٍ مختلفةٍ تماماً.

الأقراص الصلبة

الأقراص الصلبة تقرأ وتكتب البيانات عن طريق تغيير القطبية المغناطيسية (Magnetic Polarity) في القرص. عندما يمر الرأس (Head) فوق كل قسم من القرص، أي تغيير في الاتجاه المغناطيسي سيسبب ارتفاعاً في الجهد الكهربائي (Voltage)، مما يولد 1. إذا كان الاتجاه المغناطيسي مطابقاً للاتجاه الأخير، فلن يكون هنالك ارتفاع في الجهد وسيتم توليد 0، وبالتالي سيصبح لديك بيانات ثنائية (أو المعروفة أكثر بالواحدات والأصفار).

إذا رأيت مرة تحذيرات من تقريب المغناطيسات من الحواسيب، فالسبب يعود لوجود الأقراص الصلبة في داخلها. تقريب مغناطيس من القرص الصلب سيغير الاتجاهات المغناطيسية وسيعطب بياناتك.

وسطاء التخزين ذات الحالة الثابتة

تسبب هذه الوسطاء إرباكاً أكثر من الأقراص الصلبة كما أنها أكثر تعقيداً وتقدماً. لكن برغم ذلك، ازدادت هذه الوسطاء شهرةً وشيوعاً لأن الاجهزة المحمولة في ازديادٍ مستمر. مثلاً، MacBook Pro (النسخة التي لا تدعم Retina) هي الحاسوب المحمول الوحيد المتوفر دون وسيط تخزين بحالة ثابتة.

على عكس الأقراص الصلبة التي تعتمد على الصحون (Platters) الدوارة لتخزين البيانات، فإن وسطاء الحالة الثابتة تقوم بتخزين البيانات الثنائية على شكل شحناتٍ إلكترونية في الترانزستورات العادية أو الحقلية. وجود شحنة كهربائية سيولد 1 وغيابها سيولد 0. تخيلها كدلو ماء. إذا كان هنالك ماء في الدلو، فهذا يعني 1. إذا لم يكن هنالك ماء فهذا يعني 0.

أيهما أفضل؟

الأمر يعتمد فعلياً على ما تطلع إليه وعلى مقدرا المال الذي يمكنك إنفاقه. الأقراص الصلبة أرخص بكثير، ويمكنها تخزين مقدارٍ أكبر من البيانات. لكن عطبها أسهل، حيث يمكن لرضة بسيطة أن تفقدك كل بياناتك.

لا يوجد أجزاء متحركة في وسطاء الحالة الثابتة، وبالتالي يمكن هزها وتحريكها دون أي مشاكل. كما أنها تقرأ البيانات أسرع مقارنةً بالأقراص الصلبة، لأنه لا حاجة إلى انتظار دوران الصحن. لكنها لا تستطيع تخزين نفس المقدار من البيانات كما أنها تكلف أكثر بكثير.

Fusion Drive

Fusion Dive هو وسيط تخزين قدمته Apple مع iMac الجديد الذي تم إصداره مؤخراً هذه السنة. ببساطة، Fusion Drive هو مزيج بين قرص صلب ووسيط تخزين بحالة ثابتة. يحتوي الحاسوب على جهازي تخزين، ولكنك ستتعامل معهما كجهازٍ واحد. سيقوم OS X تلقائياً باختيار القرص الذي سيقوم بتخزين الملف عليه بالاعتماد على كمية استعمالك له.


أذونات القرص الصلب

هل كنت تعرف أن هنالك ملفات ومجلدات على Mac لا يمكنك الوصول إليها؟ حتى لو كنت مسؤولاً؟ هذا الأمر صحيح. ولكن هذا لا يعني أنه ليس بإمكانك إلغاء القفل الموضوع عليها. هذه الملفات مقفلة لسبب. أذونات الملفات تسمح لك بالتحكم بما يمكن لكل شخصٍ عمله، وأين. تخيلها كبابٍ خاص. يمكن لبعض الناس الدخول والخروج منه، يمكن لبعضٍ آخر أن يدخل فقط، بينما لا يمكن للآخرين الدخول أبداً.

أذونات الملفات تسمح لك بوضع قواعد دقيقة لمجموعات أو حتى لمستخدمين محدداً، مع تقييد حقهم بقراءة أو\و كتابة الملفات في مجلدٍ معين. لكن، وبالرغم من أن الأمر يبدو سخيفاً، يمكن أن يخسر OS X إذن استعمال مجلدٍ أو ملف، مما يسبب مشاكل غريبة. لحسن الحظ يسهل عليك OS X إصلاح اخطاء الأذونات عن طريق استعمال أداة القرص (Disk Utility)

The Disk Permissions Tools inside Disk Utility
أدوات أذونات القرص في أداة القرص.

للتحقق من وإصلاح أخطاء أذونات القرص:

  1. افتح أداة القرص (جرب Spotlight أو مجموعة الأدوات المساعدة (Utilities) في Launchpad إذا لم تتمكن من إيجادها)
  2. اختر Macintosh HD في الجزء الموجود على اليمين (على اليسار في النسخة الإنكليزية)
  3. اضغط على التحقق من أذونات القرص (Verify Permissions)
  4. حال الانتهاء من هذه العملية، سيتم إعلامك في حال وجود أي أخطاء. اضغط على إصلاح أذونات القرص (Repair Permissions) إذا وجدت أي أخطاء

لكن ما الذي سيحدث إذا ضغط على زر إصلاح أذونات القرص لا شيء معقد كثيراً في الواقع. سيقوم OS X بتفحص الملفات والمجلدات التي يحتاج إليها للعمل بشكلٍ طبيعي وسيتأكد من أن بإمكانه الوصول إليها بشكلٍ كلي. إذا لم يكن الأمر كذلك، فإنه سيمنح نفسه وصولاً كاملاً لها. إصلاح أذونات القرص لن يعبث ببياناتك الشخصية ولا يشكل أي تهديدٍ لها.

نصيحة: هنالك جدلٌ مستمر في مجتمع Mac حول ما إذا كانت عملية إصلاح الأذونات مفيدةً أم لا. اطلع على انتقاد Gruber لهذا الإجراء بعنوان "Seriously, 'Repair Permissions' Is Voodoo" (بشكل جديد، إصلاح الأذونات ليست سوى خرافة).


صحة وسلامة القرص الصلب

مع مرور الوقت ستتدهور صحة قرصك الصلب وفي النهاية لن يكون قادراً على العمل. هذا جزءٌ طبيعيٌ تماماً من دورة حياة القرص الصلب. لكن يوجد بعض الأمور التي يمكنك القيام بها لإضافة بعض السنوات الإضافية إلى عمر قرصك الصلب.

بعض الناس يستعملون ما يعرف بـ S.M.A.R.T!

يأتي قرصك الصلب مزوداً بطبيب، والذي يمكنه توقع المشاكل قبل حدوثها ويعلمك بذلك عن طريق مجموعة من الرسائل التحذيرية. تقنية التحليل والإبلاغ ذاتية المراقبة (Self-Monitoring, Analysis and Reporting Technology أو S.M.A.R.T) سيقوم بإجراء قائمة طويلة من الاختبارات للتأكد من أن قرصك في حالةٍ جيدة كلما تقوم بتشغيله. إذا فشلت، ستقوم بإعلامك مباشرةً لكي تتمكن من إصلاح\تبديل القرص مباشرةً. تحتوي الموسوعة الحرة الإنكليزية على قائمة كاملة بالمشاكل التي يمكن لـ S.M.A.R.T اكتشافها ومعنى كل مشكلة.

The Disk Verification Tools inside Disk Utility
أدوات التحقق من القرص في أداة القرص

أدوات التحقق من القرص في أداة القرص.

  1. للتحقق من سلامة قرصك الصلب:
  2. اختر Macintosh HD في الجزء الموجود على اليمين
  3. اضغط على التحقق من القرص
  4. حال الانتهاء من هذه العملية، سيتم إعلامك في حال وجود أي أخطاء. اضغط على إصلاح القرص إذا وجدت أي أخطاء

مساوئ ومحاسن ملفات التخزين المؤقت

التخزين المؤقت (Caching) هي العملية التي يتم عن طريقها تخزين الملفات متكررة الاستعمال لتسريع الوصول إليها. هذه الطريقة مستعملة بكثرة من أجل محتويات مواقع الويب. سيقوم متصفح الويب بتخزين الملفات المستعملة على صفحات الويب بشكل مؤقت على قرصك الصلب. الوصول إلى قرصك الصلب أسرع بكثير من تحميلها من الخادم كل مرة. يقوم حاسوبك بنفس الأمر مع الملفات الموجودة على قرصك الصلب. للمساعدة في تسريع Finder، يقوم OS X بتخزين محتويات قرصك الصلب بشكل مؤقت لتسريع الوصول إليها. لكن يمكن في بعض الأحيان أن لا تسير الأمور بالشكل المخطط له وأن تتضرر الملفات المخزنة مؤقتاً.

تنظيف ملفات التخزين المؤقت

ليس من المفترض التخلص من الملفات المخزنة مؤقتاً على حاسوبك بشكلٍ متكرر، كما أنها لا تعتبر طريقةً لتسريع حاسوبك. في الواقع، حذف ملفات التخزين المؤقت سيبطئ حاسوبك لفترة قليلة.

لكن يمكن حل الكثير من مشاكل الأقراص الصلبة عن طريق حذف ملفات التخزين المؤقت لأنك تفرض على OS X إعادة تحميل ملفات حديثة من القرص الصلب، بدلاً من استعمال تلك التي كانت مخزنة مؤقتاً. ليس من الصعب حذف ملفات التخزين المؤقت على OS X، لكنه يتطلب استعمال بعض التطبيقات مثل تطبيق Mountain Lion Cache Cleaner. يمكنك تجربته مجاناً على Northern Softworks.

حال تحميله وتثبيته، قم بفتح واختر Demo (نسخة تجريبية). إذا كنت تستعمل MLCC بشكلٍ متكرر فإنني أنصحك بدعم Northers Softworks عن طريق شراء رخصةٍ منهم.

The Cache Cleaning page in Mountain Lion Cache Cleaner
صفحة Cache Cleaning في Mountain Lion Cache Cleaner.

اختر Cache Cleaning (تنظيف ملفات التخزين المؤقتة) من الشريط الجانبي. اختر Deep Cleaning (تنظيف عميق) وفعل كل مربعات التحقق. اضغط على Clean (تنظيف). خلال عملية التنظيف، لن تكون قادراً على استعمال حاسوبك لبضعة ساعات، وقد تتطلب العملية وقتاً أطول.

عند انتهاء العملية، تأكد من إعادة التشغيل في حال لم يقم البرنامج تلقائياً بذلك. هذا الأمر مهمٌ جداً! حال إعادة التشغيل، قم بتشغيل أداة القرص وجرب إصلاح القرص باستعمال الخطوات المذكورة في الأعلى.


إلغاء تجزئة الأقراص الصلبة

التجزئة (Fragmenting) هي ظاهرة داخلية سببها أن قرصك الصلب لن يعود منظماً في اختيار القطاعات (Sectors) التي يكتب الملفات فيها. مع مرور الوقت، ستصبح الأقراص الصلبة مجزئة وسيتم استهلاك مساحة زائدة من دون داع.

يحتوي OS X على نظام حماية ضمني لمنع التجزئة والذي سيقوم بشكلٍ أتوماتيكي بمحاولة إلغاء تجزئة البيانات في الخلفية من دون الحاجة إلى تطبيقٍ خارجي. بسبب هذا، لا يجب أبداً أن تقوم بإلغاء تجزئة حاسوبك.

لكن في حال أصبح حاسوبك مجزئاً جداً بسبب مشكلة في البرامج، فإن بإمكانك إلغاء تجزئتها باستعمال iDefrag من Coriolis Systems.

تحذير: إذا كنت تملك وسيط تخزين بحالة ثابتة، مثل تلك الموجودة في MacBook Pro المزود بشاشة Retina، أو Macbook Air، أو iMac نسخة شتاء 2012، فلا تحاول إلغاء تجزئة القرص الصلب. إلغاء تجزئة وسائط التخزين ذات الحالة الثابتة يمكن أن يسبب لها ضرراً جسيماً.

تهيئة القرص الصلب

يستعمل كلٌ من OS X، وWindows، وLinux تنسيقاً مختلفاً للقرص الصلب لتنفيذ عمليات النظام العادية. يشير تنسيق القرص الصلب إلى كيفية تخزين نظام التشغيل للبيانات على القرص الصلب. هنالك ثلاثة أنواع شائعة من أنظمة الملفات: HFS+، وNTFS، وFAT32.

يستعمل Mac OS X نظام HFS+، بينما يستعمل Windows نظام NTFS وكان في السابق يستعمل FAT32. ولكن ليست كل أنظمة الملفات هذه متوافقة مع كل نظام تشغيل. في الأسفل ستجد مخططاً يبين ما هي الأنظمة المتوافقة مع كل نظام ملفات:

NTFS HFS+ FAT32
Microsoft Windows قراءة وكتابة قراءة فقط قراءة وكتابة
Mac OS X قراءة فقط* قراءة وكتابة قراءة وكتابة

ملاحظة: وبالرغم من أن استعمال OSXFUSE يمكن أن يمكن الكتابة باستخدام NTFS على OS X، ولكن القيام بذلك يمكن أن يسبب مشاكل في الاستقرار.

على الأغلب أنت تسأل نفسك الآن: إذا كان FAT32 يعمل على كلا النظامين، فلماذا لا نستعمله كالنظام الافتراضي؟ بالرغم من أن FAT32 متوافق عبر الأنظمة، إلا أنه يفرض قيود على حجم كل ملف. وبالرغم من أنه بإمكان FAT32 أن يخزن بسعة كبيرة، إلا أنه ليس بإمكانك امتلاك ملفات أكبر من 4 جيجا بايت على القرص الصلب، حتى لو كان قرصك أكبر من 4 جيجا بايت. نظام جدول توزيع الملفات (File Allocation Table أو FAT) تم تصميمه عام 1970 لكي يتم استعماله على الأقراص المرنة (Floppy Disks) وفي ذلك الوقت لم يكن هنالك ملفات حجمها أكبر من 4 جيجا بايت. لكن بعد أن أصبحت الحواسيب أكثر قوة أصبح نظام FAT قديماً وغير نافع. لكن بسبب كونه متوافقاً عبر أنظمة التشغيل فإنه ما يزال واسع الاستخدام اليوم. يمكن رؤية نظام التشغيل FAT32 في وسائط التخزين القابلة للإزالة (Removable Storage) مثل ذواكر الفلاش. تأتي ذواكر الفلاش بنظام FAT32 بشكلٍ افتراضي لكن إذا كنت تريد استعمالها على Mac فإنك ستحتاج إلى تحويلها إلى HFS+ للحصول على سرعة أكبر ولإزالة أي قيود على حجم الملف.

تهيئة القرص في أداة القرص

تسمح أداة القرص لك بتهئية قرصك باستعمال العديد من أنظمة الملفات ومن بينها تلك المذكورة في الأعلى. لتهيئة القرص في أداة القرص:

  1. افتح أداة القرص
  2. اختر القرص من الجزء الموجود في الجانب الأيمن
  3. انتقل إلى علامة تبويب مسح (Erase)
  4. اختر تنسيقاً (Format) للقرص الصلب. ملاحظة: Mac OS Extended هو HFS+.
  5. اضغط على مسح (Format)
ملاحظة: تهيئة القرص الصلب ستقوم بشكلٍ نهائي بمسح كل البيانات الموجودة عليه. تأكد من أنك قمت بعمل نسخة احتياطية من بياناتك قبل التهيئة وإلا لن تكون قادراً على استعادتها.

تهيئة Macintosh HD

إذا عانى حاسوبك من مشكلة برمجية خطيرة، واحتجت إلى مسح القرص بشكلٍ كلي وإعادة تثبيت OS X، فإن بإمكانك القيام بذلك عن طريق أداة القرص في ادوات الاستعادة (Recovery Tools). لاحظ أن هذا يختلف عن أداة القرص المستعملة في عمليات النظام العادية.

قبل تهيئة قرصك تأكد من:

  • أنك قمت بعمل نسخة احتياطية من كل ملفاتك! تهيئة القرص ستقوم بمسح كل البيانات الموجودة عليه
  • على الأقل سيكون أمامك 3 ساعات ستتمكن فيها من التعامل مع عدم استعمال الحاسوب
  • سيكون لديك اتصال انترنت سلكي أو لا سلكي مستقر

قم بتهيئة Macintosh باستخدام ادوات الاستعادة

  1. قم بإيقاف تشغيل حاسوبك بشكلٍ كلي.
  2. إذا كان FileVault مفعلاً، فاضغط وبشكلٍ مستمر على Command + R وقم بتشغيل حاسوبك.
  3. إذا لم يكن FileVault مفعلاً، فاضغط وبشكلٍ مستمر على مفتاح Option وقم بتشغيل حاسوبك. استعمل مفاتيح الأسهم لاختيار Recovery HD.
  4. افتح أداة القرص من شاشة الترحيب
  5. على الجانب الأيمن من اداة القرص، ستجد الأقراص المنصبة على حاسوبك. سترى القرص الفيزيائي الذي يحتوي على Macintosh HD (بالأحمر)، وMacintosh HD نفسه (بالأزرق). اختر القرص الأب
  6. Example of a Child Parent relationship
    مثال على علاقة أب ابن.
  7. انتقل إلى علامة تبويب مسح
  8. اختر تنسيق Mac OS Extended كتنسيق وقم بتسمية القرص "Macintosh HD"
  9. اختر مسح
  10. عند انتهاء العملية، عد إلى الشاشة الرئيسية لأدوات الاستعادة واختر Install OS X (تثبيت OS X)
  11. إتمام عملية التثبيت

خاتمة

القرص الصلب هو جزءٌ مهم جداً في حاسوبك، وبدونه لن تكون قادراً على القيام بأي شيء! أتمنى أن تكون قد اكتسبت فهماً أفضل للأقراص الصلبة بمساعدة هذا الدرس، وتعلمت كيفية إصلاحها، وما هي صيغة التهيئة التي يجب استعمالها.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

Everything You Need to Know About Your Mac's Hard Drive

by
Student iconAre you a student? Get a yearly Tuts+ subscription for $45 →

Hard drives: they are one of the most important pieces of hardware in your computer, and also the source of most problems you will encounter. The hard drive is where all the data on your computer is stored, so when it stops working it can be a bit scary. In this tutorial, I will go over how a hard drive works, how to fix common hard drive problems, and end with a discussion on filesystems and how to use them.


What is a hard drive?

The hard drive is a piece of hardware inside your computer that stores all your data. This includes all of your documents, pictures, movies, music, applications, and even OS X itself. It is one of the most important parts of the computer and without it, you really couldn't do anything. There are two types of hard drives out there: Hard Disk Drives (HDD) and Solid State Drives (SSD). Each have the same purpose, but they function in completely different ways.

Hard Disk Drives

The hard drive reads and writes data by changing the magnetic polarities on the drive. As the head passes over each section of the drive, any change in the magnetic direction will cause a voltage spike, creating a 1. If the magnetic direction is the same as the last, no voltage spike is caused and a 0 is created, thus creating binary data (or more commonly known as 1's and 0's).

If you're ever seen warnings to not put any magnets near computers, the reason is because of the hard disk drive. Putting a magnet near a HDD will cause the magnetic directions and cause your data to become corrupt.

Solid State Drives

Solid state drives are a lot more more confusing and advanced than hard disk drives. However, they are becoming more popular as more and more devices are going portable. For example, the MacBook Pro (Non-Retina) is the only laptop apple offers without Flash Storage.

Unlike hard disk drives that rely on a spinning platter to deliver the data, solid state drives store binary data in the form of electrical charges inside transistors or gates. The presence of a charge produces a one and the absence of a charge produces a zero. Think of it as a bucket of water. If there is water in the bucket, that's a 1. If there isn't any water, it's a 0.

Which one is better?

It really depends on what you're looking for and how much you're willing to spend. Hard disk drives are cheaper, and can hold way more data than solid state drives. However, they are much easier to damage; a simple jolt and your files are gone.

Solid state drives have no moving parts, and therefore can be jostled around without any issues. They also read data faster than hard disk drives as there is no need to wait for the platter to spin up. However, they cannot hold as much data and cost a lot more.

Fusion Drive

Fusion Drive is a feature Apple introduced with the new iMac released late this year. To put it simply, the Fusion Drive is a mixture of both a solid sate and a hard disk drive. The computer has two separate drives, but you only see it as one. OS X automatically decides which drive to store the file on depending on how much you use it.


Hard Drive Permissions

Did you know that there are files and folders on your Mac that you can't access? Even if you're the administrator? It's true. Although, that doesn't mean you can't just unlock them. But they are locked for a reason. File permissions allow you to control who can do what, and where. Think of them like a special door. Some people can go in and out, some can only go in, and others can't enter at all.

File Permissions let you set specific rules for groups or even specific users, restricting their right to read and/or write files within a folder. However, as silly as it may seem, OS X can actually lose permission to use a folder or file, causing weird problems. Thankfully OS X makes it really easy to fix permission errors by using the Disk Utility tool.

The Disk Permissions Tools inside Disk Utility
The Disk Permissions Tools inside Disk Utility.

To Verify and Repair Disk Permissions Errors:

  1. Open Disk Utility (try Spotlight or the Utilities group in Launchpad if you can't find it)
  2. Select Macintosh HD in the left hand pane
  3. Click Verify Permissions
  4. Once complete, if any errors come up it will tell you in the log. Click Repair Permissions if there are any errors

But what happens when you click the Repair Permissions button? Noting too advanced, actually. OS X just scans the files and folders it needs to operate normally and makes sure they have full access to them. If not, it gives itself access. Repairing permissions doesn't do anything to your personal data and poses no risk to you.

Tip: Whether or not repairing permissions is useful is a constant argument in the Mac community. Check out Gruber's "Seriously, ‘Repair Permissions’ Is Voodoo" for a critique of this action.


Hard Drive Health

Over time, your hard drive will degrade in health and eventually fail to operate. This is a completely normal part of the hardware life cycle. However, there are some things you can do to tack on extra years to your hard drive.

Smart people use S.M.A.R.T!

Your hard drive comes built in with a doctor, which can anticipate problems before they happen and let you know with a mass of warning messages. The Self-Monitoring, Analysis and Reporting Technology will run through a lengthy check list to make sure your drive is up to snuff each time you turn it on.If it fails, it lets you know so you can replace/repair the drive right away. Wikipedia has the full list of problems S.M.A.R.T scans for and what they mean.

The Disk Verification Tools inside Disk Utility
The Disk Verification Tools inside Disk Utility.

To Verify the health of your hard drive:

  1. Open Disk Utility
  2. Select Macintosh HD in the left hand pane
  3. Click Verify Disk
  4. Once complete, if any errors come up, it will tell you in the log. Click Repair Disk if there are any problems.

The Pros and Cons of Caching

Caching (pronounced "cash-ing") is the process of storing commonly used files for quick access. This is method is commonly used for web content. Your web browser will cache files that are used on web pages and store them on your hard drive. Accessing a file from your hard drive is much faster than downloading it from a server every time. Your computer does the same with the files on your hard drive. To help speed up Finder, OS X caches the contents of your hard drive for fast access. However, things can sometimes go awry and the cache may become corrupt.

Cleaning the Cache

Cleaning the cache on your computer is not something that should be done often, nor is it a method used to help speed up your computer. In fact, it will slow down your computer for a bit.

However, a lot of hard drive problems can be solved by cleaning the cache because you're forcing OS X to reload the fresh files from the hard drive, rather than the cache. Cleaning the cache on OS X isn't hard, but it requires the use of some an app like Mountain Lion Cache Cleaner. You can get a free trial of MLCC at Northern Softworks.

Once you've downloaded and installed the app, open Mountain Lion Cache Cleaner and select Demo. If you use MLCC often I recommend you support Northers Softworks and pick up a license.

The Cache Cleaning page in Mountain Lion Cache Cleaner
The Cache Cleaning page in Mountain Lion Cache Cleaner.

Select Cache Cleaning on the sidebar. Select Deep Cleaning and click all the check boxes. Click Clean. During the cleaning, you will not be able to use your computer for a couple of hours, as the process may take a long time.

When the process is done, make sure you reboot if the software didn't do it for you. This is really important! Once rebooted, load up Disk Utility and try to repair the disk using the steps above.


Defragmenting Hard Drives

Fragmenting is an internal phenomena that is caused by your hard drive becoming disorganized with which sectors the files are written to. Over time, hard drives will become fragmented and eventually eat up unnecessary space.

Mac OS X has built-in protection against fragmentation that will automatically attempt to defragment data blocks in the background without needed an external application. Because of this, you should never need to defragment your computer.

If however, your computer has become heavily fragmented due to a software issue, you can defragment it using Coriolis Systems: iDefrag.

Warning: If you have a solid-state hard drive, such as those included in the MacBook Pro with Retina Display, Macbook Air, or Winter 2012 iMac, do not attempt to defragment your hard drive. Defragmentation on solid-state hard drives can cause severe damage to the drive.

Hard Drive Formatting

OS X, Windows, and Linux all use different hard drive formatting for normal system operations. A hard drive format refers to how the operating system stores the data on the drive. There are three common filesystems that are used today: HFS+, NTFS, and FAT32.

Mac OS X uses HFS+, Windows uses NTFS and used to use FAT32. However, not all of these filesystems are compatible with every operating system. Below is a chart that highlights which filesystem works with which operating system:

NTFS HFS+ FAT32
Microsoft Windows Read and Write Read Only Read and Write
Mac OS X Read Only* Read and Write Read and Write

* Note: Through the use of OSXFUSE one can enable NTFS write on OS X, however doing so may cause stability issues.

Now, you're probably thinking to yourself: If FAT32 works on both systems, why don't we use it as default? Although FAT32 is cross compatible, it has limitations on the size of each file. While FAT32 can have large capacities, it can't have files larger than 4GB on the disk, even if your drive is larger than 4GB. The File Allocation Table was designed in the late 1970s for use on Floppy Disks and at the time files over 4GB just didn't exist. However as computers grew more powerful the FAT system become out of date. However, because it is cross operating system compatible it is still widly used today. FAT32 is most commonly seen in Removable Storage such as Flash Drives. Flash Drives come with FAT32 by default but if you only need to use it on a Mac you can format it to HFS+ for better speed and no limit on the file size.

Formatting a Drive in Disk Utility

Disk Utility lets you format your drive using many filesystems like the three listed above. To format a drive in Disk Utility:

  1. Open Disk Utility
  2. Select the mounted drive on the left hard side bar
  3. Go to the Erase tab
  4. Choose a hard drive format. Note: Mac OS Extended (Journaled) is HFS+.
  5. Click Format
Note: Formatting your hard drive will permanently erase all of the data on it. Make sure you have backed up your data before formatting or else you won't be able to get it back.

Formatting the Macintosh HD

If your computer has encountered a serious software issue, and you need to completely wipe the drive and reinstall OS X, you can do so through Disk Utility in Recovery Tools. Please note that this differs form the Disk Utility used in normal system operation.

Before formatting your drive make sure that:

  • You have backed up all of your files! Formatting will erase all data on the drive
  • You have at least 3 hours of time where you can handle not using your computer
  • You have a stable, wired or wireless Internet connection

Format the Machintosh HD with Recovery Tools

  1. Power off your computer completely.
  2. If you have FileVault enabled, press and hold the Command and R keys and power on your computer.
  3. If you don’t have FileVault enabled, press and hold the Option key and power on your computer. Use the arrow keys to select Recovery HD.
  4. Open Disk Utility from the welcome screen
  5. On the left side of Disk Utility, you will see the drives installed on your computer. You will see the physical drive that holds Macintosh HD (Red), and Macintosh HD itself (Blue). Select the parent drive.
  6. Example of a Child Parent relationship
    Example of a Child Parent relationship.
  7. Select the Erase tab
  8. Select Mac OS Extended (Journaled) for the format and name the drive "Macintosh HD"
  9. Click Erase
  10. When it is complete, go back to the home screen of recovery tools and select Install OS X
  11. Complete the installation process

Conclusion

The hard drive is a very important piece of hardware on your computer, without it you wouldn't be able to do anything! I hope by reading this tutorial you will have a better understanding on how hard drives work, how to fix them, and what type of format to use.

Advertisement