Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Wi-Fi
Computers

So steigern Sie die Leistung Ihres drahtlosen Netzwerks   

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Wilhelm Wolf (you can also view the original English article)

Drahtlose Netzwerke sind so allgegenwärtig, dass viele von uns nur selten zahlen keine Aufmerksamkeit auf Ihre Einrichtung. Für viele von uns, solange wir im Internet bekommen, dann ist das alles, was wir brauchen.  Allerdings ist es wahrscheinlich, dass Ihr wireless-Netzwerk nicht annähernd so gut, wie es sein kann. Mit einige einfache Optimierungen, und einige große Werkzeuge aus dem Mac App Store können wir sicherstellen, dass es die besten in der Nachbarschaft! 

 Tipp: Dieses tutorial setzt Voraus, Sie haben bereits eine gute und stabile WLAN-Netzwerk einrichten und arbeiten zu Hause ohne große Probleme.


Nur ein Paar Einfache Tricks 

 Im Laufe der Jahre die Nachfrage für einfach zu verwenden, drahtlose Netzwerke gewachsen, die exponentiell mit dem Aufkommen der Billig und zugänglich Breitband. Es war nicht so lange her, dass die WiFi-Konnektivität war noch nicht einmal ein standard-feature auf einem computer.

In diesen Tagen werden Sie hart gedrückt, um die Suche nach einem computer, der nicht kommen mit WiFi-Konnektivität und WLAN-Router sind so Billig, dass ISPs ziemlich viel verschenken mit einem Breitbandanschluss. Mehr kürzlich, Sie sind geschickt mit Anschluss-Einstellungen und wireless-Netzwerk bereits eingerichtet ist, das Kennwort und Netzwerk-Namen auf der Basis der Einheit oder auf einer Karte.   Dies ist eine großartige Idee, da es bedeutet, dass Sie brauchen nicht zu sorgen über Dinge, die Sicherheits-und Netzwerk-Namen - ein gutes Maß an Sicherheit und einen eindeutigen Netzwerknamen eingerichtet wurden.

Leider ist es diese Einfachheit, die Probleme verursachen können für Sie und andere. Es gibt ein paar einfache Tricks, die getan werden kann, (sehr leicht), um die die meisten aus Ihrer Verbindung. 

Many ISPs in the UK actually use the same router. Whilst it requires no setup, all the settings apart from security are the same, meaning a higher chance of interference.
 Viele ISPs in Großbritannien verwenden den gleichen router. Viele der Einstellungen sind die gleichen, also eine höhere Wahrscheinlichkeit von Störungen.

 Was Sehen Wir uns An,

 Mit Ausnahme von Apple-Basisstationen, die überwiegende Mehrheit von WLAN-Routern in der Regel kommen vorkonfiguriert mit einem eindeutigen Netzwerknamen und ein Passwort.  Wenn Sie Ihren wireless-router von Ihrem ISP, die Chancen sind es bereits konfiguriert wurde und Sie nur benötigt, stecken Sie es in. Wie wir oben diskutiert, dieses ist groß, wie es entfernt alle Kopfschmerzen aus der Einrichtung.

Leider, es ist unmöglich für einen ISP oder den Hersteller zu wissen, welche sind die besten Einstellungen für jeden einzelnen Kunden, denn jede situation ist einzigartig. Die Einstellungen, die gut funktioniert für eine person möglicherweise nicht für andere.   Darüber hinaus, wenn Sie Ihr drahtloses Netzwerk vor einiger Zeit, könnten Sie feststellen, dass es Zeit ist, zu zwicken die Einstellungen, wenn mehr Nachbarn haben, wurde der Upgrade-wireless-Router.

Netzwerkname 

 Die meisten ISPs-Schiff-Router mit dem völlig random Namen wie "BroadbandISP2453454" oder was auch immer. Sie können einstellen, was Sie wollen, machen es wirklich einfach, passen Sie Ihr Netzwerk weiter.

Sicherheit 

Es gibt drei Ebenen der Sicherheit, dass die meisten WLAN-Router wird in der Lage sein, zu unterstützen. 

  1. WEP 
  2. WPA 
  3. WPA2 

 Wenn Ihr wireless-router geliefert mit einem gewissen Grad an Sicherheit, die Chancen sind es entweder WEP oder WPA. Während dies bedeutet, dass Ihr WLAN-Netzwerk ist durch ein Passwort geschützt, wenn WEP, dann müssen wir ändern dies sofort. Sie können in der Regel sagen, wenn ein Netzwerk mit WEP-Verschlüsselung für Passwörter, wie das drahtlose Netzwerk-Kennwort ist in der Regel 8 oder 13 stellen lang und in der Regel nur eine Nummer. 

 Tipp:WEP ist so unsicher, dass es das technologische äquivalent der Verriegelung der Tür von Ihrem Haus zu verlassen, während alle Fenster offen! Moderne Router nicht mehr diese option aber einige immer noch tun. Vermeiden!

WPA bietet eine gute Sicherheit, aber es ist nicht die beste. Es ist immer noch ein annehmbares Maß an Sicherheit und sorgt für die Kompatibilität, aber es ist schon eine Umstellung von WPA2. 

 WPA2 bietet die beste Sicherheit. Es ist die beste option zu wählen, aber es gibt Zeiten, wenn Sie verwenden möchten, werden über WPA WPA2, insbesondere, wenn Sie beabsichtigen, verwenden Sie eine alte Windows-XP-PC oder einem Mac, die nicht auf Intel basieren.  WPA ist sehr breit abgestützt auf älteren Geräten, aber WPA2 ist schon lange genug, dass Sie sollten nicht irgendwelche Probleme haben, es zu benutzen.

 Zusätzlich zu den oben genannten, Sie werden in der Lage sein, eine weitere unvergessliche Passwort, wenn Sie möchten (aber halten Sie es sicher)!

Wenn WEP, dann müssen wir ändern dies sofort. 

Frequenz 

 Ein wireless-Netzwerk arbeitet über eine bestimmte Radiofrequenz. Es gibt zwei Arten von wireless-Netz-Frequenzen: 2.4 Ghz und 5Ghz (keine Sorge über die Besonderheiten oder Ihre genauen Bedeutungen).

Die meisten Router arbeiten auf 2,4 Ghz, da dies der am weitesten verbreitete standard. Mehr und mehr Router unterstützen beide Typen (oft auch als dual-band-Router), weil immer mehr Geräte 5 GHz unterstützen.   Das iPad hat immer unterstützt 5-GHz-Netzwerken und das neue iPhone 5 wird auch unterstützt.

 5Ghz hat eine geringere Reichweite als 2,4 Ghz, aber unterstützen können viel höhere Geschwindigkeiten und leidet weniger Störungen durch die kleine Menge von Geräten, die mit diesem Bereich. Zum Beispiel Geräte, wie schnurlose Telefone, Mikrowellen und andere drahtlose Geräte in der Regel arbeiten auf 2,4 Ghz, die Schaffung von Störungen.

 Kanal

 Also, was ist ein Kanal? Sie vielleicht haben gehört, dieses Wort von Zeit zu Zeit in Bezug auf drahtlose Netzwerke. Nun, ein wireless-Netzwerk ist ein radio. 2,4-Ghz-wireless-Technologie arbeitet auf einem Kanal zwischen dem Bereich 1-13.  5-GHz-wireless-Technologie funktioniert auf den Kanälen 36 ab. Diese zahlen entsprechen einer bestimmten Frequenz, aber dies ist nicht etwas, was wir brauchen, zu kümmern. In der Tat, das ist, warum verwenden Sie einfachere zahlen.

 Wenn Sie drei 2,4-Ghz-WLAN-Netze in der gleichen Raum, in der folgenden Reihenfolge:

  1. WLAN-Netzwerk Ein eingestellt ist Kanal 1 
  2. Wireless-Netzwerk B eingestellt ist Kanal 6 
  3.  Wireless-Netzwerk-C ist eingestellt auf Kanal 11

 Was Sie finden ist, dass Sie eine Verbindung herstellen können, um jeden von diesen mit überhaupt keine Probleme. Jedoch, wenn wir dies getan haben:

  1. WLAN-Netzwerk Ein eingestellt ist Kanal 1 
  2.  Wireless-Netzwerk B-Kanal 1
  3.  Wireless-Netzwerk C eingestellt ist Kanal 1

 Wir finden Ihr computer kämpfen, um zu verbinden und verbunden bleiben. Das ist, weil die Netze in Konkurrenz um Arbeit auf dem gleichen Kanal.

 Ein Weg, es zu erklären ist, zu denken, drahtlos-Netzwerke, radio-Stationen auf FM-radio Ihres Autos. Sie Stimmen in jeder radio-station, die auf verschiedenen UKW-Frequenzen.  Wenn du schon immer getrieben durch eine bewohnte Gegend und versucht, einen FM-transmitter für Ihren iPod und iPhone auf die gleiche Frequenz eingestellt, wie eine lokale radio-station, Sie konkurrieren miteinander und Sie am Ende mit ist eine Mischung aus Rauschen und statische.  Eine Lücke zwischen Ihnen durchaus Sinn macht, da es bedeutet, das radio kann isolieren der station, so gibt es keine überschneidungen.

 Tipp: Nicht alle 13 Kanäle für 2,4 Ghz verfügbar sind aufgrund von Lizenz-Beschränkungen in den verschiedenen Ländern. In einigen Ländern, die höheren Kanäle nicht verfügbar sind, werden durch andere Technologien (wie Rettungsdienste und anderen kabellosen Systemen).  Stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihr router welchem Land Sie sich befinden, wenn Sie ändern Sie den Kanal, so dass Sie nicht bekommen, jede Einmischung.

Bevor Wir Beginnen 

 Wir brauchen ein paar Dinge, bevor wir änderungen an unserem Netzwerk. Dies wird uns änderungen zuverlässig und wenn die Dinge schief gehen, das problem zu beheben.

Ethernet-Kabel 

 Je nach router, die Sie haben und die Arten von änderungen, wir brauchen ein ethernet-Kabel praktisch. Einige Router erfordern änderungen vorgenommen werden, über ein ethernet-Kabel. Wenn Sie änderungen vornehmen, dies ist entscheidend, falls eine änderung nicht funktioniert.

USB-oder Thunderbolt-Ethernet-Adapter 

 Hast du ein MacBook Air oder ein Retina MacBook Pro, dann brauchen Sie zwei Adapter zum anschließen des ethernet-Kabels.  Sie sind den gleichen Preis, und wirklich hängt von der Geschwindigkeit und dem Anschluss, den Sie kostenfrei nutzen. Der USB-adapter ist nur in der Lage megabit-Geschwindigkeiten. Der Thunderbolt-adapter bieten gigabit-Geschwindigkeit.  Wenn Sie planen, verwenden Sie es Häufig und Sie haben einen Ersatz Thunderbolt-port (entweder ist Sie nicht in Gebrauch sind, oder hat das Gerät eine passthrough) und gehen Sie dann für Thunderbolt.  Für eine breitere Unterstützung für USB. Ich benutze ein Thunderbolt-display-Kabel und kein port frei, also ging ich für die USB-adapter.

Apple’s USB or Thunderbolt Ethernet Adapter will provide a MacBook Air or Retina MacBook Pro
Apple USB-oder Thunderbolt-Ethernet-Adapter wird ein MacBook Air oder Retina MacBook Pro 

Kein Internet-Zugang 

 Stellen Sie sicher, dass niemand braucht, um auf das Internet zugreifen! Ob es einen FaceTime Anruf oder ein software-update, wirst du einige Störungen hervorrufen, wenn Sie änderungen vornehmen. Darüber hinaus stellen Sie sicher, dass keine big-data-transfers durchgeführt werden über Ihr Netzwerk.

Sammeln Von Intel 

 So können wir das am besten machen Veränderungen möglich, mal sehen, was wir zu tun haben. Es gibt ein paar Fragen, die wir beantworten müssen, bevor wir beginnen mit der Optimierung unserer wireless-Netzwerk:

  1. Wie viele Netzwerke gibt es in der Nähe von mir? 
  2. Wie stark sind Ihre Signale?  
  3. Sind Sie mögliche Interferenzen mit dem signal aus meinem Netzwerk? 
  4. Was sind die Sicherheits-Einstellungen von meinem Netzwerk? 

Grundlegende Informationen 

Eine versteckte Funktion der Wi-Fi (Airport) Menü in der Menüleiste von OS X ist, dass es können zusätzliche Informationen zu Ihrem wireless-Netzwerk. Klicken Sie es bei gedrückter Alt-Taste, und Sie werden sehen, weitere Informationen. 

Holding down the Alt key when clicking on the Wi-Fi menu icon reveals more useful information
 Halten Sie die Alt-Taste beim klicken auf das Wi-Fi-Menü-Symbol zeigt nützliche Informationen

Wie Sie sehen können von den zusätzlichen details, die OS X angezeigt wird, das Netzwerk bin ich verbunden ist ein 5Ghz Netzwerk. Es ist auf Kanal 48 und WPA2-Sicherheit. Schon, das wir bekommen haben, einige wichtige Informationen über unser eigenes Netzwerk. 

WiFi Explorer 

 Also haben wir einige Informationen über unser Netzwerk, aber was ist mit den Netzen um uns herum? Um mehr zu erfahren, verwenden wir eine tolle app namens WiFi-Explorer. Es ' s $1.99 über den Mac App Store und ich habe festgestellt, dass es eines der besten tools die ich je benutzt habe.

WiFi Explorer scans the area and provides information about all detected wireless networks
WiFi-Explorer durchsucht den Bereich und bietet Informationen über alle erkannten WLAN-Netzwerke 

 WiFi Explorer hat eine Funktion - es bietet alle verfügbaren Informationen über jedes wireless-Netzwerk Ihr Mac erkennen kann. WiFi-Explorer zeigt eine Menge von technischen Informationen, einschließlich vor-Netzwerk-Namen, Signalstärke und Kanal verwendet.

 Zusätzlich, wir können die WLAN-Netzwerke vor, die auf eine Grafik, um Sie besser sehen Ihre Auswirkungen. Werfen wir einen Blick auf das obige Bild im detail.

Netzwerk Überlappen 

 Die Grafik oben ist die Anzeige aller verfügbaren 2,4-Ghz-Netzwerken, und wie Sie sehen können, gibt es eine Menge von Netzwerken, die in der Nähe von mir! Die meisten Netzwerke sind alle rund um die Kanäle 1, 6 und 11.  Dies ist nicht verwunderlich. Wenn Sie sehen, einige von den Netzwerk-Namen, die meisten Basisstationen sind zur Verfügung gestellt von BT. Standardmäßig, die meisten Anbieter liefern Ihre Router mit den gleichen Einstellungen für einen channel. Nützlich für, wenn wir nicht wollen, Zeit zu verbringen, ihn einzurichten, aber wenn 10 Nachbarn in einem Wohnblock entscheiden, um die gleichen Anbieter, wir bekommen eine Menge von wireless-Lärm! 

 Tipp: Bei der Entscheidung über einen Kanal wählen Sie einen Kanal, der nicht über ein Netzwerk schon. Wenn möglich, beginnen Sie mit den Kanälen 1, 6 und 11, da Sie die geringste chance, sich überlappen, aber Sie sind nur selten verfügbar, da Sie als Standard-Einstellungen.

Werfen wir einen Blick auf die 5-GHz-Bereich und sehen, was wir herausfinden. 

Because 5Ghz is still not in widespread use we find that there are far fewer networks

Denn 5Ghz ist noch nicht weit verbreitet finden wir, dass es weit weniger Netzwerke 

 Schauen Sie sich das an! Ein Netzwerk - ... und es ist meins! Ich kaufte vor kurzem eine neue Airport Express funktioniert sowohl auf 2,4 Ghz und 5 GHz.  Der primäre Grund, warum ich es gekauft wurde, für den 5Ghz-Fähigkeit. Mein Büro ist auf der anderen Seite von meinem Haus, so ziemlich der am weitesten entfernte Punkt von meinem vorhandenen router.  WLAN-Signalstärke auf dieser Seite des Hauses war sehr schwach und die Menge von wireless-Netzwerken um, bedeutete Suche nach einem sweet spot war wirklich hart.  Am Ende kaufte ich mir die Airport Express nach der Verwendung von WiFi-Explorer, die keine andere 5Ghz Netze. Meine 5-GHz-Netzwerk hat absolut keine Interferenz von anderen Geräten so, bekomme ich unglaubliche Geschwindigkeiten und ein sehr gutes signal.

 Tipp: Wenn Ihr Mac unterstützt 5Ghz, empfehle ich die Investition in einen Flughafen-Express. Es ist mit Abstand die beste 5-GHz-WLAN-access-point gibt (in der Tat, einer der einzigen,) und Sie erhalten einige erstaunliche Geschwindigkeiten.

Netzwerk Stärke 

 Die Höhe der Kurve repräsentiert die Stärke des Netzwerks. Das Netzwerk TALKTALK–6A2BFC ist sehr stark, so stark, in der Tat, es ist stärker als das Netzwerk habe ich in meinem Hause! WiFi Explorer hilft uns bei der Bestimmung, wie gut unser signal ist.  Wenn mein Netzwerk war, der gekennzeichnet SKY32DDC dann würde ich wollen, ändern Sie einige Einstellungen, um die die meisten aus ihm heraus und hoffentlich das signal erhöhen. Je niedriger das signal, desto schwieriger ist es zu verbinden mit einer guten Geschwindigkeit.

Unser Setup Ändern 

Also aus den vorherigen Schritten, Sie habe in der Lage, um zu bestimmen, die folgenden: 

  1. Der Kanal Ihr Netzwerk auf 
  2. Der Sicherheitstyp in Ihrem Netzwerk 
  3. Welche Kanäle benachbarte Netze betreiben, auf 

Sie sollten nun in der Lage, um zu zwicken, Ihr Netzwerk in irgendeiner Weise zu versuchen und erhöhen Sie die Stärke und Reichweite bei gleichzeitiger Reduzierung der Interferenzen. Hier sind einige meiner Tipps, um Ihnen zu helfen: 

  1. Wenn Sie nicht bereits getan haben, ändern Sie Ihre router-Standard-Administrator-Passwort. 
  2.  Wenn Ihr Netzwerk über einen eher obskuren oder Standard-Namen, ändern Sie ihn auf etwas mehr einzigartig.
  3. Wireless-Netzwerk mit WEP? Ändern Sie es zu mindestens WPA. Wenn möglich, verwenden WPA2. 
  4.  Nach der Verwendung von WiFi Explorer, finden eine Kostenlose (oder einem weniger überlasteten) Kanal und ändern Sie Ihre router.
  5.  Wenn deine Signalstärke ist sehr niedrig, versuchen Neupositionierung Ihres Routers. Da drahtlose Signale omnidirektional (Bedeutung, die Sie übertragen in alle Richtungen aus), versuchen Sie den router höher oben auf einem Schrank oder Bücherregal.
  6.  Ähnlich der oben genannten, stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihr router nicht in die Nähe einer Störquelle wie z.B. ein schnurloses Telefon oder eine Mikrowelle.
  7. Wenn Ihr router-Antennen, sicherzustellen, dass Sie fest angeschlossen sind. 

Zusätzliche Ressourcen

 Es gibt ein paar mehr apps, die möchte ich kurz vorstellen. Diese sind nicht erforderlich für das tutorial haben wir gerade durch, aber die ich gefunden habe, sind Sie sehr nützlich, wenn die Netzwerk-support-und Sie vielleicht auch.

Signal - $0.99 

Signal continually monitors your wireless network and suggests improvements
Signal kontinuierlich überwacht Ihr WLAN-Netzwerk und schlägt Verbesserungen vor 

 Signal wird als ein Menü in der Menüleiste und kontinuierlich sammelt Informationen über Ihr wireless-Netzwerk. Es kann feststellen, wenn es gibt eine Menge von Störungen, und wenn das signal zu schwach ist.  Darüber hinaus wird es sogar empfohlen, alternative Kanäle für schalten Sie Ihr Netzwerk auf, arbeiten besser.

NetSpot - Frei 

NetSpot allows you to map out your wireless signal
NetSpot können Sie anzeigen aus Ihrem wireless-signal 

 NetSpot gehen weit darüber hinaus, was die meisten Benutzer benötigen, aber wenn Sie brauchen, um zu verwalten Sie mehrere Netzwerke in einem Büro oder Gebäude, es ist absolut fantastisch, in die Aufrechterhaltung einer WLAN-Karte.  Ziehen Sie einfach eine Karte von Ihrem Büro in NetSpot und setzen Sie die Skalierung durch die Angabe von zwei Punkten. Danach können Sie angeben, wo Sie auf der Karte und es wird eine vollständige wifi-Lesen. Tun Sie dies oft genug in verschiedenen Räumen und Sie werden in der Lage sein zu bestimmen, wo das signal schwarz-Flecken sind. Es unterstützt sogar mehrere Etagen. 

Zusammenfassung 

 Utilities habe ich Euch gezeigt, vor, Sie sollten in der Lage sein, um zu zwicken, Ihr wireless-Netzwerk und noch ein wenig mehr Leistung von ihm. Die Mehrheit der Probleme mit wireless-Netzwerk-Stamm aus den Arten von Einstellungen, die wir schon oben besprochen haben - insbesondere Störungen aus anderen Netzen.   Wenn Ihr Netzwerk benimmt oder nicht zu sein scheinen so schnell oder zuverlässig, wie es einmal war, stehen die Chancen es gibt ein neues Netzwerk irgendwo in der Nähe. Mit den tools und Anregungen oben, Sie werden in der Lage sein, um Ihre wireless-Netzwerk reibungslos.

Wenn Sie haben, irgendwelche anderen tools und Tipps zur Pflege von Ihrem wireless-Netzwerk oder haben einige Vorschläge für best practices, fühlen Sie sich frei, um weiter diskutieren in den Kommentaren! 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

How to Increase the Performance of Your Wireless Network

by
Student iconAre you a student? Get a yearly Tuts+ subscription for $45 →

Wireless networks are so ubiquitous that many of us rarely pay any attention to their setup. For a lot of us, as long as we can get on the Internet, then that’s all we need. However, it’s likely that your wireless network isn’t anywhere near as good as it can be. With some simple tweaking, and some great utilities from the Mac App Store, we can make sure it's the best in the neighborhood!

Tip: This tutorial assumes you already have a good and steady wireless network set up and working at home with no major problems.


Just a Few Simple Tweaks

Over the years, demand for easy to use wireless networks have grown exponentially with the advent of cheap and accessible broadband. It wasn’t that long ago that WiFi connectivity wasn’t even a standard feature on a computer.

These days you’ll be hard pressed to find a computer that doesn’t come with WiFi connectivity, and wireless routers are so cheap that ISPs pretty much give them away with a broadband subscription. More recently, they are sent out with connection settings and a wireless network already set up, providing the password and network name on the base of the unit or on a card. This is a great idea as it means you don’t need to worry about things security and network name - a good level of security and a unique network name have been set up.

Unfortunately, it’s this simplicity that could cause problems for you and others. There are a few simple tweaks that can be done (very easily) to get the most out of your connection.

Many ISPs in the UK actually use the same router. Whilst it requires no setup, all the settings apart from security are the same, meaning a higher chance of interference.
Many ISPs in the UK use the same router. Many of the settings are the same, meaning a higher chance of interference.

What We’ll Look At

With the exception of Apple base stations, the vast majority of wireless routers usually come preconfigured with a unique network name and a password. If you received your wireless router from your ISP, chances are it was already configured and you only needed to plug it in. As we discussed above, this is great as it removes all the headache from setting it up.

Unfortunately, it’s impossible for an ISP or manufacturer to know which are the best settings for each customer because every situation is unique. The settings that work well for one person may not work well for another. In addition, if you set up your wireless network some time ago, you might find that it’s time to tweak those settings if more neighbors have been upgrading their wireless routers.

Network name

Most ISPs ship routers with completely random names such as “BroadbandISP2453454” or whatever. You can set this to whatever you want, making it really easy to customize your network further.

Security

There are three levels of security that most wireless routers will be able to support.

  1. WEP
  2. WPA
  3. WPA2

If your wireless router shipped with some level of security, chances are it’s either WEP or WPA. While this means your wireless network is password protected, if it’s set to WEP, then we need to change this straight away. You can usually tell if a network is using WEP encryption for passwords as the wireless network password is usually 8 or 13 digits long and normally just a number.

Tip:WEP security is so insecure that it’s the technological equivalent of locking the door of your house while leaving all the windows open! Modern routers no longer include this option but some still do. Avoid!

WPA offers a good level of security but it’s not the best. It’s still a decent level of security and ensures compatibility, but it’s been superseded by WPA2.

WPA2 offers the best level of security. It’s the best option to select, but there are times when you will want to use WPA over WPA2, specifically if you intend to use an old Windows XP PC or a Mac that isn’t Intel based. WPA is very widely supported on older devices, but WPA2 has been around for long enough that you shouldn’t have any problems using it.

In addition to the above, you’ll be able to set a more memorable password if you wish (but keep it secure)!

If it’s set to WEP, then we need to change this straight away.

Frequency

A wireless network operates over a certain radio frequency. There are two types of wireless network frequencies: 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz (don’t worry about the specifics or their exact meanings).

Most routers will operate on 2.4Ghz as this is the most common standard. More and more routers are supporting both types (often called dual-band routers) as more devices support 5Ghz. The iPad has always supported 5Ghz networks and the new iPhone 5 will also support them.

5Ghz has a shorter range than 2.4Ghz but can support much higher speeds and suffers from less interference due to the small amount of devices that use this range. For example, devices such as cordless phones, microwave ovens and other wireless equipment usually operate on 2.4Ghz, which can create interference.

Channel

So what’s a channel? You might’ve heard this word from time to time in regards to wireless networks. Well, a wireless network is a radio. 2.4Ghz wireless technology operates on a channel between the range 1–13. 5Ghz wireless technology operates on channels 36 onwards. These numbers do correspond to a specific frequency but this isn’t something we need to worry about. In fact that’s why they use simpler numbers.

If you have three 2.4Ghz wireless networks in the same room in the following order:

  1. Wireless network A is set to channel 1
  2. Wireless network B is set to channel 6
  3. Wireless network C is set to channel 11

What you will find is that you can connect to each of these with no problems at all. However, if we did this:

  1. Wireless network A is set to channel 1
  2. Wireless network B is set to channel 1
  3. Wireless network C is set to channel 1

We will find your computer will struggle to connect and remain connected. That’s because the networks are competing to work on the same channel.

A way to explain it is to think of wireless networks as radio stations on your car’s FM radio. You tune in to each radio station on different FM frequencies. If you’ve ever driven through a populated area and tried to use an FM transmitter for your iPod and iPhone set to the same frequency as a local radio station, they compete with each other and all you end up with is a mixture of noise and static. Having a gap between them makes perfect sense as it means the radio can isolate the station so there’s no overlapping.

Tip: Not all 13 channels for 2.4Ghz are available due to licensing restrictions in different countries. In some countries, the higher channels are unavailable due to other technologies (such as emergency services and other wireless systems). Make sure to tell your router which country you reside in when changing the channel so you don’t get any interference.

Before We Begin

We’re going to need a few things before we start making changes to our network. This will let us make any changes reliably and if things go wrong, fix the problem.

Ethernet Cable

Depending on the router you have and the types of changes, we’ll need to have an ethernet cable handy. Some routers require changes to be made using an ethernet cable. When making changes, this is crucial in case a change doesn’t work.

USB or Thunderbolt Ethernet Adapter

If you’ve got a MacBook Air or a Retina MacBook Pro then you’ll need one of two adapters to connect the ethernet cable. They are the same price and really depends on speed and which port you have free. The USB adapter is only capable of megabit speeds. The Thunderbolt adapter will provide gigabit speeds. If you plan to use it frequently and you have a spare Thunderbolt port (either it’s not in use or your device has a passthrough) then go for Thunderbolt. For wider support, go for USB. I use a Thunderbolt display cable and have no port free, so I went for the USB adapter.

Apple’s USB or Thunderbolt Ethernet Adapter will provide a MacBook Air or Retina MacBook Pro
Apple’s USB or Thunderbolt Ethernet Adapter will provide a MacBook Air or Retina MacBook Pro

No Internet Access

Make sure no-one is needing to access the Internet! Whether it’s a FaceTime call or a software update, you’re going to cause some disruption if you make any changes. In addition, make sure no big data transfers are being done over your network.

Gathering Intel

So we can make the best changes possible, let’s see what we’re dealing with. There are a few questions we need to answer before we start optimizing our wireless network:

  1. How many networks are there near mine?
  2. How strong are their signals?
  3. Are they potentially interfering with the signal from my network?
  4. What are the security settings of my network?

Basic Information

A hidden feature of the Wi-Fi (Airport) menu bar item in OS X is that it can display additional information about your wireless network. Click on it while holding down the Alt key and you will see additional information.

Holding down the Alt key when clicking on the Wi-Fi menu icon reveals more useful information
Holding down the Alt key when clicking on the Wi-Fi menu icon reveals more useful information

As you can see from the extra details OS X is displaying, the network I’m connected to is a 5Ghz network. It’s on channel 48 and has WPA2 security. Already, we’ve gotten some crucial information about our own network.

WiFi Explorer

So we’ve found some information about our network, but what about those networks around us? To find out more, we’re going to use a great app called WiFi Explorer. It’s $1.99 on the Mac App Store and I’ve found it to be one of the best tools I’ve ever used.

WiFi Explorer scans the area and provides information about all detected wireless networks
WiFi Explorer scans the area and provides information about all detected wireless networks

WiFi Explorer has one function - it provides all available information about every wireless network your Mac can detect. WiFi Explorer will display a lot of technical information including discovered network names, signal strength and channel used.

In addition, we can view the wireless networks discovered on a graph to better see their impact. Let’s take a look at the above image in more detail.

Network Overlap

The graph above is viewing all available 2.4Ghz networks, and as you can see, there are a lot of networks near me! The majority of networks are all clustered around channels 1, 6 and 11. This isn’t surprising. If you see some of the network names, most of the base stations are provided by BT. By default, most ISPs will ship their routers with the same channel settings. Useful for when we don’t want to spend time setting it up but if 10 neighbors in an apartment block decide to use the same provider, we get a lot of wireless noise!

Tip: When deciding on a channel, try to select a channel that doesn’t have a network already on it. If possible, start with channels 1, 6 and 11 as they have the least chance of overlap, but they are rarely available due to them being used as default settings.

Let’s take a look at the 5Ghz range and see what we find out.

Because 5Ghz is still not in widespread use we find that there are far fewer networks

Because 5Ghz is still not in widespread use we find that there are far fewer networks

Look at that! One network… and it’s mine! I recently purchased a new Airport Express which works on both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz. The primary reason I bought it was for the 5Ghz capability. My office is on the other side of my house, pretty much the furthest point away from my existing router. Wireless signal strength on that side of the house was pretty weak and the amount of wireless networks around meant finding a sweet spot was really hard. In the end, I bought the Airport Express after using WiFi Explorer, which found no other 5Ghz networks. My 5Ghz network has absolutely no interference from other devices so I get incredible speeds and a very good signal.

Tip: If your Mac supports 5Ghz, I highly recommend investing in an Airport Express. It’s by far the best 5Ghz wireless access point out there (in fact, one of the only ones) and you’ll get some amazing speeds.

Network Strength

The height of the graph represents the strength of the network. The network TALKTALK–6A2BFC is very strong, so strong in fact that it’s stronger than the network I have in my home! WiFi Explorer aids us in determining how good our signal is. If my network was the one labelled SKY32DDC then I’d be wanting to change some settings to get the most out of it and hopefully increase the signal. The lower the signal, the harder it is to connect at a good speed.

Modifying Our Setup

So from the previous steps, you’ve been able to determine the following:

  1. The channel your network is on
  2. The security type your network uses
  3. What channels neighboring networks operate on

You should now be able to tweak your network in some way to try and increase it’s strength and range whilst reducing interference. Here are some of my tips to aid you:

  1. If you haven’t already, change your router’s default administration password.
  2. If your network has a rather obscure or default name, change it to something more unique.
  3. Wireless network using WEP? Change it to at least WPA. If possible, use WPA2.
  4. After using WiFi Explorer, find a free (or a less-congested) channel and change your router to it.
  5. If your signal strength is really low, try repositioning your router. Since wireless signals are omnidirectional (meaning it will transmit out in all directions), try placing the router higher up on top of a cabinet or bookcase.
  6. Similar to above, make sure your router isn’t near any source of interference such as a cordless phone or microwave.
  7. If your router has antennas, make sure they’re securely connected.

Additional Resources

There are a couple more apps that I’d like to briefly introduce. These aren’t required for the tutorial we’ve just been through but I’ve found them extremely useful when providing network support and you might too.

Signal - $0.99

Signal continually monitors your wireless network and suggests improvements
Signal continually monitors your wireless network and suggests improvements

Signal runs as a menu bar item and continually gathers information on your wireless network. It can determine if there’s a lot of interference and if the signal is too low. In addition, it will even recommend alternative channels to switch your network to that will work better.

NetSpot - Free

NetSpot allows you to map out your wireless signal
NetSpot allows you to map out your wireless signal

NetSpot will go way beyond what most home users will need but if you need to manage multiple networks in an office or building, it’s absolutely fantastic in maintaining a wireless map. Simply draw a map of your office within NetSpot and set the scale by specifying two points. After that, you can specify where you are on the map and it will take a full wifi reading. Do this enough times in different rooms and you’ll be able to determine where signal black-spots are. It even supports multiple floors.

Wrapping Up

From the utilities I’ve shown you above, you should be able to tweak your wireless network and get a little bit more performance from it. The majority of problems with wireless networking stem from the types of settings we’ve talked about above - more specifically, interference from other networks. If your network misbehaves or doesn’t seem to be as quick or as reliable as it once was, chances are there’s a new network somewhere nearby. With the tools and suggestions above, you’ll be able to keep your wireless network running smoothly.

If you’ve got any other tools and tips on maintaining your wireless network or have some suggestions for best practices, feel free to discuss further in the comments section!

Advertisement