Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Google Docs
Computers

Comment de fusion et publipostage dans Google Docs avec MailChimp

by
Difficulty:BeginnerLength:MediumLanguages:

French (Français) translation by Ermal Yota (you can also view the original English article)

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

La plupart des sites Web et des entreprises, maintenir une liste de diffusion de leurs utilisateurs et leurs clients comme un moyen de communiquer avec eux directement avec les newsletters et offres spéciales. MailChimp est le premier service sur le web pour ce gérant automatiquement, mais il peut encore être un peu écrasante pour commencer à utiliser. Mais pas de soucis. Le nouvel Add-on de MailChimp pour permet de Google Docs, vous concevez un e-mail en utilisant les outils de document, vous êtes déjà habitué à, puis l’envoyer par le biais de MailChimp avec une liste de contacts que vous avez déjà dans une feuille de calcul Google feuilles.

Dans ce tutoriel, que je vais vous montrer comment concevoir un email à envoyer à vos abonnés dans Google Docs, personnalisez-le pour chaque destinataire, alors comment faire pour connecter à votre liste d’envoi de feuilles de Google et envoyer des e-mails via MailChimp. Enfin, vous apprendrez comment vous pouvez suivre la façon dont vos abonnés répondent à votre mail.

Let's get started.

Planification de votre Email

Avant de commencer à concevoir votre email, à que vous devez vous assurer que vous avez une idée de ce que vous voulez ressembler. Une rapide recherche sur Google pour « bulletin d’information électronique » révélera pages d’inspiration pour les mises en page, dessins et modèles. Pour ce tutoriel, nous allons produire un simple email de deux colonnes.

C’est une bonne idée d’esquisser un plan filaire pour votre courrier afin de montrer sa structure de base. Vous pouvez le faire avec crayon et du papier, ou utilisez Google dessins si vous l’avez toujours pour référence.

En voiture aller créer > dessin. Cliquez sur l’icône de forme dans la barre d’outils, puis sélectionnez les formes suivies de la place. Maintenant dessinez un rectangle sur la page pour représenter chaque élément de votre newsletter. Vous devrez sélectionner à nouveau l’outil carré pour chaque case.

Plan mail design in Google Docs Drawing
Plan de la conception de votre courrier en dessin

Cliquez sur l’icône de zone de texte et dessiner un rectangle dans chacun des rectangles que vous avez dessiné. Entrez dans ce type de contenu ira dans chaque boîte. Création d’un modèle filaire est plus utile pour les conceptions plus complexes, ou si vous souhaitez collaborer avec quelqu'un d’autre sur la conception de votre email.

text boxes for mail merged email in Google Draw
Ajouter des zones de texte pour chaque section

Concevoir votre Email

Cliquez sur l’onglet lecteur dans votre navigateur et sélectionnez Créer > Document pour ouvrir un nouveau doc. Cliquez dans le coin supérieur gauche, où il est dit Untitled Document pour lui donner un titre.

Tout d’abord, vous devez dessiner les tableaux dans le document. Selon notre wireframe, nous devons la rangée du haut pour avoir une seule colonne, la deuxième rangée d’avoir deux colonnes et le troisième à avoir une seule colonne.

Dans Google Docs tables doivent avoir le même nombre de lignes dans chaque colonne. Cela signifie que nous aurons besoin de trois tables pour s’adapter à notre disposition. Introduisez le premier. Passez à Table >; insérer un tableau et choisir 1 x 1. Cliquez ci-dessous le tableau qui a été ajouté à votre page, puis ajoutez une autre table mesurant 2 x 1. La répétition avec un troisième tableau mesure 1 x 1.

change font size in google docs
Sélectionnez ce tableau de taille dont vous avez besoin

Pour rendre la colonne de gauche de la table du milieu, environ les deux tiers de la largeur de la page cliquez sur la bordure du tableau qui sépare les deux colonnes et faites-la glisser vers la droite.

add columns in google docs
Faites glisser les bordures pour redimensionner les colonnes

Ajout de contenu

Votre structure de base est maintenant en place et vous pouvez commencer à ajouter votre contenu.

Cliquez sur chacune des tables et entrez tout le contenu dont vous avez besoin, y compris les titres, sous-titres et corps du texte. Vous pouvez laisser sans style, pour l’instant. La hauteur de chaque ligne va augmenter pour s’adapter à votre texte.

Assurez-vous que vous quittez la pièce pour personnaliser l’email dans votre message. Par exemple, ouvrir le texte de la lettre d’information principal avec le mot Hi, puis par la suite, vous pouvez utiliser MailChimp pour insérer le prénom du destinataire à côté d’elle pour qu’ils obtiennent un message d’accueil personnel.

Add your email content
Ajouter le contenu de votre email

Style du texte

Avec votre texte en place, vous pouvez commencer ce style vers le haut. Sélectionnez votre titre, puis cliquez sur l’option Styles dans la barre d’outils puis sélectionnez titre. Cela affectera le style de titre par défaut à l’expression select.

styling your document
Style de votre document dans Google Docs

Pour ajuster le style a changé la taille et autres attributs tel un "BOLD" ou en italique. Pour changer le clic de polices en police option et soit choisir un dans la liste ou cliquez sur plus de polices pour ajouter supplémentaires.

Une fois que vous avez changé le style, cliquez sur le menu déroulant Styles encore une fois, suivie de la flèche en regard du titre. Cliquez sur mise à jour « Title » pour correspondre mettra à jour le style de titre (pour ce document uniquement), assurant à que chaque fois que vous utilisez, il reste cohérent. Vous pouvez le faire pour tous les styles dans le document.

Save styles to keep your template design consistent
Enregistrer votre changement de Style pour maintenir la cohérence de l’ensemble du document

Insertion d’Images

Pour ajouter des images à votre document, qu'il suffit de glisser-déposer depuis votre bureau dans la bonne position dans le fichier. Cela suppose que vous utilisez le navigateur Chrome — dans d’autres navigateurs, vous devrez positionner le curseur au bon endroit, puis sélectionnez Insérer >Image dans la barre de menus.

Sont possible de redimensionner les images dans le document, mais il est préférable de redimensionner à peu près la bonne taille d’abord dans Photoshop ou votre logiciel graphique de choix. En outre, utilisez l’option « Enregistrer pour le web » pour s’assurer que la taille du fichier est maintenue aussi basse que possible.

Votre logo va dans la table supérieure. Vous pouvez également ajouter une ou plusieurs images pour le contenu du corps principal de votre newsletter. Faites-la glisser dans le document et utilisez les poignées dans les coins pour modifier la taille pour s’adapter. On ouvrira aussi un petit menu avec les options en ligne (par défaut), renvoyer le texte et le texte de la pause.

Add images
Faites glisser une image en place depuis votre bureau

En ligne laisse simplement l’image exactement où vous l’avez placé, que ce soit entre les paragraphes ou au milieu d’une phrase. Renvoyer le texte vous permet de positionner l’image dans le côté droit ou gauche de la colonne et d’avoir le texte coulant de l’autre côté de la colonne à côté d’elle. C’est bon pour les images de petit détail. Saut de texte affichera l’image elle-même, avec le texte ci-dessus et en dessous. C’est mieux pour les images plus grandes.

Format your image placement in Google Docs
Formater votre placement image dans Google Docs

Les tableaux de mise en forme

La dernière partie de la création de votre document électronique est pour mettre en forme les tableaux. Chaque table a besoin d’être formatée séparément. Cliquez sur l’une d'entre elles et de passer à Table > propriétés du tableau.

Cliquez sur la bordure du tableau, puis affectez-lui la couleur blanche à donner effectivement masquer la bordure et la conception du donner un regard propre. Définissez également une couleur de fond pour aider séparé les différentes parties de la lettre d’information. Cliquez dans la colonne de droite de la table du milieu, puis choisissez une couleur subtile ; faites de même pour le pied de page, choisir noir cette fois et changer la couleur du texte en blanc.

Tweak google docs table borders
Se débarrasser des frontières table dans Google Docs

Vous pouvez aussi définir la couleur de fond de la table en-tête pour correspondre à la couleur de votre logo.

Une Note sur la conception sensible

Il est à noter que l’utilisation de tableaux dans cette conception donne une largeur fixe à votre newsletter et ne sera pas s’adapter aux différentes tailles d’écran. Ce format aura fière allure sur un ordinateur de bureau, ordinateur portable ou tablette d’affichage, mais si vous pensez que la plupart de vos abonnés seront visualisation votre courrier sur un smartphone alors vous devriez considérer pas du tout à l’aide de tableaux et avoir tout votre contenu dans une seule colonne comme vous le feriez un reg document Word d’Ular.

Fusionner avec une liste de diffusion

Avec votre adresse email complète, vous êtes maintenant prêt à l’envoyer à votre liste de diffusion que vous pouvez faire à l’aide de la fusion par le module MailChimp.

Allez dans modules >; Get Add-ons. Vous pouvez chercher à fusionner et installez-le en cliquant sur le bouton intitulé + gratuit.

Google Docs Add-ons
Choisissez le module de fusion de la galerie le module Google Docs

Maintenant, cliquez sur modules > fusionner par MailChimp > envoyer email et une fenêtre popup seront ouvre. Il y a trois étapes à compléter. Tout d’abord, choisissez le fichier de feuille de Google qui contient votre liste d’envoi. Toutes vos feuilles disponibles s’affiche, cliquer sur la droite un suivi par Select.

pick your contact spreadsheet
Choisissez la feuille de calcul qui contient votre liste d’envoi

Une sidebar va maintenant ouvrir votre document contenant l’app de fusion. Dans les données de l’onglet source Vérifiez que la ligne d’en-tête appropriée a été sélectionnée. Il s’agit de la ligne dans votre feuille de calcul qui contient les en-têtes (par exemple le nom, adresse e-mail, numéro de téléphone) plutôt que les données elles-mêmes.

Vérifiez également que la valeur de colonne adresse Email est orientée vers la colonne de votre feuille de calcul où les adresses électroniques sont stockés.

Pick spreadsheet rows for contact info
Dire à Google Docs les colonnes qui ont vos adresses email

Personnaliser le Mail

Ensuite, ajouter du contenu dynamique à votre courrier pour personnaliser ce. Ouvrez l’onglet Tags fusionner. Les en-têtes de chaque colonne de votre liste de diffusion seront montrés. Un de ceux-ci à votre email ajout ajoutera les données correspondantes pour chacun de vos abonnés. Par exemple, vous pouvez mentionner leur nom, ou ville d’origine ou autre chose, sur que votre formulaire d’inscription liste de diffusion qui leur a été demandé.

Lorsque vous créez le contenu principal pour notre email, nous avons ouvert avec Hi et laissé un espace à côté d’elle. Position du curseur ici puis cliquez sur dans la fusion tags prénom d’onglet (ou quelque balise vous avez qui correspond à cela). Le corps de votre email est maintenant ouvert avec Hi * | Prénom | *, où * | Prénom | * sera modifié pour tout ce que chacun de vos abonnés renseignés dans ce domaine. (Encore une fois, la balise reflétera l’en-tête dans votre feuille de calcul, il est donc * | Nom | * ou * | FirstName | * etc.)

Personalize your emails
Le * | Prénom | * tag sera remplacé par le nom réel de l’utilisateur

Cliquez sur l’onglet info Email et entrez un nom de From, une ligne d’objet pour les e-mails (c’est ce que le destinataire verra s’afficher dans leur boîte de réception, afin de s’assurer que c’est assez fort pour les amener à ouvrir) et votre adresse, qui est tenu de se conformer au spam des lois.

Test et envoi

Enfin, au bas de la fusion, cliquez sidebar Aperçu pour voir à quoi ressemblera votre email, envoyer un essai d’envoyer une copie à vous-même et envoyer l’email à envoyer à votre liste lorsque vous êtes prêt.

Suivi de la réponse

Une fois que vous avez envoyé votre email la sidebar de fusion se transforme en une fonction de suivi. Il est tout à fait une fonctionnalité rudimentaire, vous donnant une ventilation rapide du nombre de vos abonnés ouvert l’email, combien vous cliquez sur le bouton se désabonner et combien de mails a rebondi. Pour obtenir une analyse plus détaillée, vous devez utiliser la version complète de MailChimp place.

Track your email stats in Google Docs
Infos de base suivi montre qui a lu votre courrier

Conclusion

Fusion de MailChimp est un moyen rapide et facile d’envoyer un email de masse à tous vos abonnés. S’il n’est pas aussi complet présenté comme un service complet offert à MailChimp.com, c’est un excellent moyen simple d’utiliser les outils de document, que vous êtes déjà habitué dans Google Docs pour envoyer des courriels de masse à vos clients et bien plus encore.

Faites-nous savoir comment vous mettez MailChimp fusion à utiliser dans les commentaires ci-dessous, ou nous le faire savoir si vous avez besoin d’aide avec son utilisation !

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Hostingheaderbarlogoj
Join InMotion Hosting for $3.49/mo & get a year on Tuts+ FREE (worth $180). Start today.
Advertisement

How to Mail Merge in Google Docs With MailChimp

by
Gift

Want a free year on Tuts+ (worth $180)? Start an InMotion Hosting plan for $3.49/mo.

Final product image
What You'll Be Creating

Most websites and businesses maintaining a mailing list of their users and customers as a means of contacting them directly with newsletters and special offers. MailChimp is the leading service on the web for automatically handling this, but it can still be a bit overwhelming to start using. But no worries. The new MailChimp add-on for Google Docs lets you design an email using the document tools you're already used to, then send it through MailChimp with a list of contacts you already have in a Google Sheets spreadsheet.

In this tutorial I'll show you how to design an email to send to your subscribers in Google Docs, personalize it for each recipient, then how to connect it to your Google Sheets mailing list and send the emails via MailChimp. Finally, you'll learn how you can track how well your subscribers respond to your mail.

Let's get started.

Planning Your Email

Before you get started with designing your email you should make sure you've got an idea of what you want it to look like. A quick Google search for 'email newsletters' will reveal pages of inspiration for layouts and designs. For this tutorial we're going to produce a simple two column email.

It's a good idea to sketch out a wireframe plan for your mail in order to show its basic structure. You can do this with pencil and paper, or use Google Drawings so you've always got it for reference.

In Drive go to Create > Drawing. Click the Shape icon in the toolbar and select Shapes followed by the square. Now draw a rectangle onto the page to represent each element of your newsletter. You'll need to reselect the square tool for each box.

Plan mail design in Google Docs Drawing
Plan the design of your mail in Drawing

Click the Text box icon and draw a box in each of the rectangles you have drawn. Type in what kind of content will go in each box. Creating a wireframe is more useful for more complex designs, or if you are going to be collaborating with someone else on the design on your email.

text boxes for mail merged email in Google Draw
Add text boxes for each section

Design Your Email

Click back on the Drive tab in your browser and select Create > Document to open a new doc. Click in the top left corner where it says Untitled Document to give it a title.

First you need to draw the tables in the document. As per our wireframe we need the top row to have one column, the second row to have two columns and the third to have one column. 

In Google Docs tables must have the same number of rows in each column. This means we will need three tables to fit our layout. Insert the first.  Go to Table > Insert table and choose 1x1. Click below the table that has been added to your page and then add another table measuring 2x1. The repeat with a third table measuring 1x1

change font size in google docs
Select what size table you need

To make the left column of the middle table about two thirds the width of the page click on the table border separating the two columns and drag it to the right.

add columns in google docs
Drag the borders to resize columns

Adding Content

Your basic structure is now in place and you can start adding your content.

Click in each of the tables and enter all the content you need, including titles, sub-headings and body text. You can leave it unstyled for now. The height of each row will increase to fit your text. 

Make sure you leave room for personalising the email within your message. For example, open the main newsletter text with the word Hi, then later on you can use MailChimp to insert the recipient's first name alongside it so they get a personal greeting.

Add your email content
Add your email content

Styling the Text

With your text in place you can start styling it up. Highlight your title, then click on the Styles option in the toolbar and select Title. This will assign the default Title style to the select words.  

styling your document
Styling your document in Google Docs

To adjust the style change the size and other attributes such a Bold or Italics. To change the font click in the Font option and either choose one from a list or click More fonts to add extra ones. 

Once you have changed the style click on the Styles drop-down again, followed by the arrow next to Title. Click Update 'Title' to match will update the Title style (for this document only), ensuring it remains consistent each time you use it. You can do this for all of the styles within the document.

Save styles to keep your template design consistent
Save your Style change to maintain consistency throughout the document

Inserting Images

To add images to your document you simply have to drag and drop them from your desktop into the correct position in the file. This assumes you're using the Chrome browser—in other browsers you'll need to position the cursor in the right spot then select Insert > Image from the menu bar.

Images can be resized in the document, but it's preferable to resize to roughly the right size first in Photoshop or your graphics package of choice. Also, use the 'save for web' option to ensure that the file size is kept as low as possible.

Your logo goes in the top table. You can also add one or more images to the main body content of your newsletter. Drag it into the document and use the handles in the corners to tweak the size to fit. A small menu will also open with the options In line (the default), Wrap text and Break text

Add images
Drag an image into place from your desktop

In line simply leaves the image exactly where you placed it, whether between paragraphs or in the middle of a sentence. Wrap text enables you to position the image in the left or right hand side of the column and having the text flowing alongside it down the other edge of the column. This is good for small detail images. Break text will display the image on its own, with text above and below it. This is better for larger images.

Format your image placement in Google Docs
Format your image placement in Google Docs

Formatting the Tables

The final part of creating your email document is to format the tables. Each table needs to be formatted separately. Click in one of them and go to Table > Table properties.

Click on Table border and set the colour to white to give effectively hide the border and give the design a clean look. Also, set a background colour to help separate the various parts of the newsletter. Click in the right column of the middle table and choose a subtle colour; do the same for the footer, choosing black this time and changing the text colour to white. 

Tweak google docs table borders
Get rid of the table borders in Google Docs

You could also set the background colour of the header table to match the background colour of your logo.

A Note About Responsive Design 

It's worth noting that the use of tables in this design give a fixed width to your newsletter, and won't adjust to different screen sizes. This format will look great on a desktop, laptop or tablet display, but if you think most of your subscribers will be viewing your mail on a smartphone then you should consider not using tables at all, and having all of your content in a single column just as you would a regular Word document. 

Merging With A Mailing List

With your email complete you're now ready to send it to your mailing list, which you can do using the Merge by MailChimp add-on.

Go to Add-ons > Get add-ons. Search for Merge and install it by clicking the button labelled +FREE

Google Docs Add-ons
Pick the Merge add-on from Google Docs' add-on gallery

Now click Add-ons > Merge by MailChimp > Send email and a popup window will open. There's three steps to complete. First, choose the Google Sheet file that contains your mailing list. All of your available Sheets will be displayed, click on the right one followed by Select.

pick your contact spreadsheet
Choose the spreadsheet that contains your mailing list

A sidebar will now open in your document containing the Merge app. In the Data source tab check that the correct Header row has been selected. This is the row in your spreadsheet that contains the headers (eg name, email address, phone number) rather than the data itself.

Also check that the Email address column setting is pointing to the column in your spreadsheet where the email addresses are stored. 

Pick spreadsheet rows for contact info
Tell Google Docs which columns have your email addresses

Personalise the Mail

Next, add dynamic content to your mail to personalise it. Open the Merge Tags tab. The headers for each column of your mailing list will be shown. Adding any of these to your email will add the corresponding data for each of your subscribers. For example you can mention their name, or home town, or anything else your mailing list signup form asked them about.

When creating the main content for our email we opened with Hi and left a space alongside it. Position the cursor here then click in the Merge tags tab First Name (or whatever tag you've got that corresponds to this). The body of your email will now open with Hi *|First Name|*, where *|First Name|* will be changed for whatever each of your subscribers filled in in that field. (Again, the tag will reflect the header in your spreadsheet, so it may be *|Name|* or *|Firstname|* etc.)

Personalize your emails
The *|First Name|* tag will be replaced by the user's actual name

Click on the Email info tab and enter a From name, a Subject line for the email (this is what the recipient will see in their Inbox, so make sure it's strong enough to get them to open it), and your address, which is required to conform to spam laws.

Test And Send

Finally, at the bottom of the Merge sidebar click Preview to see what your email will look like, Send a test to send a copy to yourself, and Send email to send it to your list when you are ready. 

Tracking the Response

Once you have sent your email the Merge sidebar turns into a tracking function. It is quite a rudimentary feature, giving you a quick breakdown of how many of your subscribers opened the email, how many clicked the unsubscribe button and how many mails bounced. To get more detailed analysis you need to use the full version of MailChimp instead.

Track your email stats in Google Docs
Basic tracking info shows who has read your mail

Conclusion

Merge by MailChimp is a quick and easy way of sending a mass email to all your subscribers. While it is not as full featured as the full service offered at MailChimp.com, it's a great simple way to use the document tools you're already used to in Google Docs to send mass emails to your customers and more.

Let us know how you put MailChimp Merge to use in the comments below—or let us know if you need any assistance with using it!

Advertisement