Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Switching & Migration

كيف تقوم بتشغيل Windows على جهاز Mac الخاص بك

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

Arabic (العربية/عربي) translation by Mohammad Al Tahan (you can also view the original English article)

منذ أن قامت Apple بالانتقال إلى معمارية Intel في 2006، أصبحت أجهزة Mac قادرة على تشغيل Windows بشكلٍ أصلي (Natively) من دون الحاجة إلى أي برنامج محاكاة، مثل Microsoft Virtual PC. أعرف أنك تقول الآن، لماذا قد أرغب باستخدام Windows مادام OS X نظام تشغيل مثالي؟ في الواقع، قد يكون هنالك برامج تعمل فقط على Windows (برامج تخصصية مثلاً) أو ربما كنت ترغب فقط بتجربة شيءٍ مختلف عن OS X. دعنا نناقش كيفية تشغيل Windows على Mac الخاص بك بغض النظر عن السبب الذي يدفعك إلى ذلك.

قم بتجربة Parallels Desktop أو VMWare Fusion


اختر الطريقة التي ستقوم بتشغيله باستخدامها

بدون إطالة، هنالك طريقتان لتشغيل Windows على Mac.

  1. يمكنك استعمال Boot Camp من Apple لإنشاء قسم (Partition) خاص بـ Windows على القرص الصلب الموجود في Mac، مما يسمح لك بالإقلاع باستخدام OS X أو Windows عند بدء تشغيل جهاز Mac الخاص بك.
  2. أو يمكنك أن تشغل Windows بنفس الوقت مع OS X باستعمال حزمة بيئة افتراضية (Virtualization Package) مثل Parallels Desktop أو VMWare Fusion.

هنالك مساوئ ومحاسن لكلا الطريقتين. تشغيل Windows باستخدام Boot Camp سيمنحك تجربة مستخدم أفضل قليلاً لأن موارد النظام الموجودة في Mac سيتم استعمالها بشكلٍ حصري من قبل نظام تشغيل واحد، أي Windows، وليس من قبل نظامين. النقطة السيئة في هذه الطريقة هي أنك إذا رغبت باستعمال OS X، فإنه سيكون عليك حفظ كل شيء تعمل عليه في Windows وإعادة تشغيل جهاز Mac. طبعاً سيكون Boot Camp خياراً رائعاً إذا لم تكن تستخدم سوى Windows، لكن إذا أردت استخدام كلا النظامين بنفس الوقت، فهذه الطريقة ليست الخيار الأمثل.

شخصياً، أفضل استعمال برنامج بيئة افتراضية. البرنامجان المسيطران في هذا المجال هما VMWare Fusion وParallels Desktop، وكلاهما يوفران تقريباً نفس الميزات. كما أنك ستكون قادراً على تشغيل أنظمة تشغيلٍ أخرى، مثل Linux، باستعمال هذين البرنامجين (يمكن تشغيل Linux باستخدام Boot Camp، لكنه غير مدعوم من Apple وقد لا يعمل بالشكل الصحيح دوماً.

الشيء الجميل في برامج البيئة الافتراضية هو أن بإمكانك تشغيل كلاً من OS X وWindows بنفس الوقت، وكلا البرمجين يوفران ميزة واجهة Unity والتي من خلالها ستظهر تطبيقات Windows في OS X ويمكن تشغيلها بشكلٍ أصلي، مما يعني أنك لن تكون ملزماً على العمل داخل Windows. لكن هنالك نقطة سيئة في هذه البرامج وهي أنها تستهلك موارد النظام بشكلٍ ضخمٍ جداً، لذا لا تفكر حتى في تجربة تنصيبها على جهاز Mac قديم لأنك ستعاني من جهاز Mac بطيء وخامل وستكون تجربتك لـ Windows غير محتملة.

دعنا ننظر على كيفية القيام بالأمر بكلتا الطريقتين.


تنصيب Windows باستعمال Boot Camp

قبل تنصيب Windows باستعمال Boot Camp، ستحتاج إلى التأكد من بعض الأمور أولاً.

  1. تأكد أولاً من امتلاكك لنسخة (أصلية) من Windows على قرص إقلاع. لا يمكنك تنزيل Windows من على صورة قرص (Disk image) (على عكس برامج البيئة الافتراضية).
  2. قم بعمل نسخة احتياطية لكامل جهاز Mac باستخدام Time Machine.
  3. قم بتوفير قرص فارغ أو ذاكرة فلاش USB لكي يتمكن Boot Camp من تنصيب برامج تعريف Windows المناسبة لمكونات جهاز Mac الخاص بك (لوحة المفاتيح، بطاقة الصوتيات، بطاقة الرسوميات والامور المشابهة).
  4. ستحتاج إلى 16 جيجا بايت من المساحة الفارغة على الأقل في القرص الصلب الموجود في Mac (لا يمكن التنصيب على أقراص خارجية) لكي تنصب نسخة 32 بت من Windows، و 20 جيجابايت على الأقل لتنصيب نسخة 64 بت. إذا لم تكن متأكداً من معدل البتات الخاص بـ Windows الذي تريد تنصيبه، فقم بالبحث عنه في القرص أو في العلبة الخارجية الخاصة به. معظم أقراص التنصيب اليوم تحتوي على كلا النسختين (جهاز Mac الخاص بك سيكون 64 بت على الأغلب).

قم الآن بالانتقال إلى مساعد Boot Camp الموجود في مجلد الأدوات المساعدة (Utilities) (أراهن بأنك لم تنتبه إليه من قبل) وقم بتشغيله. ستحتاج إلى أذونات المسؤول الخاصة بجهاز Mac قبل أن تفكر بالعمل مع هذا المساعد.

Boot Camp AssistantBoot Camp AssistantBoot Camp Assistant

أول ما ستحتاج إليه هو إنشاء قسم خاص بـ Windows. يجب أن تكون مساحته 5 جيجا بايت على الأقل، ويجب أن تترك أيضاً 5 جيجا بايت مساحة فارغة على Mac خاصتك بعد اكتمال عملية التنصيب. طبعاً يعتمد الحجم على ما ستقوم باستعمال Windows من أجله. إذا كنت تريد استعماله لتشغيل أمور متقدمة ومتطورة، فقم بزيادة حجم الجزء إلى 50-60 جيجا بايت على الأقل (تذكر أن Windows قد يستهلك 10-15 جيجا بايت من المساحة بحسب ما قمت بتنصيبه). بعد اختيار الحجم المثالي، اضغط على تقسيم (Partition).

PartitioningPartitioningPartitioning

سيبدأ Boot Camp بإنشاء القسم الموجود على القرص الصلب من أجل Windows. وبالرغم من OS X قادر على رؤية هذا القسم (وبإمكانك الوصول إلى الملفات الموجودة عليه) إلا أنه ليس بإمكانك استعماله من أجل OS X.

حال انتهاء Boot Camp من إعداد القسم، سيُطلبُ منك إدراج قرص التنصيب الخاص بـ Windows (تذكر، لا يمكن لـ Boot Camp العمل على صور أقراص ISO) وإعادة التشغيل. ستتم إعادة تشغيل Mac وبعد ذلك سيتم تحميل برنامج تثبيت Windows.

Windows 7 BootcampWindows 7 BootcampWindows 7 Bootcamp

عند اختيار مكان تثبيت Windows، تذكر أن تختار القسم الذي قام Boot Camp بإنشائه للتو (والذي من المفترض أن يكون اسمه BOOTCAMP). قد يطلب منك تهيئة القسم قبل تثبيت Windows (معظم نسخ Windows تنصح باستعمال نظام ملفات NTFS، ولكن هذا النظام غير مدعوم على OS X من دون استعمال برامج من مصدر ثالث، ولكن بإمكانك تهيئته بالشكل الذي يحلو لك). قم بتشغيل مثبت Windows بالشكل المعتاد ودع جهاز Mac الخاص بك يقلع إلى Windows.

سيكون عليك الآن تثبيت برامج التعريف الضرورية الخاصة بجهاز (لوحة المفاتيح، كاميرا الويب، بطاقة الصوتيات إلخ). لا تقلق -- سيتم إجراء كل ذلك بشكلٍ أوتوماتيكي. يجب أن تبحث عن قرص تثبيت OS X الذي أخذته مع جهاز Mac خاصتك، لأن كل برامج التعريف موجودةٌ عليه. قم بإدخاله واتبع التعليمات الظاهرة على الشاشة.

ستحد في Boot Camp أن كل اختصارات لوحة المفاتيح في جهاز Mac خاصتك (مثل رفع الصوت، تخفيض الصوت وإخراج القرص) تعمل في Windows كما ستجد أنه يحاكي لوحة المفاتيح الافتراضية الخاصة بالحواسيب الشخصية (ويشمل ذلك الاختصار Control+Alt+Delete لإغلاق التطبيقات غير المستجيبة). معظم الأجهزة الخارجية ستعمل أيضاً (ويشمل ذلك Magic Mouse،لن تعمل بعض الإيماءات (Gestures) بالشكل الذي كنت معتاداً عليه في OS X) ومعظم البرامج متوافقة. لكن كن حذراً عند استعمال خدمات نسخ احتياطي من أطراف ثالثة، لأن بعضاً منها قد يعطب القسم الخاص بـ Windows، لذا تحقق من توافقيتها مع Boot Camp قبل التثبيت.

حال إعداد كل شيء بالشكل الصحيح، ستكون قادراً على استعمال Windows بحريةٍ تامة! يمكنك اختيار نظام التشغيل الذي تريد الإقلاع منه عن طريق النقر المطول على مفتاح Option عند تشغيل جهاز Mac الخاص بك - يجب أن تظهر شاشة مع خياري إقلاع. إذا أدرت تعيين نظام تشغيل افتراضي للإقلاع منه، انتقل إلى تفضيلات النظام (System Preferences) ومن ثم قرص بدء تشغيل (Startup Disk) واختر القرص الذي ترغب بجعله القرص الافتراضي.


تشغيل Windows باستخدام بيئة افتراضية

أنصح بشدة باستخدام واحدٍ من الخيارات المدفوعة، لأن الأداء سيكون أفضل بكثير.

الخيار الثاني المتوافر لديك هو تشغيل Windows بشكل افتراضي باستخدام برنامج بيئة افتراضية. هنالك خياران مدفوعان قويان في السوق، VMWare Fusion و Parallels Desktop، بالإضافة إلى خيار مجاني وهو VirtualBox. إذا كنت تنوي استعمال Windows لفتراتٍ قصيرةٍ فقط، فقم باستعمال VirtualBox - يوفر هذا البرنامج ما يعد به بشكلٍ كبير كما أنه تنصيبه سهل وسريع. لكن إذا كنت تريد استعمال Windows على جهاز Mac خاصتك لفترات طويلة من الزمن (أو إذا كنت تريد تشغيل تطبيقات متطورة، مثل الألعاب) فأنصح بشدة باستعمال واحدٍ من الخيارات المدفوعة، لأن الاداء سيكون أفضل بكثير.

لا يوجد فرق كبير بين Fusion و Parallels Desktop وفي النهاية سيعود الأمر إلى ما تفضله شخصياً. كلاهما يدعمان النسخة الأخيرة من Windows (وهي Windows 8) وكلاهما ملائمان لـ Montain LIon وشاشات عرض Retina الموجودة على MacBook Pro. يمكنك أن تقضي ساعات وأنت تقرأ المقارنات التقنية الطويلة بين المنتجين، لكن في الواقع لا يوجد هذا الاختلاف الكبير بينهما.

قبل أن تقرر تشغيل Windows باستخدام بيئة افتراضية، ستحتاج إلى التأكد من أن جهاز Mac الخاص بك قادر على ذلك. ستحتاج إلى معالج سريع وإلى وفرة من ذاكرة الوصول العشوائي RAM (على الأقل 4 جيجا بايت) لأنه كما تعرف، سيكون على جهاز تشغيل نظامي تشغيل وكل حزم البيئات الافتراضية تبتلع كميات هائلة من موارد الجهاز. من الأفضل أن تطلع على مواصفات النظام المستحسنة على مواقع الدعم الخاصة بـ VMWare أو Parallels (انقر على تبويبة System Requirements)، والتفاصيل الخاصة بـ VirtualBox موجودة هنا، ولكنها ليست مفصلة بشكلٍ كبير).

عندما تستخدم برامج البيئة الافتراضية، ستتمكن عادةً من إعداد Windows باستخدام صورة قرص (ملف ISO) أو من قرص التنصيب الأصلي. يمكنك تنصيب أنظمة تشغيل أخرى أيضاً (مثل Linux) - اطلع على التوثيق الخاص بالبرنامج لمعرفة أنظمة التشغيل المدعومة. في هذا الدرس سأريك كيفية تثبيت وتشغيل Windows 8 باستخدام VMWare Fusion 5 (لاحظ أن النسخ السابقة من Windows تمتلك عملية تثبيت مشابهة).


إنشاء آلة افتراضية (Virtual Machine) جديدة

قم بتشغيل VMWare Fusion ثم انقر على File ثم New (أو قم بالضغط على Command + N بدلاً من ذلك). سيظهر لك New Virtual Machine Assistant (مساعد إنشاء آلة افتراضية جديدة).

New Virtual Machine AssistantNew Virtual Machine AssistantNew Virtual Machine Assistant

إذا كنت تثبت Windows من CD أو DVD، فقم بإدخاله إلى فتحة الأقراص في جهاز Mac خاصتك في هذه المرحلة. سيقوم Fuison باكتشاف نظام التشغيل المطلوب تثبيته وسيتابع العملية بشكلٍ تلقائي. إذا كنت تريد تنصيبه من صورة قرص (مثلي)، فانقر على Continue without disc (المتابعة دون قرص).

في النافذة التالية، ستحتاج إلى اختيار صورة القرص. استمر واضغط على Use operating system installation disc or image (استعمال صورة أو قرصت تثبيت لنظام تشغيل) واختر ملف الصورة (بتنسيق ISO عادةً) الذي ترغب بتثبيته، واضغط على Continue (متابعة).

Select Windows 8Select Windows 8Select Windows 8

قم بتأكيد نظام التشغيل الذي اخترته في مربع الحوار التالي (تأكد من أن Fusion حدد بدقة ما إذا كنت تخطط لتشغيل نسخة 32 بت أو 64 بت من Windows: النسخ 64 بت يشار إليها بعبارة x86 في Fusion).

Windows 8 SettingsWindows 8 SettingsWindows 8 Settings

سيطلب منك بعد ذلك اختيار اسم مستخدم وكلمة مرور لحساب Windows الخاص بك، كما سيطلب منك إدخال مفتاح الترخيص (License Key) المرفق بالبرنامج الخاص بك. لكي توفر على نفسك الكثير من الوقت والعناء اختر خيار Easy Install (التنصيب السهل) - سيقوم Fusion بتثبيت كل برامج التعريف بشكلٍ تلقائي مما يضمن حصولك على أفضل تجربة على آلة Windows الإفتراضية الخاصة بك.

Easy InstallEasy InstallEasy Install

بعد هذه الخطوة، ستتمكن من اختيار مستوى التكامل بين Mac الخاص بك وآلة Windows الافتراضية. شخصياً، سأختار More Seamless (أكثر سلاسة) لأنه يسمح بمشاركة الوثائق والتطبيقات بسهولة بين نظامي التشغيل، لكن إذا كنت تريد تشغيل Windows للقيام فقط ببعض المهام، ولست مهتماً بمشاركة الوثائق (أو لا تنزعج من سحب وإسقاط الملفات التي تحتاجها) فاختر More Isolated (أكثر انفصالاً).

Integration LevelIntegration LevelIntegration Level

سيظهر Fusion الإعدادات الإفتراضية الخاصة بنظام التشغيل الذي قمت باختياره (في حالة Windows 8، سيستعمل 1 جيجا بايت من الذاكرة وسينشئ آلة افتراضية مع 60 جيجا بايت من مساحة التخزين على جهاز Mac الخاص بي). إذا أردت تخصيص هذه الإعدادات، فانقر على Customize Settings (تخصيص الإعدادات). سيظهر بعد ذلك لك لوحة Preference (تفضيلات)، والمشابهة لتفضيلات النظام في OS X، والتي تمكنك من تخصيص وتعديل آلتك الافتراضية بالشكل الذي يحلو لك.

Windows 8 SettingsWindows 8 SettingsWindows 8 Settings

يمكنك هنا مثلاً أن تختار كمية الذاكرة الافتراضية التي ستستعملها الآلة الافتراضية الخاصة بك (كلما زادت كلما كان ذلك أفضل)، إعدادات الشبكة المطلوب استعمالها، وخيارات أخرى. إذا كن تستخدم Fusion لأول مرة فاترك هذه الإعدادات كما هي - العبث بها قد يسبب بطئاً في آلتك الافتراضية.

بعد الانتهاء من تعديل آلتك الافتراضية بالشكل الذي يعجبك، اضغط على Finish (إنهاء)، اختر موقعاً لحفظ آلتك الافتراضية (إذا كان Mac الخاص بك يحتوي على وحدة تخزين SSD، فأنصح بحفظها فيه بحيث يمكن الوصول إلى الملفات بسرعة) واضغط على OK. سيقوم Fusion بتشغيل مثبت Windows - قم فقط بإتباع التعليمات لتثبيت وتشغيل Windows!

Windows 8 SetupWindows 8 SetupWindows 8 Setup

حال تثبيتك لـ Windows وإعداد كل شيء، سيطلب Fusion منك تثبيت VMWare Tools، والتي تجعل آلاتك الافتراضية سلسلة أكثر وتسهل من تشغيلها. ليس عليك تثبيت هذه الأدوات، لكن أنصح بشدة بالقيام بذلك. إذا لم ترغب بتثبيتها مباشرةً، فإن بإمكانك دوماً أن تنقر على Virtual Machine وبعد ذلك Install VMWare Tools... وتنصيب الأدوات التي تريدها.

قم بتجربة Parallels Desktop أو VMWare Fusion.


استمتع باستعمال Windows!

الخطوة الأخيرة هي الاستمتاع باستعمال Windows! ستجد بعد فترة أنه مهما كانت الطريقة التي قمت باستعمالها (سواءً كانت Boot Camp أو حزمة بيئة افتراضية مثل VMWare Fusion) فإن التكامل مع جهاز Mac الخاص بك سيكون في أعلى مستوياته، وأحياناً ستختبر تجربةً أفضل من تشغيله على حاسوب محمول مزود بنسخة Mac خاصة به!

أتمنى أن يكون هذا الدليل قد سهل عليك عملية التثبيت قليلاً. الأمر ليس بهذه الصعوبة - كل ما عليك القيام به هو اتباع الخطوات من دون اختصارها، لأن عذا قد يخرب كلاً من OS X وWindows على جهاز Mac خاصتك! وكما هو الحال دائماً، أرجو أن تشاركنا أي نصائح مفيدة أو تعليقات لإفادة قرائنا في قسم التعليقات في الأسفل.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Video icon 64
Learn to code with practical video courses from Tuts+. Start your free trial today.
Advertisement

How to Run Windows on Your Mac

by
Student iconAre you a student? Get a yearly Tuts+ subscription for $45 →

Ever since Apple switched to Intel architecture back in 2006, Macs have been able to run Microsoft Windows natively without any kind of emulation software, such as Microsoft Virtual PC. Why would you want to use Windows, I hear you scream, when OS X is a perfectly good operating system? Well, you might have some software that only works on Windows (specialist software, for example) or you may just fancy a change from OS X. Whatever your reason, let's see how you can get Windows up and running on your Mac.


Choose How You're Going to Run It

In short, there are two ways of running Windows on your Mac.

  1. You can use Apple's Boot Camp to create a Windows partition on your Mac's hard drive, allowing you to boot either into OS X or Windows when you start your Mac.
  2. You can run Windows side-by-side using a virtualization package such as Parallels Desktop or VMWare Fusion.

Both ways have their advantages and disadvantages, of course. Running Windows under Boot Camp will give you a slightly better user experience as your Mac's system resources are being used exclusively for one operating system, Windows, not two. The disadvantage is that if you want to use OS X, you will have to save everything you're doing in Windows and reboot your Mac. Of course, Boot Camp is great if you're going to be using nothing but Windows, but if you want to use both Windows and OS X side-by-side, then it isn't an ideal option.

Personally, I would recommend a virtualization program. The two leaders out there are VMWare Fusion and Parallels Desktop, and both of them offer pretty much the same set of features. You've also got the beauty of being able to run other operating systems, such as Linux, using these programs (Linux can be run under Boot Camp, however it isn't supported by Apple and can be a bit temperamental).

The beauty about virtualization programs is that you can run both OS X and Windows side-by-side, and both programs feature a "Unity" interface whereby your Windows applications appear in OS X and can be launched natively, meaning you aren't committed to working inside Windows. The disadvantage about these programs is, however, that they hog system resources like there's no tomorrow, so don't even try installing it on an older Mac as you'll experience a lethargic, sluggish Mac and your Windows experience will be pretty unbearable.

Either way, let's take a look at how to do it.


Installing Windows Using Boot Camp

Before we start installing Windows using Boot Camp, you'll need to make sure of a couple of things first.

  1. Make sure you've got a (legal) copy of Windows on a bootable disk. You can't install Windows from a disk image (unlike virtualization software).
  2. Back up your Mac completely using Time Machine.
  3. Grab either a blank disk or a USB stick so that Boot Camp can install the Windows drivers for your Mac's hardware (keyboard, sound card, graphics card and so on).
  4. You'll need at least 16 GB of free space on your Mac's hard disk (no installing to external drives here) for 32-bit versions of Windows, and at least 20 GB free for 64-bit versions. If you're unsure what "bit" rating your Windows is, check on the box or on the disk. Most installation disks nowadays come with both versions included (your Mac will most probably want 64-bit).

Now, go into the Boot Camp Assistant, which is located in your Utilities folder (bet you never saw it before!) and fire it up. You'll need to have administrator rights to your Mac before you start tinkering around with it.

Boot Camp Assistant

The first thing you'll need to do is create a partition for Windows. It needs to be at least 5 GB in size and also leave 5 GB of free space on your Mac after the installation is completed. Of course, the size you'll need depends on what you're going to be using Windows for. If you're going to use it for loads of high-end stuff, then whack up the partition size to at least 50 – 60 GB (remember, Windows can take up to around 10-15 GB of space depending on what's installed). After you've chosen your ideal size, click on Partition.

Partitioning

Boot Camp will then start partitioning a portion of your Mac's hard disk drive for Windows. Although this partition can still be seen by the OS X operating system (and you can access files from it), you can't use it for OS X.

Once Boot Camp has finished partitioning, you'll then be prompted to insert your Windows installation disk (remember, Boot Camp won't work from ISO disk images) and restart. Your Mac will then restart and load up Windows setup.

Windows 7 Bootcamp

When selecting the destination for Windows, remember to select the partition that Boot Camp has just created for you (which should be labeled BOOTCAMP). You may also need to format it before installing Windows (most versions of Windows recommend the NTFS file system, which is unsupported by OS X without the use of third-party software, however you can format it how you like). Run the Windows installation procedure as normal and let your Mac boot up into Windows.

You will then have to install the relevant drivers for your Mac's hardware (keyboard, webcam, sound card etc.). Don't worry – this is all done automatically for you. You'll need to dig out the OS X install disk that came with your Mac, as all the drivers are on there. Insert it and follow the on-screen instructions.

You'll find under Boot Camp that hot keys on your Mac (such as volume up, volume down and disk eject) all work under Windows and that it emulates a default PC keyboard (including Control+Alt+Delete for closing applications that are unresponsive). Most external devices also work (including the Magic Mouse, although not using the gestures you are used to in OS X) and most software is compatible. Be wary, though, about using third-party backup services, as these can sometimes corrupt the Windows partition, so before installing, check their compatibility with Boot Camp.

Once you've set everything up, then you are free to use Windows! You can choose which operating system to boot up by holding down the Option key when you power up your Mac - a screen should appear with the two boot options. If you wish to set a default operating system to boot up into, then go to System Preferences then Startup Disk and select which disk you would like as default.


Running Windows Virtually

I'd highly recommend going for one of the paid options, as you'll find the performance a lot better.

The second option available to you is running Windows virtually using a virtualization software. There are a couple of decent commercial options out there on the market, VMWare Fusion and Parallels Desktop, along with a free option VirtualBox. If you are just going to be running Windows for short periods of time, then grab VirtualBox – it pretty much does what it says on the tin and it's quick and easy to install. But, if you're going to be using Windows on your Mac for longer periods of time (or if you want it to run high-end apps, such as games) then I'd highly recommend going for one of the paid options, as you'll find the performance a lot better.

There really isn't much difference between Fusion and Parallels Desktop and at the end of the day, it really boils down to personal preference. Both support the latest version of Windows (Windows 8) and both are optimized for Mountain Lion and the Retina display on the MacBook Pro. You could spend hours reading through long technical comparisons of the two products, but really, there's not much there.

Before you decide to run Windows virtually, you'll need to make sure your Mac is up for it. You'll need a fast processor and plenty of RAM (I'd recommend a minimum of 4 GB) because remember, your Mac is now having to run two operating systems and all virtualization packages are often massive resource hogs. A good way to do this is to check the recommend system specifications on either VMWare or Parallels (click on the System Requirements tab) support sites (details on VirtualBox can be found here, but they are less specific).

With virtualization packages, you can usually set up Windows from either a disk image (ISO file) or from the original installation disk. You can also install other operating systems as well (such as Linux) – check your software's documentation for supported operating systems. For this tutorial, however, I'm going to show you how to get Windows 8 up and running on VMWare Fusion 5 (note that previous versions of Windows have a similar setup procedure).


Creating a New Virtual Machine

Load up VMWare Fusion and click on File then New (alternatively, press Command + N). You will be presented with the New Virtual Machine Assistant.

New Virtual Machine Assistant

If you're installing Windows from a CD or DVD, then insert it into your Mac's disk slot at this stage. Fusion will then detect the operating system being installed and continue automatically. If you're going to be installing it from a disk image (like I am), then click on Continue without disc.

In the next window, you will need to select your disk image. Go ahead and click on Use operating system installation disc or image and select the image file (usually in the ISO format) that you would like to install, then click on Continue.

Select Windows 8

Confirm the operating system of choice in the next dialogue (make sure Fusion has accurately identified whether you are planning to run a 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows: 64-bit versions are denoted by the term x86 in Fusion).

Windows 8 Settings

You'll then be asked to choose a username and password for your Windows account, plus enter the license key that came with your software. To save yourself a lot of extra time and effort, go for the Easy Install option – Fusion will automatically install all drivers so you get the best experience from your Windows virtual machine.

Easy Install

After this step, you can choose the level of integration between your Mac and your Windows virtual machine. Personally, I would go for More Seamless as it allows you to share documents and applications easily across both operating systems, but if you are simply going to be running Windows for a few tasks, and aren't bothered about sharing documents (or if you don't mind dragging and dropping relevant files) then go for the More Isolated option.

Integration Level

Fusion will then show you the default settings for the operating system you have chosen (in the case of Windows 8, it will use a maximum of 1 GB of RAM and create a virtual machine with 60 GB of storage space on my Mac). If you want to customize these, then click on Customize Settings. You will then be presented with a Preference pane, similar to the System Preferences in OS X, where you can customize and tweak your virtual machine to your liking.

Windows 8 Settings

Here, for example, you can choose how much RAM your virtual machine will use (the more the better), what network settings should be used and others. If you're just starting off using Fusion then leave the settings as they are – tinkering around with them may cause your virtual machine to be slow or sluggish.

After you've finished tailoring your virtual machine to your liking, click on Finish, choose a location to save your virtual machine (if you've got an SSD drive in your Mac, then I'd recommend saving it there so files can be accessed quicker) then click on OK. Fusion will then boot up Windows setup – just follow the instructions to get Windows up and running!

Windows 8 Setup

Once you've installed Windows and got everything setup, Fusion will prompt you to install VMWare Tools, which makes your virtual machine smoother and easier to run. You don't have to install them , but I would highly recommend that you do so. If you don't want to install them straight away, then you can always click on Virtual Machine then click on Install VMWare Tools... and install them whenever you want.


Enjoy Using Windows!

The final step now is to enjoy using Windows! You'll soon find that with whatever method you are using (no matter where it is Boot Camp or a virtualization software package such as VMWare Fusion) the integration with your Mac is seamless, and sometimes it can be a better experience than running it on a dedicated Windows laptop!

I hope this guide has made the setup process a bit easier. It's not really that difficult – all you really have to do is follow the steps and don't take shortcuts, otherwise this could screw up both your Windows and OS X installations on your Mac! As always, please feel free to share any handy tips or comments for the benefits of our readers in the comments section below.

Advertisement