7 days of unlimited WordPress themes, plugins & graphics - for free!* Unlimited asset downloads! Start 7-Day Free Trial
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Mac

Wie Sie Ihren Mac verkaufen können

Scroll to top
Read Time: 11 mins

German (Deutsch) translation by Federicco Ancie (you can also view the original English article)

Bereits im Juli habe ich eine vollständige Anleitung zum Kauf Ihres ersten Mac geschrieben - von der Auswahl des genauen Modells über Anpassungsmöglichkeiten bis hin zu empfohlenem Zubehör. Heute schauen wir uns das Gegenteil an: Wie Sie Ihren Mac für den Verkauf vorbereiten und vorbereiten. Es gibt einige Dinge, die Sie beachten müssen, bevor Sie sich von Ihrem treuen Begleiter verabschieden. Mal sehen, was sie sind.


Warum verkaufen Sie Ihren Mac?

Aus einem Grund möchten Sie Ihren Mac irgendwann verkaufen, entweder für ein Upgrade auf ein schnelleres oder neueres Modell oder (wehe) Sie wechseln wieder zu Windows.

Ein interessanter Punkt, um mit diesem Tutorial zu beginnen, ist, dass Macs nicht so viel an Wert verlieren wie PCs, und Sie werden feststellen, dass Sie beim Verkauf Ihres Mac oft einen großen Teil dessen zurückerhalten können, wofür Sie tatsächlich bezahlt haben es zurück.

Dies ist hauptsächlich auf den jährlichen Aktualisierungszyklus zurückzuführen, auf die Tatsache, dass Macs nur von einem Unternehmen, Apple, hergestellt werden, und darauf, dass sie zunächst relativ teuer sind.

Bevor Sie Ihren Mac verkaufen, nehmen Sie sich einen Moment Zeit, um zu überlegen, warum Sie ihn verkaufen.

Bevor Sie Ihren Mac verkaufen, nehmen Sie sich einen Moment Zeit, um zu überlegen, warum Sie ihn verkaufen. Wenn Sie auf ein neues Modell upgraden möchten, lesen Sie unbedingt den äußerst umfassenden Einkaufsführer zu MacRumors, der den durchschnittlichen Aktualisierungszyklus jedes Mac-Produkts berücksichtigt und eine automatische Empfehlung zum Kauf des Produkts (dh des Produkts) erstellt wurde gerade aktualisiert) oder nicht (dh eine Aktualisierung steht unmittelbar bevor).

Die meisten Apple-Produkte werden jährlich aktualisiert, und Macs werden normalerweise im Juni aktualisiert (iMac und Mac Pro haben zwei Ausnahmen). Wenn Sie also vorhaben, Ihren Mac zu verkaufen, sollten Sie dies kurz vor der Ankündigung von Apple tun Bargeld ist fertig und wartet auf Ihrem Bankkonto!


Entscheiden, wie man es verkauft

Beim Verkauf Ihres Mac kann er zwei Schicksale erleiden:

  1. Sie können es über Websites wie eBay oder Craigslist als voll funktionsfähigen Computer an jemanden verkaufen, der ein Schnäppchen machen möchte.
  2. Sie können es an eine Inzahlungnahmefirma wie Gazelle verkaufen, die es häufig für Ersatzteile zerlegt.

Beide Methoden haben natürlich Vor- und Nachteile. Oft erhalten Sie einen höheren Preis, wenn Sie es als gebrauchten Computer verkaufen. Es ist jedoch nicht garantiert, dass Ihr Mac verkauft wird, und es ist viel unpraktischer, als ihn einfach an ein Trade-In-Unternehmen zu verkaufen, bei dem Sie so gut wie garantiert sind, dass er zu einem bestimmten Preis verkauft wird. Natürlich wird dieser Preis niedriger sein. Sie haben jedoch die Gewissheit, dass (oft) nichts schief gehen kann.

Um sicherzustellen, dass Sie den besten Preis für Ihren Mac erhalten, schauen Sie sich um und recherchieren Sie zuerst. Wenn Sie es für Ersatzteile verkaufen möchten, besuchen Sie einige verschiedene Websites (einschließlich Apples eigenem Recycling-Programm), da die Preise zwischen verschiedenen Websites (manchmal stark) variieren können.

Wenn Sie es als gebrauchten Computer verkaufen möchten, sehen Sie sich den Durchschnittspreis auf Websites wie eBay an (auf der Website gibt es sogar ein praktisches Werkzeug, mit dem Sie den Durchschnittspreis für Ihren Artikel bei eBay sowie die Anzahl der derzeit verfügbaren Artikel ermitteln können aufgeführt), um sicherzustellen, dass Sie Ihren potenziellen Kunden nicht verarschen und dass der Preis, den Sie erhalten, mit dem übereinstimmt, was alle anderen verlangen.

Unabhängig davon, welche Verkaufsmethode Sie verwenden, müssen Sie die genauen Details Ihres Mac kennen (z. B. Prozessorgeschwindigkeit, Festplattenkapazität, installierter RAM usw.) und eine angemessene Aussage zum Zustand Ihres Mac machen. Um mehr über die technischen Daten Ihres Mac zu erfahren, gehen Sie im Apple-Menü in der oberen linken Ecke Ihres Bildschirms zu "Über diesen Mac" und klicken Sie auf "Weitere Informationen", um die Prozessorgeschwindigkeit, den Speicher und die Grafikkarte Ihres Mac anzuzeigen Informationen und mehr.

About This MacAbout This MacAbout This Mac
Über diesen Mac erhalten Sie viele nützliche Informationen über Ihren Mac.

Das andere, was Sie ebenfalls wissen müssen, ist die Kennung des Modells Ihres Mac. Da Apple verschiedene Versionen seines Produkts unter demselben Namen herstellt (der erste iMac im Jahr 1998 kann immer noch als "iMac" bezeichnet werden), müssen Sie genau wissen, wie Ihre Kennung lautet, damit Sie den richtigen Preis dafür erhalten Ihr Produkt!

System ProfilerSystem ProfilerSystem Profiler
Der System Profiler

Klicken Sie dazu einfach im oben beschriebenen Fenster Über diesen Mac auf Systembericht. Stellen Sie sicher, dass die Registerkarte Hardware ausgewählt ist. Sie sollte in der zweiten Zeile unten angezeigt werden (wie im obigen Screenshot hervorgehoben). Wenn Sie sich immer noch nicht sicher sind, führt Wikipedia eine gute Tabelle mit Modellspezifikationen (siehe ein Beispiel für mein MacBook). Sie müssen lediglich das Jahr und Ihre Spezifikationen abgleichen, um dies herauszufinden.

Vorbereiten Ihres Mac für den Verkauf

Bevor Sie sich von Ihrem Mac verabschieden, müssen Sie einige Dinge tun, um sicherzustellen, dass er vollständig sauber und frei von potenziell sensiblen Daten ist!


Schritt 1: Sichern Sie alle Ihre Daten

Es tut uns leid, dass Sie das Offensichtliche angegeben haben, aber stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie auf allen Laufwerken Ihres Mac eine vollständige Time Machine-Sicherung ausführen, da es nichts Schlimmeres gibt, als herauszufinden, dass diese wertvollen Dateien in Ihrem Home-Ordner während des Formats gelöscht wurden.

Tipp: Ich persönlich würde empfehlen, bis zu zwei separate externe Festplatten zu sichern, falls eines bei Ihnen ausfällt (mir ist das schon einmal passiert). Wenn Sie Mountain Lion ausführen, können Sie direkt von Time Machine aus auf mehrere Ziele sichern.


Schritt 2: Übertragen Sie alle Ihre Daten auf Ihren neuen Mac (optional)

Wenn Sie bereits einen neuen Mac gekauft haben, können Sie alle Ihre Benutzerkonten, Anwendungen und Computereinstellungen über Ihr lokales Netzwerk auf Ihr neues Modell übertragen, um die Probleme beim Wiederherstellen Ihres alten Systems aus einer Time Machine-Sicherung zu vermeiden Beide Macs sind entweder mit demselben Netzwerk (z. B. demselben drahtlosen Netzwerk) verbunden oder über ein Ethernet-Kabel direkt miteinander verbunden.

Apple Migration AssistantApple Migration AssistantApple Migration Assistant
Mit dem Migrationsassistenten können Sie alle Ihre Anwendungen, Dokumente und Einstellungen auf Ihren neuen Mac übertragen.

Der Migrationsassistent, der sich im Ordner Dienstprogramme auf Ihrem Mac befindet, erledigt dies alles für Sie, und das Durchgehen ist ein Kinderspiel. Wenn Sie sich immer noch nicht sicher sind, können Sie detaillierte Anweisungen von der Apple Support-Website abrufen.

Wenn Sie Ihren Mac noch nicht gekauft haben, machen Sie sich keine Sorgen, da durch das Wiederherstellen aus einem Time Machine-Backup alle Ihre Anwendungen, Dokumente und Einstellungen automatisch für Sie wiederhergestellt werden.


Schritt 3: Deaktivieren Sie Ihr iTunes-Konto (und alle anderen Konten).

Bevor Sie mit dem Löschen Ihres Mac beginnen, deaktivieren Sie Ihren Mac am besten von Ihrem iTunes-Konto (wenn Sie ihn natürlich verwenden). Obwohl der neue Besitzer Ihres Mac ohne Ihre iTunes-Anmeldeinformationen (d.h. Ihre Apple-ID und Ihr Kennwort) nicht auf Ihre persönlichen Daten zugreifen kann, ist Ihr Computer weiterhin zum Abspielen Ihrer Musik berechtigt, und Sie haben möglicherweise später Probleme, Ihren neuen Mac zu autorisieren.

iTunes DeauthorizeiTunes DeauthorizeiTunes Deauthorize
Durch Deaktivieren von iTunes können Sie verwalten, auf welchen Computern Musik, Videos, Hörbücher oder andere Inhalte abgespielt werden können.

Starten Sie dazu iTunes, klicken Sie auf das Store-Menü und klicken Sie dann auf Diesen Computer deaktivieren. Sie werden aufgefordert, Ihre iTunes-Anmeldeinformationen erneut einzugeben. Anschließend erhalten Sie eine Bestätigungsmeldung, dass Ihr Mac nicht autorisiert wurde.

Gleiches gilt auch für Dienstprogramme wie Dropbox oder Programme mit Seriennummern. Es gibt nichts Schlimmeres, als zu versuchen, Photoshop auf Ihrem neuen Computer zu installieren und die Meldung "Die von Ihnen eingegebene Seriennummer wird bereits verwendet" zu erhalten.


Schritt 4: Wischen Sie alles von Ihrem Mac ab

Jetzt ist es Zeit, Ihren Mac von allem zu wischen und ihn wieder in seinen ursprünglichen, fabrikneuen Zustand zu versetzen.

Tipp: Bevor Sie mit diesem Schritt beginnen, stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie alle oben genannten Schritte ausgeführt haben!

Sie müssen die ursprünglichegraue Mac OS X-Installationsdiskette ausgraben, die mit Ihrem Mac geliefert wurde. Auf diese Weise können Sie das Installationsprogramm starten und von dort aus das Festplatten-Dienstprogramm ausführen. Wenn Sie es in kürzester Zeit verloren oder weggeworfen haben (keine Sorge, ich habe das Gleiche getan), haben Sie mehrere Möglichkeiten:

  1. Für ein paar Dollar/Pfund/Euro/jede Währung, die Sie für Versand und Bearbeitung verwenden, können Sie bei AppleCare einen Ersatzsatz von Datenträgern erwerben. Geben Sie ihnen einfach einen Ring und sie werden ein Set in der Post für Sie platzen lassen.
  2. Sie können auch einen Termin in Ihrer örtlichen Genius Bar vereinbaren. Dort werden die Festplatten auch für Sie sauber gewischt.
  3. Sie können das hervorragende Tutorial von Alex Arena zum Erstellen einer bootfähigen Mountain Lion-DVD oder eines Flash-Laufwerks von unserer Website aus verfolgen! (Eine Lion-Startdiskette kann Ihnen helfen, mehr Information bekommen)

Wenn Sie dies über die Disk-Methode tun möchten, legen Sie einfach die CD ein und starten Sie Ihren Mac neu. Halten Sie kurz nach dem Signalton des Signaltons C gedrückt, um das Installationsprogramm zu starten, und klicken Sie dann auf Dienstprogramme und dann auf Festplatten-Dienstprogramm.

Tipp: Die einzige Möglichkeit, Ihren Mac vollständig zu formatieren, ist die Verwendung einer Installations-/Startdiskette. Innerhalb von OS X selbst ist es nur möglich, freien Speicherplatz auf Ihren Laufwerken zu löschen.

Klicken Sie auf das Festplattenlaufwerk Ihres Mac (stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie keine externen Laufwerke auswählen, die mit Ihrem Mac verbunden sind!), Und klicken Sie dann auf die Registerkarte Löschen. Geben Sie ein Format an - der Standard ist Mac OS Extended (Journaled) - und klicken Sie dann auf die Schaltfläche Sicherheitsoptionen.

Secure Erase OptionsSecure Erase OptionsSecure Erase Options
Die sicheren Löschoptionen, die Ihnen zur Verfügung stehen.

Lassen Sie mich das Tutorial hier für eine Sekunde unterbrechen, um sich einen Moment Zeit zu nehmen, um diese sicheren Löschoptionen zu erläutern. Wenn Sie Daten von Ihrem Mac löschen, sind sie nicht für immer verschwunden - kleine Fragmente der Dateien liegen immer noch auf Ihrer Festplatte herum. Diese Fragmente sind die Dateiinformationen und werden alle in einem Verzeichnis gespeichert, damit OS X sie bei Bedarf finden kann. Wenn Sie eine Datei in den Papierkorb ziehen, werden die Referenzinformationen der Datei einfach entfernt, und obwohl OS X sie nicht sehen kann, sind die Daten immer noch vorhanden.

Dienstprogramme wie Disk Drill sind daher so programmiert, dass sie nach diesen verbleibenden Daten suchen, sodass Sie die Dateien wiederherstellen können, von denen Sie dachten, dass sie längst verschwunden sind. Das einfache Löschen der Festplatte Ihres Mac ohne sichere Löschoption kann daher möglicherweise dazu führen, dass der nächste Besitzer Ihres Mac alle Daten wiederherstellen kann, die sich zuvor auf Ihrem Mac befanden. Dies kann offensichtlich katastrophale Folgen haben, insbesondere wenn Sie vertrauliche Informationen haben dort.

Meine Empfehlung hier wäre das 7-Pass-Löschen, das dem Standard des US-Verteidigungsministeriums zur sicheren Wiederherstellung magnetischer Medien entspricht.

Glücklicherweise können Sie dies verhindern, indem Sie Ihren Mac beim Formatieren sicher löschen. Meine Empfehlung hier wäre das 7-Pass-Löschen, das dem Standard des US-Verteidigungsministeriums zur sicheren Wiederherstellung magnetischer Medien entspricht. Sofern der nächste Besitzer Ihres Mac nicht die CIA ist, ist fast zu 100% garantiert, dass er Ihre alten Daten nicht wiederherstellen kann.

Abhängig von der Größe Ihrer Festplatte kann der Löschvorgang Stunden oder sogar Tage dauern (da die Daten mehr als sieben Mal geschrieben werden müssen). Denken Sie also daran, Ihren Mac angeschlossen zu lassen und die Füße hochzulegen.


Schritt 5: Stellen Sie Ihren Mac auf den Werkszustand zurück

Sobald das Festplatten-Dienstprogramm alle Ihre Daten gelöscht hat, wird Ihr Mac neu gestartet und startet den Begrüßungsassistenten (abhängig davon, mit welchem Betriebssystem Ihr Mac zuerst geliefert wurde). Natürlich möchten Sie diesen Vorgang zum Einrichten eines neuen Benutzers nicht durchlaufen. Beenden Sie ihn einfach, indem Sie Befehlstaste + Q drücken. Anschließend können Sie Ihren Mac sicher herunterfahren und der Assistent begrüßt jeden, der zum Benutzer wird nächster Besitzer Ihres Computers, wenn er hochfährt!

Welcome WizardWelcome WizardWelcome Wizard
Der Begrüßungsassistent, der den neuen Benutzer Ihres Mac begrüßt, nachdem Sie ihn auf den Werkszustand zurückgesetzt haben.

Schritt 6: Verabschieden Sie sich von Ihrem Mac!

Jetzt müssen Sie nur noch Ihren Mac einpacken und für den Versand vorbereiten! Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie es gründlich reinigen, damit es optimal aussieht (lesen Sie dieses Tutorial, um weitere Informationen dazu zu erhalten). Wenn Sie noch die Originalverpackung haben, senden Sie sie in dieser (wenn Sie sie verkaufen) Bei Ersatzteilen erhalten Sie häufig einen etwas höheren Preis, wenn Sie die Originalverpackung mit einbeziehen.

Ihr Mac sollte wirklich gut verpackt und geschützt sein, um mögliche Schäden während des Versands zu vermeiden. Denken Sie daran, das mitgelieferte Zubehör (z. B. das Netzteil, Mäuse oder Trackpads usw.) beizufügen. Auch hier erhalten Sie häufig einen etwas höheren Preis, wenn diese ebenfalls enthalten sind.

Tipp: Senden Sie Ihren Mac immer per Einschreiben oder über einen Kurierdienst (z. B. Fedex) und stellen Sie sicher, dass die Versicherung den Verkaufspreis Ihres Mac abdeckt, falls dieser während des Versands verloren geht oder beschädigt wird.


Schlussfolgerung

Und das ist wirklich alles! Der Verkauf Ihres Mac ist im Allgemeinen eine reibungslose und schmerzlose Aufgabe. Wenn Sie unsere einfachen Schritte befolgen, können Sie sicherstellen, dass Ihr Mac vollständig gelöscht und versandbereit ist. Natürlich müssen Sie jetzt nur noch einen glänzenden neuen Mac auswählen, um Ihren alten zu ersetzen (falls Sie dies noch nicht getan haben)!

Denken Sie daran, alle Tipps, die Sie zum Verkauf Ihres Mac haben, im Kommentarbereich unten an alle unsere Leser weiterzugeben.

Advertisement
Did you find this post useful?
Want a weekly email summary?
Subscribe below and we’ll send you a weekly email summary of all new Computer Skills tutorials. Never miss out on learning about the next big thing.
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
Hardware

How To Sell Your Mac

by

Back in July, I wrote a complete guide on how to buy your first Mac – from selecting the exact model to customization possibilities and any recommended accessories to go with it. Today, we're going to be looking at the opposite: how to prepare and ready your Mac for selling. There are quite a few things that you need to be aware of before you bid farewell to your trusty companion. Let's see what they are.


Why Are You Selling Your Mac?

For whatever reason, you'll at some point want to sell your Mac, either for an upgrade to a faster or newer model or (woe betide) you're switching back to Windows.

An interesting point to start off this tutorial is that Macs don't actually depreciate as much as PCs in value, and you'll find that when it comes to selling your Mac, you can often recuperate a large proportion of what you actually paid for it back.

This is mainly due to the yearly refresh cycle, the fact that Macs are only manufactured by one company, Apple, and because they are relatively expensive to start off with.

Before you sell your Mac, though, just take a moment to consider why you are selling it.

Before you sell your Mac, though, just take a moment to consider why you are selling it. If it's to upgrade to a new model, then be sure to check out the extremely comprehensive Buyer's Guide on MacRumors, which takes into account the average refresh cycle of each Mac product and produces an automatic recommendation on whether you should buy it (i.e. the product has just been refreshed) or not (i.e. a refresh is imminent).

Most Apple products are refreshed on a yearly cycle and Macs usually get refreshed around June (the iMac and Mac Pro have being two exceptions) so if you are planning to sell your Mac, get it done just before the announcement from Apple is due so the cash is all ready and waiting in your bank account!


Deciding How to Sell It

When selling your Mac, it can suffer two fates:

  1. You can sell it to someone via sites such as eBay or Craigslist as a fully working functional computer to someone who is looking to snap up a bargain.
  2. You can sell it to a trade-in company such as Gazelle who will often break it down for spare parts.

There are, of course, advantages and disadvantages to both methods. Often, you will get a higher price if you sell it as a second-hand computer. However, it isn't guaranteed that your Mac will sell and it is a lot more inconvenient than simply selling it to a trade-in company, where you are pretty much guaranteed that it will sell for a certain price. Of course, this price will be lower. However, you do have the peace of mind that (often) nothing can go wrong.

To make sure you're getting the best price for your Mac, shop around and do some research first. If you're going to sell it for spare parts, visit a couple of different websites (including Apple's own Recycling Program), as prices can vary (sometimes greatly) between different websites.

If you're going to sell it as a second-hand computer, look at the average price on sites such as eBay (there's even a handy tool on their website which will give the average price for your item on eBay plus how many are currently listed) to make sure that you aren't ripping off your potential client and that the price that you're getting is in line with what everyone else is charging.

No matter which selling method you use, you need to know the exact details of what's in your Mac (e.g. processor speed, hard disk capacity, RAM installed and so on) and give a fair statement on the condition of your Mac. To find out about your Mac's specifications, head over to About This Mac in the Apple menu in the top-left hand corner of your screen and click on More Info, where you'll be presented with your Mac's processor speed, memory, graphics card information and more.

About This Mac
About This Mac provides you with loads of handy information about your Mac.

The other thing you'll also need to know is the model identifier of your Mac. As Apple manufacture different versions of their product under the same name (the first iMac back in 1998 can still be referred to as the "iMac"), you'll need to know exactly what your identifier is so that you get the right price for your product!

System Profiler
The System Profiler

To do so, simply click on System Report in the About This Mac window we looked at above. Make sure the tab Hardware is selected, it should appear in the second row down (as highlighted in the screenshot above). If you're still unsure, Wikipedia maintains a good table of model specifications (see an example for my MacBook) and all you have to do is match up the year and your specifications to find it out.

Preparing Your Mac For The Sale

Before you bid farewell to your Mac, there are several things you need to do to ensure that it is completely clean and free of any potentially sensitive data!


Step 1: Back up all your data

Sorry for stating the obvious, but make sure you run a full Time Machine backup on all drives within your Mac because there's nothing worse than finding out that those precious files in your home folder were wiped during the format.

Tip: I personally would recommend backing up to two separate external hard disk drives in case one fails on you (it's happened to me before). If you're running Mountain Lion, then you can backup to multiple destinations directly from Time Machine.


Step 2: Transfer all your data over to your new Mac (optional)

If you've already bought a new Mac, then to save the trouble of restoring your old system from a Time Machine backup, you can transfer all your user accounts, applications and computer settings to your new model via your local network – as long as both Macs are either connected to the same network (e.g. the same wireless network) or they are connected directly to each other via an ethernet cable.

Apple Migration Assistant
Migration Assistant can help you transfer all your applications, documents and settings onto your new Mac.

Migration Assistant, found in the Utilities folder on your Mac, will do all this for you, and going through it is a piece of cake. If you're still unsure, then you can grab detailed instructions from Apple's Support website.

If you haven't yet bought your Mac, then don't worry, as restoring from a Time Machine backup will restore all your applications, documents and settings automatically for you as well.


Step 3: Deauthorize your iTunes account (and any other accounts)

Before you start wiping your Mac, it's best to Deauthorize your Mac from your iTunes account (if you use it of course). Although the new owner of your Mac can't access your personal information without your iTunes credentials (i.e. your Apple ID and password), your computer is still authorized to play your music and you may have trouble authorizing your new Mac later on.

iTunes Deauthorize
Deauthorizing iTunes allows you to manage which computers can play music, videos, audiobooks or other content.

To do so, fire up iTunes and click on the Store menu, then hit Deauthorize This Computer. You'll be prompted to enter your iTunes credentials once again then you'll get a confirmation message indicating that your Mac has been deauthorized.

The same applies for any utilities, such as Dropbox or any programs with serial numbers as well. There's nothing worse than trying to install Photoshop on your new machine and being greeted by the message, "The serial number you have entered is already in use."


Step 4: Wipe Everything Off Your Mac

Now it's time to wipe your Mac of everything and bring it back to its original factory-fresh condition.

Tip: Before you start this step, make sure that you've completed all of the steps above!

You'll have to dig out the original grey Mac OS X install disk that came with your Mac, which will allow you to boot up the installer and run Disk Utility from there. If you've lost it or thrown it away in a moment's haste (don't worry, I've done the same) then you've got a couple of options:

  1. For a couple of dollars/pounds/euros/whatever currency you use to cover shipping and handling you can get a replacement set of disks from AppleCare. Just give them a ring and they'll pop a set in the post for you.
  2. You can also make an appointment at your local Genius Bar and they will wipe the disks clean for you as well.
  3. You can follow Alex Arena's excellent tutorial on making a bootable Mountain Lion DVD or flash drive from our site! (if you want to create a Lion boot disk, head over here)

If you're going to do it via the disk method then just insert the CD and restart your Mac. Just after the signature startup chime tones, hold down C which will boot up into the Installer then click on Utilities then Disk Utility.

Tip: The only way to completely format your Mac is using an install/boot disk. From within OS X itself it's only possible to erase any free space on your drive(s).

Click on your Mac's hard disk drive (make sure you don't select any external disk drives that are connected to your Mac!) then click on the Erase tab. Specify a format – the default is Mac OS Extended (Journaled) – then click on the Security Options button.

Secure Erase Options
The secure erase options that are available to you.

Let me just interrupt the tutorial here for a second to take a moment to explain these secure erase options. When you delete data off your Mac, it's not actually gone forever – little fragments of the files are still left lying around on your disk. These fragments are the file information and it is all maintained in a directory so that OS X can find it if necessary. Dragging a file to the Trash simply gets rid of the file's reference information and although OS X can't see it, the data is still there.

Utilities such as Disk Drill are therefore programmed to look for this remaining data, allowing you to restore the files that you thought were long gone. Therefore, simply wiping your Mac's hard disk with no secure erase option could potentially mean that the next owner of your Mac can recover all the data that was on your Mac beforehand, which could obviously have disastrous consequences, especially if you've got sensitive information on there.

My recommendation here would be the 7-Pass Erase, which meets the US Department of Defense's standard for securely recovering magnetic media.

Luckily, you can prevent this by secure erasing your Mac when you format it. My recommendation here would be the 7-Pass Erase, which meets the US Department of Defense's standard for securely recovering magnetic media. Unless the next owner of your Mac is the CIA, it's nearly 100% guaranteed that he/she cannot restore your old data.

Depending on the size of your hard disk, the erasing process can take hours or even days (as the data has got to be written over 7 times) so remember to leave your Mac plugged in and go put your feet up.


Step 5: Restore Your Mac to its Factory State

Once Disk Utility has finished obliterating all your data, your Mac will restart and boot up into the welcome wizard (depending on which operating system your Mac first came with). Of course, you don't want to go through this process of setting up a new user, so simply quit it by pressing Command + Q. You'll then be able to shut down your Mac safely and the wizard will greet whoever becomes the next owner of your computer when they boot it up!

Welcome Wizard
The Welcome Wizard that will greet the new user of your Mac after you've restored it to the factory state.

Step 6: Bid Your Mac farewell!

Now all that's left is to box up your Mac and prepare it for shipping! Make sure you give it a good clean down so it's looking its best (check out this tutorial for more information on how to do this) and if you've still got the original packaging, then send it in that (if you are selling it for spare parts, you often get a slightly higher price if you include the original box it came in).

Your Mac should be really well packaged and protected to avoid any possible damage during shipping. Remember to include any accessories that came with it (such as the power supply, any mice or trackpads and so on). Again, you often get a slightly higher price if these are included as well.

Tip: Always send your Mac via registered mail or via a courier service (such as Fedex) and ensure that the insurance covers the selling price of your Mac should it get lost or damaged during shipping.


Conclusion

And that's really all there is to it! Selling your Mac is generally a smooth and painless task and by following our simple steps you can guarantee that your Mac is completely wiped and ready for shipping. Of course, all you've got to do now (if you haven't already done so) is to pick out a shiny new Mac to replace your old one!

Remember to share any tips that you've got for selling your Mac in the comments section below for all our readers.

Related Posts
  • Computer Skills
    OS X
    Understanding the Applications for Target Disk ModeTdm 400
    Mac OS X includes an extremely useful boot utility called Target Disk Mode Target Disk Mode allows a user to transfer data from one Mac, to another Mac, via a FireWire or Thunderbolt connection.  In this tutorial, I'll show you how to set up your hardware for Target Disk Mode and then use it in three different scenarios.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    OS X
    OS X System Recovery: Explored and ExplainedOsxrecovery retinathumb
    There may be a time, in the life of your Mac, where you need to restore or recovery your machine, either to try and solve problems you've encountered or simply clean house and start from fresh. In this tutorial, I'll show you through the various options for restoring or recovering your Mac and the process of bringing your Mac back to a clean, healthy state.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Media
    How to Keep iTunes in Sync Between Two MachinesItuneslogo400
    Shipping preinstalled as part of OS X, iTunes is, for me, the hub of all my music, video and other media content. iTunes not only handles the organisation and playback of my media, but also keeps track of metadata like play counts, ratings and smart playlist qualifiers such as last played date or whether a track's in my most played. This information, unfortunately, is tied to a specific iTunes library meaning multiple installations don't share and sync with each other by default. If you use Boot Camp on your Mac, swapping between the two operating systems with a desire to iTunes can create problems if you're keen on keeping an accurate and up-to-date library. In this tutorial, I will show you two ways of keeping your iTunes library independent of commitment to just one operating system and ensure it constantly stays up-to-date.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Media
    How to Back Up Your Mac System Disks to USB DrivesDisktousb retina
    When Apple began ringing the death knell for disk-based media by removing the drives from many of its models, it provided a great digital alternative, the App Store, so users would never need a disk again. The problem is that many people still have software on disks: older versions of OS X, iLife, or iWork. So what can be done with them now? Read on to learn how to extend the life of your system disks by moving them to a USB drive. You won't need any special software to digitize your Mac disks, just the versatile app Disk Utility. For this tutorial, I'll be creating a USB backup of OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard. Let's dig in.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    OS X
    How to Format Your Mac's Hard DriveHdd400
    Unlike personal computers that run Microsoft Windows, it should not be necessary to completely reformat the hard drive, once a year, to reinstall the operating system. You will find that OS X is very stable in comparison, it defragments its hard drive on an ongoing basis and it does not get bogged down with additional software in the way that a Windows machine does. There may be occasions, however, when you want to reformat your Mac's hard drive. In this tutorial, I will show you how to reformat the hard drive in your Mac and reinstall OS X for that factory fresh finish.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Security
    How to Securely Format Your SSDSsdpreview400
    Ever since Apple started implementing solid state drives (SSDs) in its line of notebook computers, the process for formatting the drive has evolved from the method previously used for a SATA magnetic disk drive. The tried-and-true method of writing 35-plus series of zeros over the entire disk for maximum data obscurity is no longer a recommendable option because filling an SSD that many times can negatively impact the life expectancy and efficiency of the drive. In this tutorial, I'll be explaining what you should you do if you find yourself needing to permanently destroy files on an SSD.Read More…