Cyber Monday Sale 40% off unlimited courses & creative assets! 40% off unlimited assets! Save Now
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. App Training

Verwendung von LyX unter OS X.

by
Read Time:12 minsLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Alex Grigorovich (you can also view the original English article)

Als ehemaliger Student war (und bin ich bis zu einem gewissen Grad immer noch) ein großer Fan von TeX - einem wunderbaren und vielseitigen Satzsystem, das erstmals in den 1970er Jahren von Donald Knuth entwickelt wurde und heute noch im akademischen und wissenschaftlichen Bereich weit verbreitet ist. Das Problem mit TeX ist jedoch, dass es eine ziemlich steile Lernkurve gibt - Sie können nicht einfach sofort damit beginnen, ein Dokument darin zu schreiben, und Sie müssen die Grundlagen lernen, bevor Sie beginnen können.

Hier kommt LyX ins Spiel. Es ist ein Dokumentprozessor, der TeX zum Rendern Ihrer Dokumente verwendet, was bedeutet, dass Sie fast die gleichen Ergebnisse erzielen, als hätten Sie das Dokument in reinem TeX-Code geschrieben, aber es verfügt über eine benutzerfreundlichere Oberfläche und Abgesehen von einigen erweiterten Formatierungen (die den Rahmen dieses Tutorials sprengen) müssen Sie keine einzige Zeile TeX-Code lernen. In diesem Tutorial werde ich LyX ausführlich behandeln und Ihnen zeigen, wie Sie damit auf einfache Weise einfache, aber professionell aussehende Dokumente erstellen können.


Bevor Sie anfangen

Für LyX muss eine TeX-Distribution auf Ihrem Mac installiert sein, bevor Sie beginnen können. Es gibt jedoch eine große Auswahl (da TeX Open Source ist). Für Mac-Benutzer würde ich jedoch MacTeX empfehlen, das speziell für OS X entwickelt wurde und alle offiziellen Versionen (einschließlich Mountain Lion - ab Juli 2013 unterstützt. Es gibt kein Wort über die Unterstützung von Mavericks.

MacTeX is a custom-built TeX distribution for OS X.MacTeX is a custom-built TeX distribution for OS X.MacTeX is a custom-built TeX distribution for OS X.
MacTeX ist eine maßgeschneiderte TeX-Distribution für OS X.

Für die meisten Benutzer ist das Paket, das ich empfehlen würde, das vollständige MacTeX-Paket. Es ist ungefähr 2,3 GB groß und nimmt ungefähr 4,5 GB auf Ihrer Festplatte ein. Dies mag viel klingen, installiert aber auch viele nützliche Zusatzprogramme, wie z. B. einen Bibliografie-Manager und das wichtige TeX Live-Utility, mit dem Sie wichtige Updates installieren können. Die Datei ist eine PKG-Installationsdatei, auf die Sie zum Installieren einfach klicken.

You install MacTeX like you would any other OS X program through the built-in installer.You install MacTeX like you would any other OS X program through the built-in installer.You install MacTeX like you would any other OS X program through the built-in installer.
Sie installieren MacTeX wie jedes andere OS X-Programm über das integrierte Installationsprogramm.

Es gibt ein kleineres MacTeX-Installationsprogramm für Personen mit langsameren Internetverbindungen, das eine Kapazität von ca. 86 MB aufweist. Dadurch wird das Grundgerüst der TeX-Distribution installiert, und obwohl Sie mit TeX weiterhin Dokumente in LyX schreiben können, erhalten Sie keine zusätzlichen Extras. Wenn Sie ernsthaft mit LyX arbeiten möchten, würde ich Ihnen dringend empfehlen, das vollständige Installationspaket zu verwenden.

TeX Live Utility is where you install any updates for your distribution.TeX Live Utility is where you install any updates for your distribution.TeX Live Utility is where you install any updates for your distribution.
Im TeX Live Utility installieren Sie alle Updates für Ihre Distribution.

Das Aktualisieren Ihrer TeX-Distribution ist relativ einfach - klicken Sie einfach auf das TeX Live Utility-Programm im TeX-Ordner in Ihrem Anwendungsordner. Das Programm sucht nicht automatisch nach Updates. Ich würde daher empfehlen, es alle paar Wochen zu starten, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie die neueste Software ausführen.

Jetzt haben Sie Ihre Distribution sortiert, es ist Zeit, LyX zu installieren, und zum Glück ist dies viel einfacher (und dauert nicht so lange!). Gehen Sie einfach zur LyX-Website, klicken Sie links auf Download und wählen Sie 2.2. Mac OS X-Binärdateien (direkter Link zu Version 2.0.6). Unter Mountain Lion müssen Sie möglicherweise die Installation von Software von nicht verifizierten Entwicklern zulassen. Gehen Sie dazu zu Ihren Systemeinstellungen, klicken Sie auf Sicherheit und Datenschutz, stellen Sie sicher, dass die Registerkarte Allgemein ausgewählt ist, und klicken Sie auf das Vorhängeschloss unten linke Ecke und geben Sie Ihr Passwort ein. Stellen Sie sicher, dass das Optionsfeld Überall unter Zulassen von Anwendungen herunterladen von ausgewählt ist.

You may need to allow installation from unidentified developers for LyX to install properly.You may need to allow installation from unidentified developers for LyX to install properly.You may need to allow installation from unidentified developers for LyX to install properly.
Möglicherweise müssen Sie die Installation von nicht identifizierten Entwicklern zulassen, damit LyX ordnungsgemäß installiert werden kann.

Sie installieren LyX wie jedes andere OS X-Programm. Hängen Sie einfach die DMG-Datei ein und ziehen Sie das LyX-Symbol in Ihren Anwendung-Ordner.


Erstellen Sie Ihr erstes Dokument

Wenn Sie LyX zum ersten Mal starten, wird der Begrüßungsbildschirm angezeigt. Klicken Sie auf das neue Dokument in der oberen linken Ecke des Bildschirms (oder drücken Sie alternativ Befehlstaste + N, um ein neues Dokument zu starten. LyX erstellt dann ein neues Dokument in der Artikel-Klasse (mehr dazu in einer Sekunde).

Creating a new document in LyX.Creating a new document in LyX.Creating a new document in LyX.
Erstellen eines neuen Dokuments in LyX.

Bevor wir richtig anfangen, lohnt es sich, Ihnen einen kurzen Überblick über die Benutzeroberfläche von LyX zu geben.

The two toolbars within LyX.The two toolbars within LyX.The two toolbars within LyX.
Die beiden Symbolleisten in LyX.

Die beiden Standardsymbolleisten sind so ziemlich alles, was Sie in LyX benötigen. Die meisten Symbole sind ziemlich selbsterklärend - zwei nützliche sind das Dropdown-Formatierungsfeld (mehr dazu gleich) und das Symbol "Augen" direkt darunter - dies rendert Ihr Dokument in TeX (ein bisschen wie) Druckvorschau) und zeigt das Ergebnis in Ihrem Standard-Viewer als PDF-Datei an (meine ist beispielsweise Vorschau). Alternativ können Sie auch Befehlstaste + R drücken.

LyX arbeitet nach dem Prinzip von WYSIWYM (oder What You See IWhat You Mean), wie es dem WYSIWYG-Ansatz entspricht, der von den meisten anderen Textverarbeitungsprogrammen angepasst wurde. Dies bedeutet, dass Sie einfach tippen können, ohne sich um die Formatierung kümmern zu müssen - alles, was Sie beim Rendern Ihres Dokuments erledigen.

Das Standardlayout (oder die Klasse, wie sie in LyX-speak genannt wird) ist Artikel. Ich habe ein kurzes Beispiel hochgeladen, um Ihnen zu zeigen, wie es ist. Für die meisten Dokumente ist dies ausreichend, obwohl Sie es möglicherweise von Zeit zu Zeit ändern möchten. Klicken Sie dazu in LyX auf Dokument und dann auf Einstellungen und wählen Sie dann eine neue Klasse aus dem Dropdown-Menü aus.

The Document Settings is an extremely useful panel – here you can customise a number of different aspects to your document.The Document Settings is an extremely useful panel – here you can customise a number of different aspects to your document.The Document Settings is an extremely useful panel – here you can customise a number of different aspects to your document.
Die Dokumenteinstellungen sind ein äußerst nützliches Fenster. Hier können Sie verschiedene Aspekte an Ihr Dokument anpassen.

Während wir uns im Bereich der Dokumenteinstellungen befinden, gebe ich Ihnen einige nützliche Tipps. Wie in der Inspektor-Ansicht von iWork werden alle wichtigen Änderungen an Ihrem LyX-Dokument in diesem Bereich vorgenommen. Meine drei am häufigsten verwendeten Einstellungen hier sind:

  • Textlayout: Hier können Sie den Standard-Absatzeinzug (in verschiedenen Einheiten) auswählen und den Zeilenabstand anpassen.
  • Seitenlayout: Legen Sie die Größe Ihres Papiers (standardmäßig US-Buchstabe) und seine Ausrichtung (Hoch- oder Querformat) fest. Außerdem können Sie die Überschriften auswählen, die auf jeder Seite angezeigt werden.
  • Seitenränder: Legen Sie die Seitenränder fest (wiederum in verschiedenen Einheiten). Um ein Standard-Pages- oder Microsoft Word-Dokument nachzuahmen, wählen Sie 2 cm für den oberen, unteren, inneren und äußeren Rand.

Der Abschnitt Schriftarten ist ebenfalls sehr nützlich, aber wir werden im Abschnitt Formatierung weiter unten darauf eingehen!


Formatieren Ihres Dokuments

Das Formatieren eines Dokuments in LyX ist so ziemlich das gleiche wie in jedem Standard-Textverarbeitungsprogramm, obwohl es einige kleine Macken gibt, an die man sich erst gewöhnen muss.

Schriftarten sind eine der oben genannten Macken. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Textverarbeitungsprogrammen, bei denen Sie aus allen auf Ihrem Mac installierten Schriftarten auswählen können, verfügt LyX (oder besser TeX) über drei integrierte Schriftarten: Roman, Sans Serif und Typewriter. Beispiele hierfür sind unten aufgeführt.

The three default fonts within TeX (and LyX)The three default fonts within TeX (and LyX)The three default fonts within TeX (and LyX)
Die drei Standardschriftarten in TeX (und LyX)

Um die Schriftart Ihrer Arbeit zu ändern, markieren Sie sie zuerst (blauer Pfeil), klicken Sie dann auf die Schaltfläche Textstil (rosa Pfeil), ändern Sie die Familie in die gewünschte Schriftart (grüner Pfeil) und klicken Sie auf OK. Von hier aus können Sie auch Form, Farbe, Sprache und Größe des Textes ändern.

Changing the font of your text.Changing the font of your text.Changing the font of your text.
Ändern der Schriftart Ihres Textes.

Um ehrlich zu sein, bevorzuge ich sowohl die Roman- als auch die Sans Serif-Schriftarten, die in TeX enthalten sind. Wenn Sie jedoch die bereits auf Ihrem Mac installierten Schriftarten verwenden möchten, müssen Sie einige zusätzliche Pakete verwenden, XeTeX und LuaTeX . Machen Sie sich jedoch keine Sorgen, da diese installiert wurden, als Sie Ihre TeX-Distribution im ersten Schritt dieses Tutorials installiert haben. Um sie zu aktivieren, gehen Sie zum Menü Dokument, klicken Sie auf Einstellungen, wählen Sie den Bereich Schriftart aus und aktivieren Sie das Kontrollkästchen neben: Nicht-TeX-Schriftarten verwenden (über XeTeX / LuaTeX).

XeTeX allows you to use all the fonts that are installed on your Mac within LyX.XeTeX allows you to use all the fonts that are installed on your Mac within LyX.XeTeX allows you to use all the fonts that are installed on your Mac within LyX.
Mit XeTeX können Sie alle auf Ihrem Mac installierten Schriftarten in LyX verwenden.

Alle Standardformatierungsgesten werden in LyX unterstützt, einschließlich der Fettschrift (markieren Sie einfach den Text und drücken Sie Befehlstaste + B) und der Unterstreichung (ja, Sie haben es erraten: Befehlstaste + U). Eine kleine Besonderheit ist jedoch Kursivschrift - in LyX heißt sie Betonung - und dafür müssen Sie Befehlstaste + E drücken (aus irgendeinem Grund ist Befehlstaste + I deaktiviert).

Tipp: Die Eingabetaste funktioniert in LyX nicht gleich. Wenn Sie es einmal drücken, wird eine neue Zeile gestartet. Wenn Sie jedoch etwas Platz in Ihrem Dokument schaffen möchten (d. H. Wenn Sie normalerweise mehrmals die Eingabetaste drücken würden, müssen Sie einen so genannten unregelmäßigen Zeilenumbruch eingeben, indem Sie Befehlstaste + Eingabetaste drücken.

Um die Ausrichtung Ihres Textes zu ändern, markieren Sie die betreffenden Sätze und klicken Sie dann in der Symbolleiste auf das Symbol Absatzeinstellungen (blauer Pfeil). In dieser Ansicht können Sie auch den Zeilenabstand auswählen und festlegen, ob der Absatz eingerückt werden soll oder nicht.

Changing the paragraph settingsChanging the paragraph settingsChanging the paragraph settings
Ändern der Absatzeinstellungen

Ähnlich wie Absatzstile in Microsoft Word und Pages enthält LyX auch Layouts, mit denen Sie Überschriften, Anführungszeichen, Titel usw. in Ihr Dokument einfügen können. Layouts sind an die Dokumentklasse gebunden. Daher unterstützt die Artikel-Klasse, die ich für dieses Lernprogramm verwende, die meisten häufig verwendeten. Einige Klassen unterstützen jedoch mehr. Um ein neues Layout zu erstellen, wählen Sie das gewünschte Layout aus der Dropdown-Liste aus und geben Sie es ein.

Working with layouts within your LyX document.Working with layouts within your LyX document.Working with layouts within your LyX document.
Arbeiten mit Layouts in Ihrem LyX-Dokument.

Überschriften werden in LyX als Abschnitte bezeichnet und können entweder nummeriert oder nicht nummeriert sein. Die Option Teil ist die wichtigste Überschrift (dies entspricht in etwa H1 in HTML), die bis zum Unterabsatz (d. h. H7) reicht. Sie können Listen, Zitate, Titel, Adressen usw. genauso erstellen - wählen Sie einfach aus der Dropdown-Liste aus, welches Layout Sie verwenden möchten -, wenn Sie Ihr Dokument rendern (wie ich es mir ansehen werde) in einem Moment) wird alles richtig formatiert.


Arbeiten mit Bildern

Bilder in LyX können leider etwas mühsam sein (und in TeX im Allgemeinen), aber wenn Sie ein paar Tipps beherrschen, werden sie relativ einfach. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Textverarbeitungsprogrammen können Sie ein Bild nicht einfach direkt in Ihr Dokument einfügen. Sie müssen LyX tatsächlich mitteilen, dass Sie ein Bild einfügen. Wie? Lass es uns herausfinden.

Der einfachste Weg, dies zu tun, ist über einen Float. Dies ist eine spezielle Umgebung in LyX, in der Sie Bilder einfügen können. Durch das Einfügen eines Gleitkommas wird LyX auch mitgeteilt, wie mit dem Bild im TeX-Code umgegangen werden soll (dies erfolgt im Backend). Um einen Float einzufügen, klicken Sie auf das Menü Einfügen, zeigen Sie mit der Maus auf Float und wählen Sie Abbildung. In Ihrem Dokument sollte jetzt ein rotes Float-Feld angezeigt werden.

Through trial and error, I've found that floats are the best way to work with images.Through trial and error, I've found that floats are the best way to work with images.Through trial and error, I've found that floats are the best way to work with images.
Durch Versuch und Irrtum habe ich festgestellt, dass Floats der beste Weg sind, um mit Bildern zu arbeiten.

Standardmäßig können Sie in LyX eine Beschriftung in Ihr Bild einfügen. Sie können diese jedoch löschen, indem Sie einfach die Rücktaste drücken. Um nun ein Bild einzufügen, klicken Sie auf eine beliebige Stelle im Float-Feld und wählen Sie dann das Symbol Grafiken einfügen in der Symbolleiste oder gehen Sie alternativ zum Menü Einfügen und wählen Sie Grafiken.

To add a new image, click on the Graphics icon in the toolbar.To add a new image, click on the Graphics icon in the toolbar.To add a new image, click on the Graphics icon in the toolbar.
Um ein neues Bild hinzuzufügen, klicken Sie auf das Grafiksymbol in der Symbolleiste.

Wählen Sie nun Ihr Bild mit der Schaltfläche Durchsuchen auf Ihrer Festplatte aus (LyX unterstützt die gängigsten Bildformate, einschließlich der PDF-Formate) und klicken Sie auf OK. Ich möchte während der Arbeit in LyX keine Vorschau meines Bildes sehen. Klicken Sie dazu auf die Registerkarte LaTeX- und LyX-Optionen und deaktivieren Sie das Kontrollkästchen In LyX anzeigen. Ihr Bild wird dann im Float-Feld angezeigt, wo es mithilfe des zuvor betrachteten Bereichs Absatzeinstellungen wie gewohnt ausgerichtet werden kann. Sie können die Größe Ihres Bildes sogar in LyX ändern. Klicken Sie einfach auf das Bild und wählen Sie die beiden Felder Breite festlegen und Höhe festlegen aus. Geben Sie dann Ihre bevorzugten Abmessungen ein.

You can resize your image directly within LyX.You can resize your image directly within LyX.You can resize your image directly within LyX.
Sie können die Größe Ihres Bildes direkt in LyX ändern.

Ich gebe es hier frei zu: Die Arbeit mit Bildern in LyX ist ein bisschen schmerzhaft, aber wenn Sie meinen Tricks mit Float-Boxen folgen, werden Sie nichts falsch machen. Obwohl einige Benutzer es vorziehen, Bilder direkt in ihr Dokument einzufügen (ohne Figur-Floats zu verwenden), würde ich es persönlich nicht empfehlen, da dies die Formatierung des restlichen Dokuments beeinträchtigen kann!


Exportieren Ihres Dokuments

Ich habe durch Ausprobieren herausgefunden, dass der beste Weg, Ihr LyX-Dokument zu exportieren, darin besteht, es zu rendern, wo es in der Vorschau angezeigt wird und dann von dort exportiert wird. Obwohl LyX den Export in eine Vielzahl verschiedener Formate bietet, einschließlich DVI (ein mit TeX verbundenes Dateiformat), Klartext, Postscript und RTF, möchten Sie für die meisten Benutzer, dass Ihr Dokument in einer PDF-Datei vorliegt.

Rendering your document as a PDF file.Rendering your document as a PDF file.Rendering your document as a PDF file.
Rendern Ihres Dokuments als PDF-Datei.

Um Ihr Dokument zu rendern, klicken Sie entweder auf das Augensymbol in der LyX-Symbolleiste oder drücken Sie einfach Befehlstaste + R. Ihr Dokument wird dann als PDF in der Vorschau angezeigt (oder was auch immer der Standard-PDF-Reader auf Ihrem Mac ist), wo Sie entweder speichern können es auf Ihre Festplatte oder öffnen Sie es in einem anderen Programm zur weiteren Verarbeitung.


Abschluss

Obwohl LyX eine etwas steilere Lernkurve aufweist als andere Textverarbeitungsprogramme, glaube ich immer noch, dass es eine der schmerzfreiesten Möglichkeiten ist, lange Dokumente für jeden Zweck zu schreiben. In diesem Tutorial habe ich Ihnen gezeigt, wie Sie mit LyX ein einfaches, aber professionell aussehendes Dokument erstellen können, und ich möchte Sie dringend dazu ermutigen, damit herumzuspielen - es ist ein umfangreiches Programm mit vielen integrierten Funktionen ( und zu viele, um sie in einem Tutorial zu behandeln!) Aber mit ein wenig Übung werden Sie bald feststellen, dass Ihre Dokumente jedes Mal genau richtig aussehen.

Wenn Sie Fragen zu LyX haben (oder nützliche Tipps teilen möchten), posten Sie diese bitte im Kommentarbereich unten - ich helfe Ihnen gerne weiter!

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement

How to Use LyX on OS X

by

This Cyber Monday Tuts+ courses will be reduced to just $3 (usually $15). Don't miss out.

As a former student, I was (and to some extent, am still) a big fan of TeX -- a wonderful and versatile typesetting system first developed by Donald Knuth in the 1970s and still in widespread use today across the academic and scientific fields. The problem with TeX, though, is that it comes with a fairly steep learning curve -- you can't just start writing a document straight away in it and you need to learn the basics before you can start.

That's where LyX comes in. It's a document processor that uses TeX to render your documents, meaning you get pretty much the same results as if you'd written the document in pure TeX code, but it comes with a more user-friendly interface and apart from some advanced formatting (which is beyond the scope of this tutorial), you don't have to learn a single line of TeX code. In this tutorial, I'm going to cover LyX in some detail and show you how you can use it to easily create simple yet professional-looking documents.


Before You Start

LyX requires a TeX distribution to be installed on your Mac before you can start. There are plenty to choose from (as TeX is open-source) however for Mac users, the one that I would recommend is MacTeX, which is specifically designed for OS X and supports all official releases (including Mountain Lion -- as of July 2013 there is no word on support for Mavericks).

MacTeX is a custom-built TeX distribution for OS X.

MacTeX is a custom-built TeX distribution for OS X.

For most users, the package I would recommend installing is the full MacTeX package. It's approximately 2.3 GB in size and takes up around 4.5 GB on your hard disk drive. This may sound a lot but it also installs a lot of useful additional programs, such as a bibliography manager and the important TeX Live Utility, which allows you to install important updates. The file is a PKG installer file, which you simply click on to install.

You install MacTeX like you would any other OS X program through the built-in installer.

You install MacTeX like you would any other OS X program through the built-in installer.

There is a smaller MacTeX installer, available for people with slower internet connections, which clocks in at around 86 MB. This will install the skeleton of the TeX distribution and although you'll still be able to write documents in LyX using TeX, you won't get any additional extras. If you're serious about working with LyX, then I'd highly recommend to go with the full installation package.

TeX Live Utility is where you install any updates for your distribution.

TeX Live Utility is where you install any updates for your distribution.

Updating your TeX distribution is relatively simple -- simply click on the TeX Live Utility program within the TeX folder in your Applications folder. The program doesn't check for updates automatically, so I'd recommend firing it up every couple of weeks or so just to make sure you're running the latest software.

Now you've got your distribution sorted, it's time to install LyX and thankfully this is a lot easier (and doesn't take as long!). Simply head over to the LyX website, click on Download on the left-hand side and select 2.2. Mac OS X binaries (direct link to version 2.0.6). On Mountain Lion, you may need to allow the installation of software from unverified developers -- to do this, head over to your System Preferences, click on Security & Privacy, make sure the General tab is selected and click on the padlock in the bottom left-hand corner and enter your password. Make sure that the Anywhere radio button is selected underneath Allow applications downloaded from:.

You may need to allow installation from unidentified developers for LyX to install properly.

You may need to allow installation from unidentified developers for LyX to install properly.

You install LyX as you would any other OS X program -- simply mount the DMG file then drag the LyX icon into your Applications folder.


Creating Your First Document

When you first fire up LyX you'll be presented with the splash screen. Click on the New Document in the top-left hand corner of the screen (or alternatively hit Command + N to start a new document -- LyX will then create a new document in the article class (more on this in a second).

Creating a new document in LyX.

Creating a new document in LyX.

Before we get started properly, it's worth me giving you a quick tour around LyX's interface.

The two toolbars within LyX.

The two toolbars within LyX.

The two default toolbars are pretty much all you need within LyX. Most of the icons are pretty self-explanatory -- two useful ones are the drop-down formatting box (more on this in a moment) and the "eyes" symbol directly below it -- this renders your document in TeX (a bit like Print Preview), and displays the result as a PDF file in your default viewer (mine is Preview, for example) -- alternatively, you can hit Command + R.

LyX works according to the principle of WYSIWYM (or What You See Is What You Mean), as supposed to the WYSIWYG approach adapted by most other word processors. This means you can just type away without having to worry about the formatting -- all that is done for you when you render your document.

The default layout (or class, as it's known as in LyX-speak) is article. I've uploaded a quick example to show you what it's like. For most documents this will suffice, though you may want to change it from time to time. To do so, click on Document then Settings from within LyX, then select a new class from the drop-down menu.

The Document Settings is an extremely useful panel – here you can customise a number of different aspects to your document.
The Document Settings is an extremely useful panel – here you can customise a number of different aspects to your document.

Whilst we're in the document settings pane, I'll give you a couple of useful tips. Like iWork's Inspector view, all the main tweaks to your LyX document are done from within this pane. My three most used settings here are:

  • Text Layout: here you can choose the default paragraph indentation (in a variety of units) plus customise the line spacing.
  • Page Layout: set the size of your paper (by default it's US Letter) and its orientation (portrait or landscape), plus you can choose the headings that appear on each page.
  • Page Margins: set the page margins (again in a variety of units). To mimic a standard Pages or Microsoft Word document, choose 2 cm for the top, bottom, inner and outer margins.

The Fonts section is also pretty useful, but we'll get on to this in the Formatting section below!


Formatting Your Document

Formatting any document in LyX is pretty much the same as in any standard word processor, though there are a few little quirks that take some getting used to.

Fonts are one of the aforementioned quirks. Unlike other word processors, where you can choose from all the fonts installed on your Mac, LyX (or rather, TeX) comes with 3 built-in -- Roman, Sans Serif and Typewriter -- I've included examples of these below.

The three default fonts within TeX (and LyX)
The three default fonts within TeX (and LyX)

 

To change the font of your work, first highlight it (blue arrow), then click on the Text Style button (pink arrow) then change the Family to whichever font you want (green arrow) and click on OK. You can also change the shape, colour, language and size of the text from here as well.

Changing the font of your text.
Changing the font of your text.

 

To be honest, I prefer both the Roman and Sans Serif fonts that are included with TeX but if you want to use the fonts that are already installed on your Mac, then you'll have to use a couple of additional packages, XeTeX and LuaTeX. Don't worry, though, as these were installed when you installed your TeX distribution back in the first step of this tutorial. To enable them, go to the Document menu, click on Settings then select the Font pane and put a little check in the box next to: Use non-TeX fonts (via XeTeX/LuaTeX).

XeTeX allows you to use all the fonts that are installed on your Mac within LyX.
XeTeX allows you to use all the fonts that are installed on your Mac within LyX.

All standard formatting gestures are supported in LyX, including making your font bold (simply highlight the text and press Command + B) and underlined (yep, you guessed it: Command + U). One little peculiarity, though, is italics -- in LyX it's called Emphasis -- and for this you'll have to hit Command + E (for some reason, Command + I is disabled).

Tip: The Enter key doesn't work the same within LyX. Hitting it once will start a new line, however if you want to create some space within your document (i.e. where you would normally hit Enter several times, you'll need to enter what's called a ragged line break by hitting Command + Enter.

To change the justification of your text, highlight the sentence(s) in question then click on the Paragraph Settings icon in the toolbar (the blue arrow). From this view, you can also choose the line spacing and whether or not the paragraph should be indented.

Changing the paragraph settings
Changing the paragraph settings

Much like paragraph styles in both Microsoft Word and Pages, LyX also includes layouts, which allows you to insert headings, quotes, titles and so on into your document. Layouts are tied to the document class -- so the article class that I'm using for this tutorial supports most of the commonly-used ones -- however some classes support more. To create a new layout, select the one you'd like to use from the drop-down list and type away.

Working with layouts within your LyX document.
Working with layouts within your LyX document.

 

Headings are known as sections within LyX and can either be numbered or unnumbered. The Part option is the most important heading (this corresponds roughly to H1 in HTML) running down to Subparagraph (i.e. H7). You can also create lists, quotes, titles, addresses and so on in exactly the same way -- just choose which layout you'd like to use from the drop-down list -- when you render your document (which I'll look at in a moment) everything will be formatted correctly.


Working With Images

Images in LyX can, unfortunately, be a bit of pain to work with (and within TeX in general), however once you've mastered a couple of tips they become relatively straightforward. Unlike other word processors, you can't simply insert an image straight into your document -- you have to actually tell LyX you are putting an image in. How? Let's find out.

The easiest way to do this is via a float. This is a special environment within LyX where you can insert images -- and inserting a float also tells LyX how to handle the image within the TeX code (which is done on the backend). To insert a float, click on the Insert menu, point your mouse to Float and select Figure. A red float box should now appear within your document.

Through trial and error, I've found that floats are the best way to work with images.
Through trial and error, I've found that floats are the best way to work with images.

By default, LyX will let you include a caption with your image, however you can delete this by simply hitting the Backspace key. Now, to insert an image, click anywhere within the float box then select the Insert Graphics icon on the toolbar, or alternatively go to the Insert menu and select Graphics.

To add a new image, click on the Graphics icon in the toolbar.
To add a new image, click on the Graphics icon in the toolbar.

Now select your image using the Browse button from your hard disk drive (LyX supports most common image formats, including those in PDF) and click on OK. I prefer not to see a preview of my image whilst working in LyX -- to do this click on the LaTeX and LyX options tab and uncheck the Show in LyX box. Your image will then appear within the float box, where it can be justified as normal using the Paragraph Settings pane we looked at earlier. You can even resize your image within LyX -- just click on the image and select the two boxes Set width and Set height then type in your preferred dimensions.

You can resize your image directly within LyX.
You can resize your image directly within LyX.

 

I'll freely admit it here: working with images inside LyX is a bit of a pain in the backside, though if you follow my tricks with float boxes, you won't go wrong. Although some users prefer to insert images directly into their document (without using figure floats), I personally wouldn't recommend it as it can mess up the formatting of the rest of your document!


Exporting Your Document

I've found through trial and error that the best way to export your LyX document is to render it, where it will pop up in Preview then export it from there. Although LyX does feature exporting to a variety of different formats, including DVI (a file format associated with TeX), plain text, Postscript and RTF, for most users you'll want your document in a PDF file.

Rendering your document as a PDF file.
Rendering your document as a PDF file.

To render your document, either click on the eyes icon in the LyX toolbar or simply hit Command + R. Your document will then appear as a PDF within Preview (or whatever the default PDF reader is on your Mac), where you can either save it to your hard drive or open it in another program for further processing.


Conclusion

Although LyX does come with a slightly steeper learning curve than other word processors, I still believe it to be one of the most pain-free ways of writing long documents for whatever purpose. In this tutorial I have demonstrated to you how to use LyX to create a simple, yet professional-looking document and I would highly encourage you to have a play around with it -- it is a vast program with loads of features built-in (and too many to cover in one tutorial!) but you'll soon find that with a bit of practice you'll get your documents looking spot on every single time.

If you've got any questions about LyX (or want to share any useful tips) then please post them in the Comments section below -- I'll be happy to help out!

Advertisement