Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. OS X

So verwenden Sie VPN auf Ihrem Mac 

by
Difficulty:IntermediateLength:LongLanguages:

German (Deutsch) translation by Tanya Ira (you can also view the original English article)

Eine VPN-Verbindung ermöglicht Ihnen eine sichere Verbindung an ein anderes privates Netzwerk über das Internet.   Ihr Mac verfügt über eine integrierte Unterstützung für die Verwaltung von VPN-verbindungen und die in dieser Anleitung gehen wir durch, wie das einrichten, verwalten und herstellen der Verbindung mit einem VPN. Einpacken, wir werden zu Fuß durch, wie Sie Ihren eigenen VPN-server. 

 Was ist ein VPN?

 VPN steht für Virtual Private Network.  Wenn Sie Dateien auf einem server, dieser server ist unwahrscheinlich, dass in der öffentlichkeit vor (zugänglich über das Internet) und wird ohne Zweifel hinter einer firewall.  Betrieb eines VPN ist weitaus sicherer als nur das öffnen von ports auf einer firewall, die ein Sicherheitsrisiko sein kann.  Da mehr und mehr Arbeitnehmer sind zu Reisen und/oder arbeiten von zu Hause, Unternehmen benötigen eine Möglichkeit, dass Mitarbeiter Zugang zu Ressourcen, die Sie benötigen, während immer noch die Aufrechterhaltung eines hohen Maß an Sicherheit.

 Geben Sie VPN, eine Möglichkeit der sicheren Verbindung mit einem privaten Netzwerk über das Internet.  Mithilfe einer VPN-Verbindung, es ist nur so, du bist im Büro.  Stellen Sie sich zu Hause und Sie erkennen, dass es etwas, das Sie brauchen, von einem server oder der internen website auf dem Amt.  Eine VPN-Verbindung ist nur wie ein sehr langes ethernet-Kabel, stecken Sie die in Ihrem Mac verbunden ist, um Ihre Arbeit zu Netzwerk.

Verwendet für ein VPN 

Remote-Verbindung zu einem Netzwerk herstellen bei der Arbeit 

 Als wir kurz angerissen, wenn Sie bei der Arbeit Sie werden in der Lage sein, um Zugang zu Datei-Servern, die es gibt. Wenn Sie auf der Straße oder zu Hause, werden Sie nicht in der Lage.   Mit einer VPN-Verbindung, ist es, als ob Sie sind auf dem gleichen Netzwerk.  Wenn es angeschlossen ist, Sie werden in der Lage sein, um Zugang zu Dateiservern, die mit Ihrer normalen IP-Adresse.

With a VPN connection you can establish a secure connection to an otherwise private and inaccessible network
 Mit einer VPN-Verbindung, können Sie eine sichere Verbindung herzustellen, um ein anderenfalls private (und unzugängliche) Netzwerk 

Verschlüsseln Sie Ihre Web-BrowsingWie eine VPN-Verbindung sicher ist, alle Daten gehen über es verschlüsselt ist.Verschlüsseln Sie Ihre Web-Browsing 

Wie eine VPN-Verbindung sicher ist, alle Daten gehen über es verschlüsselt ist.   Wenn du bist in einem coffee-shop und Sie im web surfen, Ihre Ampel könnte möglicherweise überwacht werden. Die meisten VPN-software (z.B. OS X) enthält eine option, um alle Ihre Internet-Verkehr - nicht nur, wenn Sie den Zugriff auf die VPN-Ziel - fahren Sie über eine VPN-Verbindung so zu verschlüsseln, alle Ihre web-browsing und die Erhöhung der Sicherheit von alles, was Sie online tun. 

 Irgendwo Sonst in der Welt

 Wie können Sie Ihren Internet-Verkehr über die VPN-Verbindung, um die meisten websites werden Sie so Aussehen, wie Sie Zugriff von wo auch immer der VPN-server ist. Verwirrt?  Lassen Sie uns klar, dass up! 

 Sagen wir, du bist in London auf eine Reise und steckte in einem Hotelzimmer für ein paar Stunden.  Wenn Sie versuchen, Zugriff auf eine Website, die nur in den USA erhältlich (z.B. Hulu), dann werden Sie begrüßt mit einer Meldung, dass zu erklären.  Wenn Ihr VPN-server in den USA befindet und Sie die Verbindung und stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihre Internet-traffic durch die VPN-Verbindung, dann werden Sie in der Lage, auf die Website zuzugreifen.

With a VPN connection you can take on the network connection of the VPN server and browse the web as though youre in a different country
 Mit einer VPN-Verbindung, können Sie auf die Netzwerk-Verbindung der VPN-server und das web durchsuchen an, als würde man in einem anderen Land

 Der Grund dafür ist, dass, wenn Sie über VPN verbunden sind, sind Sie effektiv in das Netzwerk.  Sie müssen eine lokale IP-Adresse im Netzwerk zugeordnet ist, um Ihre VPN-Verbindung und Internet-Datenverkehr effektiv beginnt, wo der VPN-server ist. Als Ergebnis, die meisten Websites, Ihre Lage ist eigentlich überall dort, wo der VPN-server ist.   Ich erkläre dies mit einem Beispiel. 

Es gibt viele speed-test-websites gibt, einer der beliebtesten ist Speedtest.net.    Wenn ich ein speed-test von meinem aktuellen Standort, bekomme ich das feedback von meinen DSL-Geschwindigkeit und dem nächsten Test-server ich verbunden (in diesem Fall war es Skipton, UK).

The speed test shows the nearest testing server as well as ISP information
 Der speed-test zeigt die nächste Test-server-sowie ISP-Informationen

 Nun, wenn ich eine Verbindung über ein VPN zu einem US-server, sicherzustellen, dass alle Internet-Datenverkehr über den VPN und führen Sie den test erneut, die Seite wird davon ausgegangen, dass meine engsten server in Miami!  Dies ist, weil es die VPN server der speed-test ist Basis von.

When using a VPN connection the speed test believes I am located near Miami
Wenn Sie eine VPN-Verbindung, der speed-test glaubt, ich bin in der Nähe von Miami 

 Abhängig vom VPN-server und deiner Verbindung, werden Sie feststellen, dass die Geschwindigkeit sinkt dramatisch.

 Tipp: Für Benutzer in Länder wie China, wo viele Websites, die wir für selbstverständlich (Twitter und Facebook) blockiert werden, können einige Benutzer "Umgehung" dieser Beschränkung wird durch die Verwendung von Diensten wie VPN.

Einrichten einer VPN-Verbindung 

Es gibt ein paar Dinge, die Dinge, die Sie müssen vor dem einrichten einer VPN-Verbindung: 

 VPN-Server Adresse

 Dies ist die IP-Adresse, die wir brauchen, von dem VPN-server.  Es kann auch ein fully qualified domain name (FQDN) wie vpn.mycompany.com je nachdem, wie es konfiguriert wurde.

Benutzername und Passwort 

Alle VPN-verbindungen über einen Benutzernamen und ein Passwort.  Diese sind in der Regel eingerichtet, die Ihnen von Ihrem IT-administrator. 

Verbindungstyp 

 Es gibt zwei Arten von VPN-verbindungen, die L2TP und PPTP.  Beide erlauben eine sichere Verbindung, aber L2TP ist in der Regel gefunden, um die bessere der beiden.  Dies ist, weil, zusätzlich zu Benutzername und Passwort, L2TP-verbindungen benötigen einen gemeinsamen geheimen Schlüssel. Dies ist wie eine geheime passphrase, die VPN-Benutzer hinzufügen müssen, um Ihre Verbindung. 

Wie Verbinden Sie Ihren Mac über VPN 

 Zum einrichten einer VPN-Verbindung auf Ihrem Mac, Sie brauchen die folgenden details.

  1. Server IP-Adresse oder den vollständig qualifizierten domain-Namen 
  2. Benutzername und Passwort 
  3. Typ der Verbindung (L2TP oder PPTP) 

Für die Zwecke dieses tutorial, ich werde mit dummy-Daten.   Zwar gibt es "Kostenlose" VPN-Dienste gibt, die wir nutzen könnten, nehme ich die Sicherheit und die Sicherheit Ihres Mac (und mir) sehr ernst!!!  Möchten Sie mehr wissen über kommerzielle VPN-Dienste, werde ich die Erforschung dieser später. 

Alle VPN-Einstellungen können eingegeben werden, der in die System Einstellungen unter Netzwerk-Einstellungen". 

Schritt 1: Öffnen Sie die Systemeinstellungen und wählen Sie dann Netzwerk 

Step 1 Open System Preferences and then select Network
Schritt 1: Öffnen Sie die Systemeinstellungen und wählen Sie dann Netzwerk 
Network Preferences
Einstellungen-Netzwerk" 

Schritt 2: Klicken Sie auf+, und wählen Sie dann VPN unter die interface-option.  Geben Sie entweder PPTP oder L2TP. 

Step 2 Click and then select VPN under the interface option Specify either PPTP or L2TP
Schritt 2: Klicken Sie auf+, und wählen Sie dann VPN unter die interface-option.   Geben Sie entweder PPTP oder L2TP

Schritt 3: Wählen Sie Konfiguration und dann "Konfiguration Hinzufügen".  Nennen Sie es "Server 1". 

Step 3 Select Configuration and then Add Configuration Name it
Schritt 3: Wählen Sie Konfiguration und dann "Konfiguration Hinzufügen".   Nennen Sie es "Server 1"

 Tipp: In den obigen Schritten, fragte ich Sie hinzufügen, um eine Konfiguration mit dem Namen "Server 1". Dieser Schritt ist eigentlich optional, und Sie können in der Tat Sie es nur unter der Standard-Konfiguration.   Der Grund für das hinzufügen einer Konfiguration ist, dass einige Nutzer finden, haben Sie mehrere VPN-Einstellungen.  OS X verwalten können mehrere VPN-Einstellungen mit Hilfe der Konfigurations-option.   Zum Beispiel, haben Sie möglicherweise ein VPN-Profil (einen anderen Namen für Ihre VPN-Einstellungen) für ein office in den USA und eines in Australien.

Schritt 4: Geben Sie die VPN-server IP-Adresse (oder FQDN) und den Benutzernamen. 

Step 4 Enter the VPN servers IP address or FQDN and user name
Schritt 4: Geben Sie die VPN-server IP-Adresse (oder FQDN) und den Benutzernamen. 

Schritt 5: Wählen Sie "Authentifizierung" Einstellungen..., und geben Sie dann das Kennwort ein.   Hinweis: Wenn Sie L2TP als VPN-Typ, dann ist das panel ist, wo Sie würde auch geben Sie den gemeinsamen geheimen Schlüssel.

Step 5 Select Authentication Settings and then enter the password
Schritt 5: Wählen Sie die Authentifizierungseinstellungen und geben Sie dann das Kennwort. 
Note If you selected L2TP as the VPN type then this is panel is where youd also enter the shared secret
 Hinweis: Wenn Sie L2TP als VPN-Typ, dann ist das panel ist, wo Sie würde auch geben Sie den gemeinsamen geheimen

 Schritt 6: Stellen Sie sicher, dass Show VPN status in menu bar " ausgewählt ist, dann klicken Sie auf Anwenden.

   Klicken Sie auf diese und wählen Sie dann VPN-Verbindung. Klicken Sie auf diese und wählen Sie dann VPN-Verbindung.  Sobald es angeschlossen ist, sehen Sie einen timer starten. 

When a VPN connection is established you will see a timer on the menu bar
 Wenn eine VPN-Verbindung hergestellt wurde, sehen Sie einen timer auf der Menüleiste

Wir haben jetzt eine VPN-Verbindung hergestellt ist, gehen Sie zurück zu Systemeinstellungen und Sie werden sehen, dass einige Verbindungsinformationen, einschließlich Ihrer VPN-IP-Adresse. 

System Preferences will also display connection details such as IP address and time connected
 System-Einstellungen werden auch display-Anschluss-details wie IP-Adresse und Zeit verbunden

Senden Aller Traffic Über VPN 

 Standardmäßig, Ihr Mac wird nur der notwendige Datenverkehr über VPN-verbindungen als Zugriff auf einen file-server oder andere Maschinen oder sites, die auf dem gleichen Netz wie der VPN-server. Dies ist, weil die meisten VPN-verbindungen können sehr langsam sein, damit Ihr Mac nicht wollen, zu verlangsamen, Ihre Internet-Erfahrungen unnötig.  Aber, wir können dies überschreiben. 

 Gehen Sie zurück in die Systemeinstellungen und wählen Sie Advanced....

Go back in System Preferences and select Advanced
Gehen Sie zurück in die Systemeinstellungen und wählen Sie Advanced. 

Sofort sehen wir eine option zum Senden aller Datenverkehr über die VPN-Verbindung.   Tickt dies, und speichern Sie anschließend die änderungen bedeutet Ihr Mac übergeben wird, wird der gesamte Netzwerkverkehr über das VPN.  Es wird im Allgemeinen nicht empfohlen, da es kann Ihre Internet-Verbindung sehr langsam, und Sie können auch finden, Zugriff auf Server und Drucker auf dem Netzwerk, das Sie physisch gestoppt wird. 

Für alle die Daten, die übergeben werden über die VPN-sobald die option aktiviert ist, legen wir den Serviceauftrag.  Dies ist die Reihenfolge, dass Ihr Mac übergibt die Daten über das Netzwerk.  Wir müssen die VPN, wie der erste Dienst in der Liste.   Um dies zu tun, wählen Sie das drop-down-ZAHNRAD-Menü und wählen Sie Set Service Um... von hier Aus können Sie ziehen Sie die Dienste in der vorgegebenen Reihenfolge, machen Sie sicher, dass der VPN ist an der Spitze.

Set the VPN to be the highest in the list of services
 Legen Sie die VPN zu den höchsten in der Liste der Dienste

 Dies ist jedoch notwendig, wenn Sie brauchen, um eine Website zugreifen, wie oben besprochen, das ist nur in dem Land, in dem Sie Ihre VPN-server befindet.  Gehen wir zurück zu unserem früheren Beispiel, wenn Sie wurden in Großbritannien und Sie benötigen, um Zugang zu einer UNS nur Website, werden bei Aktivierung dieser option erlauben Sie den Zugriff auf diese Website.

Immer ein VPN-Konto 

 Für viele Benutzer sind, werden Sie wahrscheinlich haben ein VPN-Profil von Ihrem Arbeitgeber die IT-Abteilung.  Wenn Sie wollen ein VPN für den persönlichen Gebrauch, es gibt viele Dienste, die einen VPN-account für eine geringe monatliche Kosten.

Ein solches Unternehmen ist die Starke VPN bietet VPN-Konten von $7 bis $30 im Monat, je nach features, die Sie benötigen.   Sie bieten VPN-Konten in vielen Ländern rund um die Welt und Ihre Preispläne variieren je nach service, den Sie benötigen und die Länge der Zeit, die Sie bezahlen (es ist billiger, zu zahlen jährlich als monatlich Gesamt).

Tipp: Seien Sie vorsichtig bei der Auswahl eines VPN-Anbieters.   Während der Verkehr verschlüsselt ist, stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie gehen für ein Unternehmen mit einem guten Ruf eher als eine, die sieht ein wenig zu gut um wahr zu sein!

Rollen Sie Ihre Eigenen VPN-Server 

 Sie können OS X Server, aber wenn Sie haben einen Ersatz-Mac ausgeführt werden können, ist Leopard oder höher, fügen Sie VPN-server-Funktionalität der standard-version von OS X über eine nette kleine app namens iVPN (Testversion verfügbar, £14.99).

iVPN has an extremely simple setup that you can easily customise and manage accounts on
 iVPN ist ein extrem einfaches setup, können Sie leicht anpassen und verwalten von Konten auf.

 Sie müssen wissen, was Ihre router-IP-Adresse (bekannt als externe oder WAN-IP-Adresse).  Wenn es statisch ist, dann wird es nicht ändern, und Sie können verwenden Sie diese als VPN-server-Adresse. Wenn es dynamisch ist (die änderungen), dann empfehle ich die Nutzung eines Dienstes wie Dynamische DNS (DDNS) wenn Ihr router dies unterstützt.  Sie werden mit einer generischen domain-Namen wie myname.dyndns.org und es wird zugeordnet, um Ihre externe IP-Adresse.  Mit Dynamic DNS des Routers wird automatisch die Aktualisierung des Domänennamens, wenn Ihre IP-Adresse ändert, so dass Sie immer eine Verbindung herstellen können.

 Vor der Verwendung von iVPN, stellen Sie sicher, dass der Mac, die Sie verwenden möchten ist eingerichtet mit einer statischen IP-Adresse und stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie port-Weiterleitung einrichten. Die ports, die Sie brauchen, um vorwärts zu der Mac ist wie folgt: 

  •  TCP - 1701 und 1723
  • UDP 500 

Jetzt können Sie eine Verbindung zu Ihrem Heimnetzwerk über VPN, wo immer Sie sind.   Ihren Internet-Zugriff sicher, und wenn Sie ein Time Capsule-oder Netzwerk-Speicher können Sie auf Sie zugreifen! 

Zusammenfassung  

 In diesem Handbuch, wir haben berührt auf die Verwendungen, die für ein VPN, wie man eine Verbindung aufbauen und auch die Vorgehensweise zum einrichten eines neuen Servers.  Verwenden Sie eine VPN-Verbindung für die Arbeit oder zu Hause?   Verwenden Sie einen kommerziellen VPN-Anbieter? Verwenden Sie einen kommerziellen VPN-Anbieter? Lassen Sie uns wissen in den Kommentaren! 

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
OS X

How to Use VPN on Your Mac

by

A VPN connection allows you to securely connect to an otherwise private network over the Internet. Your Mac has built-in support for managing VPN connections and in this guide we’ll go through how to setup, manage and connect using a VPN. To wrap up, we'll walk through how to set up your own VPN server.

What is a VPN?

VPN stands for Virtual Private Network. If you have files on a server at work, that server is unlikely to be public facing (accessible over the Internet) and will no doubt be behind a firewall. Operating a VPN is far more secure than just opening ports on a firewall, which can be a security risk. Since more and more workers are traveling and/or working from home, companies require a way of allowing employees access to resources they need while still maintaining a high level of security.

Enter VPN, a way of securely connecting to a private network over the Internet. Using a VPN connection, it is just like you’re at the office. Imagine being at home and you realize there’s something you need from a server or internal website at the office. A VPN connection is just like having a really long ethernet cable that you plug into your Mac that’s connected to your work’s network.

Uses for a VPN

Remotely Connecting to a Network at Work

As we briefly touched upon, when you’re at work you’ll be able to access any file servers that are there. When you’re on the road or at home, you won’t be able to. With a VPN connection, it’s as though you’re on the same network. When it’s connected, you’ll be able to access any of the file servers using their normal IP address.

With a VPN connection you can establish a secure connection to an otherwise private (and inaccessible) network
With a VPN connection, you can establish a secure connection to an otherwise private (and inaccessible) network

Encrypting Your Web Browsing

As a VPN connection is secure, any data going across it is encrypted. When you’re at a coffee shop and you’re browsing the web, your traffic could potentially be monitored. Most VPN software (such as OS X) includes an option to have all your Internet traffic - not just when you’re accessing the VPN destination - to pass over a VPN connection, thus encrypting all your web browsing and increasing the security of anything you do online.

Be Somewhere Else in the World

As you can pass your Internet traffic over the VPN connection, to most websites you will look like you’re accessing it from wherever the VPN server is. Confused? Let’s clear that up!

Let’s say you’re in London on a trip and stuck in a hotel room for a few hours. If you try and access a site that is only available in the US (such as Hulu), then you’ll be greeted with a message explaining that. If your VPN server is located in the US and you connect and make sure your Internet traffic passes through the VPN connection, then you’ll be able to access the site.

With a VPN connection you can take on the network connection of the VPN server and browse the web as though you’re in a different country
With a VPN connection, you can take on the network connection of the VPN server and browse the web as though you’re in a different country

The reason for this is that when you’re connected via VPN, you’re effectively on that network. You’ll have a local IP address on that network that’s assigned to your VPN connection and your Internet traffic effectively starts from where the VPN server is. As a result, to most sites, your location is actually wherever the VPN server is. I’ll explain this with an example.

There are plenty of speed test websites out there, one of the most popular ones is Speedtest.net. If I run a speed test from my current location, I get feedback of my broadband speed and the closest testing server I connected to (in this case it was Skipton, UK).

The speed test shows the nearest testing server as well as ISP information
The speed test shows the nearest testing server as well as ISP information

Now, when I connect via a VPN to a US server, ensure that all Internet traffic is sent via the VPN and run the test again, the site assumes that my closest server is in Miami! This is because it’s the VPN server the speed test is basing it from.

When using a VPN connection, the speed test believes I am located near Miami
When using a VPN connection, the speed test believes I am located near Miami

Depending on the VPN server and your connection, you’ll notice that the speed drops dramatically.

Tip: For users in restricted countries such as China where many sites we take for granted (Twitter and Facebook) are blocked, some users “circumvent” this restriction by using services such as VPN.

Set up a VPN Connection

There are a few things things you need to have before setting up a VPN connection:

VPN Server Address

This is the IP address that we need of the VPN server. It can also be a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) such as vpn.mycompany.com, depending on how it’s been configured.

Username and Password

All VPN connections have a username and password. These are usually set up for you by your IT administrator.

Connection Type

There are two types of VPN connections, L2TP and PPTP. Both allow a secure connection, though L2TP is generally found to be the better of the two. This is because, in addition to a username and password, L2TP connections can require a shared secret. This is like a secret passphrase that any VPN users will need to add to their connection.

How to Connect Your Mac via VPN

To set up a VPN connection on your Mac, you need the following details.

  1. Server IP address or fully qualified domain name
  2. Username and password
  3. Connection type (L2TP or PPTP)

For the purposes of this tutorial, I’ll be using dummy information. While there are “free” VPN services out there we could use, I take the safety and security of your Mac (and mine) very seriously! If you would like to know more about commercial VPN services, I’ll be exploring these later.

All VPN settings can be entered into System Preferences, under the Network preference pane.

Step 1: Open System Preferences and then select Network

Step 1: Open System Preferences and then select Network
Step 1: Open System Preferences and then select Network
Network Preferences
Network Preferences

Step 2: Click + and then select VPN under the interface option. Specify either PPTP or L2TP.

Step 2: Click + and then select VPN under the interface option. Specify either PPTP or L2TP
Step 2: Click + and then select VPN under the interface option. Specify either PPTP or L2TP

Step 3: Select Configuration and then Add Configuration. Name it “Server 1”.

Step 3: Select Configuration and then Add Configuration. Name it
Step 3: Select Configuration and then Add Configuration. Name it "Server 1”

Tip: In the steps above, I asked you to add a configuration named “Server 1”. This step is actually optional and you can in fact just enter it under the default configuration. The reason for adding a configuration is that some users find they have multiple VPN settings. OS X can manage multiple VPN settings using the configuration option. For example, you may have a VPN profile (another name for a your VPN settings) for an office in the US and one in Australia.

Step 4: Enter the VPN server’s IP address (or FQDN) and user name.

Step 4: Enter the VPN server’s IP address (or FQDN) and user name.
Step 4: Enter the VPN server’s IP address (or FQDN) and user name.

Step 5: Select Authentication Settings… and then enter the password. Note: If you selected L2TP as the VPN type then this is panel is where you’d also enter the shared secret.

Step 5: Select Authentication Settings and then enter the password.
Step 5: Select Authentication Settings and then enter the password.
Note: If you selected L2TP as the VPN type then this is panel is where you’d also enter the shared secret
Note: If you selected L2TP as the VPN type then this is panel is where you’d also enter the shared secret

Step 6: Make sure Show VPN status in menu bar is selected, then click Apply.

That’s it, you’re ready to go! On your menu bar, you’ll see a new icon that looks like a luggage tag. Click this and then select Connect VPN. Once it’s connected, you’ll see a timer starting.

When a VPN connection is established, you will see a timer on the menu bar
When a VPN connection is established, you will see a timer on the menu bar

Now we’ve established a VPN connection, go back to System Preferences and you’ll see some connection information, including your VPN’s IP address.

System Preferences will also display connection details such as IP address and time connected
System Preferences will also display connection details such as IP address and time connected

Sending All Traffic Over VPN

By default, your Mac will only pass necessary traffic via VPN, such as accessing a file server or other machines or sites that are on the same network as the VPN server. This is because most VPN connections can be quite slow, so your Mac doesn’t want to slow your Internet experience down needlessly. However, we can override this.

Go back in System Preferences and select Advanced….

Go back in System Preferences and select Advanced.
Go back in System Preferences and select Advanced.

Straight away, we see an option to Send all traffic over VPN connection. Ticking this and then saving the changes will mean your Mac will pass all network traffic over the VPN. It is generally not recommended since it can make your Internet connection appear very slow and you may also find accessing servers and printers on the network you’re physically on is stopped.

For all the data to be passed over the VPN once the option is enabled, we need to set the service order. This is the order that your Mac passes data over the network. We must have the VPN as the first service in the list. To do this, select the drop down cog menu and select Set Service Order... From here, you can drag the services into the required order, making sure the VPN is at the top.

Set the VPN to be the highest in the list of services
Set the VPN to be the highest in the list of services

However, this is necessary if you need to access a site as we discussed earlier that’s only available in the country where your VPN server is located. Going back to our earlier example, if you were in the UK and you needed to access a US only site, enabling this option will allow you access to that site.

Getting a VPN Account

For many users, you’ll probably have a VPN profile from your employer’s IT department. If you’re wanting a VPN for personal use, there are many services that offer a VPN account for a low monthly cost.

One such company is Strong VPN, which offers VPN accounts from $7 to $30 month, depending on the features you require. They offer VPN accounts in many countries around the world and their price plans vary depending on the service you require and the length of time you pay for (it’s cheaper to pay annually than monthly overall).

Tip: Be careful when selecting a VPN provider. While the traffic is encrypted, make sure you go for a company with a good reputation rather than one that looks a little too good to be true!

Roll Your Own VPN Server

You can use OS X Server, but if you’ve got a spare Mac that can run Leopard or above, you add VPN server functionality to the standard version of OS X using a nifty little app called iVPN (trial available, £14.99).

iVPN has an extremely simple setup that you can easily customise and manage accounts on.
iVPN has an extremely simple setup that you can easily customise and manage accounts on.

You’ll need to know what your router’s IP address is (known as an external or WAN IP address). If it’s static, then it won’t change and you can use this as the VPN server address. If it’s dynamic (which changes) then I recommend using a service such as Dynamic DNS (DDNS) if your router supports it. You are provided with a generic domain name such as myname.dyndns.org and it is assigned to your external IP address. With Dynamic DNS, your router will automatically update the domain name whenever your IP address changes so you will always be able to connect.

Before using iVPN, make sure the Mac you want to use it on is set up with a static IP address and make sure you set up port forwarding. The ports you need to forward to the Mac is as follows:

  • TCP - 1701 and 1723
  • UDP 500

Now you can connect to your home network via VPN wherever you are. Your Internet access will be secure and if you have a Time Capsule or network storage, you can access them as well!

Wrapping Up

In this guide, we’ve touched on the uses for a VPN, how to establish a connection and even how to set up a new server. Do you use a VPN connection for work or home? Do you use a commercial VPN provider? Let us know in the comments!

Related Posts
  • Computer Skills
    Networking
    AirPort Utility ExplainedAirport utility
    In this tutorial, I'll show you the basics of AirPort Utility, setting up an AirPort base station from scratch and how to configure or restrict access.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Networking
    How to Keep Your Information Safe on Public Wi-FiCoffee shop
    So there you are, browsing the vast Internet in a coffee shop on your travels abroad. You log in to Facebook, as usual, and continue to peruse the postings of the day. Unbeknownst to you, there might be someone stealing your login info right as you press the return key. After all, it’s an open network at a coffee shop—anyone has access to your information. The same goes for airport WiFi, and the library down the street. Luckily, there’s a way to protect yourself. In this tutorial, I’ll explain how people obtain your sensitive information on an unsecured network and how to prevent them from doing so.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Networking
    How to Change Your DNS for Safer, Faster BrowsingIntro to dns 400 v2
    When you open your web browser and type in hub.tutsplus.com to find something interesting to learn, your computer is able to find a server with the IP address 190.93.242.181. Among other technologies, a protocol called DNS helps your computer find that server. In this tutorial, I’ll show you what DNS is and some tips you can use to be safer on the web.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Networking
    How to Share Your Mac's Internet ConnectionNetwork icon
    It seems that you need the Internet to do anything productive these days. Sadly, many modern desktop computers don’t come with WiFi. Manufacturers expect you to either buy a wireless card after you find this out or share your wireless connection from another computer. The second method works well the other way, too: take a wired Internet connection and broadcast it with your integrated WiFi card. So how do you set up all these fancy features? In this tutorial, I’ll show you how to share an Internet connection from your Mac to any wired or wireless device, whether it be an Xbox or PC.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Security
    Encrypting Email With GPGToolsGpg tools encrypting email retina
    Email security, asymmetric encryption, keys…all confusing and complicated subjects to the uninitiated. However, there are some tools that help make the job of keeping your email secure much easier, especially on a Mac. In this tutorial, I'll show you how you can keep your email secure from prying eyes by using GPGTools to create your own keys and encrypt your email.Read More…
  • Computer Skills
    Electronics
    Take Control of Your Raspberry Pi Using Your Mac, PC, iPad or PhonePi ra400
    In this tutorial I will show you how to setup your Raspberry Pi for remote control on your home network or over an internet connection. This is really useful if you want to run your Pi as a 'headless' machine without the need for its own monitor, mouse and keyboard - instead you can use your home computer, ipad or even mobile phone to access and control your Pi. I'm going to be using two methods to remotely control the Pi -- SSH (Secure SHell) which provides access to the Pi's command line interface, and VNC (Virtual Network Computing) which replicates the graphical desktop. Of the two SSH is much quicker as it's just text based, but VNC is probably easier to use on a tablet or smartphone.Read More…