Unlimited WordPress themes, graphics, videos & courses! Unlimited asset downloads! From $16.50/m
Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Customization

5 способов улучшить рабочий стол Mac с помощью GeekTool

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:

Russian (Pусский) translation by Shaun Murphy (you can also view the original English article)

GeekTool-это удивительное бесплатное приложение, которое немного напоминает панель для супер ботанов. Это позволяет размещать функциональные виджеты, называемые "Geeklets," право на верхней части рабочего стола, так что вы всегда можете увидеть их. Реализация может быть немного сложнее, хотя, поэтому этот учебник будет ходить вас через пять различных способов использования Geeklets для повышения вашего опыта рабочего стола.

GeekTool
Что мы строим сегодня

Приступая к работе с GeekTool

GeekTool-это руки вниз один из самых полезных усовершенствований рабочего стола Mac, что вы будете когда-либо сталкивался. К сожалению, порог вхождения здесь довольно высокий. В то время как виджеты приборной панели требуется всего лишь перетащить реализовать, Geeklets часто требуют написания специального кода.

GeekTool достаточно дружелюбный, что обе хардкорные кодеры и полные новички могут сделать что-то.

Если это звучит слишком запутанно, не волнуйся, это только будет немного сложнее. На самом деле, GeekTool достаточно дружелюбный, что обе хардкорные кодеры и полные новички могут сделать что-то.

Для начала, скачать GeekTool из App Store для Mac. Он раньше служил в качестве панели настроек, но они немного изменили Формат, чтобы получить его в магазине приложений.

Вот основное окно:

GeekTool
Главное Окно GeekTool

Это обманчиво простой интерфейс, который скрывает в себе массу возможностей. Как вы видите в главном окне слева, есть три типа Geeklets: файл, изображение и оболочки.

Большинство из забавных вещей, которые можно стащить приходит от типа снаряда. Если вы знакомы с терминалом, то вы, вероятно, сможете вытащить из какой-нибудь классный материал с самого начала. Если вы знакомы с терминалом, то вы, вероятно, сможете вытащить из какой-нибудь классный материал с самого начала. Если нет, я буду ходить вас через несколько простых скриптах.

Инициирование Geeklet

Чтобы создать новый Geeklet, просто перетащите одну из трех иконок (файл, изображение или оболочки) на рабочем столе. Появится пустой прямоугольник с белой каймой и длинное темное окно, содержащее различные варианты для этого Geeklet.

GeekTool
Новый пустой Geeklet

Есть тонна вариантов здесь, но вместо того, чтобы идти через них по одному, как скучный учебник, мы будем просто рассматривать каждый параметр, как оно возникает ниже. В то же время, давайте перейдем прямо к делу-и вы собираетесь с какой-нибудь классный Geeklets.


1. Дата

Первое, что мы собираемся сделать, это поставить дату на рабочем столе. Звучит достаточно легко, верно? Чтобы сделать это, мы собираемся иметь, чтобы написать сценарий. Не психуй, это действительно просто, я обещаю.

Для выполнения своей магии, GeekTool принимает сценарии оболочки. Наиболее распространенным местом, что вы видите эти проведенные в терминал. Чтобы увидеть, как это работает, открыть терминал, введите слово "дата" и нажмите Return.

Terminal
Новый пустой Geeklet

На выходе должно получиться что-то вроде того, что я получила на рисунке выше, который говорит мне, что текущий день недели, а также месяц, день месяца, время, Часовой пояс и год.

Мои поздравления Вы просто написали скрипт. Довольно легко верно? Теперь давайте перепрыгнем в GeekTool и введите ту же строку кода в поле команда в консоли Geeklet.

Terminal
Тип "Дата" в поле команда.

Теперь, когда мы смотрим на наших Geeklet на рабочем столе, содержит некоторый текст. Это тот же вывод, что мы видели в терминале раньше

Terminal
Новый пустой Geeklet

Это не совсем то, что я хоть и хочу. Формат, который я ищу выглядит так: понедельник, октября. 1.  Так как нам это провернуть?

Так как нам это провернуть?Манипулирование датой

Оказывается, есть целый ряд способов обработки результатов, которые мы получаем из сценария. Для этого мы добавляем новый фрагмент после слова "Дата".

Terminal
Разные даты команды в терминале

Посмотрим, как это работает? Вот такой большой список, что должно пригодиться.

  • даты '+%A' и в понедельник
  • даты '+%A' и Пн
  • даты '+%Б' - октябре
  • даты '+%б - октября
  • даты '+%м - 10 (месяц число)
  • даты '+%д - 10/01/12
  • даты '+%д - 01 (день месяца с нуля)
  • даты '+%Е' - 1 (день месяца без нуля)
  • даты '+%г' - 2012 (год-четыре цифры)
  • даты '+%г' - 12 (год с двумя цифрами)

Собираем Все Вместе

Теперь, когда мы видим, как получить все, что нам нужно, мы легко можем бросить их всех вместе в один скрипт. Скопируйте и вставьте следующий код в поле команда.

Как вы можете видеть, я использовал Формат длинная форма будний день, за которым следует запятая, пробел, короткая форма месяц, период, пространство, и, наконец, день месяца. Когда вы вставите этот код, ваш результат должен автоматически обновляться.

В окне "свойства" нажмите на кнопку внизу, которая говорит "нажмите здесь, чтобы установить шрифт и цвет" и измените текст по своему вкусу. Я держал вещи довольно просто, так что я пошел с белыми, 13pt Люцида Гранде.

GeekTool
Используйте простое управление, чтобы задать шрифт, цвет и размер текста

Совет: цвет по умолчанию для текста в Geeklet черная, так что если ваш рабочий стол имеет черный цвет, Вы не увидите. Это хорошо, чтобы проверить вещи на более светлый Цвет фона.

Заканчиваю

Чтобы закончить наше свидание Geeklet вверх, как изменить размер поля для локализации, так что это немного больше, чем текст. Это позволит сделать его легче выбрать различные Geeklets, поскольку мы добавляем больше. Наконец, задайте частоту обновления. Без этого дня никогда не будет обновлять. Вы можете выбрать любое значение, которое вы хотите, просто поймите, что чем быстрее обновить, тем больше работы делает ваш компьютер, чтобы не отставать.

GeekTool
Размеры контейнера и установите частоту обновления.

2. Время

Все это великие знания, которые мы почерпнули из предыдущего шага, добавив время на нашем столе должна быть подпруга. По сути, мы используем точно такой же процесс, как и раньше, только на этот раз мы должны выбрать из пула даты фрагменты, которые имеют отношение к времени:

  • даты '+%Т' - 14:03:05
  • даты '+%х' - 02:03:05 вечера
  • даты '+%З' - МСТ (Часовой пояс)
  • даты '+%р - ПМ
  • даты '+%л' - 2 (час, 12 часовой, не ноль)
  • даты '+%к' - 2 (часовой, 24 часовой, не ноль
  • даты '+%я' - 02 (час, 12 часовой, с нуля)
  • даты '+%ч' - 02 (часовой, 24 часовой, не ноль)
  • даты '+%М - 03 (минуты)
  • даты '+%с' - 05 (второй)

Все, что я хочу на это час и минуту Я использую двенадцати часовой формат без нулей и без АМ/ПМ. Обычно я не в таком плохом психическом состоянии, что я не могу выяснить, если это утром, днем или вечером.

Имея это в виду, вытащить новую оболочку Geeklet и бросьте в него следующий код

Это должно дать вам основную штамп времени. Теперь установите его в 48pt тип и расположите его под предыдущий Geeklet. Вы будете иметь, чтобы установить частоту обновления, чтобы быть достаточно быстро, на это время остается точным Я поставил его на десять секунд, но если вам действительно нужно, чтобы второй точности, вы будете иметь, чтобы обновить каждую секунду.

GeekTool
Сделайте время больше и установить в соответствии с Дата.

Сделайте время больше и установить в соответствии с Дата.Кнопкой мыши на рабочем столе или скрыть GeekTool и вы увидите результат этих двух сценариев. Пока все хорошо, давайте перейдем на погоду!

GeekTool
Сделайте время больше и установить в соответствии с Дата.

3. Погода

Это где вещи становятся сложнее. Для получения информации из интернета включает в себя комплекс команд grep и доскональное знание необходимого синтаксиса. К сожалению, если вы хотите, чтобы погода на вашем рабочем столе, это то, что нужно.

Есть куча пользователей GeekTool, которые там уже построили почти все, что вы могли хотеть.

Полное изложение грэп выходит за рамки данной статьи, поэтому давайте просто взять легкий путь! Есть куча пользователей GeekTool, которые там уже построили почти все, что вы могли хотеть. Важно знать, как установить сторонние Geeklets, так что процесс мы пройдем этот раз.

Есть миллион погоды Geeklets там, пойти скачать этот ObiJuan2080, чтобы начать После того как вы загрузите файл, киньте его в "Geeklets" внутри папки "документы" папку, так что Вы не потеряете его, а затем дать его двойным щелчком.

GeekTool
Дважды щелкните Geeklet, чтобы установить его

Как ее запустить, вы увидите маленькое всплывающее окно, которое показывает Вам код, который вы собираетесь запустить и просит вашего разрешения, чтобы продолжить. Нажмите кнопку "да".

GeekTool
Нажмите кнопку "да" для запуска Geeklet

Это должно вызвать новый Geeklet всплывающее рабочего стола, вероятно, с той же стилизации текста, который мы использовали в предыдущем шаге. Единственное что вам нужно сделать, чтобы команда найти кусок кода, который говорит: "п=10009" и заменить это количество с Ваш почтовый индекс в США.

GeekTool
Погода Geeklet в действии

Чтобы закончить этот шаг, изменить погоду, так что текст соответствует дата и место его по времени. Ваша группа должна выглядеть примерно так:

GeekTool
Наш прогресс так далеко

4. Напоминания

Когда они сталкиваются с трудной задачей на последнем этапе, мы обманули немного Установка сторонних Geeklets хотя большая часть опыта GeekTool, поэтому я разрешаю это. Хотя в этот раз мы сами по себе.

Я хочу что-то полностью настраиваемые: Горный Лев напоминания на моем рабочем столе. Теперь, я знаю, что получение в пунктах системы данные, такие как это очень легко, используя помощью applescript, так что мы на самом деле возьму данные и затем использовать результаты для наших Geeklet.

Предупреждение: это довольно продвинутая штука! Возможно, вы захотите освежить в помощью applescript первый.

Напоминания Словарь

Первое, что нам нужно сделать, это научиться говорить с Напоминаниями с помощью помощью applescript. Чтобы сделать это, откройте редактор скриптов, перейдите в меню Файл>открыть словарь и найдите напоминания словарь.

AppleScript
Напоминания Словаре Applescrip

Сидя здесь, я понял суть основного синтаксиса. Есть "списки", которые содержат "напоминания", что может или не может быть "завершена" и идентифицируются по их "имени" Это словоблудие на самом деле все, что мне нужно знать, чтобы идти по сценарию

Написание сценария

С той информацией, которую я узнал в виду, я создал два повторить блоков. Первый идет до конца и хватается за каждое напоминание в список "напоминания" (изменить это имя, если у вас есть другой список в виду), что не проверили и завершили.

Второй повтор блока добавляет некоторые элементы форматирования в предыдущий список, так что вывод выглядит немного лучше. Затем мы возвращаем отформатированную список.

[рабочей группы
установить список в {}
комплект для вывода "

--osascript /Пользователи/MacBookPrime/документы/Geeklets/тест-скритп.scpt
сказать приложение "напоминания"
повторять с I от 1 до (количество каждого напоминания из списка "напоминания")
если напоминание мне из списка "напоминания" не завершено,
установить список в список и имя напоминание мне из списка "напоминания"
конец если
конца повторят

повторять с I от 1 до (количество каждого элемента в список
комплект для вывода (вывода & пункт список как строку) & перевод строки & "---" & перевод строки
конца повторять

возвращение выходном

конец сказать
[/помощью applescript]

Если мы запустим этот скрипт в редактор сценария, мы можем увидеть его работы. На вкладке "результат" должен показать Вы не завершенные элементы в свой список задач по умолчанию. Не плохо!

Script Editor
Нажмите кнопку воспроизведения и смотреть на вкладку результат, чтобы увидеть, если скрипт работал.

Реализации сценария как Geeklet

Как только вы закончите кодирования, сохраните этот скрипт в ваш Geeklets папку. Теперь вернемся к GeekTool и вытянуть новую оболочку Geeklet. В поле команда введите "osascript" пробел и путь к везде, где Вы размещаете скрипт. Вот что моя команда выглядит так:

Имейте в виду, что это только пример, вам придется настроить его, чтобы отразить свой собственный путь к файлу. Не забудьте заменить имя моей домашней папке с вашим собственным Также обязательно установите частоту обновления на этой Geeklet так, что его можно изменить содержимое списка напоминаний.

После того, как вы закончите с этим, вы будете иметь хороший список напоминаний, сидя на рабочем столе. Отформатировать его и бросить его под другие Geeklets.

GeekTool
Хорошо выглядит! Всего несколько штрихов и мы закончим.

5. Картинки И Текст

В этот момент мы могли бы быть готовой. У нас хороший стек полезен Geeklets, не нужно переусердствовать. Однако, я уверен, что где-то по пути, вы будете удивляться, о размещение текста и изображений в Geeklet, поэтому мы должны закругляться, добавляя некоторые штрихи к нашей установки.

Текст с Эхо

Первое, что я хочу сделать, это добавить Заголовок в верхней части нашего списка напоминаний, чтобы дать им некоторый контекст. Мы не хотим, чтобы этот Заголовок не понравился, он просто должен быть простой текст, который говорит "напоминания" жирным шрифтом

Чтобы осуществить это, мы можем использовать команду "echo", которая выводит строку текста. Вытащить другую оболочку Geeklet и добавьте следующий код:

Это должно дать вам нужные строки из текста для работы, отформатируйте его с жирным шрифтом немного большего размера, чем элементы списка и бросить его над напоминаний.

GeekTool
Использовать команду echo для обычного текста

Geeklets Изображения

Если вы хотите добавить картинку на ваш рабочий стол, просто перетащите "изображение" Geeklet вместо Geeklet оболочки. Это очень легко работать. Все, что вам нужно сделать, это ввести URL-адрес или нажмите "установить локальный путь" кнопку и выберите изображение, которое вы хотите отобразить

GeekTool
Geeklets изображения вывода изображения на рабочем стол

Как вы видите, я схватил значок для приложения напоминания, чтобы еще больше укрепляются в мысли, что список предметов на моем рабочем столе приходит от этого приложения

GeekTool
Наш готовый набор Geeklets

Совет: чтобы захватить значок напоминания, команду-я нажмите на приложение в Finder, выберите значок и нажмите Ctrl-С. Затем откройте предварительный просмотр, команда N нажмите и сохраните как PNG. Вы, вероятно, хотите изменить размер изображения, а также.


Что у тебя на рабочем столе?

Пять методов, описанных выше, должны быть достаточно, чтобы выйти на мощный старт с GeekTool. Теперь вы знаете, как писать свои собственные команды, установить сторонние Geeklets, конвертировать applescript для себя Geeklet и вставлять текст или изображения на вашем рабочем столе. Ты обычный GeekTool Профи!

Если вы регулярно используете GeekTool, сделайте скриншот вашего рабочего стола и оставить ссылку ниже с описанием вашей Geeklets, чтобы мы могли проверить его.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.

Advertisement
  1. Computer Skills
  2. Customization
Computers

5 Ways to Make Your Mac's Desktop Better with GeekTool

by
Difficulty:AdvancedLength:LongLanguages:

GeekTool is an amazing free app that is a bit like Dashboard for the super nerdy. It allows you to place functional widgets, called "Geeklets," right on top of your desktop, so you can always see them. Implementation can be a little tricky though so this tutorial will walk you through five different ways to use Geeklets to enhance your desktop experience.

GeekTool
What we're building today

Getting Started with GeekTool

GeekTool is hands down one of the most useful Mac desktop enhancements that you'll ever come across. Unfortunately though, the barrier to entry here is pretty high. Whereas Dashboard widgets require merely a drag and drop to implement, Geeklets often require writing custom code.

GeekTool is just friendly enough that both hardcore coders and complete newbies can get something out of it.

If this sounds way too complicated, don't worry, it's only moderately complicated. In fact, GeekTool is just friendly enough that both hardcore coders and complete newbies can get something out of it.

To begin, download GeekTool from the Mac App Store. It used to be served up as a Preference Pane, but they've changed the format slightly to get it into the App Store.

Here's the main window:

GeekTool
The Primary GeekTool Window

This is a deceptively simple interface that hides a ton of possibilities. As you can see in the main window on the left, there are three types of Geeklets: File, Image and Shell.

Most of the fun stuff that you can pull off comes from the shell type. If you're familiar with Terminal, then you'll likely be able to pull of some cool stuff right from the start. If not, I'll walk you through some simple scripts below.

Initiating a Geeklet

To create a new Geeklet, simply drag one of the three icons (File, Image or Shell) onto your desktop. This will bring up a blank rectangle with a white outline and a long dark window containing the various options for that Geeklet.

GeekTool
A new empty Geeklet

There are a ton of options in here, but rather than going through them one by one like a boring textbook, we'll just address each setting as it arises below. In the mean time, let's skip straight to the good stuff and get you going with some cool Geeklets.


1. The Date

The first thing we're going to do is put the date on our desktop. Sounds easy enough right? To do so, we're going to have to write a script. Don't freak out, it's really simple, I promise.

To perform its magic, GeekTool accepts shell scripts. The most common place that you see these performed is in Terminal. To see how this works, crack open Terminal, type the word "date" and hit return.

Terminal
A new empty Geeklet

The output should look something like what I received in the image above, which tells me the current day of the week as well as the month, day of the month, time, timezone, and year.

Congratulations! You just wrote a shell script. Pretty easy right? Now let's jump over to GeekTool and enter the same line of code into the Command field in a Shell Geeklet.

Terminal
Type "date" into the Command field.

Now when we look at our Geeklet on the desktop, it contains some text. This is the exact same output that we saw in Terminal before.

Terminal
A new empty Geeklet

This is not quite what I want though. The format that I'm looking for looks like this: Monday, Oct. 1. So how do we pull that off?

Manipulating the Date

It turns out there are a whole range of ways to manipulate the output that we're getting from the script. To do this, we add a new snippet after the word "date".

Terminal
Different Date Commands in Terminal

See how that works? Here's a larger list that should come in handy.

  • date '+%A' - Monday
  • date '+%a' - Mon
  • date '+%B' - October
  • date '+%b' - Oct
  • date '+%m' - 10 (month number)
  • date '+%D' - 10/01/12
  • date '+%d' - 01 (day of month with zero)
  • date '+%e' - 1 (day of month without zero)
  • date '+%Y' - 2012 (year with four digits)
  • date '+%y' - 12 (year with two digits)

Putting It All Together

Now that we can see how to get all the pieces that we need, we can easily toss them all together into a single script. Copy and paste the following code into the Command field.

As you can see, I used the long form weekday format followed by a comma, a space, the short form month, a period, a space and finally the day of the month. Once you insert this code, your result should automatically update.

In the Properties window, click on the button near the bottom that says "Click here to set font & color" and customize the text to your liking. I'm keeping things pretty simple so I went with white, 13pt Lucida Grande.

GeekTool
Use simple controls to set the typeface, color and size of the text.

Tip: The default color for a Geeklet's text is black, so if your desktop is black, you won't see anything. It's good to test things out on a lighter color background.

Finishing Up

To finish up our date Geeklet up, resize the containment box so that it's just a little larger than the text. This will make it easier to select different Geeklets as we add more. Finally, set a refresh rate. Without this, the date will never update. You can choose whatever value that you wish, just understand that the faster the refresh, the more work your computer is doing to keep up.

GeekTool
Resize the container and set a refresh rate.

2. The Time

With all of that great knowledge that we gleaned from the previous step, adding the time to our desktop should be a cinch. In fact, we use the same exact process as before, only this time we'll need to pick from the pool of date snippets that relate to the time:

  • date '+%T' - 14:03:05
  • date '+%X' - 02:03:05 PM
  • date '+%Z' - MST (Time Zone)
  • date '+%p' - PM
  • date '+%l' - 2 (hour, 12 hour clock, no zero)
  • date '+%k' - 2 (hour, 24 hour clock, no zero)
  • date '+%I' - 02 (hour, 12 hour clock, with zero)
  • date '+%H' - 02 (hour, 24 hour clock, no zero)
  • date '+%M' - 03 (minute)
  • date '+%S' - 05 (second)

All I really want for this is the hour and minute. I'll use the twelve hour clock with no zeros and no AM/PM. I'm not usually in such a poor mental state that I can't figure out if it's morning, afternoon or evening.

With this in mind, drag out a new Shell Geeklet and toss in the following code:

This should give you a basic time stamp. Now set it to 48pt type and position it under the previous Geeklet. You'll have to set the refresh rate to be fairly fast on this one so the time stays accurate. I set it to ten seconds but if you really need to the second accuracy, you'll have to refresh every second.

GeekTool
Make the time larger and set in under the date.

Click on your desktop or hide GeekTool and you'll see the result of these two scripts. So far so good, let's move onto the weather!

GeekTool
Make the time larger and set in under the date.

3. The Weather

This is where things get complicated. Grabbing information from the web involves complex grep commands and a thorough knowledge of the required syntax. Unfortunately, if you want weather on your desktop, this is what it takes.

There are tons of GeekTool users out there who have already built almost anything that you could want.

A complete grep rundown is outside of the scope of this article though, so let's just take the easy way out! There are tons of GeekTool users out there who have already built almost anything that you could want. It's important to know how to install third party Geeklets, so that's the process we'll go through this time around.

There are a million weather Geeklets out there, go download this one by ObiJuan2080 to get started. After you download the file, throw it into a "Geeklets" folder inside of your "Documents" folder so you don't lose it, then give it a double click.

GeekTool
Double-click the Geeklet to install it

As it launches, you should see a little window pop up that shows you the code that you're about to run and asks your permission to proceed. Click the "YES" button.

GeekTool
Click "YES" to run the Geeklet

This should cause a new Geeklet to pop up your desktop, likely with the same text styling that we used in the previous step. The only thing that you need to do to the command is find the chunk of code that says "p=10009" and replace that number with your U.S. zip code.

GeekTool
The weather Geeklet in action

To finish off this step, resize the weather so the text matches the date and place it under the time. Your little group should look something like this:

GeekTool
Our progress so far

4. Reminders

When faced with a difficult task in the last step, we cheated a little bit. Installing third party Geeklets is a big part of the GeekTool experience though, so I'll allow it. This time though, we're on our own.

I want something fully custom: Mountain Lion Reminders on my desktop. Now, I know that getting at system data points like this is super easy using AppleScript, so we'll actually grab the data with that and then use the output for our Geeklet.

Warning: this is some pretty advanced stuff! You may want to brush up on AppleScript first.

The Reminders Dictionary

The first thing that we need to do is learn how to talk to Reminders using AppleScript. To do this, open Script Editor, go to File>Open Dictionary and locate the Reminders dictionary.

AppleScript
The Reminders AppleScript Dictionary

Browsing through here, I get the gist of the basic syntax. There are "lists" which contain "Reminders" that might or might not be "completed" and are identified by their "name". This verbiage is actually all I need to know to get going on a script.

Writing the Script

With the information that I just learned in mind, I set up two repeat blocks. The first goes through and grabs every reminder in the list "Reminders" (change this name if you have a different list in mind) that is not checked off and completed.

The second repeat block adds some formatting to the previous list so the output looks a little nicer. Then we return the formatted list.

[applescript]
set theList to {}
set theOutput to ""

--osascript /Users/MacBookPrime/Documents/Geeklets/TestScript.scpt
tell application "Reminders"
repeat with i from 1 to (count of every reminder of list "Reminders")
if reminder i of list "Reminders" is not completed then
set theList to theList & name of reminder i of list "Reminders"
end if
end repeat

repeat with i from 1 to (count of every item of theList)
set theOutput to (theOutput & item i of theList as string) & linefeed & "---" & linefeed
end repeat

return theOutput

end tell
[/applescript]

If we run this script inside of Script Editor, we can see it working. The "Result" tab should show you the non-completed items in your default todo list. Not bad!

Script Editor
Hit the Play button and watch the Result tab to see if the script worked.

Implementing the Script as a Geeklet

Once you're finished coding, save out this script in your Geeklets folder. Now go back to GeekTool and drag out a new shell Geeklet. In the Command field, type "osascript" followed by a space and the path to wherever you place the script. Here's what my command looks like:

Keep in mind that this is only an example, you'll have to customize it to reflect your own file path. Don't forget to replace my Home folder's name with your own. Also be sure to set a refresh rate on this Geeklet so that it updates as you change the contents of your Reminders list.

After you're finished with that, you'll have a nice list of Reminders sitting on your desktop. Format it and toss it under the other Geeklets.

GeekTool
Looking good! Just a few finishing touches and we'll be done.

5. Images & Text

At this point, we could be finished. We've got a nice stack of useful Geeklets going, there's no need to overdo it. However, I'm sure that somewhere along the way, you'll wonder about placing text and images into a Geeklet, so we should wrap this up by adding some finishing touches to our setup.

Text with Echo

The first thing that I'd like to do is add in a header at the top of our list of reminders to give them some context. We don't want this header to do much, it just needs to be a simple line of text that says "Reminders" in bold letters.

To pull this off, we can use the "echo" command, which prints out a line of text. Pull out another Shell Geeklet and add the following code:

This should give you the desired line of text to work with, format it up with a bold typeface that's a little larger than the list items and toss it above the Reminders.

GeekTool
Use the echo command for plain text

Image Geeklets

If you want to add an image to your desktop, just drag out an "Image" Geeklet instead of a Shell Geeklet. These are super easy to work with. All you have to do is enter a URL or hit the "Set local path" button and point to the image that you want to display.

GeekTool
Image Geeklets display an image on your desktop

As you can see, I grabbed the icon for the Reminders app to further reinforce the idea that the list of items on my desktop comes from that app.

GeekTool
Our finished set of Geeklets

Tip: To grab the Reminders icon, hit Command-I on the app in Finder, then select the icon and hit Command-C. Then open Preview, hit Command-N and save as a PNG. You'll probably want to resize the image as well.


What's On Your Desktop?

The five methods outlined above should be enough to get off to a strong start with GeekTool. You now know how to write your own commands, install third party Geeklets, convert an AppleScript to a Geeklet and embed text or images on your desktop. You're a regular GeekTool Pro!

If you use GeekTool regularly, snap a screenshot of your desktop and leave a link below with a description of your Geeklets so we can check it out.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Looking for something to help kick start your next project?
Envato Market has a range of items for sale to help get you started.